check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Rangeley Thornton

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

I Love To Fish Cottage On Chesapeake Bay - Kayaks Included

15 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Virginia Cottage Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

***SPECIAL PRICING***Have partial week available Aug 2nd - Aug 6th $195.00 a night/2 kayaks included..

Cute cottage on an acre lot facing the beautiful Chesapeake Bay in Ophelia, Va, near Reedville, Va. Our cottage has its own private fishing pier with lights, nice white sandy beach, high speed internet, washer/dryer, pet friendly, and best of all 2 kayaks come with cottage, no charge.

This cottage was built in the 60's, has been renovated, has original kitchen, is very cute and clean. Has an outdoor shower plus an indoor shower. Has central air and heat.This place is awesome! If you like to ride bikes, take walks on the beach, look for sea glass and arrowheads, bird watch, or just sit on the screen porch and read a book, this place is for you.

If you love to fish, we catch rock fish right off the pier. The pier is private, owned by the homeowners. We catch catch flounder, spot, croaker and tons of other salt water fish.

Do you enjoy the water, use our 2 kayaks (8' sit-on) and go exploring on the bay, 3 sandbars are in front of the cottage, it's fun to use the kayaks to go to each sandbar. There also fishing nets way out there, its fun to kayak out to them and see all the birds flying around the nets.

Are you bringing your pet? We welcome pets/dogs if they are on a regular flea treatment program and all shots are up to date. We charge a $35.00 fee for each pet. We have a doggie door in screen in porch.

Ophelia, Va is very close to Reedville and Burgess, Va. Its 1 hr. and a half from Williamsburg, 2 hrs. from Richmond.

Take a cruise to Tangier Island for the day or charter a fishing boat out of Smith Point Marina. Go to Reedville for the day, have dinner at the Crazy Crab Restaurant and watch a gorgeous sunset, then walk to the Ice Cream Pallor for an ice cream dessert. Walk down Main Street while eating your ice cream looking at beautiful victorian houses on the back waters of the bay.

Do you like to bike ride, use our bikes (3 adult bikes) in our toolshed. Ride to Sunny Bank Ferry. Take the ferry across the Little Wicomico River into Reedville. Or do you have children that are learning to ride a bike. Devil’s Wood Yard Road is a private street with little to no traffic on it. It is a great place for children to ride their bikes or to take a stroll and walk your dog.

******House very close to several well known wineries. : Belle Mount Vineyards in Warsaw, Athena Vineyards and Jacey Vineyards in Heathsville, Good Luck Cellars in Kilmarnock, The Dog and Oyster Winery in Irvington, Vault Field Vineyards in Kinsale. Get a pass to all the Chesapeake Wineries by going to

You do not need a fishing license to fish off the pier.

The coffee maker is a standard coffee maker. We have plenty of filters at the cottage, you don't need to bring filters.

Bring your towels and bed linens, 1 king bed, 2 twins and 1 bunk bed (2 twin sheets). We provide bedspreads, blankets and pillows.

We have a washer and dryer, also have a clothes line for your beach towels.

Cottage doesn't have a land line telephone. You may need to go outside for your cell phones to work. We do not guarantee your cell phones will work at the cottage, most do though.

We do not have a cleaning service in Ophelia, Va. Please clean the cottage before you leave. We have all cleaning supplies there, including a vacuum cleaner. We have cleaning instructions on the refrigerator in the cottage. It is a small cottage and doesn't take that long to clean. Thank you.

The cottage is cement and on a slab, it can smell musty at times if all windows are shut and no ac on.

*****Cottage has high-speed wifi!!

*****We have crab pots on back of toolshed also have crab pot cooker in pantry. Please return crab pots to the toolshed upon leaving, please don't leave them in the water for the next renter.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Rangeley Thornton (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

About Rangeley Thornton

My husband and I purchased this cottage in 1999. We wanted a place close to Richmond where we could spend fun family time cooking out, fishing, swimming in the bay. This cottage has been all of that and more. Looking out on a huge backyard with grass, trees and a white sandy beach, it is awesome!

Rangeley Thornton purchased this cottage in 1999

Why Rangeley Thornton chose Virginia

The cottage rests on an acre lot, on a private street at the end of a cul de sac. Great street for riding bikes. We have 3 adult bikes in the toolshed for you to use. We have our own private fishing pier with lights and water on pier. We have 2 8' sit on kayaks with life vests for your use.

What makes this cottage unique

We built a fishing pier in 2005 with lights and a fish cleaning station. It also has a lower level to put in crab pots. The pots are located behind our toolshed. We have a crab cooking pot in the cottage. Children love to jump off the lower level into the bay and swim back to shore. We also have 2 kayaks for our renters use.

Reviews

4.5
based on 15 traveler reviews

I Love To Fish Cottage On Chesapeake Bay - Kayaks Included
average rating of 4.4666667 based on 15 reviews
5

WONDERFUL

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was perfectly charming and quiet. Everything you need to relax and get away is there. We even found the owner had left us a personal Happy Anniversary note with some pink roses. The weather was perfect and this was our second visit. God willing we will be back again next year for a whole week. Don't change a thing.

  • Submitted: May 26, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect quiet getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved this house! The house was down a quiet, secluded street. The house has a great yard to play with the kids and the dog. I loved the screened in porch (and I so want a half door like the one off the kitchen). The dock was awesome! You can fish, crab, or just hang out on it. The house was so quaint and cozy! It was really well stocked inside and out. They have bikes, crab pots, outdoor chairs, kayaks, grill, and so on. Another reviewer mentioned a musty, damp smell in the house. It rained while we were there and we didn't notice any smell. It was still a bit cold while we were there to take advantage of swimming and hanging out on the beach so may try and book another trip this summer. We did a charter trip with Captain Ryan on the Midnight Sun and that was so much fun! Infact, we already booked another trip with him next year during trophy season. This was a great trip and I appreciate Ms. Thornton sharing her home with us. We will definitely be back soon!!!

  • Submitted: May 21, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Beautiful house and dock on the Chesapeake Bay

  • 3 of 5

I had stayed at this cottage a couple years ago with friends for 3 nights so I knew what to expect. This visit I believe we were the first folks to check in and there was an issue. The whole cottage had the smell of mildew and felt damp. It was not horrible but very noticeable. If you expect to be pampered, this is not the place for you. You must supply all of your towels, washcloths, and linens. You are also responsible for doing all of the cleaning before you leave, including taking of all your trash to the dump about 15 miles away.

  • Submitted: May 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: During this family's stay, it rained the entire time. The cottage is cement, on a cement slab. There is no mildew in the cottage but when it pours for 7 straight days the cottage will feel damp due to it being cement. Bringing your own linens, towels and washclothes and cleaning the cottage when you leave is because we do not have a cleaning service to wash the linens or clean the cottage between rentals. I wish we had a cleaning service there but there is not one in the area. This reviewer should have stayed in a hotel with sunny weather. ***Also the Northumberland Land Fill {dump} is 8 miles away. Rangeley, the owner
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Nice To Relax

  • 4 of 5

Nice and quiet. There are more cars and people at my office than I saw the whole time relaxing in this town and the cottage was a bit like roughing it for me but with out the tent. Beach was a bit rough due someone camping out there and not cleaning up the glass so be aware of that other wise great place. I will be going back again in May 2016. I need the peace of mind.

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful, beautiful location ... nice accommodations

  • 4 of 5

As other reviews have noted, it is a beautiful location. The owners are great, very responsive, very nice. Wonderful pier ... although I can only assume the fishing was good, since the weekend we were there it was too stormy to test our skills against the fish. The cottage itself is basic. It's been renovated, yes, but it wasn't a terribly fancy or recent renovation. The bathroom, for example, has a very rough shower only. The kitchen has the basic appliances (and, when we were there, a refrigerator that looked spotless but reeked horribly of a previous tenant's fish ... very gross). Bottom line: if the weather were great, I think this would be a wonderful place to spend a weekend.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great get away and fishing pier

  • 4 of 5

The cottage was how it was described - it was quite fishy and stale when we arrived but after we aired out the place w/ open windows, it was tolerable. Carpet could be replaced, it had a musty smell but we tried to vacuum and clean it well for the next renters. The fridge unfortunately was quite fishy, but that meant people were catching fish! We had some luck with pufferfish, blues, and whitings over the weekend. The pier was equipped with 2 lights, hose and cutting stations (very neat!). Not so much for catching crabs - even with 3 big crab pots full of drumsticks. Though it rained on and off throughout Saturday, we ventured out to Fleeton Point for some steamed crabs (very reasonable price!). Overall, it was as relaxing get away with a breathtaking view. Service was spotty at times but there was wifi at the house :) Thank you again for the stay !

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. The carpet was brand new...installed only 2 months before your arrival. The cottage is a cement cottage on a slab. It will smell musty if all the windows are shut and no a/c on. We did replace the refrigerator because we couldn't get the fishy smell out.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Tangier Island Boat tours
Reedville Fishermen's Museum
The Crazy Crab
Tommy's
Nearest Airport
70 Miles
Richmond International Airport
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Sunny Bank Ferry
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
Rt 360

Do you have extra friends or family that want to visit you at the cottage during your stay, we own a cute rancher just 15 mins from the cottage. Perfect for guests overflow from the cottage. VRBO or Homeaway.com house #3911911- Fisherman's House, sleeps 6, 3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, 1 double 4 twins, pets welcome.

Ophelia, Va is very close to Reedville and Burgess, Va. Its 1 hr and a half from Williamsburg, 2 hrs. from Richmond.

Take a cruise to Tangier Island for the day or charter a fishing boat out of Smith Point Marina. Go to Reedville for the day, have dinner at the Crazy Crab Restaurant and watch a gorgeous sunset, then walk to the Ice Cream Pallor for an ice cream dessert. So many things to do on the Chesapeake Bay.

Charter Fishing: If you would like to charter a fishing trip while at the cottage, call Capt. Ryan Rogers. The best fishing is right off the pier. You only need a saltwater fishing license if you fish in a boat. You can purchase a fishing license at any Walmart.

There is a Food Lion grocery store off Rt 360 in Heathsville, just about 15 mins. from the cottage.

Do you need beach stuff, Lillian Hardware True Value Home Center is 10 mins. from the cottage off Rt 360. 804-453-4911, 8:00-5:00 M-F, 8:00-4:00 Sat., closed on Sundays

Do you like riding bikes. Ride your bike to the to the ferry, cross the Little Wicomico River by ferry into Reedville. Operation times: M-F 8:00-4:30 Sat 8:00-12:00.

Go to the Fisherman's Museum in Reedville, Va and enjoy all the interesting history about Reedville. Stroll down Main Street after having a wonderful dinner at the Crazy Crab Restaurant, watching the sun set over the Little Wicomico River. The Ice Cream Pallor is just down the street from the Crazy Crab, enjoy ice cream for dessert! Beautiful victorian homes line Main Street, such an enjoyable walk while you eat your scoops of ice cream.

Do you like to shop at thrift/antique stores. If so, you have to stop by Secondhand Rose. Call to get store times, 804-580-2084. The store is 15 mins. from the cottage located at 1428 Hull Neck Road, Heathsville, Va 22473. Go to Hacks Neck Road, take a right onto Folly Rd, take a left onto Hull Neck Rd, store a mile or so on your right.

There are several wineries in the area. Enjoy your day wine tasting and touring these local wineries: Belle Mount Vineyards in Warsaw, Athena Vineyards and Jacey Vineyards in Heathsville, Good Luck Cellars in Kilmarnock, The Dog and Oyster Winery in Irvington, Vault Field Vineyards in Kinsale. Get a pass to all the Chesapeake Wineries by going to Chesapeakebaywinetrail.com

Explore the Chesapeake Bay right off our private fishing pier using 2 kayaks provided at the cottage. You will love kayaking to the fishing nets, or simply going out to the sandbars and having fun while the tide is out!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Burgess Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2016
Jun 10 2016 - Sep 4 2016
7 night minimum stay
$245
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$150
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $60 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $35

Check in time: 4:00pm Check out time: 11am

If using kayaks, life jackets and paddles are in the toolshed, please keep kayaks on bank, not on beach, high tide may wash them away.


Please bring your own linens for 1 king bed, 2 twins and 1 bunk bed. We hope you don’t mind cleaning the cottage for the next renter. We dont have a cleaning service in this area. All the cleaning supplies are at the cottage. It doesnt take long to clean at all. Thank you.

See Rental Agreement for more information about the cottage

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Virginia Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 1 shower is an outdoor shower, inside shower is original shower built in the 60's.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Bunk Bed
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • winery tours
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
The cottage doesn't have a cleaning service. We ask our guest to clean the cottage before leaving for the next guests. We have all the cleaning supplies at the cottage, it doesn't take very long. Thank you very much! Cottage does not have a land line. Your cell phones may not work in the cottage, you may need to step out in the yard to connect, we do not guarantee your cell phones will have service at the cottage. Cottage has an artisian well, water tastes great. Bring ice. ******Please bring a cooler for your fresh seafood and bait. Trying to get seafood/crabs/bait smell out of refrigerator is very difficult. Thank you for understanding.

Partner Offers