Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Haus Hanika B&B The Black Bear Suite on the River

Bedrooms 1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

House, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Haus Hanika is a Bavarian designed Bed and Breakfast right on the Wenatchee River with a total of 3 suites. The Black Bear Suite is our queen suite with a lodge decor and river rock gas fireplace. Breakfast in your suite! So no schedule! Only 1 mile from town but completely relaxing on the river. The perfect getaway from it all, yet close to all the festivities of Downtown Leavenworth! Adults only with maximum of 2 guests per suite.

Relax on the private patio with your glass of wine or beer and watch the river and all the wildlife. Binoculars are provided for your enjoyment.

So many activities to choose from! Either just relax the whole time you stay, or ask Ted and Sandy about all of the many activities to choose from; Hiking, skiing, biking, dining out, festivals, wine tasting, fishing, golfing, rafting, tubing, Leavenworth has it all.

Keywords: The Black Bear Suite at Haus Hanika Bed and Breakfast is right on the Wenatchee River, only 1 miles from Downtown Leavenworth, with river rock gas fireplace. Romantic getaway! Kitchenette with breakfast in your suite, wireless internet throughout, private patio on the river.

More Details

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 16, 2017

About Sandy

Ted and Sandy have vacationed in Leavenworth since we first met 30 years ago. It's was always our favorite getaway for the wonderful sun we have here. Living in Western Washington for our whole lives we began coming to Leavenworth more and more every year for the sunny weather, and all the fun activities and festivals year round. Finally, in 2000, we bought our property here on the Wenatchee River and used it as our getaway until 2005 when we began building Haus Hanika. Finished in 2007, we moved here full time and decided to share our wonderful spot on the River as a Bed and Breakfast so that others could enjoy this beautiful area as well. We know you'll love it here as we do!

Sandy purchased this chalet in 2007

Why Sandy chose Central Cascade Mountains

We chose Haus Hanika location because it is so close to town, but gives you the feeling of being in nature. The River and all the wildlife is so relaxing but you are so close to Downtown Leavenworth (just one mile).

What makes this chalet unique

Our goal is for you to have complete privacy and to feel like you've really had a break from it all. We are available for anything you want or need, but leave you alone for your 'down time'. That's why we provide your breakfast in your suite already when you arrive so that you can wake up and just relax in the morning!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We have stayed in Leavenworth several times, and your place tops any other we've been at. Loved the room and the view!
Jul 2011
  • 1 of 5


Leavenworth Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Included in Price
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Brand new spa style rain shower tiled shower with large granite top vanity with Bavarian Lodge decor
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Black Bear Suite - 1 queen
  • Queen size luxury 13" memory foam bed with river rock gas fireplace and fully stocked kitchenette. Private patio
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
River front with private patio right on the river. a with river rock gas fireplace. Kitchenette with sink, dishes, wine glasses, silverware, wine opener, microwave and fridge. Breakfast in your suite includes coffee, teas, hot cocoa, three kinds of muffins, fresh fruits, three kinds of cereal, orange juice, waffles and sausage. Binoculars for wild life viewing.


Exceptional! 5/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Haus Hanika B&B The Black Bear Suite on the River
average rating of 5.0 based on 20 reviews

Peaceful, comfortable stay

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay here. It was comfortable, beautifully decorated, and perfectly clean. The riverside view was a treat. We enjoyed the delicious included brunch out on the patio. Thank you Sandy and Ted!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

River Magic!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I loved our 2-night stay at this wonderful little place. It was homey and oh so comfortable. The Belgian waffles were a special treat! And now back home in the miserable heat and humidity in Houston, we are relying on our memories of sitting in those great chairs at the rivers edge! I highly recommend Haus Hanika for your Leavenworth stay.

Thanks for the memories Sandy!

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A Mary Poppins Visit

  • 5 of 5

The magical nanny described herself as practically perfect in every way. That description fits Haus Hanika to a "T." Cozy, quiet rooms. Absolutely lovely décor. Delicious breakfast food in the room. The most comfortable mattress ever. Killer location overlooking the Wenatchee river. Heck, they even provided wildlife: deer, herons, and eagles! The only thing Ted and Sandy failed to deliver was sunshine and blue skies. Oh, wait. It only rained two out of three days. :-) All in all, BEST B&B STAY EVER! We'll definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the great review. So original and wonderful, you must be a writer! We appreciate you taking the time to do the review and so glad you enjoyed your time with us! You're the reason we love doing this and we always love our return guests so hope we see you soon! Happy Holidays from Ted and Sandy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Great view of the river with friendly, prompt service. The in-room waffle making supplies were a great touch! River access was great and managed to see 2 deer run past early in the morning. Will definitely stay here again when in Leavenworth!

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your amazing review! August is such a beautiful time of year here with all of the flowers. Now it's December and the snow it's a fallin' hope you can make it back soon to see the Christmas Lights and the Magical town. The river is so amazing it's starting to freeze! Thanks again, Ted and Sandy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Naples, FL

Relaxation Supreme!

  • 5 of 5

What a great place to relax! We're traveling across country and have been hiking and biking everyday. Haus Hanika was a great place to just relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. This B&B sits literally on the edge of a beautiful river. We sat all day long beside the river and watched the tubers and kayakers float the river. We stayed just two nights but we were wishing we'd booked it for more. The Black Bear Suite has everything a person would need: very comfortable bed, jetted tub, and a wonderful breakfast which you prepare yourself whenever you're ready to do so. Eating our Bavarian waffles on our private porch... oh my goodness, wonderful food and beautiful scenery ... a combination we won't soon forget. Oh, and by the way, the town of Leavenworth is fabulous -- everything is decorated in a Bavarian style -- very quaint and enjoyable.

We will definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We can't thank you enough for the wonderful review. We are so happy that you enjoyed having your breakfast while watching the river floating by! Such fun meeting you both, it's folks like you both that make it so great to do what we do. Warm regards from Leavenworth! Ted and Sandy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Haus Hanika in Leavenworth

  • 5 of 5

There is no need to look for another rental. Haus Hanika B&B is a wonderful place to stay. From the time you arrive until you depart Ted and Sandy have your comfort in mind. The peaceful patio with the Wenatchee river just yards away is the best. You're only 3 minutes from downtown Leavenworth. What is not to like about this property. Two thumbs up.

Michael O.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Such an amazing review! We can't thank you enough for your thoughtfulness in writing it and we are so grateful that you chose Haus Hanika for your stay here in beautiful Leavenworth. We hope you can make it back soon for some more R & R ! Ted and Sandy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Wenatchee (Pangborn) airport
Nearest Barpub
0.75 Miles
Icicle Junction
Nearest Golf
0.25 Miles
Leavenworth Golf Course
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hwy 2
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Wild Huckleberry at the Leavenworth Golf Course
Nearest Ski
0.5 Miles
Cross Country Skiing
Nearest Beach
walking distance
Car: not necessary

Leavenworth has festivals year round and was voted Christmas Town USA. Christmas Lighting is first 3 weekends in December. Oktoberfest is first 3 weekends in October. Check out the Leavenworth Chamber website at and see all of the activities and festivals we offer. Leavenworth Shuttle is available for back and forth to town if you prefer not walking. Wine tasting has become very popular here in Leavenworth and all of the shops in town are wonderful! Ted and Sandy are available for ideas on dining and other activities in our beautiful town.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 13.5%

Minimum 2 nights stay on Fri. and Sat. nights. We charge the one nights stay to hold your suite and balance due upon arrival If you stay more than 3 nights, we require 50% down to hold the suite.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties