check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Historic Old Town, San Diego, California

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview


Details
Property
condo
Sleeps
5
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
3 - 4 nights

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5

Newly Remodeled, fully furnished, condo with super comfortable, pillow-top, queen-sized beds. Fully stocked kitchen, towels and linens. Gated complex with car-port parking, new washer and dryer in condo, cable/internet, 50' and 42' flat screens, pool & hot jacuzzi in complex. Fantastic location in Historic Old Town; walking distance to restaurants, shopping and transit center. Close to beaches, Gaslamp Quarter/downtown, Petco Park, Seaport Village, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, Balboa Park and Coronado Island.

Great home away from home!

Transit center offers San Diego Coaster train, trolley/light rail, taxi service and bus. Car is not required!

Nestled in a safe, serene neighborhood with great views off the balcony. A car is hardly necessary as most everything - parks, restaurants, shops - are within a short walk including the Transit Center (easy access to trolleys, cabs, bus and train). As the birthplace of California, Old Town is rich in history and attracts tourists from all around the world - hence, all the great restaurants and shops!

3.5 miles to the SAN San Diego Airport

1.2 miles to Amtrak train station

3 blocks to Old Town Farmer's Market on Saturday

3 miles to Hillcrest Farmer's Market on Sunday

2.5 miles to Little Italy

3.5 miles to Little Italy Farmer's Market on Saturday

3.5 miles to Balboa Park

4 miles to San Diego Zoo

3.5 Miles to Sea World

8 Miles to Coronado, CA - ranked as the #1 Beach in the US

About 6 Miles to Pacific/Mission/Ocean Beaches

More Details

Owner
June Andrews
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 16, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

We really enjoyed our stay here. At 2 floors up, on a hill, the view is great and if you like to see hummingbirds then you get about 20 at a time on the feeders at dusk. It's a 5 min walk to the San Diego Old Town and the train, bus and trolley centre is only the other side of Old Town. The apartment has everything for self catering which suited us as we had been on the road for 3 weeks and needed a break from restaurants every night, but there's plenty of choice for eating in Old Town. We got the bus to Mission Beach, and Pacific beach one day and bussed to San Diego Zoo the other, both on the $5 all day bus pass tickets. The owner was very helpful and we'd happily stay here again.
Apr 2016
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

Historic Old Town, San Diego, California
average rating of 4.48 based on 26 reviews
California
4

Great place to stay!

  • 4 of 5

We rented this condo for the Thanksgiving Holiday and had a fantastic time. The unit was clean and comfortable with everything we needed to make our visit pleasant. The view was awesome as the condo sits quite high on the hill. You could see Point Loma and all the city lights. Sunsets were beautiful from the front deck. And the hummingbirds came for the feeder by the dozens. Randy and June had baskets of blooming pansy's and even a small patch of grass on the back deck for our little dog. This worked out really well. we could just open the door when she needed to go out instead of walking her in the early morning. Thank's June and Randy for sharing your lovely home with us. We would love to come stay again.

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Awesome place and great hosts!

  • 5 of 5

Randy and June were great hosts, and their property was lovely. From being greeted each morning by buzzing hummingbirds to enjoying the sunset over the ocean and landing planes each evening, we felt like locals. Just a couple blocks from the Old Town trolley and train station, we easily transited downtown for the conference we were attending while also having Randy and June’s place in Old Town as an escape from the hustle and bustle of Gaslamp. Randy and June were in constant contact, and continually checked in on us to make sure we were enjoying their place and comfortable. They were very accommodating. The only negatives I would say are that (1) the place had no A/C, but a cross-breeze through the middle of the apartment helped cool it in the evenings and (2) the bathrooms were a bit small and outdated. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed Randy and June’s place. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Grain Valley
5

Great condo, Great location, gated community!

  • 5 of 5

June and Randy Andrews have a great condo/home to stay in at Old Town San Diego. A short walk to a convienience store. Short walk to resturants, bars, shopping and gift shops. The Old Town Trolley is also a great attraction we went on which is also within walking distance from the condo. Plus the condo is centrally located for other attractions such as the USS Midway, the San Diego Zoo, the Hornblower cruises on the bay, a Wild Animal park etc. Simply call Randy when you know what time you will arrive and he will meet you there with keys and an opener to put in your car for the gate. He will go over anything you need to know about the condo. Randy has a sheet of paper that tells you how to get to the grocery store, where bars and resturants are located. They complex has a whirlpool and a pool but we didnot use those. The condo has 2 bdrms and 2 baths, living room, dining room, kitchen, washer & dryer. It has a deck overlooking the bay, the airport, Point Loma. That deck has 3 hummingbird feeders and believe me they are busy. The back deck has a grill if you choose to grill your own burgers or steaks. There is no A/C but it wasn't required. There are plenty of windows to open and plenty of fans. The condo is on the third level so you get a decent breeze. I was a little worried about no A/C but we really didn't need it. You have to remember that Randy and June live in the condo from time to time so they have some clothes there. Some in the closets and some in dressers but you do have room for your clothes. It is not like a hotel room with empty closets and dressers. They have essentials for you to use. Laundry soap, dish soap, sugar etc. Plus the condo is pet friendly. I'm not sure if there is any restrictions on size of pet or how many as we didn't have a pet. You would need to ask. The back deck has a grass area for a dog to do its business. June is quick on returning your damage deposit too. Once they cleaned after we left she quickly did the refund of deposit to my credit card account. I told Randy and June that if we get back to the area we would definatly rent this condo again. I would recommend this condo any time. Mike from Grain Valley, Mo.

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Excellent homely apartment

  • 5 of 5

Well appointed comfortable place in excellent location. Owner is very welcoming and helpful.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you gals enjoyed your stay. Best wishes on your future endeavors.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Great location, nice place!

  • 5 of 5

The unit is really nice, cozy, and has a great location. It's a 3rd floor unit, so the views all the way to the airport are great. This allows for a nice breeze. We enjoyed watching the hummingbirds and airplanes from the patio. The owners are really nice and helpful. We were able to walk to restaurants and a small deli is right down the street. Super convenient!

The unit has reserved and covered parking spots, which was great! No drama with trying to find parking. This, to us, was a nice benefit as we didn't travel light!

Two things keep me from saying was a perfect place:

1) The unit is not air-conditioned, aside from one bedroom with a portable unit, so when we arrived it was quite hot inside as all the windows were closed. Once we opened up the doors and windows it cooled off. We were there when it was pretty warm for San Diego, so it was still fairly warm inside at night in the bedroom without AC. We decided not to leave both doors wide open through the night with no screen on the back door. It was comfortable enough, but not ideal for a few of us. Leaving that bedroom door open to get the cool breeze left us with no privacy at night (our friends had the room with the portable AC unit).

2) The people that clean the place need to do a better job when they clean the floors. They were obviously swept, and appeared clean, but everyone in our group had dirty feet and/or socks. The owners are super attentive, and I fully expect them to address this small issue.

We would definitely enjoy booking this unit again, with it's great location and views, but in a cooler time of year.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the information regarding the floors. We will see what we can do to correct the situation. Take care and thanks again for staying at our place.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
1

Overall appearance upon arrival was fine until we went to settle in.

  • 1 of 5

Opening the door, the property was fine. As we went to settle in and put all our belongings away, we were met with several disappointments. We have rented vacation properties for the past 20+ years and have never seen or experienced anything like it before. As we went to put our food into the refrigerator, it was fully occupied with used and open containers, not to mention most all of it was expired (bacon, eggs, condiments, jellies, etc.), the top shelf and bottom drawer were full of large containers with juice for the hummingbirds. I would never expose my family to potential harm due to eating food that was left by others used and open in a refrigerator. The closets, dressers and drawers in both bedrooms were very cluttered and full of owner's clothing, toiletries and personal items. In both bedrooms, we were only allowed 3 empty dresser drawers and 3 feet of closet space to put all our belongings, which was not enough. We contacted the owner's immediately to inform them of these issues and were told to move the refrigerator items (even though they were expired) and personal belongings in the bedrooms to the side and to just use the space that was left, which was very little! The bed in the first bedroom smelled like dog and had dog hair all over the bedding. We had to remove the blankets and wash the pillowcases immediately. Even the throw blankets in the closet were covered with dog hair. It was apparent that none of the bed linens had been washed prior to our stay. We also swept the condo every day and swept up quite a bit of dog hair each day. We did not bring any pets. In addition, we were told that the propane tank would be full, however, when we went to use it, it was almost empty. We again contacted the owner's and we were told to take it to get filled ourselves. The owner also mentioned they would meet us at the property upon arrival but left suddenly out of the country. They also left one of their cars in the advertised 2 car parking space. Six days after our stay, we had to contact the owner for our deposit and they told us that we would not receive our deposit due to the following issues: 1) removal of their food, which they claimed they had to replace for other renters and 2) a cracked window, which we were not responsible for. They refused to refund our deposit for those reasons which are ridiculous and unacceptable. We would not recommend this property to other travelers for all the reasons above.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In 4 years of renting our condo out, this is the first time we have ever received a negative review. It was necessary to keep the damage deposit due to the damages that were incurred while you and your family stayed at our condo, and the "On Demand" Cable Wrestling Programs you ordered. Clearly, you have chosen to exaggerate your complaints because you did not receive your damage deposit back. We will let others, reading reviews prior to your stay, and after your stay, come to their own conclusions.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
2.5 Miles
San Diego
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Many
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
0.3 Miles
Interstate 5
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
Many
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Mission Beach
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Old Town Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Comic Con - 2017
Jul 20 2017 - Jul 23 2017
4 night minimum stay
$1,395
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$235
From
$255
Fri,Sat
$1,495
$4,950
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $120 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.5%

This is a Pet Friendly Complex!

Fee for pets = $100 per stay

Fee for more than 4 guests = $25 per night, per extra guest

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Old Town Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 908 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Pillow-Top Mattress
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Pillow-Top Mattress
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties