check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Viktoriya

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

UNIQUE, SECLUDED, PEACEFUL, AFFORDABLE!

41 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Captain Cook Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Located in South Kona, 23 miles south from Kona airport.

Very private setting with beautiful view of Kealakekua Bay, Honaunau Beach Park and coastline view.

Cottage is surrounded with tropical trees, palms, blooming flowers and coffee trees.

We built this cottage few years ago with lots of recycling materials, carefully sorted and crafted . We used old red wood water tank boards for trims, recycled windows and doors.

We chose oriental decor, using light colors on walls , dark woods and Japanese collectibles (kimonos, dishes, bowls and plates, tea cups e.t.c.)

Cottage has 1 bedroom with 2 windows, sealing fan and a closet.

Bathroom has a porcelain tile soaking tub and shower .

Full kitchen , large fridge/freezer. All cooking ware and utencils.

Hidebed sofa in the living room, TV/Direct TV/DVD player.

Private parking lot with motion light for late arrival.

Favorite of all our guests is a Tiki Bar with hammock and 'magic rope lights' in the evening.

You can relax there drinking morning coffee from our farm or evening cocktail after hot day at the beach!

Best snorkel , kayaking, swimming beaches right down below.

It would take 15 minutes the most and you are in the water!

We have snorkel sets, boogie boards, umbrella, towels, beach chairs and cooler for your convenience.

Local shops offering large variety of fresh produce, fish and everything you need for your meals.

Seasonal fruits such as papayas, bananas, pineapples, avocados and mangos can be picked on the farm.

If you choose to eat out, there are many different restaurants in close proximetries . Italian, Hawaiian, Pizzeria, organic bakery and lots of other tasty food places.

Farmers Market on Fridays and Sundays 2 miles from us. Many local vendors bring their produce, fruits, greens, macadamia nuts and crafts.

We, the owners are here to help and make your vacation pleasant and smooth.

You can always call and we answer your questions.

Aloha, Vika and Mike

Keywords: tropical, private, safe, centrally located

More Details
Suitability:
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed
Viktoriya (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Viktoriya

Mike and Vika Hansen moved here 13 years ago with a dream of having a little Kona coffee and Cacao orchards and some vacation homes.

finally the dream has become reality, we are growing coffee,cacao, fruits and veggies, raising chickens,planting landscaping, working hard...

Viktoriya purchased this cottage in 1999

Why Viktoriya chose Kona Coast

We loved the climate, the privacy and the area. Fresh produce year around, beautiful climate to grow food!

And

The best snorkel and diving.

Local crafts and arts.

What makes this cottage unique

Enjoy drinking our own Estate grown Kona coffee, hiking around our orchard property, centrally located near the volcano park or the beaches on the west side, our property provides you with a safe central location to see the Big Island!

Reviews

4.9
based on 41 traveler reviews

UNIQUE, SECLUDED, PEACEFUL, AFFORDABLE!
average rating of 4.9268293 based on 41 reviews
5

Beautiful setting and welcoming hosts

  • 5 of 5

Viktoriya's Kealakekua Bay vacation home is a great spot for exploring Hawaii's coffee country and western coast. Vika and Mike met us when we arrived and made sure we had everything we needed. They recommended some nearby attractions and invited us to stop by their home (just down the hill) if we had any requests or questions. The vacation home has views of the bay, a nice outdoor eating area, and friendly geckos. The landscaping is beautiful and Vika provided delicious fresh fruit and eggs. I'm glad we chose this spot to end our Hawaii vacation.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Serene and unique

  • 5 of 5

One of the highlights of our trip to Hawaii was staying in this unique and quiet cottage at Mike and Vika's farm.

We only wished we could have stayed longer than 3 days to experience more of the many amazing things the Big Island offers.

Mike gave us a tour of their immediate property (a personal botanical garden, as well as a working coffee and cocoa farm) which included notes on the history of this region, and his own personal experiences carving out this life on the side of a volcano.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Colorado Springs
4

Outstanding ocean views and tropical vegetation

  • 4 of 5

The cottage sits in a secluded plantation on the side of a mountain. Mike and Vika were wonderful hosts, explaining the plants, harvesting and processing, sharing the produce, and answering any questions we had. All of the gardens and landscaping were created by them.

The cottage is one of a kind using repurposed materials, an ecological feature we appreciate. We named the geckoes and cheered them on as they endeavored to eliminate the bugs that found their way into the house.

There are many beautiful, interesting birds to entertain you with their varied calls and antics, from the break of day 'til dark.

  • Submitted: May 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi,guys! Thanks for coming over snd staying with us! We retired to make your vacation as comfortable snd private as possible! We were reviewed as 4 stars by you. Was anything wrong firing your stay or we were not satisfied your expectations ? Please , let us now about it. Alpha, Vika and mike
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Vancouver BC Canada
5

Your own private botanical garden and bird sanctuary

  • 5 of 5

Lovely location off of Napo'opo'o Road, but easy access to Keakalekua Bay, Place of Refuge, 2-step snorkelling, the Painted Church, a great cafe (Kona Coffee Shop & Bakery), etc. 5 minutes to small supermarket (Choice Mart).

The Honeymoon Cottage suited us perfectly, and Mike and Vika provided all of the little details to make living there easy, like kitchen spices, cooking oil, vinegar, etc. They are wonderful hosts, and you can have as much visiting - or not - as you want.

Short 25 minute drive into Kailua-Kona or 40 minutes to the airport. Perfect for easy access, but definitely far enough to feel like you're in a whole different world. Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

come allso to paradise!

  • 5 of 5

We came in the evening.

In the morning we woke up by the songs of all the birds.

We had breakfast outside and looked at the beautiful flowers and trees of this paradise!

Mike and Viktoriya were very nice and we were pleased to stay at their property.

When we will come back to Hawai we want to stay here again.

We enjoyed the fresh organic fruit which we got from Mike and Viktoriya.

We allso washed our laundry in their washing machine.

Within 10 minutes drive we were at Kealakekua Bay where we enjoyed swiming with the Dolphins.

Forever in our hearts!!!

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful, Private, and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5

Vika and Mike were warm and wonderful hosts sharing this most beautiful and welcoming of places. The 1 bedroom cottage (honeymoon place) was ideal for our honeymoon as was the covered veranda with a supplied grill where we cooked all meals but one. Nice view of Kealakekua Bay, blooming flowers everywhere, fruit and coffee trees, friendly geckos, vocal birds, happy dogs, and supplied beach toys; What more could an old Alaska/Oregon couple ask for? Almost forgot the fresh eggs from on property chickens as well the fresh fruit and fresh roasted coffee from on property trees. We will never consider a resort type vacation on the Big Island again. We were so sad to leave but are already starting to plan a return trip with my wife's sister and her husband for a 2 week stay in the 2 bedroom unit. One week is not enough for this island or this place.

Mahalo bookoo Vika and Mike from Liz and Mike

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Was nice to have you here, mahalos for leaving the place so neat and tidy! Look forward to seeing you again! Mike and Vika
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
23 Miles
Kona Airport (KOA)
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Ke'ei Cafe

Cottage is located in midst of a working Kona Coffee Farm and also grows chocolate. See the steps of the process, see the coffee and the chocolate growing on the trees!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Captain Cook Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$99
$602
$2,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $50
Tax Rate 13.25%

Rates are subject to change prior to booking

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Captain Cook Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) convertible sofa in the living room
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed ...
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Tropical theme landscaping, surrounds a private cottage tucked into hillside above the Bay. beach items provided: snorkel gear, beach cooler, beach chairs, maps, and Island Guidebooks, recommendations for special unique tours,etc

Partner Offers