Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

2005 Built 3 Br, 2.5 Bas Home With 2 Front Porches,1-2 Blocks To Town & Beach!

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • children welcome

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
7
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • children welcome

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7

Very bright sunlit home with splashes of color, new furniture and family antiques decorate this comfortable home perfect for small families or getaways.Excellent location within the block of town and two blocks to a beach ( guarded beach Memorial Day to Labor Day). Walk to restaurants, bars and shopping! Quality home throughout! Large family room open to stainless kitchen with seated island and separate dining room. A cook's kitchen features every gadget, plenty of pots and pans, serving ware and glassware. The kitchen has stainless appliances, island with seating and corian countertops. Enjoy a wonderful main level porch with Adirondack chairs overlooking the yard and oak trees.Half bath, laundry room with front load new machines and outside private shower too! Upper level bedrooms boasts wonderful luxury bedding and linen with a separate hall to an upper porch overlooking the street. Fabulous bedding with NEW top of the line Serta pillow top mattresses plus quality linens, washed in house - WE DO NOT USE A LINEN SERVICE-WE USE QUALITY LINEN-ALL PROVIDED.. Beautiful cherry Brazilian hardwood grace both floors. The master features a king bed, the front sunlit bedroom a king bed and the middle bedroom features a twin and double bed. The master bath has a luxury soaking tub and a separate shower plus there is an additional bathroom. Two flat screen TVs, plus wireless internet. There is parking for three cars and storage area of for all the beach gear under the stilted home. The adjacent home, On A Whim located at 115 West Erie is also for rent....perfect for a multi family gathering.

For your convenience, paper towels, toilet paper, laundry and dish soap are provided. There are beach towels located int he laundry room and some beach chairs, depending how tenants care for them throughout the season.

More Details

Owner
Cary Fichtner-Vu
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 28, 2017

About Cary Fichtner-Vu

We are a family from the Washington DC area. Our eldest daughter attended College of Charleston and we too fell in love with Charleston, especially Folly Beach. Our eldest daughter is now married with children living a couple of blocks from our two homes on Folly Beach. We use the home frequently with family and friends.

Cary Fichtner-Vu purchased this house in 2012

Why Cary Fichtner-Vu chose Charleston Area

Superb location within the block of Folly Beach therefore you can walk to all the Folly Beach restaurants and festivities. The beach is 2 blocks away, during Memorial Day to Labor Day is also a guarded beach. Downtown historic Charleston is only 12 minutes away, the airport 25 minutes away. This house is well equipped for cooking and comfortably furnished with family antiques and contemporary furniture. Both levels are cherry Brazilian hardwood floors and beds are very comfortable. My favorite thing about our home is the outdoor private shower!

What makes this house unique

Walk to town and to the beach. Off street parking!

Amenities

Folly Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , The hall bath features a shower/bath and a single sink.
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , The main level has a powder room.
    Bathroom 4 - outdoor shower , Under the house is an outdoor shower.
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , A luxury master bathroom with double sinks, separate shower!
  • Tiled flooring, maple cabinetry and immaculately maintained bathroom throughout the home. The Master bathroom features separate shower and tub, a wonderful soaking tub plus dual sinks.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Luxury mattresses and linen, luxury m bath!
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Front sunlit bedroom with luxury mattresses and linens.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , A unique bunk bed with double on main level and twin on top.
  • Luxury, top of the line, Serta pillow top mattresses and linens...like a home away from home with bright colors and motiffs. The king mattresses and linens are fabulous!!!! Floors are new cherry Brazilian hardwood floors. Plenty of closet space. Antique dressers, charming end tables and a wonderful upper level porch overlooking the yard. Master bedroom has a flat screen TV.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Renovated home in March 2014- Brazillian cherry hardwood on 2 levels, freshly painted inside/outside, mix of furnishing ...family antiques and new furniture plus luxury top of the line pillowtop mattresses. Sun lit rooms, set back off the road within 1 block of time and 2 blocks to the beach. Ceramic bathrooms, maple kitchen cabinetry, ceramic floors and stainless appliances. THIS ISNT A TYPICAL RENTAL...this is in excellent condition, well maintained and loved, exceptionally clean. Guests are provided with a kitchen full of pots, pans, wok, waffle maker, food processor, rice cooker and some spices and pantry items. The home will have paper towels, toilet paper, laundry and dish soap. There are beach towels and some beach chairs plus some children's beach toys. Guests are asked to wash and return beach towels to the bin. A private outside shower is wonderful with body wash and shampoo provided. We are a home away from home!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

2005 Built 3 Br, 2.5 Bas Home With 2 Front Porches,1-2 Blocks To Town & Beach!
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 9 reviews
5

Perfect Beach Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5

Stayed at the house just after Christmas and through New Years. Perfect atmosphere, just what I needed after a stressful holidays. All conversations and rental agreement discussions were incredibly professional and welcoming. The owner was excited to hear of my looking forward to being down in Charleston again and recommended some EXCELLENT restaurants for me to check out while in the area. Was an incredibly easy walk to the beach and the center of town, which was perfect for the Folly Beach New Year's Festivities. Everything was handled promptly and professionally, no regrets or complaints. Will stay here again without a doubt, and this time, for longer! Looking forward to the next time.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We love sharing Folly Beach and Charleston with folks. We are fortunate to have many repeat guests, love to add you to the list! Our goal is always for our guests to have a great experience. Come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Great house but wouldn't rent again!

  • 1 of 5

I thought this was finally a house we would rent again and again. The house was wonderful! Very clean and comfortable. Had everything we needed and great location! We left it in mint condition. "The cleaners were so pleased how you left the house"-the owners words. However, I will never rent this property again.

The owner was very accommodating until time for the refund! After numerous emails back and forth (six questioning the whereabouts of the refund), 7 weeks later, I received my refund. She was nice at first regarding the refund, then the emails became accusatory and unfriendly. Very disappointing.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The renter is a scammer and was caught. She asked for two additional leases and to have her deposit put toward the leases. Month later she cancelled the leases asking for her deposit. The deposit was sent , but she claimed not to receive it, we sent another deposit via PayPal which she claimed wouldn't open and demanded another check , which we did..... and she cashed the check AND the PayPal. I had to threaten contacting the authorized in order to get one of the two payments back. If you'd like to see the emails, I will provide them all. Please ask.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Restful and Beautiful Retreat

  • 5 of 5

You can't beat this home for a wonderful family vacation, or girls' get-away. Steps from the beach, restaurants, coffee shops and shopping, this retreat offers the perfect location to unwind and explore this historic area.. The home is well appointed with beatiful, comfortable furniture, and the kitchen is stocked for easy preparation of family meals.

We enjoyed excursions to nearby Charleston, kayaking, horseback riding, walks on the beach, and exploring some of the best restaurants around.

Morning coffee in the rocker on the front porch, is a must. The owner has definitely put attention to the cleanliness and comfort of this vacation property. The matresses are top quality, making for a most restful stay.

We will most certainly be returning to this gem of a vacation home for a future retreat.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind comments- we strive for EXCELLENT. We are always upgrading furniture, linens, kitchen equipment lighting etc... Thank you for taking care of our home- we really appreciate great visitors! Please do come back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Spot, Convenient location, clean and comfort

  • 4 of 5

Property is very conveniently located off Center St steps away from shops and restaurants. The beach and pier are only a 5 minutes walk away. The manager was very attentive and provided detailed instructions. Be aware to follow the directions because they are very strict. We left the place extremely clean but got charged for not cleaning the inside of fridge. Owner claimed we spilled something and it took cleaners 20 minutes to clean at a cost of $25. I wish we would have taken the 2 minutes required to clean the mystery spill. Fridge was clean when we got there, freezer was half full of food from previous tenants and owners food. We also misread the directions and failed to move the garbage bin with 1.5 bags of garbage 25 ft to the road. $25 charge to bring the bin out and back. Not sure how I would have brought it back after I left. I would also understand if they missed collection but they did not. I could claim that I had to bring the bin back from the road when we arrived and charge 12.50 but we are not that petty.

Overall condition of the place was great, kitchen was well stocked, beautifully decorated. Hand towels were clean but need replacing due to age, grill needed cleaning, entry light and storm door in need of repair, spare bedroom beds were quite sandy but it is the beach. The Master bedroom shares a wall with an attached townhouse and it was very noisy on a Friday Evening/Saturday evening which was unfortunate since we had to wake early for the annual bridge run. We won't personally stay again but I would recommend to others. Just follow the directions.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So sorry your stay wasn't the "excellent" that we strive to provide. The instructions for payments and checkout are in the lease. Checkout lists are also in the welcome letter and on the frig, stating that excess cleaner duties are subject to a charge. The payment schedules and checkout list must be confusing. The instructions are based on experience, and are to provide an enjoyable stay for everyone. We arrived for our monthly deep clean mid afternoon and understood why the cleaners charged us the additional fees. Tenants are asked to place trash cans for pickup in order to have empty cans for the next tenant, the can was 2/3 full. The cleaning people put the cans back under the house the next day because cans left more than one day are fined by Folly Beach. We apologize, the storm door opened, broke and broke the light in high winds the week before and is now fixed. We love our Folly Beach house, it was built in 2005, renovated in 2014 and we work extra hard not to be a typical rental but to be a great experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Comfortable, clean and very convenient!

  • 5 of 5

The house was very clean and in such a great location!! One block to town and two blocks to the beach. Our group included 6 couples and the house was a great size to accommodate us! With three bedrooms and two baths, we had plenty of space to spread out. The emailed welcome kit from the owner was very straight forward and easy to understand and everything with the house worked out wonderfully! We will definitely be booking another stay here!

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much. We love our home and I am glad you found it clean because we work at keeping the house spotless! The welcome letter is informative about the house and the area plus we have brochures, pamphets in the house as well. Do come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Arlington, VA
5

Love This Place!

  • 5 of 5

Excellent location (easy & short walk to beach and town)

Very roomy family room & kitchen area is great for hanging out.

Kitchen has everything you need to cook like cooking at home

Large bedrooms with new and VERY comfortable beds ( I am picky about a good bed)

Great space underneath the house for storing sand beach gear PLUS an out door shower.

14 minute drive to Charleston

Love this place!

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Lost Dog Cafe
"This is a must try restaurant, walk to blocks over to the Original and Unique Lost Dog Cafe...."
Morris Island Lighthouse
"There is nothing like a morning walk to the light house, along the beach....quiet....back t..."
The Wooden Spoon at Bert's
"You absolutely have to go to Bert's......everyday!!! The coffee is free and good!....with a ..."
Folly Beach Fishing Pier
"The Folly FIshing Pier is a wonderful family activity to go and see what is being hooked. Th..."
Sushi by Lisa
"The BEST SUSHI you will ever have, fresh, handmade while you wait, interesting combinations ..."
The Grill and Island Bar
"We love the Grill on the Edge. If you want a great fixed on fried seafood- get their dinner ..."
Woody's Pizza
"The best pizza...according to the locals and my family. I am not a pizza lovers. Friends and..."
Charleston SUP Safaris
Charleston Outdoor Adventures
"Family and friends have done kayak trips, paddleboard trips and LOVED these folks. They are ..."
Snapper Jacks
"A must go to happy hour place- Oysters on the half shell specials off season. Come on down,..."
Taco Boy
"Love Taco Boy tacos, nachos and margaritas. Fish Taco and Bulgorgi Tacos are excellent, Nach..."
Rita's Seaside Grille
"Great little place on Folly Beach with a mixed menu to fit all. "
Loggerhead's Beach Grill
"Great live music and bar atmosphere a block from the house!"
The Wooden Spoon at Bert's
"You absolutely have to go to Bert's......everyday!!! The coffee is free and good!....with a ..."
Pirate Playground
"Great playground for the kids, adjacent to a dog park and tennis courts!"
Kickin' Chicken
"Best bar food ever! Wings, huge salads, onion straws, bobbie fries...this is our to go place..."
Nearest Airport
17 Miles
Charleston Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Surf Bar
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
James Island Public Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
James Island Connector to Charleston
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
The Grill
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Car: necessary

Folly Beach is a barrier island that is 6 miles long and located only 15 minutes to Historical Charleston. Folly Beach is known for sea, sand and surfing with wide sandy beach, fishing pier, a state park at the island's end , Morris Island Lighthouse and a town lined with novelty and seafood restaurants plus an active nightlife! Charleston offers a variety of historical and cultural sites plus an award winning Aquarium, fabulous designer and boutique shopping and a foodie delight in Chef owned local restaurants. Folly Beach offers many events year round to include Sea and Sand Festival, Fishing Tournaments, Folly Palooza, St Paddys Day Pub Crawl and charitable and cultural events. Charleston has monthly events to include Fashion Week, BB&T Charleston Wine and Food Festival, Annual Festival of House and Gardens, Spoleto and Low Country Jazz Festivals, Family Cup Tennis Tournament and more. The Charleston area offers many opportunities for all members of a family!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Folly Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring 2017
Mar 31 2017 - May 24 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$295
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
High Season 2017
May 25 2017 - Sep 4 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
$295
From
$350
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,750
 
 
Fall 2017
Sep 5 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$295
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
From
$195
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,225
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $295
cleaning/linens $160
Tax Rate 13.5%

We have great weekly rates- email the owner!!! The home is stilted with two sets of steps to the home...one wide stairs on the front and another under the home. The underneath is perfect storage for beach gear. The house has key code locks, so there are no keys, key codes are individualized to the Guest and changed just prior to their occupancy. After the final payment is made, a welcome letter is sent with the key code access. Strict no parties, no pets, no smoking and no additional day tripper people unless pre approved.

check or paypal.. Once a guest decides they want to rent the property, a lease is drafted and sent to the guest. The lease is to be signed and returned with half of the rental only amount. The balance of the costs are to be paid 2 weeks prior to the occupancy. The lease contains all information regarding the property and payment schedule. A welcome letter is sent just prior to occupancy.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties