check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

joasha dundas

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Downeast Beauty! Comfy Cabin; 36 Wood.Acres;1/3 Mile Shoreline; Bay/Quarry Swim

10 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Franklin Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Great Room-Studio with full-sized Swedish Cubby (sleeps 2); Futon (sleeps 2).

Visiting Acadia National Park and Downeast Maine puts you in the middle of a widely diverse culture which, when combined with the unique features of our private getaway, permits a once in a lifetime opportunity. For instance, start your day with a vigorous hike through the woods of our eco-diverse forest (first growth pine to later growth hardwoods) then cool off with a swim in the quarry. After a quick lunch, board your Bar Harbor based whale watching vessel. Have a nice meal at a local restaurant and enjoy the evening with live entertainment--choose improv comedy, repertory theater or live music. And don't miss horse-drawn carriage rides in Acadia Park; singing old sea chanties while sailing a four masted schooner; touring Mount Dessert Island on one of Ollie's Trolleys; climbing a mountain; cycling Acadia's trails; kayaking one of the many local 'ponds.' Or relax on our wharf while watching an eagle hunt dinner then enjoy your own fresh caught lobster cooked in the cabin's pot

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
joasha dundas (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.7
based on 10 traveler reviews

Downeast Beauty! Comfy Cabin; 36 Wood.Acres;1/3 Mile Shoreline; Bay/Quarry Swim
average rating of 4.7 based on 10 reviews
2

potential to be a wonderful, peaceful cottage.

  • 2 of 5

Cute cottage with lovely potential.

A few down-side points for my husband and I: We felt the cottage needed a good cleaning - i took a broom across the cottage on the night of our first stay because it needed it. This made us suspicious of the cleaning for the rest of the apartment and we would had liked a bit more.

It was a little bit further than anticipated from Acadia National Park, but this wasn't a fault of the property!

We had a brutal awakening from a neighbouring dog every morning. Although we both love dogs, this one was hard to calm down and stop barking, making having a nice relaxing lie in, tricky.

It was a warm cabin too, particularly in the little 'bedroom'. My husband opted to sleep on the sofa to cool off both nights.

However, it was a bargain stay and in the middle of country side Maine. The hosts were really easy to chat with and very helpful. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New York
5

Perfect oasis!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I return year after year to this secluded cozy cabin in the woods that's on a quiet piece of waterfront property owned by a gracious host. We swim or kayak in the bay - with views of Schoodic mountain and Acadia National Park - spend time in the quarry on the property, or if we want to explore, the location is perfect for day trips to any one of a number wonderful Down East locations. This year's visit was terrific and has us looking forward to next!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Just what we needed.

  • 5 of 5

Summary:

- Quiet, peaceful, comfortable and relaxing.

- Nature surrounds you and the calm waters of the bay are just visible through the trees...and only a short walk away.

-Welcoming.

Our quick story:

My wife an I were in need of an escape and we found it here. With our two Jack Russells along for the week we arrived at this quaint retreat. Nestled back in the oak trees we found this comfortable, clean & well kept cottage. "Maryanne's Cottage" named after the owners mother who stayed here frequently. Our host Joasha was simply delightful. She and her lovely and excitable companion Kayanna ( 1yr old black lab ) were the only others we saw on this 36 acre wooded peninsula all week.

The first morning I took my coffee to the front porch and watched 4 deer make there way through the trees near the camp. A short walk later I was at the water watching the bald eagle stretch his wings. A day did not go by that we didn't see something wonderful here. Harbor seals, Osprey, Canadian geese, etc...

The location made it an easy day trip to Acadia, Schoodic point, Booth Bay, or a quick shopping trip to Ellsworth.

We enjoyed what we came for...a relaxing week to ourselves. I bet you will too.

  • Submitted: May 16, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Gloucester, Ma
5

Peaceful!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time! My husband and our border collie loved this spot... peace and quiet with a nice drive to Bar Harbor and Acadia. The owner was wonderful & the cost affordable.

  • Submitted: May 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful cabin in an amazing setting

  • 5 of 5

This was our second time staying at this property and we again had an incredible vacation. This is the perfect place to get away from it all and just enjoy the simple things life can offer. From cooling off in the quarry, to watching the sunset on the wharf and following the lightning bugs back to the cabin - there is plenty to keep you occupied on the property. It is a reasonable drive to the many great attractions of Bar Harbor and Acadia - but also has plenty of amenities and restaurants much closer as well.

The cabin itself has everything you'll need for your stay and all linens were clean and stocked upon arrival. Enjoy a night sitting on the front porch and listening to the surroundings - then fall asleep in the sleeping nook to wake up refreshed the next day.

The owner, Joasha, is a wonderful individual and will answer any question you may have while you are staying here. Looking forward to returning here again in the future!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderfull weekend stay for our wedding anniversary. Very clean and quiet. Owner was great! We will definitely be staying again next year for our anniversary. If you are looking for clean, quiet, and off the beaten path, then this is it:-)

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Bangor International
Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
Ruth and Wimpy's
Nearest Golf
14 Miles
Bar Harbor Public Course
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Sunrise Scenic Railroad
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Rte. #1 and Hiway 182
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Chester Pike's Galley
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
Donnell Pond
Car: necessary

Get really away from the hustle, bustle and traffic of Acadia, America's most visited National Park by relaxing in this comfortably charming, bright 'in the woods' cottage on beautiful Taunton Bay. Situated on a 36 acre peninsula, you'll be surrounded by water whenever you go just a few steps East, South or West. Explore trails that wind through the property or sit and relax on the great stone wharf where ocean going sailing ships used to pick up locally quarried granite for delivery to Boston, New York or Washington D.C. Swim in our fresh water quarries or off the wharf in the salt water bay. Launch your kayak or canoe from our ramp. Visit the seals or bird watch everything from chickadees to eagles. Visit Acadia National Park and watch the sun rise from the top of Cadillac Mountain, the first place in the U.S. the sun hits every morning, or savor a freshly made popover on the lawn of the Jordan Pond House. After a day of sightseeing, relax with a good book on the front porch.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Franklin Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
June, July, and August
Mar 1 2017 - Nov 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$130
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$120
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $15
Tax Rate 7.0%

pet fee: $5.00 per day

One half payment to reserve the property, the other half due upon arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Franklin Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • 2 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Sink
  • All towels provided. Bath mat. Vanity mirror. Two ceiling heat lights. On demand electric baseboard heating.
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Double bed in a unique Swedish Style Cubby with two windows and door for privacy. Queen sized Futon in Living area. All linens provided along with pillows and blankets.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • Radio
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Gated Community
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties