Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Luxury Frontline 2 Bed/2 Bath Ground Floor Apt With Beach And Pool Views

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
Sleeps
7
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
4 nights

About the property

Perfect location for all age groups to enjoy a relaxing or activity holiday.

Spacious front-line 2 double bedroomed/2 bath ground floor apartment in small friendly complex overlooking swimming pool and vast unspoilt sandy beach. Sleeps 6 + baby. Balcony with sea and pool views, plus large side terrace giving a choice of sun or shade all day long. Very well equipped throughout. Apartment is kept private and not overlooked by passers by or bar users as it is screened partly by the pool bar/restaurant. This also means any noise (which is rare) is directed away from the apartment. Lovely views of the beach and sea from the balcony and terrace. Throughout the morning you can enjoy full sun on the side terrace and shade in the afternoon. On the front balcony you can choose shade in the morning and sun all the afternoon. Perfect for both sun and shade lovers!

Comprehensive list supplied by email on booking (and in the apt. on arrival) of local services, places of interest and things to do. Airport pick up and welcome pack included in price.

Local phone supplied with taxi, restaurant and other useful numbers. WiFi and Sattelite TV.

Wheelchair friendly apt. plus ramps to bar and pool area. Bath lift, grab rails and bed risers, plus portable ramps for wheelchair for easy taxi transport for tours and/or airport transfer available on request.. Widescreen TV and CD/DVD player. Bluetooth music speaker for phone, tablet or laptop.

Fully equipped kitchen with drinking water filter tap (no carrying heavy water bottles), microwave, gas hob/elec oven, washing machine, fridge/freezer, iron and board. Ceiling fans and freestanding floor fan plus small personal fan. Lots of cupboard space.. High chair, cot and hairdryer. Safe. Games, books, DVDs, CDs, games. Fully equipped gym in the next door complex, that can be used for a small charge plus an area opposite Vila Cabral 1 with free exercise equipment.

For self caterers there is a small supermarket just next door in VC1 (selling lovely fresh bread in the mornings), plus a local bakery, fishmarket, butcher, fruit and veg market, supermarkets and lots of souvenir shops a short walk away in town.

Otherwise several good bars and restaurants at reasonable prices within easy walking distance after a busy day sightseeing or chilling; or take a local taxi further afield to the many beach bars. Bart and Els welcome you to their Elcibar pool bar/restaurant serving excellent breakfasts, lunches, dinner, snacks and drinks all day/eve except Mondays. They also provide a take-away service and are about to start preparing a selection of Chinese dishes.

Small supermarket (for freshly baked rolls in the morning) and a bar/restaurant in next door block.

Airport pick up and welcome pack on arrival included in price. Transport time from airport is 10 - 15 mins. 24 hour security. Parking right outside.

Daily/weekly hire nearby for beach buggies, cars, scooters and bicycles. Island tours, boat trips/deep sea fishing by arrangement. Holiday suitable for singles, couples, families and groups of all ages, whether looking for a peaceful break or an activity holiday in an emerging, unspoilt location. All amenities nearby or within short taxi distance. 10 min walk to town and port. English/Portuguese speaking apt manager available for local info and queries.

Local currency is Cape Verdean Escudos. Most places accept Euros, but will give you change in Escudos. 1000 Escudos is about £8.00, or €9.00.Several ATMs in town to draw Escudos. Shops/restaurants generally do not accept credit/debit cards.

Mid stay linen/towel changes for 10 day to 2 week stays or extra by arrangement. Please supply own beach towels.

More Details

Owner
Geraldine Pring
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, Any language, as I can use a translation service.
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 15, 2017

About Geraldine Pring

I am a 60+ year old and despite (or because of) not being very academic, have set up and run several businesses since I was 21. These have included a computer staff agency, a farm shop on the family farm, a B & B/tea rooms/licensed restaurant, plus 2 campsites, one with coarse fishing lakes.

In 1981 I had a serious horse riding accident, resulting in a broken neck, and have operated my life from a wheelchair since then.

In around 2006, I watched some well known TV travel programs and subsequently visited and then invested in the beautiful Islands of Sal and Boa Vista.

I like to feel my guests are happy on their holidays in the apartment and always welcome constructive criticism as well as praise. Obviously, there are adaptions available for me and my wheelchair, but everyone's needs are different, so if you are interested but disabled (or less able of course), please ask me about the pros and cons of the Cape Verde Islands for disabled people.

Geraldine Pring purchased this apartment in 2012

Why Geraldine Pring chose Boa Vista

Peaceful location, but close to all amenities, accessible by either 10-15 min walking or very reasonably priced taxis from a few metres away. Nicely decorated, comfortably furnished and with quality linen and towels. The litchen has almost every accessory you could wish for.

The area has friendly and helpful local residents and owners and tourists from all over the world. There is very little crime on the islands and there is 24 hour security on site.

This Ground floor apt is easily accessible for the less ambulant and there is plenty of room for wheelchairs. Ramp for ease of access to apt, terrace, and pool area, otherwise everywhere is on the level.

What makes this apartment unique

Quiet, quality apartment with relaxing views and many amenities a short distance away. My local English and Portuguese speaking managers, living nearby in the same complex, are available for any queries, Information about where to go, how to get there etc. is supplied by email after you book, and in the apt itself. A small mobile phone is supplied with local numbers (eg taxis) for your convenience.

Amenities

Sal Rei Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 0
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , bidet , plus wash basin
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , bidet , plus washbasin
  • Bathroom 1 - Ensuite bathroom/shower and toilet. Bathroom 2 - Shower room/toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double , Large wardrobe, bedside cabinets, touch lamps, fan, safe.
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Large wardrobe, bedside cabinets, lamp, fan.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sofabed sleeps 2, fan. Tables. Lamp.
  • Cot also available.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • festivals
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Trips for whale watching, deep sea fishing, beach fishing and touring the island with its special beaches and small villages, some including lunch or dinner. Watersports such as surfing, kite surfing, wind surfing, scuba diving, snorkelling, equipment hire and schools locally. Car, scooter or beach buggy hire. All by arrangement.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

Luxury Frontline 2 Bed/2 Bath Ground Floor Apt With Beach And Pool Views
average rating of 4.8 based on 15 reviews
5

Great views

  • 5 of 5

Views from the apartment were lovely - balcony great place to watch the sunset. Apartment was very well equipped and comfortable. Pool was a good size. Everyone was very helpful and friendly

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: A great review, Alison, it was lovely to meet you. Thank you for leaving the apt very clean and tidy, there was not much for us to do at all!! We look forward to seeing you again when you need some sunshine!! We now also have WiFi and satellite tv for those who like their home comforts!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great apartment

  • 5 of 5

Great apartment in very convenient location. Only 2 of us stayed so masses of room for us. Ground floor location was good and provided very easy access to pool and Elcibar. Local agent met us at airport and drove us there on arrival; also provided some drinks in the fridge which saved shopping the first night as we ate supper and brunch on the first day at Elcibar! We didn't cook other than breakfast but found everything we needed in the flat. Used the mossie nets a couple of nights until we bought some fly spray. Found that leaving windows open with fly screens in place provided a very pleasant through breeze most nights. Also made use of the DVD collection a couple of nights; thanks a very useful addition. Walk into town is about 15 minute each way but take a torch as it is mostly unmade; didn't have a bad meal anywhere and some were excellent. Big (red)supermarket is about 10 minutes walk each way. Had a great two week holiday. Thanks Geri!

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Brilliant review Sara, so happy you enjoyed yourselves. Interesting seeing the differences after 4 years or so! Look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5

Everything was amazing at Geri's apartment. Even before coming there, Geri provided us with a lot of useful information which was much appreciated. The apartment was really nice, well equipped and huge! The condominium was also really nice, especially the nice and quiet pool (much more beautiful in real than on the photos). It is at walking distance from Sal Rei which is the main village in the island with lots of nice restaurants. It was really a perfect stay and we will definitely come back there if we are to travel again to Boa Vista :)

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review - much appreciated, I am always happy that guests enjoy their stay, and I try to ensure they have all the information they need for a trouble free stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

TOP

  • 5 of 5

Très bon séjour sur l'ile de BOA VISTA ;) - nous étions 6 personnes.

l'appartement est très bien - et très bien placé en rez de chaussé en face de la piscine.

nous avions toujours une vue sur les enfants.

Géraldine est très gentille - elle mets a disposition tout le nécessaire pour que nous puissions passer de bonnes vacances.

sur place une personne vous attends à l'aéroport puis vous emmène jusqu'a l'appartement.

ensuite une autre est présente pour vous accueillir et vous donner les diverses explications. et les bons plans de l'île...

je reviendrais sans doute car j'ai vraiment aimé.

encore merci à Géraldine pour la prestation. je vous la recommande.

laurent DEMARET

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Je vous remercie Laurent pour un grand et examen utile. Mes autres invités seront heureux de voir cette question et j'attends avec impatience de vous accueillir à nouveau. English translation of review: Very good stay on the island of Boa Vista;) - We were 6 people. The apartment is very well - and very well placed in ground floor in front of the swimming pool. We always had a view on the children. Geraldine is very nice - it put at disposal all the necessary so that we can spend a good holiday. on the spot a person waiting you at the airport and then takes you up to the apartment. Then another is present to welcome you and give you the various explanations. And the good plans of the island... I would stay there again without doubt because I really liked. Thank you again to Géraldine for delivery. I recommend it to you. Laurent DEMARET My response in English: I thank you Laurent for a great and useful review. My other guests will be pleased to see this issue and I look forward to welcoming you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

apartment was absolutely lovely

  • 5 of 5

The apartment was lovely, home from home. The quality of the furniture was good, the apartment was well maintained and clean. There was a good selection of DVD's as there is no english TV channels. There was a welcome package provided which was a very nice touch. We were met at the airport and brought back to the apartment and given a mobile phone for local use with useful phone numbers in (taxi service etc). The complex was well maintained with a very good bar which served a variety of food and friendly staff. Wi-fi available at 2 euros /day. Was very windy during our stay but apparently it is the windy season which we hadn't realised. Not a lot to do on the island, but good for relaxing. Poor choice of fresh fruit and vegetables in the shops, not available at all times. Unable to swim in the sea opposite due to rocks and strong current, but complex has a very nice pool area. Beer £3.00 pint, coffee £2.00, average meal approx £10.00. Overall very nice apartment.

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for a very fair review, I am happy everything was good for you. It was unfortunate for you that it was so windy - a couple of weeks ago we had some enthusiastic kite surfers staying, and there was so little wind, they couldn't surf!! Re the fruit and veg, sometimes there is a shortage due to the ships not being able to dock due to bad weather/rough seas, but the market in Sal Rei town usually has a reasonable selection. Actually, I usually take a selection of my favourite foodstuffs with me! I will mention that in my notes! Re the sea opposite the apt., if you go a short way towards the Marine Club just past the Por de Sol Apts., there is a lovely little bay for swimming. That's another thing I must mention. And there is Happy Hour at Elcibar every Friday 6-7pm. Beer at Etcetera (next door in VC1) is 2 euro for half pint in their bar/restaurant or a bottle is 1 euro to buy from their shop. .
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

beautiful flat for peace and quiet

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for a week at Geris Boa Vista appt. The complex is pretty peaceful all day and night and has a lovely relaxing atmosphere to it. The location is perfect for access to a beautiful beach and a short walk into the local town. The apartment was clean and had everything we needed for the week. No air con but this was not an issue as ceiling fans were sufficient. The complex was also very well looked after and the pool always immaculate. During our stay a small business offering massage and other relaxation therapies opened up. A lovely addition to the complex. Would definitely visit again.

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for a nice review - I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and the massage - I had a facial + back, neck and shoulder massage - very nice and relaxing!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Boa Vista International
Nearest Barpub
5 Metres
Elcibar
Nearest Restaurant
5 Metres
Elcibar
Nearest Beach
10 Metres
Cabral
Car: not necessary

We include an airport pick up service and a welcome pack on arrival. The apartment is c500m (10-15 mins walk) from the main town of Sal Rei. Many watersports and tours available (Barracuda and Giggling Gecko).. Superb white sand beaches all around the island. Lots of bars and restaurants to suit all tastes and budgets. Very friendly small complex of privately owned apartments around lovely pool (plus childrens pool) and its own pool bar/restaurant. The Island still retains a natural African/Portugese charm. The locally caught fish is fantastic and very fresh. .Ask for directions to the fishmarket, past the Post Office and quite close to the bakery. Best time to go is morning, For self caterers there are many small supermarkets plus the large red Boas Compras (closed 1-3pm),a bakers, a butchers (behind the Shell garage), the Municipal fruit/veg market in the main Square (Esplanade) a short walk away. For those wanting to eat out, Elcibar (at the pool) provides good food at reasonable prices all day except Mondays, and there are many types of good restaurants to sample in town. An excellent brand new Chinese (Shanghai, also will do take aways) just opened (Jan15) next to The Blue Marlin in the main Square. There is a hospital just at the edge of town coming into Sal Rei from the airport road and a couple of chemists (farmacias, pharmacies) in town. 2 banks with ATMs. 2 x Telephone shops for sim cards, top ups and cheap small local phones. Te Manche and Waikan bars are nice for a lazy drink near the pier and nice safe sandy beach. Estoril and Chaves beaches are long and beautiful with safe swimming, several bar/restaurants and discos a short taxi ride or walk away. Chaves beach is a bit further, a real favourite with wind surfers etc. Down at the South of the Island is Santa Monica Beach - miles of pristine sandy expanses with dunes and beautiful seas. Shortly to be developed with a hotel complex.

Be careful of the sea. Some beaches are safe for swimming, some are not - there can be rip tides and sudden drops in ground level plus hidden rocks. Do get local advice before plunging in.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sal Rei Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
High
Jan 9 2017 - May 7 2017
4 night minimum stay
$62
$344
$1,219
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $6 per night, per additional guest
 
Low
May 8 2017 - May 21 2017
4 night minimum stay
$62
$312
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $6 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring BH
May 22 2017 - Jun 4 2017
4 night minimum stay
$72
$344
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $6 per night, per additional guest
 
Low
Jun 5 2017 - Nov 5 2017
4 night minimum stay
$69
$312
$1,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $6 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$62
$375
$1,187
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $6 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $31
Refundable damage deposit $125

Price includes gas, electricity, water, airport pick up , welcome pack and local phone with useful numbers. Managers live nearby for any queries and useful local info.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties