Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The Castle Rock Chalet : )

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Spacious Lakehouse On 2 Private Acres Across Street From Castle Rock Lake

THIS IS THE PLACE! Clean and comfortable Brand New 2500sq ft, 3 Bedroom, 3 Bathroom House sitting on 2 private acres by Castle Rock Lake! Super location close to all the recreational fun Wisconsin has to offer. 2 square miles of public county forest with private trail in back yard is get for mountain biking, SNOWMOBILING ATV, dirt bike, or simply just walking and observing nature. Be active or relax and take it easy while making great memories with your friends or family

Area: Castle Rock Lake is the forth largest lake in Wisconsin and is about 16 miles north of Wisconsin Dells on HWY 39 HWY 90. Around the lake there are great restaurants and bars such as The Dirty Turtle, Shipwreck, and Splash. Very fun area with all the recreational activities Wisconsin has to offer.

Golf Course (5miles from cabin)

Fishing

Ice Fishing

Nature Walking (state park or wooded backyard)

Hunting (2 square miles of public land in backyard)

Shooting range (2miles from cabin)

Water Parks (18 Miles)

Great roads for motorcycling

Mountain biking

SNOWMOBILING! (ride right out the back yard on to state trails)

Sledding

Skiing

Snowboarding

Antiquing

House: 2400 sq ft home with 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom, finished basement, and 1000 sq foot wrap around deck. All the comforts of home that include full kitchen, WIFI, cable tv,smart TVs in every room, DVD players, DVDs, Gas Grill on deck, Pool table, ping pong, Foosball table, wet bar, and fireplace (please don’t burn the place down : )

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, spanish, russian, polish, Ukrainian
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 17, 2017

About The Owner

Hard working blue collar man from Milwaukee. Bought the land, cut down the trees, and built a house as part of trying to accomplish his childhood dream and enjoy all the hobbies this location has to offer.

The Owner purchased this house in 2011

Why The Owner chose New Lisbon

Great location, Awesome space, all ammenities of a full home, and at a fantastic price.

What makes this house unique

Stay and see!

Guestbook comments from the manager

We had such a wonderful stay! everything was ready to go and the place was extremely clean. Lots of room with three bedrooms and very comfortable
Mar 2015
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

New Lisbon House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: 1:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
Notes:
MUST TAKE ALL GARBAGE home with you! do not throw it out window on side of highway!!!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
25% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
The Castle Rock Chalet : )
average rating of 4.3 based on 21 reviews
Elkhorn, WI USA
5

Our experience was great!

  • 5 of 5

The house was very easy to find. The house was very clean and nice. We had 7 adults and two babies, the bedrooms on the main floor were perfect for the two families with a baby. The basement had a queen size bed and a bunk bed that had a full size on the bottom and twin on top. Jeff, our owner was very easy to contact when questions would arise. Beach is just a couple of miles down the road. Good restaurants, Dirty Turtle, Buckhorn Cafe and Shipwreck Bay were just a few. I would rent this house again.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words!!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Milwaukee
1

Not as described

  • 1 of 5

There was food in the refrigerator from the last people. The TV channels did not work and the owner didn't know why. There was a bucket under the sink that was collecting water from the leaky garbage disposal so we could not use one side of the sink. The basement was ice cold and that's where our third couple had to sleep which was a very uncomfortable mattress and hard. The games downstairs did not have all the pieces or paddles that were broken and no net for the ping pong table. There were only a few plastic chairs to sit on on the porch which were moldy. The grill was so filthy we did not use it.

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Well this is pretty harsh... I do have one question...Why are you writing such a petty negative review almost 4 months after your stay at 1am? I do remember this guest and had trouble from the start. Constantly complaining about nothing... having to sit on plastic chairs outside? ping pong paddle broken? I assure you we take a lot of pride in this property. It is very clean and is exactly as pictured. I should also point out that we spent $2000 on 3 brand new mattresses for the house just before your stay. Hope you have a better day mam.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
5

Great place, close to the lake, not far from town

  • 5 of 5

Great place to hang out with a group of friends

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We really work hard to maintain and improve the property to give great experiences like yours.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Relaxing weekend with girlfriends!

  • 4 of 5

It was a great weekend to spend in New Lisbon and at this place. Enough space for all of us and close enough to the lake to enjoy the beach on a great weekend.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you ladies had a good trip! Come again soon
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
2

Disappointed ... . Expected more!

  • 2 of 5

For the amount we paid, we expected the cottage to be nicer and cleaner! Can't believe we paid a high cleaning fee to find the place not very clean upon our arrival. Oven, stove top, countertops and refrigerator were dirty along with some of the dishes and silverware in the cupboards. Our bedsheets were dirty so we had to launder them ourselves. It was an inconvenience having the kitchen sink leaking from the start, only being able to use one half of the sink and not being able to use the dishwasher and disposal for the weekend! Was upsetting to pay an additional fee for the 7th and 8th guest. The 4 basement guests got little sleep because of the noise from the squeaky floors above, the uncomfortable bed, having no curtains on the windows to darken the room, and no privacy or sound barriers (doors to close) from the upstairs.The deck and yard space were great and we enjoyed the fire pit too!

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bonnie, I will address your issues one at time because I remember your situation clearly. You wrote this review after I had to file a small $109 claim because you or your guests broke the garbage disposal, not a big deal. #1 We stayed during the week before 4th of July and I assure you we take a lot of pride in our work and home and the house was exceptionally clean. #2 "re amount you paid. You had 8 people stay during 4th of July weekend and saw pictures and knew the rate so i am not sure why you would complain about this. #3 bedsheets dirty is just absolutely fiction. you actually where the first to sleep on BRAND NEW mattresses. We constantly buy new bedding. #4 Squeaky floors? This is a new construction home #5 no blinds in the basement? Thank you for the positive compliments on the yard and deck! We also had a very large pile of firewood for you to burn.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 3
Brodhead WI
5

Spacious relaxing Chalet

  • 5 of 5

We loved this place! This home was a great place for our girls weekend. The deck is wonderful, nice fire pit with enough wood. The house is clean and very well kept. Only wish is that there would be a dumpster available. Not fun trying to drive 2 hours home with trash in the car.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you!!! Regarding the garbage... this is pretty standard for vacationing in northern Wisconsin. Garbage service is not offered and if we did get a dumpster it would attract more bears raccoons mice coyotes wolves and other varmints. I burn the paper and use small grocery stores bags that I can easily dispose of at gas stations and other places I spend money at. Ask first though... thanks again it was a pleasure working with you
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
1.25 Miles
Dirty Turtle
Nearest Ferry
22 Miles
Wisconsin Dells
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Castle Rock Golf
Nearest Train
22 Miles
Wiscinsin Dells
Nearest Restaurant
1.8 Miles
Shipwreck
Nearest Ski
28 Miles
Cascade
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $15
Cleaning Fee $65 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $79
Tax Rate 6.56%

MUST TAKE ALL GARBGE WITH YOU. No smoking in house, minimum age requirement, Pets ok with pre approval and must be kept in laundry room, no shoes on in house. Responsible for any damages. Note: I want you to have a great time and enjoy your stay. Looking to have repeat guests choosing to stay with me again and again.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties