Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Family Friendly Tropical Pool Home in Pahoa

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 16 guests

This Tropical Pool Home is located close to has everything you need for a Wonderful Vacation or Getaway!!!

Located on 1 acre, this property is surrounded by beautiful tall trees and has plenty of space. There is a clock radio, refrigerator w/ ice box, ceiling fan in 3 rooms...& there are 2 King, 2 Queen, 1 Full, & 4 Twin beds = (2 twins in girls room + 2 twins in boys room).

This property is just a short scenic drive to the famous warm ponds of 5 minutes from the everything you need in Pahoa.... Plus..There is plenty of exploration to be had in this tropical area!!!

Activities and Amenities: Central to distances include;

Volcano - 30 Min

Farmer's Market (Sunday Mornings) - 15 Min

Zoo in the Rain Forest - 15 Min

Macadamian Nut Farm

Post Office - 5 min

Hilo Airport - 20 Min

Hot Spring Ponds by the sea - 10 Min

Candy Factory - 20 Min

Akaka Falls - 35 Miles

Bontical Gardens - 35 Min

White Sand Beaches - 1 Hr

Black Sand Beaches - 30+/- Min

Nude Beaches - 15 Min

Surfing - 15-30 Min

Further details for this vacation rental

Activities and Amenities: Central to distances include;

Volcano - 30 Min

Farmer's Market (Sunday Mornings) - 15 Min

Zoo in the Rain Forest - 15 Min

Macadamian Nut Farm

Post Office - 5 min

Hilo Airport - 20 Min

Hot Spring Ponds by the sea - 10 Min

Candy Factory - 20 Min

Akaka Falls - 35 Miles

Bontical Gardens - 35 Min

White Sand Beaches - 1 Hr

Black Sand Beaches - 30+/- Min

Nude Beaches - 15 Min

Surfing - 15-30 Min

More Details

Property Manager
Rob Nichols (owner)
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 8, 2017

About Rob Nichols (owner)

Hi, I am a teacher and coach who takes pride in providing a clean, quiet and comfortable vacation home. It is my hope that you will stay at our wonderful tropical vacation home and return again for years to come. Thank you for choosing to stay at our home.

Mahalo,

Rob

Rob Nichols (owner) purchased this house in 2008

Why Rob Nichols (owner) chose Puna District

You will enjoy the beautiful tropical plants, clean swimming pool, perfect central location between the ocean / swimming, volcano / observation points, water falls, and the city (5 min from grocery, restaurants, and gas), also 3 min from our community recreation center with covered picnic & playground toys areas.

What makes this house unique

Pool chairs, jacuzi bathtub, kids & teens - toys & games, wonderful thermal (volcano) heated warm ocean water swimming pond (with life-guards, showers, covered picnic tables & bbq, rest rooms, snack shack, ocean view) only 10 min. East from the property; bbq, big tv, refrigerator, dishwasher, mixer, iron/ironing board & games.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Very happy with our vacation and this vacation home. We enjoyed the tropical jungle surroundings and clean ocean air. The home was quiet, clean and comfortable. Our children loved the girls room and the boys room...the decor was perfect and all the kids had their own play areas. The internet worked perfectly and we also liked the high definition LCD tv's in the rooms so everyone could watch whatever they wanted. We prepared and enjoyed many great family meals together and especially liked the extra large kitchen and dining areas. We will certainly come back again :)
Dec 2012
  • 1 of 3

Amenities

Pahoa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (Sofa Sleepers) (2), Twin or Single Beds (4), Blow up Mattress (1); The house sleeps 16.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • volcano
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Swimming Pool with wonderful surrounding deck Covered back Lanai, High Ceilings in Kitchen, Living Room & Master Bedroom 3 of the 4 Bedrooms have a desk w/ drawers & chair Full-Service Kitchen with utensils, stove, coffee maker, garbage disposal, microwave & refrigerator Broadband Wireless Internet Access-no extra charge Radio & CD Player Linens Provided for every bedroom & bathroom Laundry Service upon request w/ charge No pets or smoking. Couch w/ fold out Full Size beds in living room

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

Family Friendly Tropical Pool Home in Pahoa
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 18 reviews
5

Beautiful House

  • 5 of 5

We had an awesome time, the home is very beautiful with a lot of rooms, we all had a room and there was still 1 left over, near the front door, we didn't even use it because there was so much space. The kids loved the pool, needs a little upgrade, but it was still nice and refreshing. We also had fun with the Coqui frogs, and got to taste a Butter Avocado, so ono. The key thing we really liked, is it was right down the road from my aunties lot Harris Estates on Old Kalapana rd. The only thing I'm not used to, is the heat. Maybe another upgrade to add AC units, that would be nice. However we would definitely return. Thank you for making our weekend enjoyable. We also complied with all the rules, even washed and dried our towels, emptied trash, and stripped linens, which were very simple tasks.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Peoria, AZ, USA
5

Nice, spacious home, loved the area

  • 5 of 5

The home is private and very spacious. We love the area and will come back. The owner is very accessible if you happen to need to contact him. Also, he provided alot of information on things to do in the area. Don't miss Lava tree State Park, hike to lava tour with Big Island Guides! Lots of other free things to see in the area as well. The master bedroom is on the opposite side of the house than the other three bedrooms. House was clean and yard was well maintained. We enjoyed downtown Pahoa with good little places to eat. Good pizza joint, mexican restaurant and a few other very good places to eat. I would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
31 1
Pahoa, HI USA
1

Needs an overhaul

  • 1 of 5

The pool is nice. The beds in one room are blow up matresses and make noise all night, some are futon pads, the fold out in the living room is broke. Blinds are broken and would not go down all the way. Pillows stained and towels thin and threadbare. The windows were dirty and hard to see out of and mold above the shower in one bathroom, grass in the washer. One of the rules is absurd-have to haul out your own trash??? Who has room in a rental car for bags of trash to haul to the dumps? Very disappointed in this place.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I respect my guests and get hundreds a year who are very satisfied with my home along with many repeat guests. I am the nicest, most accommodating, available & helpful owner I can possibly be. I resolve any issue no matter how big or small, immediately & politely & take every guest's input seriously because I strongly believe that listening helps me make my home better & better. This guest did not follow the contract. The contract allows for two 30 gallon bags of trash to be left at the property, with a reasonable & agreed upon fee for additional bags left for my housekeeper to dispose of on her time. We can not possible prove brand new linens with every stay, so our linens are used. Yet, we maintain quality linens as we have never had a complaint about the quality of them. Also, these guests agreed by contract to notify me of any issues of broken items within a reasonable time frame (24 hours) so that I can remedy or replace them for their convenience or standard...something that I am VERY happy & able to do...yet I was not notified within this time frame or at all during their stay. Rather, the guests, which damaged our pool railing (& incurred an additional cost to me the owner) waited until they received their deposit refund to post their inaccurate complaint. We pride ourselves in providing a comfortable, clean, & well liked vacation home. We have since replaced the mattress, sofa sleeper & pillow which were recently broken/stained prior to their stay. A small shower ceiling stain has been painted & a few blades of grass were removed from the washer. This review is suspect considering the fact that I was not given a chance to quickly fix things for him. Despite the countless hours I dedicate to making my home as nice as it is & how far I go to be the best owner I can be. I'm sorry to say this review is purposefully untrue. I asked the guest to please allow time to remedy any issue, yet he did not. I always work to provide our guests with anything & everything they need and I am available & reachable at all hours to do this. Upon his arrival I offered to meet all of his requests above & beyond the home being cleaned and prepared, yet he unreasonably denied me the opportunity. Despite this bad experience and loss, I will maintain my fair and generous demeanor with a big smile for all my future guests & your memorable vacation remains my priority. I'll gladly supply responses to any specifics in this review upon request. Edit your Response
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Salt Lake City, Utah
4

Nice secluded place

  • 4 of 5

If you are looking for a 5 star hotel this isn't the place, but it was nice, clean and in secluded area. With the trees all around and a longer driveway, you didn't know you had neighbors. We enjoyed it very much...

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A nice home away from home

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay here. The home is warm and welcoming, is equipped with all the necessary items you may find in your kitchen at home. My husband and I found the home very large for just the two of us, it could easily accommodate two families. There is an inviting lenai to relax on and just take in your surroundings, plenty of room for kids to run and play in the yard as well as a very clean pool to cool off in.

We found Leilani Estates a wonderful neighborhood filled with just NICE people and family oriented. You do need to remember that you are in an amazing rain forest complete with some critters you may not be used to, the sounds of frogs, and on some nights the pitter-patter of rain that can lull you off to sleep like only your mom could when you were a baby.

The owner is great, provided pretty much everything we needed, was quick to respond when we had questions and genuinely cared about our stay in his home!

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Very comfortable, well equipped home in a tropical setting.

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed the home very much, but the biggest issue was there isn't air conditioning and that isn't listed in the description. I think that needs to pointed out. We are from the northwest, and are not used to the humidity. So most of the evenings were miserable. The frogs are very loud at night, which enjoyed, but could bother some people. I suspect that is just about everywhere on The big island.

The home is very far away from any decent beach. It is great for visiting the volcano. But if you want the typical white sand beach experience, you will have to drive over two hours. The home was clean and had everything you needed, but did have a mildewy smell. The owner was very interested in that fact and is trying to remedy the problem. We ended up washing the towels before we could use them because of the smell.

The home is large and private. Plenty of beds and the kitchen is very large.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
9 Miles
Hilo International Airport (ITO)
Car: necessary

Other Activities: Boating, Bird Watching, Helicopter Tours, shopping, Volcano Park, Catered Parties

Photos

Rates & Availability

Pahoa House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$139
From
$149
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$875
$3,250
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $17 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Refundable damage deposit $300
Housecleaning fee $175 + Tax
Each addl. guest after 2 $15 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.4%

* Extended stay discounts are available :) Private driveway entrance and private parking. 2 night minimum stay. Each additional guest (after 1st 2) is $15 (current special!) per night. ** Credit card fees may apply. / there are no fees for e-check payments.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties