Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Pelican Lake's "Sunset Beach", sugar sand, clear water, perfect for children

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Two cabins rented as one, 5 bedroom, two bath, double kitchen.

When you drive into the property, you’ll see the main cabin on the right and the guest cabin on the upper left. Your kids will scamper down the path, past the bonfire pit, to the white sand beach. You’ll hear their laughter as you explore the carpeted bigger cabin, with three bedrooms, a bathroom, long dining room table, couch, stereo, kitchen with trash compactor, fridge, stove/oven, microwave, and central air conditioning. A large fire-pit waits for you, wood stacked outside. A TV/DVD and Apple TV await with Direct TV. The master bedroom with queen-sized mattress stretches from here to way over there. The side of the cabin that views the lake is all floor-to-ceiling of sliding glass doors and screens. Step outside onto the wide deck and drink your coffee on the picnic table or lounge chairs. A gas grill is located on the deck at the rear of the big cabin. And yup, you’ve got Wi-Fi.

For those who like to explore the woods, step out the back door and stroll for miles through the spruce, white birch, and sugar maple.

For authors, you can write in the privacy of the small cabin in the morning, swim in the afternoon, drive to the tourist shops along quaint Nisswa 13 minutes away and grab a root beer float at the A&W or test out the 40,000 different types of candy at the Chocolate Ox, or make everything better with legendary hand-roasted coffee and mountain scones at StoneHouse coffee. Starbucks and Caribou are bit further down the road, but you’re an author and too good for that swill. Twenty minutes away is a mall, big box stores, a modern movie theater and restaurants to suit any palate or wallet.

More Details

Property Manager
Carol Austin
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 1, 2017

About Carol Austin

My parents, Fred and Vivian, built these two cabins when I was in grade school. I have been fortunate to share this cabin with my husband, two daughters, and two grandchildren. Where I grew up swimming and building sand castles, so too have they. As they all live out of state, I now wish to share the cabin with new friends and their families. This cabin means so much to my family that we want to invite you to create lasting memories like ours. I’m always there to help since the lower level of the guest cabin is my personal home-away-from-home for part of each week all summer. I’m very low-key and promise not to intrude on your space.

Carol Austin purchased this cabin in 1956

Why Carol Austin chose Merrifield

We are on the south side of the lake called 'Sun Set Beach' by the locals.

The location can’t be beat for things to do and for feeling like you’ve gotten away from it all. The cabin is stocked with anything you can think of for people of all ages to have a good time. The sunsets are spectacular.

What makes this cabin unique

You know how most lakes have reeds and a mud bottom. This one has white sand that slopes gently for 280 feet (a unique playground for young ones) before dropping off into deep water. No rocks or weeds. Eagles also like to take in the view from the top of a tall tree on the beach.

NO PARTIES ARE ALLOWED IN THE CABIN. This includes any use of the cabin that causes it to be occupied by more than 15 people. Use of the premises in such a fashion that disturbs neighbors shall be deemed grounds for eviction.

Guestbook comments from the manager

We really enjoyed our stay, and this year brought our daughter and her two children 4 and 10 months and our good friends. It was wonderful to see the 'up north on the lake' experience through our grandaughter's eyes. The big sand beach and extended swimming area of the slow sugar sand slope in the water meant she could wade and play for 100 feet without going over her head. The big deck is our favorite hang out. Owner Carol Austin worked hard to make everything we needed was available. We are coming back next year for our third year. Thanks Carol for a great stay!
Sep 2016
  • 1 of 2

Map

Nisswa
Half Moon Saloon
StoneHouse Coffee & Roastery
Christmas Point Wild Rice Company
Tap House
Ernie's On Gull Lake
Morey's Seafood Market
"The best place for fresh and smoked fish. "
The Chocolate Ox
"Homemade Ice Cream, Fudge and Candy!"
Car: recommended

Minutes from Nisswa, MN, located on the finest fresh water beach . Enjoy tall pines, fishing, a legendary golf course, nightlife, spas, spectacular sunsets, stars never seen by city dwellers, and free loon concerts.

Amenities

Merrifield Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , has 2 sinks
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Sleeps 6 adults with about 4 to 5 children. Maximum of 10.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We have a hot tub. But Crow Wing County does not permit renter's to use it.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Pelican Lake's "Sunset Beach", sugar sand, clear water, perfect for children
average rating of 4.857143 based on 16 reviews
5

An unrivaled beach and view... the kids played all the time as did we.

  • 5 of 5

Unbelievable waterfront.., private boat lift,.... Carol sees that the cabin is clean and has all we need. Another great stay

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Tom, Thank you for the kind words. When you are happy, I am happy! Looking forward to seeing you again next year. I am making improvements on the main cabin, and guest cabin as well. Also, a carbon filter has been added for better tasting water...carol
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Vacation Stay

  • 5 of 5

The beach was awesome! The cabin was spacious for our family of 5, with another guest staying in the guest cottage. It was a very comfortable stay and we enjoyed our time there even on the rainy days.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5

Third year there. Beautiful beach, clear clean water.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous beach and water

  • 5 of 5

We knew Pelican Lake so the beach and water were our main reason for selecting this cabin.

We were comfortable. Plenty of space for grandparents, parents, and twin 5 yr olds. Lots of deck time watching wonderful sunsets.

The owner, Carol, was so helpful. She even found a landing net for my husband to take fishing. Had a wonderful walleye dinner!

Going back next year!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Minnesota USA
4

Best beach and lake for families

  • 4 of 5

We had a marvelous time at "Sunset Beach," which is aptly named. The huge, sandy beach, crystal-clear water and water toys were just wonderful. There is a nice hammock and plenty of chairs, lounges. Would recommend taking a sun shade for the beach. The main cabin holds several large bedrooms, beds/nice linens, towels for a large group. The large-capacity washer/dryer were invaluable with all the kids' laundry. The kitchen is very well-equipped with everything one could need including myriad spices. The large, glass dining table is not exactly kid-friendly so we covered it with a tablecloth and it worked fine. There is an adorable, smaller cabin just right for 2-3 people across a short walk. The mattresses on the porch and small bedroom could use more comfortable replacements.

The only other concern is the well water which, though potable, has a strong odor. You may wish to bring a filtered jug or bottled water to drink. Overall, this is a great place to stay; the cost is reasonable, and the owner, Carol, was at the property on occasion and went way above the call of duty in making sure we had everything we needed. She was very kind and patient with us and all our kids, and was very understanding when we ended up leaving much later than planned. We hope to return next year for an even longer stay!

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Sand & Sun

  • 5 of 5

The two cabins together were perfect for our 10 person group. They were clean and ready when we checked in, and we enjoyed our stay there. The best part of the property is the location on Pelican Lake - beautiful sandy beach, sandy bottom of the lake, and very shallow out past the dock which is perfect for the kids. There were only two things to the negative, stinky water and a horrible couch. :) It was very difficult to get comfortable on it, and we had to bring in more chairs from outside as no one wanted to sit on it...

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. The couch has been replaced. And the water smells fine. Our cleaning system must have needed attention during your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning Fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.0%

Rates are subject to change until your reservation has been made.
25% of the rental fee to reserve your spot at The Lake.

We charge $100 dollars a day for any extra person over the 10 person limit.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties