Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Quaint Ocean Front Duplex property A on Pristine and Tranquil Jekyll Island

Bedrooms 6
Half Baths1
Space 1,300 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

each Side has 3 bed rooms 2 1/2 baths. Rent both or just One!

Location, location, location! This beach cottage has all the amenities of home but rest just 50 yards from wind swept dunes and white sandy beaches. This property has a large grassy back yard with multiple ocean views, shady mature live oaks, and a private beach access path. Each side of the duplex has 3 bedrooms 2/12 baths, a full kitchen with all necessary appliances. Laundry room with washer and dryer. This ocean front property can be rented separately or in its entirety, great for reunions , weddings or just a quite getaway. Built in the late 50's, it is one-of-a-kind majestic, ocean front property!

Rick Germano
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 20, 2018

About Rick Germano

I am a realtor, but more importantly I am a father of two children Christopher and Bianca, who are my world.

We have spent a lot of time together on Jekyll Island. This house is a family built property from the 1950's and one of the first homes constructed after the island was purchased by the State of Georgia.

Rick Germano purchased this cottage in 1957

Why Rick Germano chose Jekyll Island

Our family has spent countless vacations on sunny Jekyll Island, Georgia. this house has been passed down through three generations of family, and we have shared many joyous memories together at this property that are incomparable. The scenery on Jekyll is serene and beautiful.

What makes this cottage unique

This prime ocean front cottage has breath taking views of sunrises, miles of sandy beaches, and shady oak trees. There is nearby golfing, biking, restaurants, shopping, and other activities. Front yard on the Ocean side) is great for family gathers and memories to last a lifetime.


Jekyll Island Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , Unit A upstairs
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , Units A down stairs
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Units A Stairs Down Stairs
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Notes: Unit A Upstairs
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Unit A Upstairs
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double , Notes: Unit A Down Stairs
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • festivals
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

36% Complete
36% Complete
27% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Quaint Ocean Front Duplex property A on Pristine and Tranquil Jekyll Island
average rating of 4.090909 based on 11 reviews

Great Location on Jykell Island Ga.

  • 4 of 5

Close to the Beach and relaxing. Deer come up in the yard at various times of the day and the Grandkids enjoyed feeding them apples, grapes, and bread. Inside the house was relaxing. TV's need to replaced with more updated ones and perhaps a little larger. One bedroom upstairs does not have a TV.. The overall stay was relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

So much fun!

  • 5 of 5

This house is perfect! We've stayed here twice, and each time is so wonderful! The house is great for families, plenty of room, no worries about tracking in sand or dirt from outside with all cement/tiles floors. Bathrooms are small, but efficient. Gorgeous beach views from everywhere! We can't wait to go back!!

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Athens, Georgia

Great location, comfortable house!

  • 4 of 5

The location is perfect for access to beach and getting around the island. The house is very comfortable and spacious. There are some things that could be improved:

-Internet very slow

-upstairs small bedroom could use a better air conditioner

-TVs could use to be upgraded

We considered these minor problems. We would strongly recommend staying here if you want a unique comfortable house located on the beach!

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great time

  • 4 of 5

We had an incredible time on the island. The property is older and needs some work, but it was clean and comfortable.

  • Submitted: May 21, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We had a great time despite the disappointment in the accommodations

  • 3 of 5

Location I’d give 7/10. Unit itself maybe a 4/10. The unit was not the unit that was pictured. There was not one thing in the A unit that was in the pictures. The beds are in desperate need of new mattresses. The refrigerator door shelf was zip tied in place. The appliances were very old.

The unit sleeps 8-10 yet there was only seating for 4. The couches were extremely dusty and we actually covered them to sit down. The location was very nice. The rocky walk down to beach is actually a wall of boulders that although we braved them was extremely dangerous.

The evening was nice to be outside, yet again there was only one outside chair.

If cushions were replaced and things looked fresh and clean it would have been wonderful. Jekyll Island is a great place! I just felt like we were “camping” more than we would have liked.

I was also disappointed to hear after I paid my non refundable deposit that I had to travel w my linens and towels. Had I known that ahead of time, I never would have booked that unit.

I can emphasize enough it would be great with some love and freshening up.

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I encourage that all travelers read the web site thoroughly, apparently traveler over looked thereis a 100% deposit refund if requested 60 days prior to arrival. Also property nowhere states it will sleep 8 to 10 people. Another over looked travelers misunderstanding is that the unit does not included linens, towels and paper products all these are clearly stated in the web site. Yes jekyll island does have a sea wall that surrounds the beach front of all residential properties as well as commercial properties on Jekyll Island , this is a protection from hurricanes. Traveler falled to note that next door is a public beach access that is accessible to the beach for the young and old alike. Pictures include both units, the units are identical in square footage and are furnished a lot alike. As mentioned I highly encourage all travelers read the web site to avoid any misunderstanding and uncalled for disappointments. I also encourage travelers to e-mail or call me with additional questions pertaining to the property, These units are one of the best centrally located units on jekyll Island , if not the best. These units are truly Quaint Beach front properties and should not be interpreted differently. The owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Hayesville, NC

Needs work

  • 3 of 5

The location is unbeatable, but the house needs some renovations, and if that were done, it would be very nice. Air conditioning did not work, many items need replacing, some cutlery and the kitchen counter are chipped/cracked, and so on. There are various quirks, missing parts, and things coming apart that someone with a keen eye and who pays attention to details could remedy quickly without too much expense. The old home with a history needs some TLC. We enjoyed the beach and the island very much.

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Jekyll island Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
I 95
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Holiday Inn Resturant
Car: recommended

Ocean Front property with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. The front yard is facing the ocean, and has a canopy of live oak trees hundreds of years old. There is a private walkway to the beach that is a pleasant stroll under the oaks. The house is a very short distance to shopping, restaurants, golf fishing and swimming.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $75
on line booking fee $25
Pet Fee $100

Peak Season Rentals ( June thru Aug) are from Saturday to Saturday
Cancellation policy:
1. Short notice cancellation:
Less than 30 days before arrival deposit will be held , the amount balance will be credited on your next stay minus $175.00 re booking fee min stay must be equal to the original stay. Full refund will apply in the event of a hurricane evacuation ( not a warning Hurricane warning) prorated rate will apply if asked to evacuate.
2. full refund if cancelled more than 30 days before arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties