check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Historic Old Town, San Diego, California

22 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 - 4 nights


Old Town Condo Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5

Newly Remodeled, fully furnished, condo with super comfortable, pillow-top, queen-sized beds. Fully stocked kitchen, towels and linens. Gated complex with car-port parking, new washer and dryer in condo, cable/internet, 50' and 42' flat screens, pool & hot jacuzzi in complex. Fantastic location in Historic Old Town; walking distance to restaurants, shopping and transit center. Close to beaches, Gaslamp Quarter/downtown, Petco Park, Seaport Village, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, Balboa Park and Coronado Island.

Great home away from home!

Transit center offers San Diego Coaster train, trolley/light rail, taxi service and bus. Car is not required!

Nestled in a safe, serene neighborhood with great views off the balcony. A car is hardly necessary as most everything - parks, restaurants, shops - are within a short walk including the Transit Center (easy access to trolleys, cabs, bus and train). As the birthplace of California, Old Town is rich in history and attracts tourists from all around the world - hence, all the great restaurants and shops!

3.5 miles to the SAN San Diego Airport

1.2 miles to Amtrak train station

3 blocks to Old Town Farmer's Market on Saturday

3 miles to Hillcrest Farmer's Market on Sunday

2.5 miles to Little Italy

3.5 miles to Little Italy Farmer's Market on Saturday

3.5 miles to Balboa Park

4 miles to San Diego Zoo

3.5 Miles to Sea World

8 Miles to Coronado, CA - ranked as the #1 Beach in the US

About 6 Miles to Pacific/Mission/Ocean Beaches

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

June Andrews
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 27, 2016

Guestbook comments from the owner

We really enjoyed our stay here. At 2 floors up, on a hill, the view is great and if you like to see hummingbirds then you get about 20 at a time on the feeders at dusk. It's a 5 min walk to the San Diego Old Town and the train, bus and trolley centre is only the other side of Old Town. The apartment has everything for self catering which suited us as we had been on the road for 3 weeks and needed a break from restaurants every night, but there's plenty of choice for eating in Old Town. We got the bus to Mission Beach, and Pacific beach one day and bussed to San Diego Zoo the other, both on the $5 all day bus pass tickets. The owner was very helpful and we'd happily stay here again.
Apr 2016
  • 1 of 1


based on 22 traveler reviews

Historic Old Town, San Diego, California
average rating of 4.4545455 based on 23 reviews

Excellent homely apartment

  • 5 of 5

Well appointed comfortable place in excellent location. Owner is very welcoming and helpful.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you gals enjoyed your stay. Best wishes on your future endeavors.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great location, nice place!

  • 5 of 5

The unit is really nice, cozy, and has a great location. It's a 3rd floor unit, so the views all the way to the airport are great. This allows for a nice breeze. We enjoyed watching the hummingbirds and airplanes from the patio. The owners are really nice and helpful. We were able to walk to restaurants and a small deli is right down the street. Super convenient!

The unit has reserved and covered parking spots, which was great! No drama with trying to find parking. This, to us, was a nice benefit as we didn't travel light!

Two things keep me from saying was a perfect place:

1) The unit is not air-conditioned, aside from one bedroom with a portable unit, so when we arrived it was quite hot inside as all the windows were closed. Once we opened up the doors and windows it cooled off. We were there when it was pretty warm for San Diego, so it was still fairly warm inside at night in the bedroom without AC. We decided not to leave both doors wide open through the night with no screen on the back door. It was comfortable enough, but not ideal for a few of us. Leaving that bedroom door open to get the cool breeze left us with no privacy at night (our friends had the room with the portable AC unit).

2) The people that clean the place need to do a better job when they clean the floors. They were obviously swept, and appeared clean, but everyone in our group had dirty feet and/or socks. The owners are super attentive, and I fully expect them to address this small issue.

We would definitely enjoy booking this unit again, with it's great location and views, but in a cooler time of year.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the information regarding the floors. We will see what we can do to correct the situation. Take care and thanks again for staying at our place.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Overall appearance upon arrival was fine until we went to settle in.

  • 1 of 5

Opening the door, the property was fine. As we went to settle in and put all our belongings away, we were met with several disappointments. We have rented vacation properties for the past 20+ years and have never seen or experienced anything like it before. As we went to put our food into the refrigerator, it was fully occupied with used and open containers, not to mention most all of it was expired (bacon, eggs, condiments, jellies, etc.), the top shelf and bottom drawer were full of large containers with juice for the hummingbirds. I would never expose my family to potential harm due to eating food that was left by others used and open in a refrigerator. The closets, dressers and drawers in both bedrooms were very cluttered and full of owner's clothing, toiletries and personal items. In both bedrooms, we were only allowed 3 empty dresser drawers and 3 feet of closet space to put all our belongings, which was not enough. We contacted the owner's immediately to inform them of these issues and were told to move the refrigerator items (even though they were expired) and personal belongings in the bedrooms to the side and to just use the space that was left, which was very little! The bed in the first bedroom smelled like dog and had dog hair all over the bedding. We had to remove the blankets and wash the pillowcases immediately. Even the throw blankets in the closet were covered with dog hair. It was apparent that none of the bed linens had been washed prior to our stay. We also swept the condo every day and swept up quite a bit of dog hair each day. We did not bring any pets. In addition, we were told that the propane tank would be full, however, when we went to use it, it was almost empty. We again contacted the owner's and we were told to take it to get filled ourselves. The owner also mentioned they would meet us at the property upon arrival but left suddenly out of the country. They also left one of their cars in the advertised 2 car parking space. Six days after our stay, we had to contact the owner for our deposit and they told us that we would not receive our deposit due to the following issues: 1) removal of their food, which they claimed they had to replace for other renters and 2) a cracked window, which we were not responsible for. They refused to refund our deposit for those reasons which are ridiculous and unacceptable. We would not recommend this property to other travelers for all the reasons above.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In 4 years of renting our condo out, this is the first time we have ever received a negative review. It was necessary to keep the damage deposit due to the damages that were incurred while you and your family stayed at our condo, and the "On Demand" Cable Wrestling Programs you ordered. Clearly, you have chosen to exaggerate your complaints because you did not receive your damage deposit back. We will let others, reading reviews prior to your stay, and after your stay, come to their own conclusions.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A very nice place for (nearly) a week

  • 5 of 5

We had a terrific stay at Randy and June's place, just above the tumult of Old Town. The condo is a walk or short drive to most things. It was hot (for San Diego) our first couple of days, and the back bedroom got a bit sticky at night, so Randy, unprompted, brought over and installed an air conditioner. The place was clean, well stocked, and with comfortable furniture and working appliances. We spent a good deal of time watching the hummingbirds feed just outside our door. Remarkably, Randy drove us to the airport, so there was no messing with Uber or a taxi. This is a first for me with a VRBO property. Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for your expression of gratitude. We enjoyed meeting you, and appreciated that you treated our condo as if it were your own. Please come again,.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great location, fully stocked 2 bedroom condo

  • 5 of 5

We loved staying at this property. Randy set everything up for us and we were allowed to park underneath the condo. It was a block and 1/2 to Old Town. It has easy access to the USS Midway, Seaworld, the Zoo, the waterfront. The only areas we had to drive for a period of time to were LegoLand and the Safari Park.

The beds were comfortable. The showers worked well. The breeze through the door and windows was perfect.

Thank you! We had a great stay!

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

6 Day Stay

  • 5 of 5

We recently spent 6 days in this rental. We had a very comfortable and memorable stay. Furniture and appliances are very accommodating. On the balcony are 3 hummingbird feeders. At a given time there could be as many as 50 hummingbirds at one time. Almost touchable! The walk to the establishments in Old Town were very do-able and refreshing. My only concern (and extremely minimal) was that I was unaware it was pet friendly. As I do not have pet allergies, we managed just fine. This VRBO saved us over $200.00 verses renting a hotel within walking distance of Old Town. Plus we had free garage parking along with a washer & dryer. GREAT EXPERIENCE!

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for treating our home as if it were your own. Take care and we look forward to working with you again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0


Nearest Airport
2.5 Miles
San Diego
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Nearest Motorway
0.3 Miles
Interstate 5
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Mission Beach
Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Old Town Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Comic Con - 2017
Jul 20 2017 - Jul 23 2017
4 night minimum stay
Flat fee
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $120 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.5%

This is a Pet Friendly Complex!

Fee for pets = $100 per stay

Fee for more than 4 guests = $25 per night, per extra guest

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Old Town Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 908 sq. ft.
  • Adventure
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Pillow-Top Mattress
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Pillow-Top Mattress
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • arboretum
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties