Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

3 Miles to Downtown Portland, Hot Tub, Kid Friendly, Pets Ok!

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Miles to Downtown Portland, Hot Tub, Kid Friendly, Pets Ok!

Nestled into the trees, and just 3 miles from down town Portland, our beautiful house awaits you. The HUGE covered front porch with gazebo eating area is very inviting. Sit and watch the rain fall around you while you remain dry. Enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning and listen to the sound of the native birds flying overhead. Our home is very kid friendly and we welcome pets! We have a flat front yard that the ride-on toys can be played with on. The back yard is 1/3 acre of manicured gardens. Birdhouses in nearly every tree of our fenced yard. We also have a sparkling hot tub in the back, overlooking the lush landscape.

Inside our Portland home we have a living room with an over-sized couch and flat screen TV. A dinning table that seats 5, and a high chair for little ones. A fully stocked kitchen complete with everything you will need for preparing meals. Outside sits a gas BBQ. The 1st bedroom has a king sized bed and a toddler race car bed. It also has a walk in closet and a deck off the room overlooking the backyard. The 1st bedroom is LOADED with toys, appropriate for kids of all ages. The 2nd bedroom has a queen sized bed & a full sized baby crib. It also has a changing table for the little ones. This home has one full bathroom, with a tub/shower combo. In the basement, we have a washer and dryer, a sitting area, and a Foozeball Table. We also have 2 queen sized air mattresses onsite incase our guests don't want to share a bed. Our home has EVERYTHING you will need while vacationing. It is very charming, we have been told it looks like a Bed & Breakfast. The decor is very cottage-chic. We would love to have you stay!

PLEASE NOTE: While this is NOT a shared home (meaning no one else lives in your space or uses your space you have rented) there is a person living on the property in a SEPARATE mother in law suite. This other unit has no access to your home. It has its own front door and you have yours. This other unit has no common space with your vacation home. This full time tenant does not use your washer or dryer, your hot tub, your backyard, front porch, kitchen, garage, or anything else you use. Their unit is locked from you, and yours is locked from them. This full time resident doesn't have lockbox codes or access to your space at all. But, The City of Portland requires ALL vacation rentals to have an onsite resident.

More Details

Owner
Kimberly Jackson
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, Un poco spanish :)
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
November 17, 2017

About Kimberly Jackson

With over 12 years of management experience, Kimberly Jackson is a sales professional and the founder and owner of Vacation Rentals by Kimberly. A native San Diegan and Humbolt State graduate, Kimberly treats every guest like a member of her own family. Her hard work and dedication to each booking is proof of her commitment. From start to finish she makes the vacation rental process as fun, stress-free, and financially beneficial for her guests as possible. When she isn't booking a deal you can find this powerhouse single momma, surfing with her 3 sons, boxing at the gym and supporting local businesses and schools.

Why Kimberly Jackson chose Hillsdale

We bought this home in 2005. We loved the area, as we can get into and out of downtown through the hills in a matter of minutes, as we are only 3 miles away. This is a VERY safe neighborhood and it is very kid-friendly with many parks and places to visit with kids. We love that you can walk to the Sunday Farmer's Market, the Library, Starbucks, two playgrounds, even the organic grocery store. It feels like a small town, yet just minutes from the hustle and bustle of the big city!

What makes this house unique

This is a quiet neighborhood where you hear more wildlife than the noise of people or traffic. It is serene and very private.

Guestbook comments from the owner

"'m not sure why I can't get this to work, but here is my review if you are able to put it in for me.



My husband, my 23 month old son, and I stayed at this rental for 5 days. It was very conveniently located to major Portland attractions and it was in a really nice neighborhood. The house is very charming and had everything you would need for a relaxing vacation. My son was in heaven with all the toys and books. Given the choice, he would have stayed at the house to play rather than go sightseeing. Kimberly was great to work with. She was very timely in her responses and very friendly. I would highly recommend this rental.



Cheryl"
Oct 2012
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Hillsdale House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master also has a Twin Floor Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 child bed
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Full size bed (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Child Beds (1), Baby Cribs (2) We also have an L shaped couch that can sleep two and two queen sized air mattresses that have a pump for quick blow up.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
LOTS of Kids toys, books, videos. Fully Childproofed.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

95% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3 Miles to Downtown Portland, Hot Tub, Kid Friendly, Pets Ok!
average rating of 4.952381 based on 43 reviews
4

Charming Home in Quiet Neighborhood

  • 4 of 5

This is a cute and comfortable home but we give it 4 stars instead of 5 because one can't entirely make ones-self at home here. There are lists of "rules" posted everywhere; most are total commonsense but a few such as "don't park on the street" felt designed to make us as invisible to the neighbors as possible. Also, some policies such as being warned that we would be charged extra for each dirty dish left behind were not in keeping with the standard set by the many other VRBO's that we have rented. In summary, we enjoyed the house, the location, the quiet neighborhood, the proximity (by car) to the City and the yard spaces. We were just a little put-off by the thoroughness of the "thou shall not's". Having said that, we would recommend the house to others and would rent it again ourselves.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So sorry you felt there were too many rules :( We basically just ask that you: Clean your dishes upon checkout Do not throw any parties or gatherings (abide by city occupancy rules) Abide by the city noise ordinances Do not smoke cigarettes inside/onsite Park in the garage and/or the right side of the driveway, not on the street And If you have a dog, please no pooping or peeing inside, and other common sense animal things..... I really don't feel these are excessive and I'm very sorry that your family did :( We don't intend to make our guests feel uncomfy but we do know all of our neighbors personally, and do not want to cause them any problems. We have found over the years that it is best to spell out the common sense stuff. Some people come from other countries where they do smoke inside. Where their dogs do use indoor puppy pads for urinating/pooping. It is just always best to lay the rules out so everyone is on the same page :) You guys were great guests and we do hope to have you again, sorry you felt restricted :( That was NOT our intention :(
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for kids!

  • 5 of 5

Clean, cozy and lots of fun for the kids. Our son loved exploring the huge closet of toys!

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yay! So happy your little guy enjoyed our home as much as my kids did. We leave all the toys for guests to use, so I am always happy to hear that they do get used :) Please come again, we appreciate your business :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Home/Great location and Owner

  • 5 of 5

A true gem if you are looking for a family rental in Portland. Cannot say enough good things about this property and especially about the superior management company. It had everything my family of four needed including a crib for my baby and super cute toddler bed for my son. My children loved this vacation house stocked with toys and a beautiful backyard landscape to explore. The interior has lovely decor and the location could not be better for easy access to all of the Portland attractions for families. Everything inside this property was very clean and all in working order. Rentals by Kimberly are an amazing group of people who really go above and beyond to ensure you are completely happy and satisfied. Are you ready for this?....I LEFT MY WEDDING RING on accident in the bathroom cabinet before flying home to California. YEEK!!! How could I? I know! BUT- Kimberly, the cleaning crew, and Anthony SAVED THE DAY!! The cleaning crew was so super honest, found the ring, alerted Anthony. He communicated with me the VERY SAME DAY to get the ball rolling on how to get it back to me asap. Kimberly herself was flying to Portland from her base in CA the next day and PERSONALLY got it back from the cleaning crew and took it to UPS to ship to me insured the NEXT DAY People! Talk about AMAZING!!!!! I've been married 10 years and that ring not only is expensive but has huge emotional value as you can imagine. The vacation was absolutely awesome until the moment on the plane that I realized I had forgot my ring. If it hadn't been for this amazing crew of people I would have lost something extremely valuable to me. They were so personable, truly cared, and went above and beyond to work around their already busy schedules to make sure they got my ring back to me safely. First off I could not have asked for a better rental experience while in Portland but the customer service of Kimberly and her staff are second to none. Wonderful people I will forever be grateful to! I will for sure be staying at this property for any future trips as well as her California properties. Thank you Kimberly, Anthony, and the cleaning crew for all your hospitality, hard work, and for being truly extraordinary people!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a great stay and we were Very happy to get your ring back To you :) thx for Staying :)
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Kid friendly, well maintained home!!

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend at your home! We came with two 2 year olds and a four year old. They enjoyed all of the toys and especially enjoyed exploring the back yard.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect Retreat Location

  • 5 of 5

This home was fantastic. It was perfect for the weekend retreat that I planned. We were there to get work done. The comfort of the home allowed us to complete all the necessary tasks. The house had plenty of space for everyone to separate and regroup. Kimberly was fantastic at answering all our questions even when we were at the house. She's great to work with. I would definitely recommend this home. Although downtown isn't far, I would suggest renting a car. Renting a car will be far more convenient and cost effective considering it was nearly impossible to get a cab. There was times where we waited over 40 minutes.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2015
  • Stayed: November 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you guys enjoyed my home. Yes, I agree, it is a lot more convenient to have a car. Portland is soooo spread out, you will need a car to see it all! Thanks for coming!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
San Francisco
5

Quiet, Convenient, Comfortable And Pet Friendly!!!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I just loved this comfy, well appointed home and the huge fenced-in backyard with mature fruit trees was perfect for our pup to explore. Breakfast in the morning and a nightcap in the evening on the front porch is a must. Although we didn't need all the kiddy paraphernalia, my family appreciated all the board games, etc. - especially the Jenga. Downtown is just over the hill and highway access is nearby - making it easy to get around by car. This is a great home base to enjoy all that Portland and the surrounding areas have to offer!

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2014
  • Stayed: September 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
17 Miles
Portland International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1.3 Miles
Casa Colima Mexican Restaurant & Cantina
Nearest Restaurant
1.3 Miles
Casa Colima Mexican Restaurant & Cantina
Nearest Point of Interest
The Southwest Community Center
Nearest Point of Interest
Hillsdale Farmer's Market
Nearest Point of Interest
OHSU Medical Center
Nearest Point of Interest
NW 23rd
Nearest Point of Interest
The Rose Garden at Washington Park
Car: recommended

1 hour to year round skiing at Mt Hood. Just 3 miles from Washington Park where the Zoo, Rose Garden, Japanesse Garden, and 32 miles of Trail Heads are!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • Call for rates
  • US Dollars
  • Cleaning fee: $200
  • Refundable theft/damage deposit: $500
  • Please call for exact rate or send an inquiry: 503-957-9354

You might like these similar properties