Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

2005 Built 3 Br, 2.5 Bas Home With 2 Front Porches,1-2 Blocks To Town & Beach!

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7

Very bright sunlit home with splashes of color, new furniture and family antiques decorate this comfortable home perfect for small families or getaways.Excellent location within the block of town and two blocks to a beach ( guarded beach Memorial Day to Labor Day). Walk to restaurants, bars and shopping! Quality home throughout! Large family room open to kitchen with seated island, stainless appliances, Corian counter tops, tile floors and separate dining room. A cook's kitchen features every gadget, plenty of pots and pans, serving ware and glassware. Enjoy a wonderful main level porch with Adirondack chairs overlooking the yard and oak trees.Half bath, laundry room with front load new machines and outside private shower too! Upper level bedrooms boasts wonderful luxury mattresses and bedding with a separate hall to an upper porch overlooking the street. Fabulous bedding with NEW top of the line Serta pillow top mattresses plus quality linens, washed in house - WE DO NOT USE A LINEN SERVICE-WE USE QUALITY LINEN-ALL PROVIDED.. Beautiful cherry Brazilian hardwood grace both floors. The master features a king bed, the front sunlit bedroom a king bed and the middle bedroom features a twin and double bed. The master bath has a luxury soaking tub and a separate shower plus there is an additional bathroom. Two flat screen TVs, plus wireless internet. There is parking for three cars and storage area of for all the beach gear under the stilted home. The adjacent home, On A Whim located at 115 West Erie is also for rent....perfect for a multi family gathering.

For your convenience, paper towels, toilet paper, laundry and dish soap are provided. There are beach towels located int he laundry room and some beach chairs, depending how tenants care for them throughout the season.

Weekly rates are discounted and we prefer weekly rentals to turnover on Fridays. The house has a list of "to do's" prior to leaving such as putting dirty linen and towels in laundry room, take out all trash, trash cans to hill on appropriate days, clean out/wipe out refrigerator- please check this list. The home is a home away from home with comfortable quality furnishing and decor. Enjoy!

More Details

Owner
Cary Fichtner-Vu
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
October 10, 2017

About Cary Fichtner-Vu

.We are a family from Virginia with 4 grown children and 4 grandchildren ( hopefully more on the way). Our eldest daughter went to College of Charleston and moved to Folly, married and had a family ( she lives just a few blocks away). We all fell in love with the Charleston area and the charm of the low country and stay at the house almost every month. We love enjoying Folly with friends and family, love the exceptional cuisine and restaurant scene, but especially love the peace of the beach!

Cary Fichtner-Vu purchased this house in 2012

Why Cary Fichtner-Vu chose Folly Beach

Superb location within the block of Folly Beach therefore you can walk to all the Folly Beach restaurants and festivities. The beach is 2 blocks away, during Memorial Day to Labor Day is also a guarded beach. Downtown historic Charleston is only 12 minutes away, the airport 25 minutes away. This house is well equipped for cooking and comfortably furnished with family antiques and contemporary furniture. Both levels are cherry Brazilian hardwood floors and beds are very comfortable. My favorite thing about our home is the outdoor private shower!

What makes this house unique

Walk to town and to the beach. Off street parking! Steps away from everything yet quiet and peaceful. Love all the exceptional Folly festivals, love the naturalness of Folly Beach and love being minutes to downtown Charleston. Truly an exceptional place!

Amenities

Folly Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , The hall bath features a shower/bath and a single sink.
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , The main level has a powder room.
    Bathroom 4 - outdoor shower , Under the house is an outdoor shower.
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , A luxury master bathroom with double sinks, separate shower!
  • Tiled flooring, maple cabinetry and immaculately maintained bathroom throughout the home. The Master bathroom features separate shower and tub, a wonderful soaking tub plus dual sinks.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Luxury mattresses and linen, luxury m bath!
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Front sunlit bedroom with luxury mattresses and linens.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , A unique bunk bed with double on main level and twin on top.
  • Luxury, top of the line, Serta pillow top mattresses and linens...like a home away from home with bright colors and motiffs. The king mattresses and linens are fabulous!!!! Floors are new cherry Brazilian hardwood floors. Plenty of closet space. Antique dressers, charming end tables and a wonderful upper level porch overlooking the yard. Master bedroom has a flat screen TV.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Renovated home in March 2014- Brazillian cherry hardwood on 2 levels, freshly painted inside/outside, mix of furnishing ...family antiques and new furniture plus luxury top of the line pillowtop mattresses. Sun lit rooms, set back off the road within 1 block of time and 2 blocks to the beach. Ceramic bathrooms, maple kitchen cabinetry, ceramic floors and stainless appliances. THIS ISNT A TYPICAL RENTAL...this is in excellent condition, well maintained and loved, exceptionally clean. Guests are provided with a kitchen full of pots, pans, wok, waffle maker, food processor, rice cooker and some spices and pantry items. The home will have paper towels, toilet paper, laundry and dish soap. There are beach towels and some beach chairs plus some children's beach toys. Guests are asked to wash and return beach towels to the bin. A private outside shower is wonderful with body wash and shampoo provided. We are a home away from home! Week rentals are discounted, we prefer friday turnovers .

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
2005 Built 3 Br, 2.5 Bas Home With 2 Front Porches,1-2 Blocks To Town & Beach!
average rating of 4.5 based on 12 reviews
Thornton, CO
5

Great location - plenty of room

  • 5 of 5

Really nice location - walking distance to beach, restaurants, ice cream/coffee shop and mini-market. It was perfect for our family (two kids 3 and 8) and my brother who traveled with us. Loved the shower under the house (hot water) so our kids could clean up before going into house after coming back from the beach. If we were in the area we would consider staying here again.

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review. WE LOVE the shower underneath too! Walking to everything is wonderful, leave the car in the driveway and just enjoy FOlly and the beach. I have many folks who come back numerous times, we hope you come back too!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous location and home!

  • 5 of 5

Walk to everything! Beautiful home, exceptionally clean, comfy beds, easy check in and out. Thanks Cary, it was wonderful.

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love our home and want every guest to have a A+ experience. Thank you for being a wonderful guest!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peaceful, very clean, well appointed and walk to everything

  • 5 of 5

Everything was easy...check in, house is gorgeous and comfortable, walk to everything, weather beautiful, check out easy......this is the way to live.

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you.... exactly what we wish for every guest :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Beach Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5

Stayed at the house just after Christmas and through New Years. Perfect atmosphere, just what I needed after a stressful holidays. All conversations and rental agreement discussions were incredibly professional and welcoming. The owner was excited to hear of my looking forward to being down in Charleston again and recommended some EXCELLENT restaurants for me to check out while in the area. Was an incredibly easy walk to the beach and the center of town, which was perfect for the Folly Beach New Year's Festivities. Everything was handled promptly and professionally, no regrets or complaints. Will stay here again without a doubt, and this time, for longer! Looking forward to the next time.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We love sharing Folly Beach and Charleston with folks. We are fortunate to have many repeat guests, love to add you to the list! Our goal is always for our guests to have a great experience. Come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Great house but wouldn't rent again!

  • 1 of 5

I thought this was finally a house we would rent again and again. The house was wonderful! Very clean and comfortable. Had everything we needed and great location! We left it in mint condition. "The cleaners were so pleased how you left the house"-the owners words. However, I will never rent this property again.

The owner was very accommodating until time for the refund! After numerous emails back and forth (six questioning the whereabouts of the refund), 7 weeks later, I received my refund. She was nice at first regarding the refund, then the emails became accusatory and unfriendly. Very disappointing.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The renter is a scammer and was caught. She asked for two additional leases and to have her deposit put toward the leases. Month later she cancelled the leases asking for her deposit. The deposit was sent , but she claimed not to receive it, we sent another deposit via PayPal which she claimed wouldn't open and demanded another check , which we did..... and she cashed the check AND the PayPal. I had to threaten contacting the authorized in order to get one of the two payments back. If you'd like to see the emails, I will provide them all. Please ask.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Restful and Beautiful Retreat

  • 5 of 5

You can't beat this home for a wonderful family vacation, or girls' get-away. Steps from the beach, restaurants, coffee shops and shopping, this retreat offers the perfect location to unwind and explore this historic area.. The home is well appointed with beatiful, comfortable furniture, and the kitchen is stocked for easy preparation of family meals.

We enjoyed excursions to nearby Charleston, kayaking, horseback riding, walks on the beach, and exploring some of the best restaurants around.

Morning coffee in the rocker on the front porch, is a must. The owner has definitely put attention to the cleanliness and comfort of this vacation property. The matresses are top quality, making for a most restful stay.

We will most certainly be returning to this gem of a vacation home for a future retreat.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind comments- we strive for EXCELLENT. We are always upgrading furniture, linens, kitchen equipment lighting etc... Thank you for taking care of our home- we really appreciate great visitors! Please do come back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Lost Dog Cafe
"This is a must try restaurant, walk to blocks over to the Original and Unique Lost Dog Cafe...."
Morris Island Lighthouse
"There is nothing like a morning walk to the light house, along the beach....quiet....back t..."
The Wooden Spoon at Bert's
"You absolutely have to go to Bert's......everyday!!! The coffee is free and good!....with a ..."
Folly Beach Fishing Pier
"The Folly FIshing Pier is a wonderful family activity to go and see what is being hooked. Th..."
Sushi by Lisa
"The BEST SUSHI you will ever have, fresh, handmade while you wait, interesting combinations ..."
The Grill and Island Bar -- CLOSED
"We love the Grill on the Edge. If you want a great fixed on fried seafood- get their dinner ..."
Woody's Pizza
"The best pizza...according to the locals and my family. I am not a pizza lovers. Friends and..."
Charleston SUP Safaris
Charleston Outdoor Adventures
"Family and friends have done kayak trips, paddleboard trips and LOVED these folks. They are ..."
Snapper Jacks
"A must go to happy hour place- Oysters on the half shell specials off season. Come on down,..."
Taco Boy
"Love Taco Boy tacos, nachos and margaritas. Fish Taco and Bulgorgi Tacos are excellent, Nach..."
Rita's Seaside Grille
"Great little place on Folly Beach with a mixed menu to fit all. "
Loggerhead's Beach Grill
"Great live music and bar atmosphere a block from the house!"
The Wooden Spoon at Bert's
"You absolutely have to go to Bert's......everyday!!! The coffee is free and good!....with a ..."
Pirate Playground
"Great playground for the kids, adjacent to a dog park and tennis courts!"
Kickin' Chicken
"Best bar food ever! Wings, huge salads, onion straws, bobbie fries...this is our to go place..."
Nearest Airport
17 Miles
Charleston Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Surf Bar
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
James Island Public Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
James Island Connector to Charleston
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
The Grill
Car: necessary

Folly Beach is a barrier island that is 6 miles long and located only 15 minutes to Historical Charleston. Folly Beach is known for sea, sand and surfing with wide sandy beach, fishing pier, a state park at the island's end , Morris Island Lighthouse and a town lined with novelty and seafood restaurants plus an active nightlife! Charleston offers a variety of historical and cultural sites plus an award winning Aquarium, fabulous designer and boutique shopping and a foodie delight in Chef owned local restaurants. Folly Beach offers many events year round to include Sea and Sand Festival, Fishing Tournaments, Folly Palooza, St Paddys Day Pub Crawl and charitable and cultural events. Charleston has monthly events to include Fashion Week, BB&T Charleston Wine and Food Festival, Annual Festival of House and Gardens, Spoleto and Low Country Jazz Festivals, Family Cup Tennis Tournament and more. The Charleston area offers many opportunities for all members of a family!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning/linens $160
Refundable damage deposit $295
Tax Rate 13.5%

We have great weekly rates- email the owner!!! The home is stilted with two sets of steps to the home...one wide stairs on the front and another under the home. The underneath is perfect storage for beach gear. The house has key code locks, so there are no keys, key codes are individualized to the Guest and changed just prior to their occupancy. After the final payment is made, a welcome letter is sent with the key code access. Strict no parties, no pets, no smoking and no additional day tripper people unless pre approved.

check or paypal.. Once a guest decides they want to rent the property, a lease is drafted and sent to the guest. The lease is to be signed and returned with half of the rental only amount. The balance of the costs are to be paid 2 weeks prior to the occupancy. The lease contains all information regarding the property and payment schedule. A welcome letter is sent just prior to occupancy.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties