check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Shari Slatton

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

Sticks In The Sand Ib is a 1 bedroom ste with full kitchen & amazing sunset

27 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Emerald Coast-Destin Area Condo Rental Photos and Description

1 Bedroom Suite with Queen, Foldout Sofa & Futon bed, Sleeps 2-4 Adults

(Listing Note...We have multiple almost identical properties and keep our calendars offline until all our properties are filled, Please click the "SEND A MESSAGE" button to confirm availability and price for your dates instead of the "Request To Book" button otherwise our listings get dropped in the search rankings for declining your request and VRBO puts a hold on your payment amount that takes 48 hours to clear. )

The allure of Beaches of Miramar is as clear as our shoreline. We feature perhaps the best Florida beaches. Escape to a refreshing hideaway where you can unwind and rejuvenate. Admire the beauty of some of the best Gulf beaches. Marvel at the diverse architecture that defines our vibrant communities. Or learn about the area’s rich history, culture, and wonders. We promise you an experience filled with lasting memories.

'Sticks In The Sand' is in the Heart of Old Destin. This Sanddollar townhome unit is on the most highly-desired beaches of Destin, and you can't get a better seat. You will be within walking distance to some of Destin's favorite Restaurants. 1 block from Pompano Joes. There's no pool here, but the ocean is all yours. Just step off your deck onto your own beach.

A 5 min drive of outlet malls, many restaurants, and other retail shopping. Want to go to the Destin Harbor, then give yourself ten minutes driving time, and you're there.

Close to everything, comes with everything.: This is a 'NO SMOKING' ,'non pet' unit which can sleep up to four adults and 2 children. The entrance to this unit is ground level with no stairs. The master has a Queen Size Bed with fold out futon sofa. There is also sleeper sofa in the living room. There are flat panel TV's, and a DVD Player. The Full Kitchen is equipped with Appliances, Dishes, Silverware, and Cookware. There are Linens, Towels, and a private Washer / Dryer for your convenience.

Beach Time: The private balcony is equipped with chairs for a relaxing evening in the breeze with porch fan. The scenery is complete with both a breathtaking view of the Gulf and the sounds of the waves breaking on the beach. Play in the beach all day and rinse off in the outdoor shower.

The bedroom is next to the ocean so you can hear the waves even with the doors closed.

There are two parking spot for this rental, it is directly in front of the unit. Lastly, enjoy privacy since the unit owns all the beach to to the water. No more looking for the perfect beach spot!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Shari Slatton (Property Manager)
Speaks: english

About Shari Slatton

We are not professional renters. James purchased a home on the beach that has 2 individual units and only needed half the space. So, he began by renting out the lower unit. Due to the success of Sticks in the Sand, We now have 3 beachfront Townhomes to handle the overflow of request.

Shari Slatton purchased this condo in 2010

Why Shari Slatton chose Emerald Coast-Destin Area

The units are close to everything, walking distance to a bar/restaurant and directly on the beach with private ownership all the way to the water. This unit is identical in layout and 4 blocks away from my house. It can be rented 3 ways, a 2 bedroom, 1 bedroom unit or both. So it was perfect to maintain all my renters in one location.

What makes this condo unique

Centrally located between Destin, Baytown and Sandestin. I provide everything you need from child toys, chairs and your own piece of private beach to enjoy. There is an outdoor shower to rinse off in and two flat panels to relax indoors. Perfect for a couples getaway, a small family or group of friends. Sleep where you can hear the waves and not see the cars

Reviews

4.6
based on 27 traveler reviews

Sticks In The Sand Ib is a 1 bedroom ste with full kitchen & amazing sunset
average rating of 4.5925927 based on 27 reviews
Clarendon
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here with our two daughters . It was our most favorite of all the places to stay in the area. You cannot beat the closeness of the beach . Also the beach was not crowded at all . Highly recommend this unit . We will definitely stay here again

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect On The Beach Site

  • 4 of 5

We recently stayed at Sticks in the Sand and were very pleased with our small condo. It was perfect for the 2 of us, exactly what we were looking for right on the beach. There were a few minor details that were not reported by the previous renter to James, the owner, but he came down within the hour to take care of things and we appreciated that. We loved walking right out onto the beach, cooking on the grill was great and eating out on the small porch watching the sunset was perfect. The one and only issue is the dehumidifier/furnace that is in a small closet in the bedroom that is noisy at night but we got used to it after a day or two. The kitchen was well supplied with pots, pans etc. and the frig was nice and clean. It was also great having all laundry done when we returned home. The washer/dryer was a big plus. It was unfortunate for us that the weather was a bit cool but we will definitely go back.

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying at Sticks In The Sand and we appreciate the review. We actually just installed a blue light in the air conditioner system to eliminate any mold or milder concerns that are caused by being so close to the beach. This has drastically reduced the time the dehumidifier runs as long as the doors remain closed to the beach It doesn't even activate. We look forward to seeing you next time. Regards, James and Shari
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Unbeatable location

  • 5 of 5

Read all of the reviews, it definitely helps you know what to expect and plan for what to bring.

I kept going back and forth about where to stay, should I go for a bigger place further from the beach but with a pool or go for location and skip the pool? So glad I skipped the pool and went for location. You can just walk down the stairs right onto the sand. AND, if, like me, you're in love with the sound of the waves hitting the shore, there is nothing better than sitting on the deck in the evening feeling the sea breeze and listening to the ocean.

I stayed here early November 2015 with my four year old and 1 year old. A few notes if you have small kids--I think the balcony has been updated since these pictures. I brought a baby gate thinking that the kids could just wander off into the ocean, but the deck actually has a latching door (and there is a key pad to get back into the condo--so no need to worry about losing a key on the beach). There is a step up into the bedroom. Your little ones will trip once or twice, but they'll get the hang of it.

This condo is small. Make sure you're vacationing with loved ones and not enemies. :)

I actually liked the close proximity to my kids. It was true together time. If you have older children, you'll probably need more space.

Suggest bringing/buying:

dish soap--I brought dishwasher soap, but there was often times when I needed to wash one item (such as kid's cup)

paper towel--there is a roll when you arrive, but you'll likely go through a lot, especially if you have kids--also, as noted there is no indoor dining table, so you are often carrying food out to the deck table

toilet paper

binoculars--it's fun watching the surfers and looking out at the boats. I bet a telescope would be great too.

Other notes--parking spots are not super wide, so if you have an oversized pickup or something you may be in for a bit of a squeeze if there are cars on either side.

There is a restaurant you can walk to from the condo that has great food and atmosphere (can walk down the beach or the street--about a block away). But note that other than a beach shop, you'll likely be driving to other stores. They're not far, but you won't be walking there.

Highly highly recommend going to Fudpuckers and feeding the alligators. Go during the week right when they open. I thought the kids would enjoy it, but I had a lot of fun too. Take a pic with an alligator and...eat one.

  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Not clean!

  • 1 of 5

The view of the ocean is beautiful, the access to the beach is great. The unit is small but comfortable, AC in bedroom closet very loud, neighbors above loud. The main problem the unit is not clean. I had to clean the bathroom before it could be used, floors filthy, toilet area dirty, blue stuff in the tub. Amazing what a little soft scrub, tilex and elbow grease will do. Dust hanging on the walls, corners, headboard you could write in the dust and I did. Mold on the doors. Contacted the landlord, sent pictures of the dirt, his solution for me to call the cleaning company and deep cleaning is only done in May and November. So mopping floors, scrubbing the tub, wiping a door that is cover in mold, cleaning the base of a toilet to remove urine is considered deep cleaning? If you stay in this unit bring your cleaning supplies.

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Actually you contacted the OWNER and what I explained to you, after you demanded your deposit and cleaning fee back IMMEDIATELY one day in to your stay, was your security deposit has nothing to do with a cleaning issue and your cleaning fee is passed to the maid service directly and in full. The service guarantees their work for any guest who reports an issue within the first 24 hrs they gladly return to address any issue. But when she contacted you within minutes of your complaint email you refused her services and offer to return. Next time I suggest you give people the opportunity to correct an issue rather than just complain and demand money. Otherwise it appears as if you were just trying to reduce the cost of your 3 night stay to get the cleaning for free and this review is your attempt to punish our company for not allowing it! For anyone else reading this review feel free to look at any of the other 4 and 5 star reviews there are about 25 of them over the last 4 years to choose from between this and the combined Townhome listing which has both units A and B.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Smyrna, GA
4

Great Getaway for 2 on the beach!

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed a relaxing vacation, just the 2 of us.

Incredible view and so great to step off the deck and be on the beach!!

Very convenient to great restaurants in the area or Walmart and Winn Dixie.

Our 4th time to rent more than 1 condo from these same owners and they are great! Highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great to Be on the Beach

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed a week at Destin Beach. You just can't beat staying right on the beach. The Gulf of Mexico waters edge was 80 paces from the back door. Morning coffee on the deck overlooking the surf is priceless. The kitchen is nice, we had a shrimp boil and dinner on the deck almost every night. The white sand beach is perfect.

The only cons are the noise from the air conditioner in the corner of the bedroom (The Dragon) and the footsteps heard through the ceiling from the unit upstairs.

Will return with the whole family and rent the whole unit some day soon.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
13 Miles
Ft Walton Beach
Nearest Golf
0.4 Miles
Regatta Bay
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Pampano Joe's
Nearest Beach
Miramar Beach
Car: not necessary

Golf: Moments for dozens of great golf courses like Regatta Bay, Kelly Plantation and the Sand Destin Courses. Coupons available in the unit for 2 for 1 play!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Miramar Beach Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
Jun 3 2016 - Aug 19 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,295
 
 
Late Summer Special
Aug 20 2016 - Nov 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$135
From
$145
Fri,Sat
$925
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 4 2016 - Sep 4 2016
1 night minimum stay
$235
Flat fee
 
 
Fall Break
Oct 7 2016 - Oct 7 2016
1 night minimum stay
$245
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$195
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $125 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 12.0%

Like other marketjng websites Homeaway/VRBO has instituted a "service fee" for travelers that book through their website. While this "fee" does contain some additional services like 24 hour phone service and the ability to purchase rental insurance, if you prefer to avoid the fee by express mailing me a check or paying through paypal. However because their is also an online option where people can "Book Now" therefore no reservation is confirmed until your check has been received. I can not decline rentals in hopes your check is on the way. So their is a possibility your reservation request may not be accepted and your check returned, or we me may have another property available. If you do prefer to pay online then the preffered method of payment to help you avoid the credit card fees is E-Check as there is an additional 3% charged by Homeaway for Credit card/Paypal and it will be deducted from your deposit refund. Holiday rates vary. Your deposit will be refunded 7-14 business days after checkout. 4pm check in -10 am check out. All our calendars are kept offline until all Sticks In the Sand Properties are booked. If this property is occupied we will recommend one with similar sleeping accommodations that has availability in our email response to your inquiry.

WE DO NOT rent this property to those under 25 during spring break, however we do rent in to them in other seasons but require special terms and conditions, additional deposits and insurance. The owner must be notified if you are under 25 at the time of inquiry or you will be considered a falsified reservation and cancelled in accordance with our terms and conditions.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Emerald Coast-Destin Area Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Room 2 - outdoor shower
  • 1 Main bathroom with a combination Tub/Shower. 1 outdoor private shower on the beach.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 2 sleep sofa /futon
  • 1 Queen, 1 Fold-out Futon in the master bedroom. 1 sleeper sofa in the living room.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
This is a non smoking non pet unit. I do this in order to be able to rent to high allergenic customers and do not make exceptions. I provide the beach chairs but do not provide beach towels or umbrellas. Those can be rented from local vendors and set up daily.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

Travelers who viewed this property, also viewed...