Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927


Bedrooms 4
Space 4,250 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property



LOCATION - LOCATION - LOCATION - Your private vacation retreat is less than 5 minutes from everything Vineyard (RENT WEEKLY SATURDAY TO SATURDAY)

Looking to be close to everything, yet value privacy? Want to park your car at your house rather than several blocks away after spending 20 minutes hunting for a space? Looking to be close to everything, minutes to Oak Bluffs Center (Back Door Donuts), Ink- Well Beach, the Ocean, and Countless Nature Trails?

Welcome To MV . . .You found your vacation home

Enjoy a great night sleep nestled in a top quality bed. Wake up with a warm shower attached to your room in one of the 3 master suites or better yet enjoy the trees and the rising sun in your private cedar enclosed outdoor shower.

After sipping some hot coffee with the paper on the deck head across the street for a round of golf or tennis at President Obama's favorite, Farm Neck Golf and Country Club - (let us know now and we will get you a tee time or a lesson from one of our pro's.)

If golf is not on your list - you may want to walk over to Ocean View pond just down the hill (dig some clams for later), explore one of the many nature trails, or slip out your private entrance, from the property, on to the paved bike path that extends through out the Island.

Mid morning it time to hit the beach. You are less than 5 minutes from your choice of ocean beaches. We suggest you pack a lunch or pick one up on your way and head over to the 'Jumping Bridge' an Island tradition you will remember for years to come.

Take a little shopping in Oak Bluffs or

Edgartown before settling back in at the house for a early evening BBQ with friends and family on the private stone patio

Head to town for a movie, stroll the cottages, enjoy a free concert on the green, or enjoy the night life at one of the many clubs OB has to offer.

Tonight, sleep under the stars outside in the yard or on the deck.

Tomorrow head up Island for the Artisan Festival and the West Tisbury Farmer's Market.

Next up . . .some private treasures you can only find out about from the locals, and yes we would be happy to share some with you when you arrive.

More Details

Sharon Engler
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, french, spanish, portuguese, italian, polish
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 10, 2017


Lagoon Heights House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4250 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , Master Suite #1 -twin glass sinks, walk-in 3 head shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Part of Second Master Bedroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Part of Studio apartment
    Outdoor Shower - outdoor shower , Just off office/ bedroom #5--hot and cold water
  • Custom Tile Through Out
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Upstairs Master 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Master Suite- double vanity, double sinks, walk in shower
    Upstairs Master 2 - 2 queen , Master Suite - Full bath
    Main floor-Office-Hide a Bed - 1 queen , Private patio and outdoor shower
    Upstairs - Garden view - 1 queen
    lower Level Studio Apt - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Studio apartment with full bath and kitchen
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Pillows and bed covers provided, renter is responsible for sheets, pillow cases, and towels-- Linen delivery and pick rentals averrable at nominal rental fee-----150-200 per week


3/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

average rating of 3.0 based on 3 reviews

This house is not appropriate for a summer vacation rental.

  • 1 of 5

Check in time was 4:00. We drove by the house at 12:20pm to ask the cleaning staff if we could put perishables in the refrigerator. The cleaning staff stated that they were done cleaning and that we could stay. This is what we found in no particular order:

1. There were cobwebs hanging from the ceiling in several rooms.

2. The bedspreads and mattress covers were dirty. We had to wash them before use. Dirty slip covers on couches.

3. First floor wood floor in need of refinishing and/or repair.

4. Basement wood floor warped from water

5. Although a separate apartment was described, we found one room with bed and mini kitchen. It was damp with a strong musty odor. We had to open the basement window, which was covered with debris and cobwebs on the outside.

6. The bathroom faucet in the basement was broken. The basement bathroom caulking and one of the bathrooms on the second floor had mildew. The second floor bathroom was sliding shower door was duct-taped together and to the tub. There was heavy mildew & dirt between the glass doors.

7. The second floor washing machine was dirty.

8. Exposed light switch in basement laundry room, which sparked when light switch was turned on.

9. The kitchen table, which appeared to be designed as a fashionably distressed table had an accumulation of old food, crumbs and dirt in between the slats.

10. The house is described as 4 bedrooms, however there are only 3 bedrooms on the second floor and a sofa bed in the den. Only 2 of the 3 upstairs bedrooms had window air conditioners.

11. The front entrance wooden porch is in complete disrepair. The front door stuck and was exceedingly difficult to open (possible danger in case of fire)

12. Broken baseboards with scattered exposed wires.

13. All of the pots and pans had to be washed prior to use as they were visibly dirty.

14. Kitchen was missing basic items such as dishcloths, dish strainers, dinner forks and tablespoons.

15. The furniture in the house did not match the furniture in photographs advertising the property.

The owners responded to our initial complaints by sending a caretaker to remove the mildewed shower door, re-caulk the basement bathroom and repair the faucet. The house should never have been rented in its current condition. It requires major repairs and regular maintenance. We have photographs documenting the condition of the house upon our arrival. We have rented on MV for many years and we have never encountered a home such as this one.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We take great pride in our home and we have welcomed 50 families to our home in the past five years with near 100% positive feedback. The Vineyard and especially Oak Bluffs has very uniques houses with quirks and character. For example, our floors are light colored hard wood and rustic (French Country) and our furnishings are clean and comfortable (not super fancy). We embrace the Island lifestyle and treat others the way we would like to be treated. For example, on the very rare occasiuon, only 3 times in 5 years, a guest is concerned about something, we respond personally and promptly and effectively. We only employ the best cleaners who have excellent reviews Island wide. Our beds are spic and span. And all of the sockets are covered. Everything is safe and has been attended to carefully. Moreover, we understand this is your amazing and wonderful vacation to the beautiful island and it is our intent to make everything in our home enjoyable for you. We love to welcome families year after year with It is very unfortunate that this particular guest is so angry and vindictive, perhaps it was because this was her first home rental for a summer vacation vs. a top notch hotel, but in reality it does not matter, we wish her the best. All we can say is that our updated rustic large home is a beauty, a great place to enjoy amazing Martha's Vineyard, and if it does not exceed your expectations we will credit you $1000
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1
Harvard, MA

Beautiful home but not all as promised

  • 3 of 5

This is a over all beautiful home but the listing does not accurately reflect what the renters can expect.

It says that pets are accepted but then after booking, we learned that they were not and we had to pay to board our pets. An Xbox is promised in the listing and we had three teenagers who showed up ready to game to be told that like the pets, this was no longer offered. This is not a five bedroom house as listed. The first floor bedroom is not actually a bedroom as a let out couch is not a bed - the closet in the room was inaccessible and the bathroom is nowhere near it. Further, there were no linens (no comforter or pillows) for this room. Also missing was the promised second grill which the owner had removed. The listing says bikes were available but they were not. These amenities as listed are important when making a choice.

The room/apartment in the basement smelled so strongly of oil that we had to try and air it out by opening the windows which were full of yard debris which we as renters then had to clean out. One person refused to sleep down there - it was unacceptable. There were also numerous outlets with exposed wires and missing switch plates etc The upstairs bathroom had a broken double sink had no shower curtain and no door. Finally the listed says "professional linens" but nothing about the fact that you have to pay for them.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wyona, Thank you for the feedback, we work hard to open our home to families looking to experience this beautiful Island. A few clarifications: Pets: The listing clearly states no pets, I understand you made a mistake and thought pets were allowed, but as I explained to you when you asked for an exception 3 months before arriving, I could not change that policy just for you. Main floor office/bedroom: The listing clearly states in the description detail that the bedroom on the main floor is a fold out bed and opens to beautiful private patio and outdoor shower with hot and cold running water. Given that 3 out of the 5 bedrooms are master suites with full bathrooms, I understand how you may have gotten confused, I will try to make this even clearer for future guest. Xbox: Things do break, I offered to go and buy you an Xbox the first day you arrived and you passed, in the future please do not be shy if it is that important to you, your 100% Vineyard enjoyment is our goal. Fresh Paint: We sincerely apologies for the fresh paint smell and missing light switch plate in the studio downstairs. In the future we will have our annual interior refresh completed well in advance of guest arrival. Linens: Pillows and comforters are provided, but sheets and towels are not, but are available for delivery and pick up from Takemmy Linens. Barbecue: As I explained day one when you asked for a second professional grade barbeque, it was a typo in the listing and would be corrected, I think the fact our caretaker brought you a 2nd barbeque within an hour was a good example of our goal to have every guest enjoy their stay. Again, I want to thank you for the feedback and I have posted a detailed response here so that your points can serve as constructive clarification for future guest. We look forward to sharing this beautiful Island with you and all our future guest in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
11 2

Peace and Nirvana

  • 5 of 5

Perfect house for a family with children and grandchildren. Plenty of space to be together or find find your own space for quiet times. Great kitchen,and the rooms quite comfortable for everyone. We were glad to be close enough to the town of Oak Bluffs and able to bicycle and even walk there. And the golf courses are close enough for the golfers in the family. Great house,going back again, July 25, 2015

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We know this is your special vacation to Martha's Vineyard and we are so pleased that you found peace and Nirvana in our home. xoxox See you soon!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
7 3


Nearest Airport
2 Miles
5 minutes to Martha's Vineyard Airport
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Miles
Backyard BBQ on site or Bars in town
Nearest Ferry
1.5 Miles
1.5 - Oak Bluffs or 2.5miles to Vineyard Haven
Nearest Golf
300 Metres
Farm Neck country club-Public -Obama's favorite
Nearest Train
55 Miles
Providence or Boston
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
Farm Neck country club is across the street
Nearest Beach
1.5 Miles
Ocean pond ¼ mile, Ocean Beach - 5 min.
Car: recommended

Martha's Vineyard has been or is home to a number of artists and musicians, including Albert Alcalay, Evan Dando, Tim 'Johnny Vegas' Burton of the Mighty Mighty Bosstones, James Taylor, Carly Simon, Livingston Taylor, Kate Taylor, Alex Taylor, Tom Rush, Geoff Muldaur, Maria Muldaur, Willy Mason, Unbusted and Mike Nichols. Historian and author David McCullough is also an island resident, as are the young-adult books authors: Judy Blume and Norman Bridwell, and crime/political intrigue novelist Richard North Patterson. Late authors Shel Silverstein and William Styron also lived on the Vineyard, as did writer, journalist and teacher John Hersey, poet and novelist Dorothy West and artist Thomas Hart Benton Various writers have been inspired by the island—including the mystery writer Philip R. Craig who set several novels on the island. On related note, Martha's Vineyard Poet Laureate, Lee H. McCormack, has written many poems about the island. The Academy Award winning Patricia Neal owned a home on South Water St in Edgartown, and James Cagney, Lillian Hellman (who is buried in Abel's Hill Cemetery near the site of Belushi's grave), and Katharine Cornell all found the Vineyard an exciting, rewarding place to live.

In addition the famous Life Magazine photographer Alfred Eisenstaedt was a fifty-year summer resident of the Vineyard until his death in 1995. Since 2006 the Australian born author Geraldine Brooks, writer of the Pulitzer Prize winning novel March, has lived there with her husband and two sons.

Other well-known celebrities who live on or have regularly visited the island: Famously renowned Harlem Renaissance artist Lois Mailou Jones, U.S. President Barack Obama, and former president Bill Clinton and his wife, former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton; comedian and talk show host David Letterman; Bill Murray; Tony Shalhoub; Quincy Jones; Ted Danson and wife Mary Steenburgen; Larry David; the Farrelly brothers; Meg Ryan; Chelsea Handler. Mike Wallace of 60 Minutes was a summer resident of Martha's Vineyard. Late anchorman Walter Cronkite was a prominent summer resident as well. Other regularly appearing celebrities include film writer/director Spike Lee, attorney Alan Dershowitz, comedians Dan Aykroyd and James Belushi, politico Vernon Jordan, and television news reporters Diane Sawyer, former Ambassador and President of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, William H. Luers and Charlayne Hunter-Gault. Despite popular perceptions of the Vineyard as 'Hollywood East', the island is very low-key and quiet; celebrities go to the Vineyard to enjoy the atmosphere, and not to be seen. Locals tend to be protective of celebrity privacy, though recent coverage of celebrity sightings (most notably in the two local newspapers on the Island) has begun to erode that respect for privacy through more frequent reporting on celebrity sightings and famous visitors.

Vineyard social life often occurs in private, down country roads, and not in the small towns, only two of which even sell alcohol (Oak Bluffs and Edgartown).

Many of the country's most affluent black families have enjoyed a century-old tradition of summering on the island. Concentrated primarily in and around the town of Oak Bluffs, and the East Chop area, these families have historically represented the black elite from Boston; Washington, D.C.; and New York City.

Today, affluent black families from around the country have taken to the Vineyard, and the community is known as a popular summer destination for judges, physicians, business executives, surgeons, attorneys, writers, politicians, and professors.

The Run&Shoot Filmworks Martha's Vineyard African-American Film Festival held every second week in August, highlights the works of independent and established African-American filmmakers from across the globe. This annual event draws attendees from all across the world.

But the real treasures to be found from the hidden beaches to the best Lobster on the Island, you can only uncover from the locals - and we will be happy to share them with you before your stay


Rates & Availability

Lagoon Heights House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Early Summer
Jun 24 2017 - Jul 28 2017
7 night minimum stay
Prime August
Jul 29 2017 - Aug 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 7.85%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties