Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Hat Creek – Serene Mountain Getaway with Pool, Fishing & More

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,700 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 5-7)

Hat Creek Retreat is lovely mountain home located in the picturesque Inter-Mountain area located in the north-eastern tip of Shasta County. Cassel sits at 3200 feet so it has the allure of all the seasons: sun in the summer and snow in the winter. Whether you have a passion to fish your heart out, enjoy the sights and sounds of the mountains, or just spend a peaceful afternoon lounging on the deck, you have found the right home to create vacation memories for you and your family.

We have outfitted our home with all the comforts you might need coupled with a warm inviting atmosphere to embrace the entire family!

Our recent remodel makes this house a mountain showcase you won’t want to miss.

Keywords: Located in Cassel, right on Hat Creek, this recently remodeled home sleeps up to six. Relax on the back deck and enjoy the beautiful back yard in the shadow of Burney Mountain! Take a relaxing dip in the pool or walk out the back gate to fish Cassel Forebay. This mountain home is inviting, warm and fully stocked for your comfort!

Great fun for families. Something for kids of all ages. Want to golf? Take a quick 15 minute drive and golf in Fall River. Interested in the out of doors? How about spending the day hiking or boating and swimming at McArthur Burney Falls State Park! After a day of fun, whatever your passion, you can head home, relax with a cold beverage and drink in the view of Burney Mountain while you enjoy all the creature comforts of home. We are close enough for a day trip to McCloud or Yreka for a train ride in McCloud or Yreka. How about exploring the Shasta Caverns or walk on the wild side and jump into the Falls at McCloud. Don't miss the best kept secret of the Intermountain region. This special area has it all.

More Details

Owner
Ann Morgan James
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 28, 2017

About Ann Morgan James

My 13 year old son Jack and I are so very excited to have this property. It was a family get away and when my husband decided to leave the family we were worried we could not keep the house...but we did and we could not be more thrilled!

We are both published authors. My title is How to Raise a Millionaire and Jack's is How to Let your Parents Raise a Millionaire. When you stay at the house, you can check out the house copy of the books! :-)

We are excited about our books. How to Raise a Millionaire is the ultimate parent’s guide to increasing confidence and growing bully-proof self esteem in any kid.

My book provides simple everyday tips and a unique action plan to teach my six millionaire skills you need to teach your kids so they can imagine and live the life of their dreams!!

Jack's book is the kid's companion piece to my book and is written from one kid to another. His book helps kids see the benefits of starting their own business!

We are a mother and son team on a mission. We want to fill the world with kid entrepreneurs.

If you have a kid and you want to tap into every ounce of potential your kid, help them start a business. Read our books, we'll show you how! It so simple it criminal!

Ann Morgan James purchased this house in 1999

Why Ann Morgan James chose California

We originally bought this home just before our son was born. We actually did the final walk through about 3 weeks before he was born! The first moment we saw it, we knew we had to have it.

It was a place to get away and fish, but we quickly fell in love with the area. The people, the weather, the surroundings, the activities, it is just the whole package! When we came to a fork in the road a year and a half ago (husband asked for a divorce), it was Jack who insisted I not sell the house. This brought me to the decision to rent it out as a vacation home so others could enjoy it just like us!

Renting our home to others allows us to keep our home and that is important! So Thank You from the bottom of my heart and the bottom of Jack's. You are helping us keep our special home.

What makes this house unique

Cassel is a small lazy mountain town. It offers the ease of country living with some of the best outdoor activities around. But more than the fishing, hiking and mountain air it offers peace.

Our home sits in the shadow of Burney Mountain -- whether you are in the living room, the kitchen, the dining room, the master bedroom or relaxing on the back porch, you are surrounded by the magnificent view of one of nature’s creations. The peace and calm this home offers to its guests invites you to relax and revive.

Amenities

Cassel House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Master bath has whirlpool tub with separate shower. Downstairs bath has a stall shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Twin Longs or Single Beds (1) The twins longs in both bedrooms can be converted to kings.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rock climbing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
Notes:
'Fishing is located just out the back gate.'

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

Hat Creek – Serene Mountain Getaway with Pool, Fishing & More
average rating of 4.7916665 based on 24 reviews
5

I really want to give this property 5 stars...

  • 5 of 5

Pros: Owner is very nice. The home is cozy and in a rustic neighborhood. Scenery is beautiful and neighborhood is quiet. (Only exceptions were there were several door-to-door solicitors that came by each day. That's out of anyone's control.) Yard seems fenced and is large. Beautiful, hand-crafted quilts and afghans on all beds. Well-behaved dogs are allowed. Couch covers are provided so your dog can join you on the huge, sofa. You can park your car right near the front door for easy loading and unloading. View of mountains from upstairs. Nice master bathroom upstairs and small one downstairs. Tile and hardwood floors downstairs and carpet in bedroom downstairs and upstairs. Kitchen stocked with plates, glasses, & cookware. Groceries are available with a 20-minute drive. Owner is a published author and has copies of her book in the entryway.

Cons: Major item was that prior (multiple?) visitors' garbage was rotting in the garage and it smelled so bad it made your eyes water in the kitchen... and then permeated the rest of the house. The odor crept in, even with both the garage and laundry room doors closed. During the day, we kept the windows open so it was yucky but bearable. However, when we left for the day or during the night, we had to close/lock the windows... and it was bad. The prior residents were supposed to take out the trash but, obviously, they weren't aware or didn't do it anyway. The owner apologized about the smell.

Minor stuff: Check with the owner beforehand about availability if you or your kids really want a pool experience. When we visited, the pool was a froggie pond. Although our kids were disappointed, I totally understand that it must be hard to keep up an outdoor pool. I would hate to drain it because clearly its own eco-system as it is now. BBQ on backyard deck was too gross to use with brown mystery goop on the tanks. Again, it's country so maybe it was birds because I could hear lots of geese by the river. Or, prior tenants could have cleaned up after themselves better. We cooked inside and that was fine. Hand soaps were non-existent or empty but, fortunately, we travel with bar soap as backup. Coffee maker was gross so we cleaned it. Same for the stove top. Place mats were not washed so we just flipped them over and hoped for the best. Cleaning person must have had an off day.

Overall it was a nice stay and we would return if the garbage situation is addressed.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy and quant.

  • 5 of 5

The 3 of us went up there for a outdoor excursion. The cabin was nicely located 10-15 min from burney and the same from Fall River Mills area.

We brought our own food and stuff to cook. The kitchen had everything you could need. I personally would of liked a larger fry pan. But we made do. The cabin/house was clean and comfortable. We will be going back again.

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Santa Cruz
5

Quiet and cozy

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay in the quiet cabin by the Hat Creek. You'll have breakfast with deer grazing outside in the open space. Super dog friendly with a fully fenced backyard and doggy blankets provided for the comfort of the pooches. We had a great time. Thank you, Ann!

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing

  • 5 of 5

Home was clean, convenient , and very relaxing!..pool lights didn't work and jacuzzi tub did not work..everything else was wonderful!

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

rental in cassel

  • 2 of 5

Don't plan on using the pool which is a bug breeding water whole and you'll probably get sick if you jumped in.There were dirty dishes in the dishwasher and damp towels in the dryer. everything else was clean and tidy.I was just bummed because it was advertised with a pool but you couldn't use it.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mary, Sorry you were disappointed in the pool. I wish you had mentioned this during your stay, I would have had my caretaker go out immediately and remedy the situation. The pool is maintained for safe swimming with all the appropriate chemicals, etc. It is surrounded by trees and while cleaned on a regular basis, can get visitors who drop in from the trees. We do our best to maintain it. We try to respect your privacy while you are at the house so my caretaker does not visit the pool while you are there, that said, we are certainly happy to make a run out to the house do a quick pool cleaning. As for the dishes in the dishwasher, that is not OK. My housekeeper is outstanding and it must have been an oversight. In my many years of working with her, I can say this is the first time it has happened. She is outstanding. My apologies. I know you were at the house for a wedding -- I hope it was joyful and the rest of your stay delightful. Again, my sincere apologies for our mishaps. Ann
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great

  • 5 of 5

Ann could not have been nicer. Great spot if you like to fish.

Great kitchen, wifi, comfy beds. Loved our stay!

  • Submitted: May 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Fall River Mills
Nearest Barpub
12 Miles
Other than the one in the house??? Burney, CA
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Fall River Mills
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Hwy 299 and Hwy 89
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Burney and/or Fall River Mills
Nearest Ski
61 Miles
Shasta Ski Park, north on Hwy 89
Car: recommended

'Renowned Wild Trout areas close by for the avid flyfisher', 'Hunting available in season', 'Spinning reel and fly fishing available out the back gate', Mt. Lassen National Forest is a short 30 minute drive with multiple opportunities for exploring and learning!', 'Golfing in Fall River and even an Indian Casino for gambling.', 'This beautiful mountain area has it all!'

Photos

Rates & Availability

Cassel House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Base Rate
1 night minimum stay
$200
$1,400
$6,000
 
 
Regular Season
Apr 1 - Nov 30
1 night minimum stay
$200
 
Discounts: 2 nights or more: $200 Nightly; 3 nights or more: $200 Nightly
 
Winter Season
Dec 1 - Mar 31
2 night minimum stay
$150
$1,050
$4,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $0
Cleaning Fee $100
Tax Rate 10.0%

A County Occupancy Tax of 10% is required on your room fees. We charge a $100. cleaning fee so you can pack up and head home without having to worry about any white glove treatment after you leave.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties