Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

8 bedrooms 6 bath with 2 pools, 2 100-ft docks, Sandy Shore, Kayaks, Gulf Front

Bedrooms 8
Space 3,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

Two 4-bedroom adjacent Gulf front homes-Sleeps up to 20, SandBeach/Pools/Kayaks!

Call us for last minute cancellation rates.


This rental is legal up to 20 people and offers a great option for multi-family vacationing by providing two 4-bedroom homes side-by-side. This gives you 2 kitchens, 2 pools, 2 deep water docks, 2 gas grills, parking for 6 vehicles and 6 kayaks! These properties are non-smoking and dog friendly.


Our rental license allows up to 20 people to stay overnight. There are beds for 18 plus a futon..


This property rents from 3PM Saturday until 9AM Saturday. Due to local ordinance, the minimum rental is 1 week (7 days).


Some people are surprised to discover that Marathon is located in the middle of the Florida Keys, offering a great location to explore and visit the many great sights the Keys has to offer. Marathon is a safe, family-friendly community. Also, the crystal clear waters in Marathon are visited by a variety of wildlife including dolphins, manatees, sting ray, lobster, crab, octopus, barracuda, parrot and angel fish, to name a few. We also have the above-water visitors and residents which would include roosting pelicans, great herons as well as some very friendly Iguana’s.


CALL 262.650.0246 or 262.352.4467 NOW!!!

Rent My LCC is licensed by the city of Marathon to do vacation rentals. We follow all city and state regulations for our properties. (License - 421 PLR2012-00387, 423 PLR2012-00386)

More Details

Property Manager
Rent My Island
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 14, 2018

What makes this house unique

This place is great for large groups. The 8 bedrooms are split between 2 side by side homes that each have a living room, kitchen, dining room, swimming pool, 100' dock, sandy shoreline, great view, laundry room and more...


Marathon House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 9:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 20
  • Min. age of primary renter: 24
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , This is a large bathroom
  • 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Master Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , This room has a private entrance and a private bathroom
    Master Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , This room has a private entrance and a private bathroom
    Master Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , This room has a private entrance and a private bathroom
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
    Bedroom 5 - 2 double , This room has a private entrance
    Master Bedroom 6 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 7 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 8 - 1 queen
  • Beds for 18. Most bedrooms have cable TV.
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • arboretum
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
You are in the family friendly town of Marathon. Enjoy your vacation home activities (swimming, snorkeling, laying in the sun, kayaking, fishing, reading, cooking, enjoying a beverage...) and also explore all the things to do in town and nearby. You are only an hour to Key West and an hour, fifteen minutes to Key Largo!


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
37% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
8 bedrooms 6 bath with 2 pools, 2 100-ft docks, Sandy Shore, Kayaks, Gulf Front
average rating of 4.125 based on 8 reviews
Toledo, OH

Beautiful Homes in perfect spot!

  • 5 of 5

Both of the houses were perfect for our very large group. Plenty of space on the patios and in the pools for everyone to hang out. The docks were perfect for renting a boat, fishing, wildlife watching. We had two manatees come right up to the dock, say hello, then go on their way.

All of the beds were extremely comfortable and everything was clean, with the exception of the freezer which had clearly been used for bait and/or fish and had a distinctive smell, but not much can be done about that. The kitchen was stocked with bare essentials like spices, foil, bags, etc. We were unsure of what kind of food items (non-perishable, or refrigerated condiments) could be left, which led to a lot of waste. Suggestion would be to ask owners in advance or the church across the street if they take donations. Anything that was not in order (one of the houses was missing their beach towels) was taken care of very very quickly.

There was plenty to do nearby including fun tiki bars (Sunset Grille and Sparkys were our favs) and there is a bus stop a half a block away for a day trip down to KW, for those who may not want to drive ($8 round trip). Close proximity (a few miles) from the grocery store, liquor store, and Kmart and lots of fun places along the way to stop and shop.

One downfall would be the proximity to a large house next door allowed for echoing voices back into the street/neighborhood. Luckily there were very few late nights for us, but if your group is loud, you may want to consider keeping evening fun at the blue house which is surrounded by privacy fences and water. Neighbor complaints are not fun while on vacation, trust me.

I would avoid getting the larger “suites” option with the third house due to its ragged nature (though that should not deter you from these homes—they are separate owners and fabulous). We would definitely stay here again, just with a smaller group to avoid the third house.

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great time- everything went well.

  • 5 of 5

The property was very clean and organized. The photos represent the property well. They were very easy to work with and communication was great

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the kind words! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your self and hope to see you again soon! Have a great rest of your week and thank you for taking the time to write a review! Thank You Rent My Island Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

This had to have been the most disappointing Home Away stay I have every experienced. We rented the two homes for my sister and her family, my parents (who were celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary) and my family (10 people total). We arrived to the houses being smoke-filled. Clearly the people who had been living in the house before us had been chain-smoking. The mother-in-law suite was so bad you couldn't walk into it after having the windows open for 3 days of our stay. Two-thirds of the lamps had missing light bulbs - the previous tenants allegedly took them according to the owner. The smoke detectors were either missing or non-functional. The bathroom in one of the homes smelled so bad of bleach we had to call the cleaning crew back out. While they insisted on the phone that no bleach is ever used, when they got to the house, they admitted that it was bleach and that the smell was overpowering. There was also no showerhead in the bathroom - they put one in once we complained - but of course, this raised the question - was the shower ever cleaned because had it been, someone should have noticed the showerhead was missing. Doors were missing to the laundry room and blinds were broken in the sun room. The fan in the kitchen didn't work. There was a huge load of dirty laundry in the washing machine full of gross towels, underwear and socks. The floors were grimy - not like you get when at the beach, I grew up in FL - I understand sand on tile. No, these floors felt like they were covered in grease. The two houses combined barely had enough silver wear and dishes for the 10 of us, not sure what you would do if you had the 20 they advertise. None of this was due to the hurricane. It has to do with not maintaining the property properly. The owner then kept $35 for an alleged missing towel set - we demanded to know which ones - we never got a response, nor our money. I don't know many towel sets that cost $35! All of their towels were cheap and thin, like from K-Mart. They refunded us 1/8 of the rent for not being able to use the mother-in-law suite, but due to all of the problems in this place, we felt cheated as we raised the issues as soon as we arrived, many of which were never addressed. DO NOT RENT this home. We paid almost $12,000 for one week - this place wasn't worth $120. I would rate this "0" stars if it were an option!

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Good afternoon, we are saddened to hear you didn't enjoy your time in Marathon. We pride ourselves on having clean vacation ready homes for our renters, so this all comes to a shock to us. In doing this for over 20 years this is the first time I have had to respond to a review like this. We have a strict No Smoking policy in our homes and did not detect any smoke smell but due to your claims that one room was completely unusable we refunded you over $1000.00 . You then called upset that the cleaning detergents used in the bathroom were too strong and so we sent our cleaner back to the property immediately to re-clean the bathroom. We like to use LED light bulbs on our properties, and unfortunately our previous guests took a few and because we clean during the day we were unaware there were any lights missing during the turnover process so we quickly and happily brought over the 4 needing to be replaced. There was an older smoke detector taken down due to us hard-wiring one into the home less than 2ft away that we feel is more safe than the battery operated ones you buy at stores for a couple dollars. We do apologize for the shower head not being placed back on after they cleaned the nozzles, but we were happy to take care of that right when you called. There was a small crack in one blind in a back bedroom that was a bit too high for our cleaner to see when she was dusting and was since replaced. The kitchen ceiling fan works by a pull chain and switch, so we will ensure guests are aware when entering the home for future renters. When you and your group arrived a bit earlier than expected our property manager and our cleaner did inform you and your guests of the New Towels being in the dryer still and you said that was fine and would take care of it (also no socks or undergarments were in there). The floors were freshly washed and seeing as your group arrived a bit earlier than expected Im sure there was a small amount of dampness on the floor. The towels were brand new along with the Christmas Decor the property manager had put out for you and your family to make your stay more special during the holiday and so when a set went missing we unfortunately had to charge for that. Again we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay and hope you have a good rest of your week. Any questions please call the owner Bob Thank you ~Bob
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Great for a large group

  • 4 of 5

Recently stayed in both properties for a family reunion and it was perfect for us. The houses were clean, well stocked and fit our needs. There are plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. The property manager checked in on us to make sure things were good. If we had any issues or questions they were right on top of it. Great people to work with.

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Laura, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We hope to have your family back next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great for a large group

  • 5 of 5

These homes have it all, from accommodating a large group, pools, kayaks, fishing right off the deck, and you basically have your very own aquarium show! There is something for everyone! If you are like me every time you go on vacation the beds are horrible but I was pleasantly surprised in the comfort of the beds everyone in my group were comfortable. The location is great convenient to beaches, state parks, key west. When you are there you must check out sunset grill by the 7mile bridge. Anytime I had any questions Robin got back with me ASAP from booking threw getting my deposit back was a great experience.

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with future quests. Sunset Grill is my favorite place also. We hope to see you next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Everything we needed

  • 4 of 5

The properties had everything we needed for our family of 17 adults and 3 children. Each couple had a bedroom of their own and the children or singles found a place to rest their heads. The kitchens had a surprising amount of room for food and between the two houses were well equipped to accommodate everyone. It was obvious items had been shared between the two houses. The swimming pools were nice to lounge around in and the kayaks were a hit by all. The docks were great for fishing and watching the great sunsets. The property was very clean and well maintained. Better than I expected considering the age of the houses. There is a gate between the two properties that we left open at all times so we could walk back and forth. Bahia Honda is a short drive as well as a short boat ride away. Key West is only an hours drive with lots of places to eat and shop. We rented boats for our stay but snorkel tours were available just about everywhere you went. I highly recommend this. The only thing that I might even consider complaining about is the checkout time - 9:00 am. This was a little early but it made us get up and get moving before the traffic got too heavy.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with our future guests. We hope to see you back next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Key Colony Inn
Excellent food at great prices. Perfect for lunch or dinner.
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Car: necessary

Some nearby places to see would include the Dolphin Research Center, the Turtle Hospital, the Marathon Museum, party boating, Crane Point, Sombrero Beach, Bahia Honda State Park and Beach, the Key Deer, and much more...




Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning w/tax 2 homes $430
Pet Fee $80.62
Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Tax Rate 12.5%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties