Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Unfinished Business

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Unfinished Business

Are you looking for a change of pace and the opportunity to spend quality time with your loved ones? Nestled at the foot of 2,000 acres of State Game Land, schedule your next strategic planning retreat, family vacation, or weekend getaway at Unfinished Business. Whether you are looking for a place for business or pleasure, Unfinished Business caters to your every need.

Our rustic cabin in the mountains is the perfect location to unwind with family and friends, or spend a few days for a business retreat with your coworkers! The cabin come equipped with Wireless internet connection to help you satisfy your personal or business needs! The lower level has 2 bedrooms, a pull-out sleeper sofa, and a washer/dryer, TV, cable, and 2 full bathrooms. The master bedroom has a queen-sized sleigh bed and a spacious master bathroom. The full kitchen features a center island and plenty of dishes, glasses and cutlery. The dining room is surrounded by windows allowing for an early morning view of deer passing through. There are 5 bunk beds and one queen sized bed upstairs with 1 bathroom and gorgeous wooded views. All rental requests must be submitted at least 2 weeks prior to desired check-in date.

More Details

Jonna Contacos-Sawyer
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 26, 2017


Saxton House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom, first floor - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom, Loft - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Master bedroom - 1 queen
    Guest bedroom - 1 queen
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Loft - 1 queen , 5 twin/ single
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
  • churches
  • forests
  • marina
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
A fire ring is also located on the property for bonfires, however, renters must supply their own firewood. Bachelor/Bachelorette and Graduation Parties are not permitted. If overnight occupancy limits are violated, the landlord reserves the right to terminate the lease and no refund will be provided. All rental requests must be submitted at least 2 weeks prior to desired check-in date.


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
Unfinished Business
average rating of 4.375 based on 8 reviews

Beautiful house, remote location

  • 5 of 5

Perfect getaway for both a remote, quiet weekend and proximity to fun activities.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your great review and we enjoyed having you as our guest! We hope to have you visit again next year. Jonna Contacos-Sawyer
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great home away from home!

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was great. It was like a home away from home. We had one tiny issue with the air conditioning leaking which was addressed immediately. I would definitely recommend staying here if your headed to the Raystown Lake area. Thank you for the hospitality.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Fine stay, unsatisfying end

  • 2 of 5

The property was nice with a lot of amenities. It was clean and nice and isolated. The deck was relaxing and the bedrooms accommodated our party nicely. Plenty of chairs and mountain pie makers for nights by the fire ring.

If you have your own boat and can launch at Shy Beaver that's a much better option for this rental location than if you have to go up to 7 Points.

We took good care of the place and expected to get the full deposit back, but we ended up paying $150 because we left lights on and didn't strip the beds. Seemed like a steep price to pay and we will not book this place for our stay next year.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Great house for the family get-away - Clean and roomy

  • 5 of 5

Our family needs a large house to all gather in one place and this one worked great for us, including our 4 young grandchildren. The place was every bit as nice as the listing described. We liked the large deck with two picnic tables. Nice gas grill for cooking; modern and clean kitchen. Everything worked and the check-in and check-out were easy. It will certainly be on our list for future events, too! Location also worked well for us. Nicely isolated property, but grocery store in Saxton is conveniently close-by; Raystown Resort area is a drive, but an easy trip.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Family and boat friendly!

  • 4 of 5

Great place to rent for families with kids! Pleased with the accommodations and ample room for a boat. Plan to rent again in the future.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

The Best of Everything...

  • 5 of 5

Unfinished Business has everything you could want in a Raystown vacation spot. Its only a few minutes to the lake or town but the cabin is totally secluded and so peaceful. Highlights for the group were the spacious deck, professional ping pong table and huge open fire pit, not to mention wifi, cable, a whirlpool and all the amenities of home. Great parking and plenty of room and easy access for the boat are a huge plus. A great place to vacation!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Lake Raystown Resort, an RVC Outdoor Destination
Nearest Airport
9.3 Miles
Altoona-Blair County Airport
Nearest Barpub
6.7 Miles
Midway Hotel Bar and Grill
Nearest Restaurant
4.8 Miles
Bubba's Pizza and Sub Station
Car: necessary

Located 5 miles from Shy Beaver Boat Launch at scenic Lake Raystown, in the summer months, you and your family can enjoy time at Lake Raystown swimming, boating, jet skiing, canoeing, or soaking up the sun. You can enjoy the wooded scenery as the seasons change. All rental requests must be submitted at least 2 weeks prior to desired check-in date.


Rates & Availability

Saxton House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 6.0%

All rental requests must be submitted at least 2 weeks prior to desired check-in date. At the signing of this Lease, Tenant shall pay to Landlord, in trust, a non-refundable Reservation Deposit equal to 50% of the total rental amount, to hold the rental reservations. Rental reservations will not be confirmed or guaranteed until the check or money order has been received and funds drawn.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner