check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Teapot Cottage (50's time-warp cottage)

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
1

Description

Mount Cook Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathrooms, (Sleeps 4)

Step back in time in our charming 1930's built cottage, filled with things from a simpler era.

Enjoy a soak in our gorgeous garden fire-bath or in the natural hot springs nearby.

Spin some classic vinyl on the record player or indulge your imagination in our dress-up box.

Heaps of books, board games, puzzles and memorabilia to look at on those wet West Coast days.

Kid-friendly - cot, highchair, pram, potty, toys, swings and sandpit.

Bicycles for all ages.

This is an old cottage with it's own quirks, such as a bathroom just outside, through the laundry. It is for those who want a step-back-in-time experience, not an empty motel-like space.

2 kms from Hari Hari village, in an area of great tramping, fishing, hunting (including weekly bow-hunters club), lake swimming and boating.

Conveniently located between Hokitika and Franz Josef Glacier (45 mins each way) for easy day trips.

Natural Hot Springs just 8 minutes away - one of the Coast's best kept secrets.

Genuine West Coast hospitality from hosts who live next door.

Teapot Cottage is on the same acre property as our other (completely different and off-grid) Bookabach, 'Wildside Lodge'.

Special conditions:

Pets may be allowed with prior approval.

Extras: Linen (included); NOTE: Under Kiwi bach tradition you are expected to: Clean the house and do the dishes before you leave;

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Property Manager
Bookabach
-
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within 2 days
Calendar last updated:
December 4, 2016

What makes this cottage unique

Natural hotsprings just 8 minutes away

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(49 traveler reviews)

Teapot Cottage (50's time-warp cottage)
average rating of 4.5102043 based on 49 reviews
5

Blast from the past- lots of interesting things without being over crowded.

  • 5 of 5

Blast from the past- lots of interesting things without being over crowded. Unique!!!

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: Bookabach
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to do the Area exploring from handy to the glaciers , white herons and the Okarito lagoo

  • 5 of 5

Great place to do the Area exploring from handy to the glaciers , white herons and the Okarito lagoon

  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: Bookabach
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very unique & quaint.

  • 4 of 5

Very unique & quaint. Lovely garden to relax in and the bath was wonderful. We came away refreshed from a slower pace for the weekend.

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: Bookabach
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

cottage is totally timewarp - a bit too much for us ! it's like staying in a living museum.

  • 2 of 5

cottage is totally timewarp - a bit too much for us ! it's like staying in a living museum. enjoyed playingrecords on the gramophone and reading the old books, even using old kitchen equipment. however timewarp extends to the electrics and the water supply, pumped from the creek. bathroom only accessible by going out into porch and had window that was warped open with broken panes. bedroom full of suitcases of old 'dressing up' clothes, smelt musty to us.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: Bookabach
Owner's Response: Thanks for your feedback - "living museum" is exactly the term we were looking for - have added it to profile. The water is, in fact, from a spring - maintained by the Council, though not treated by them. House has a filter to prevent e-coli and has never made us sick in the 20 years we have been here. And it tastes great! Have added this info to house manual and advised if people are still concerned they may boil it. Dress-ups removed for washing.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Good location

  • 4 of 5

Good location

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: Bookabach
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

While we knew the property was rustic, and liked it's ambience, we were surprised at the amount of o

  • 3 of 5

While we knew the property was rustic, and liked it's ambience, we were surprised at the amount of old things in cupboards and drawers. It was a bit too junky. Could do with a bit of a clean up of those things and in the kitchen cupboards.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: Bookabach
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

×
This manager has not provided a specific location. If you would like more information, please contact the manager.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Mount Cook Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
New Zealand Dollar
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
All year round
Dec 4 2016 - Mar 4 2018
1 night minimum stay
$79
From
$79
 
Notes: Rate applies for up to 2 people. NZ$20.00/adult and NZ$10.00/child for extra occupants.   
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Mount Cook Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
General:
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Kids room - single and cot - 1 child bed , 1 baby crib
    Master - double and 1 single - 1 double , 1 child bed
Entertainment:
  • Stereo
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties