Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Secluded Beachfront Paradise

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 650 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 6 nights

Overview

About the property

One bedroom, one bath. Accomodates four.

No Hurricane Damage from Irma and Maria...

The few shingles have been fixed and the yard debris cleaned up.

Come and enjoy the perfect weather of December. Dive or snorkel in the clearest, warmest water in the world.

------------------------------------------------

Car rentals start at $ 230.00 per week....

------------------------------------------------------

Internet (at my house) should be be restored by January, though there are open connections at different restaurants, and of course the 2 phone company buildings.

Privacy and quiet are yours to enjoy at Sandcastles . Stroll across the back yard to the beach where you will find miles of powdery sand. Walk out to the "wall" and snorkel at the best dive sites in the Caribbean.

Newly built Bermudian style home with all amenities, located 3 miles from town. You can go by rental car, bicycle, or taxi.

Tiled flooring extends to front and back porches. Ceiling light fans in every room with 12' ceilings. There is an outside shower on the patio. Free wireless internet, TV, and a cell phone is provided for your convenience. Horses and donkeys do stroll thru the yard and are fun to watch.

There is a concrete pad at the beach to bring your chairs or chaise lounges down to sit on.

The beautiful, warm turquoise sea beckons you with all she has to offer... boating, whale watching, world class diving and snorkeling at your back door. Evenings offer many choices for dining and entertainment.

Only 1 hr. and 30 min. from Miami, then a short hop to Grand Turk, a lifetime away from reality.

Come and explore historic Grand Turk, beautiful by nature.

CALL NOW - RESERVE A MONTH .... 3240.00 per month

or a week at a time at 900.00

For Fun...: Sports abound on Grand Turk, especially on the water. Diving is the most popular as it is one of the best locations in the world. Snorkeling and diving at the 7000' wall is astounding. The best dive site is the ruins at Molasses Reef.

Rental boats are available for sightseeing, whale watching, or sailing.

There are also day trips to Gibbs Cay to play with the Manta rays, (you can really pat them) or hop a ferry to Salt Cay where there are no cars and miles of beach to yourself.

Other sports you can enjoy.. Golf, tennis, horseback riding, and of course eco-tours. Call or write for details on these.

Interactive map Link..

http://g.co/maps/v8rxw

GRAND TURK DIVING SPECIALS:

3 Tank Special*, want to dive 3 tanks a day? Book now and get 3 tanks for $150

ALL divers get 50% off bike rental during their stay.

Get FREE rental gear, travel light, leave your gear at home and save on excess baggage charges by using our regularly serviced Sherwood Equipment*

5 Day Special, book 5 days diving and get 6th day FREE

4 Day Special, book 4 days diving and get a 10% discount

*Available when booking 3 or more days diving. Specials may not be combined with any other offer

Night time on Grand Turk:

Evenings are sublime. Enjoy dining at one of the many restaurants on the water. Whether you choose buffet, formal dining or island cuisine you can find all your favorite foods.

The Sandbar is being rebuilt after the Hurricanes, and should be open in a few weeks.

Entertainment by Smiley at the Osprey. They have Barbecue nights on Wednesdays and Sundays, Salt Raker should resume it's Friday night entertainment in a week or two.

The Bohio will have Saturday night live entertainment when it reopens very soon.

Carnival Cruise Port at South Base:

Carnival Cruise Port is alive with music, shops and beachside bars. There is an amazing FLOWRIDER pool you can SURF on, as well as a gigantic wading pool, which is the largest of any cruise center.

Be sure to check out Jimmy Buffet's Margueritaville Restaurant.

Miles of perfect sandy beach at the Cruise Center and the west shore. Get a massage on the beach at the Cruise Center, also.

Take a stroll up the beach and find JACK'S BEACH BAR, 500' north of the Cruise Center, and receive your FREE RUM DRINK ! Just mention that you are my guest at Sandcastles.

Key words, Grand Turk, beachfront, villa, Caribbean vacation.

More Details

Owner
Gail Schofield
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 6, 2017

About Gail Schofield

My life has been anything but ordinary.

Restaurants, offices, trucks, construction and massage are a few of the many vocations I have had.

My son is 33, and just got his PHD in New Zealand after studying for 5 years. I am now semi retired and sold my 24' RV, and have a new home in Florida. Short term rentals are the best way to share this beautiful island home.

Gail Schofield purchased this villa in 2005

Why Gail Schofield chose Grand Turk

After dreaming of a house on the beach for a long time,

I found this piece of land and started building my home in 2004.

It was an adventure to be sure, being alone and single, but it was worth it 10 months later when it was finished. Life changed my plans to stay, so I headed back to Cape Cod.

It was even more quiet then, just a few grocery stores, one water fountain, and 2 good restaurants. The one priceless quality, is that you are the only one walking the perfectly beautiful beach.. along with the occasional cow, donkey or horse. It's still just as secluded, tho there are more homes on the north stretch of beach.

This home has been a rental since 2006, and I visit as often as I can. This is the fourth year as a monthly rental in the winter.

.

What makes this villa unique

I find that I still love the same things about this island and my home as I did when I first came here.

Every evening at the same time, I would stop everything and sit on the back porch to watch the sun go down. It's different here. Mesmerizing. In the morning I can't wait to get up before the sun rises. Clean air, water, and quiet. When you walk the beach it's your own private island. Now that I have had the time to fix up every little thing, it's perfect.

Now I wish I could stay....

Amenities

Grand Turk Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , outdoor shower
  • Plenty of storage, linens and 4 pillows available. Plenty of towels, including beach towels. A hair dryer, (Pantene) shampoo and conditioner, tanning lotion and oil. nail polish and remover, dove soap, bug spray, after bite cream, and much more.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa (1) The living room sofa opens up into a queen sized bed; Very comfortable. Bedroom A/c shouldn't be used, as it is not working. The new split unit in the living room is very cool and takes care of the whole house.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Chairs
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Patio
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 bicycles
  • 2 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
A GOLF CART is in the process of being fixed up after the hurricane. Hoping it's good by December 15 2017 No nearby neighbors. 10 lot subdivision 2 lots to the north. Dive boats moor in front of the house. You can walk out and snorkel at the wall. Interactive map link for Grand Turk: http://g.co/maps/v8rxw Massage at the Cruise Center, Elizabeth Hanchell.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

36% Complete
54% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
Secluded Beachfront Paradise
average rating of 4.090909 based on 11 reviews
5

This was one of the most relaxing vacations ever!!!

  • 5 of 5

Nov 2017

Gail was great to work with for this vacation rental from booking right thru to us departing the US with last minute packing suggestions for food and supplies to help save on inflated island costs, since everything is imported.

Despite Hurricane Irma & Maria devastating the island in Sept, Gail kept us updated on the island's progress on rebuilding & assured us her home had endured the impact of both hurricanes with just minor exterior damage. She even spent the weeks before our arrival on the island herself, even though power had not yet been restored to her home & most of the island. We were looking forward to this vacation for months & were all set to rough it for our long awaited relaxing vacation with a generator she had purchased & were blessed when power was restored ahead of schedule 2 weeks before our arrival. We didn't have cable or internet restored at the time we visited but found the peace and tranquility of her quaint home & property to far outweigh the conveniences we left behind. Wifi was available in several places for us to check in with family.

Gail graciously left us a nicely stocked fridge and pantry for our first few meals.

Since this was 'off season' for the island (which we knew when booking) along with the impact of the hurricanes most of the main businesses were still rebuilding or had limited hours, but we found spending time enjoying the beautiful water, reading by the water's edge & walking the beach without hardly seeing any other visitors or residents to be one of the most relaxing, private vacations we've ever had! I don't think many vacations can boast seeing more donkeys than people. I'm a country girl, so I was thrilled with our daily visitors :-)

Gail's golf cart was not in working order, so we rented a car for the week from one of Gail's contacts. Despite originally being disappointed to not have use of the golf cart, it turned out we were thankful for the car with some rainy weather we had during the week. We spent most of the rainy hours touring around the island, enjoying the views and gaining an appreciation for those who live a much simpler, island life.

We saw (right from our back porch) several cruise ships come in & out of port during the week so we did indulge in some 'party time' at the cruise port's Margaritaville one afternoon.

If you're looking for a relaxing, quiet vacation, give Gail a holler!!

Gail - Thanks for an awesome vacation!! Cheryl & Dennis - Germansville,PA

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Cheryl and Dennis, So glad you enjoyed yourself that much. I feel blessed to have gotten to know you. Hope you return soon. Very best to you and yours, and Happy Holidays. Gail Schofield
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Such a lovely retreat!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed a month at Sandcastles and thouroughly enjoyed our time there. We had everything we needed and it was absolutely spotless when we arrived! Could not have been any cleaner! We rented a golf cart for the month and it worked wonderfully for exploring the whole island and getting our supplies. Such a beautiful place with friendly people everywhere. The beaches were lovely and no crowds, except at the cruise ship terminal! Such a relaxed pace of life, it was very blissful. The beaches are extensive and beachcombing was phenomenal, with conch shells to discover and so much to see! We enjoyed snorkelling and just lounging with drinks in the little natural pools in the ocean just to both the left and right of the property. Quiet, secluded and just perfect. The donkeys were so lovely, we enjoyed sharing the yard them, the wild horses were not around as much, but managed to visit sometimes as well! What fun! The owner of Sandcastles, Gail, was a joy to deal with. She sent ample information before our arrival and was available immediately via email throughout to answer any questions and deal with any small concerns we had while staying there. A fabulous landlord who was extrelemely helpful. Her caretaker on the island checked in with us often to make sure all was well. Much appreciated. We do not hesitate to recommend a stay at Sandcastles!

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at Sandcastles! Were there for a month and would of loved to of stayed longer. The house is very comfortable and the walk out back to the beach is perfect. It is a nice quiet beach with beautiful sand and water. The bed was comfortable and there are 3 new deck chairs as mentioned. So nice to use in the mornings and evenings to sit out on the deck and enjoy. Also 2 new folding chairs for the dining table to make a total of 4 chairs. The BBQ grill was nice to have as we like to cook at home and this is the perfect place to BBQ. Gail is awesome to work with and very responsive to your needs. She also has two employees on the island that are only a phone call away and very willing to help. We enjoyed it so much we have already booked it again for Feb 2018!

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks to your sharp sense of observation and willingness to make it better, Sandcastles is now a vacation rental deserving of a high rating in every way. I appreciate that you believe in "leaving a place better than you found it". I have to say that you have been the BEST guests I have had in 11 years.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Buyer Beware!

  • 1 of 5

We arrived to find that the place had not been cleaned. It smelled terrible, everything was filthy, and there was no water. We phoned the number Gail had given us for the caretaker, which turned out to be the number for the local ambulance base. Whoever answered apparently did not know who we were looking for. I then called Gail's number and, lo and behold, while I was on the phone with her, the caretaker arrived. By this time it was dark outside. There was supposed to be a golf cart, which was not there. There was no laundry soap, no dish soap and no cleaning supplies other than some bleach. There were dirty dishes in the cupboards, cockroach feces in every cupboard and drawer, mold in the refrigerator and some cupboards, a dirty bathroom with old tubes of toothpaste, dirty hairbrush, used soap etc. The ceiling fans were dirty, the oven disgusting, and we could not even sit on the couches until we had washed and bleached the slipcovers, and disposed of dead cockroaches etc. When the golf cart did arrive, it was nothing but trouble. We ended up having to spend about $100.00 on it and finally gave up completely. We rented one from Grand Turk Adventures, and were very happy we did. The new cart was well-maintained and very reliable. When we contacted Gail about the problems, she was less than receptive. She seemed to think we should train her staff and fix things. The double bed has seen better days. We spent our nights clinging to the edges to keep from rolling to the middle. Two of the four chairs in the dining area were so disgustingly dirty that no one would sit on them. The outside chairs were worse. The two bicycles are also in rough shape. One had a flat tire, and there were no tools available to change the tire and no oil to combat the rust. The television is a joke. The dvds are unplayable because they are a wreck. The guardrails around the upper deck are falling down and a section on the front porch is also unsafe. All of the window screens and doors are in need of repair and we had to use silicone to repair a piece of heavy plastic in the one door to keep the bugs out. In speaking with others on the Island, apparently we are not the first to arrive to find the place unclean and in disrepair. The Island itself is beautiful, peaceful and friendly and the locals are wonderful. We will return to Grand Turk, but never to Sandcastles.

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: For the first time in 12 years I had the date of arrival as the next day. Andre arrived with the golf car and took you shopping right away. The cleaning lady came 9 am as she had been instructed and you sent her home! You wanted to do it yourself and complain that you did it. The following items are fine and were not as you describe: The TV, DVD;s, the queen bed, the front railings..(are safe). If I had been told that there was a problem with the golf car, Andre would have been there to fix it. It runs fine now.You told me you spent $75.00 and didn't say for what. We now have the following: 3 new porch chairs, 2 more dining room chairs, posts on sundeck (blew off in the wind.. wasn't told) tools for the bikes, tire fixed and chain stays on. New blender, charcoal barbecue, all screens fixed and a new screen door. Very clean behind the oven, and inside. (self clean) I want to know when things need attention. I'm very happy to get all these items I thank you for the list, and have tended to everything thanks to the cooperation of the guests who are staying there this month.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

heaven!!!!on earth

  • 5 of 5

I visited Sandcastles for a week with my daughter Rosemary, and we had a great time. There is no traffic,

and hardly any one even walks by on the beach. Walked every morning to the northern most point…

Maybe there are 6 houses in a mile, and very quiet.

The house is roomy, and very clean. We did find that we needed to set up the fan in the living room to

blow the cool air into the bedroom when it was too warm at night… other than that the temperature is

wonderful day and night. Internet is fast, and TV has lots of channels. i didn't want to watch tv!!!

The water is very, very clean and calm.green/wowwow! Not so windy that it blows you away… We walked out to the

“wall” and went snorkeling, right in front of the house. The dive companies moor their boats right there

because this is one of the best sites on the whole west coast…

We saw so many coral, and fish.. amazing!!!

The grocery stores don’t have as much fresh food as in the states, but you can get fresh local vegetables

and fruits (the basics) 2 days per week. Other than that you have frozen fish, beef, or chicken. It is

possible to bring in your own fresh meats when you fly in. There is a good assortment of spices and

condiments at the house.

The best restaurant was Osprey for the buffet, and the Sandbar for great lunches got to check them out!!fresh fish!!yum!Fresh fish always

cooked perfect. Prices are reasonable.

Other than that, we read a lot of books talked ..and just soaked up this piece of heaven!but sometimes my daughter had to watch movies...but There are DVD movies to watch and i was happy to have a good selection of music cds!!but here was my favorite the golf cart! slow like me..but so great to have!

  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Low key relaxation

  • 4 of 5

Just back from a lovely stay at Sandcastles! First time in GT (have been to Provo). Loved my holiday. The owner, Gail, was great to communicate with and emailed a helpful info book. She'll also help set you up with transport from the airport. She's quick to answer any questions. And listen to her advise on the supermarkets and when the boat comes in with fresh veg/fruit. Def pick up bottled water & anything else needed before arriving at the house. The house is a bit north of the "main drag" & so that qualifies as remote for GT. The nearest action was Bohio - maybe 20 plus min relaxed beach walk away? The house has good bones - it's not fancy but there are also no fancy, upscale hotels that I found on the island. And those accommodations are probably 2x or more per night so I really enjoyed being independent; what made it- the location & the great price. Opening up the house front to back was wonderful during the day with a brilliant breeze. The water out front was so lovely and diverse; little pools, grassy areas, rocks, gorgeous colors to the water - it's not a swimming beach but beautiful to walk & explore. So many great shells and got to see a few sea turtles popping up. Rarely was there anyone else. You can swim closer to Bohio. Their food/drink prices are a bit higher than other restaurants on the main strip but their snapper & salads are delish. I would recommend a car rental for at least part of the time if you aren't into biking. Did take taxis - about $20 to get anywhere. As a New England girl who grew up with the true cottages on the coast, this place reminds me of my childhood. The towels are a bit worn, the metal door has suffered with the salt, there's a little mish mash of stuff. Things like that were fine for me because otherwise it's well equipped and again, the price is great. We could cook. There were coffee makers. I can drink my wine out of a regular glass instead of a wine glass - more fun for me. And I know you should never turn on a tv on vacation but there's a small flat screen with DVD player so I brought down Game of Thrones 5 to prep for season 6.

  • Submitted: May 15, 2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
6 Miles
Jags International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Bohio Resort
Nearest Ferry
6 Miles
South Base
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Grand Turk Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Guanahani Restaurant at Bohio Resort
Car: not necessary

Turks and Caicos Islands are 1 and 1/2 hours from Miami.

The cleanest water and most amazing weather is consistant here in these beautifull islands.

Refer to this link for an interactive map. . http://g.co/maps/v8rxw

Sandcastles is located 2 1/2 miles from town, where you will find grocery, bakery, departments stores, restaurants, and dive shops. The golf course is on the south end of the island near the airport.

The Carnival Cruise Line has brought unique shopping, restaurants and services to Grand Turk. You will still find it's a quaint, historic, and laid back island. Not even one traffic light in the seven mile stretch from north to south. A variety of sports and activities are here if you choose, or enjoy the peace and quiet. Come to Grand Turk and relax, it's all beautiful by nature.

Other Activities: 2 bicycles, and a golf cart at house. 2 Chaise Lounges, and an umbrella. GRAND TURK DIVERS welcomes you to crystal cear aquamarine waters and colorful corals. Join with friendly sea creatures in a rhythmic dance under streaming beams of light. Delight in the drama of a deep blue abyss, where dive sites are only minutes from white sandy beaches. Join Smitty, a Grand Turk native with over 25 years experience, to make this dive vacation the most memorable experience of a lifetime.

SPEACIAL PACKAGE AVAILABLE

105.- per day, per person, 2 tank dive.

115.- for one day, 2 dives, per person. Please confirm prices.

Grand Turk Divers and Oasis Divers offer day trips to Salt Cay (less than 100 inhabitants)and Gibbs Cay to play with Manta Rays. Dive the 7000' wall or rent snorkel gear to see the beauty down under.Golf, tennis, sailboats, and more are available for your pleasure and excitement.

Golf: At the south end of the island near the airport is a Golf Course.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

The above terms are wrong. I am unable to select the correct percentage.
10% due to reserve your dates. Non refundable.
The balance is due 30 days before vacation time.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties