Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Hideaway Chalet at Lake Hiwassee Bear Paw

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 1,850 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

If you’re looking for great vacation spot, romantic getaway, or just a relaxing weekend then Bear Paw is the place for you!

Private yet close to all the amenities that Bear Paw has to offer. Located in the Smokey Mountains of North Carolina, Bear Paw Resort is the only private 24/7 gated community on Lake Hiwassee. Bear Paw has many amenities which make it a great vacation spot. The lake is surrounded by beautiful mountains with 163 miles of natural shoreline and the Nantahala National Forest. It is where the Blue Ridge Mountains meet the “Smokies”….also known as “GOD’S COUNTRY”

Whether it’s fishing, swimming, water sports or just cruising around the lake on a boat soaking up the beauty ….Lake Hiwassee is the place. Bring your own boat or rent one. Mountain View Marina is located inside the Bear Paw Community and is within walking distance. Hidden Cove Marina is located just outside of Bear Paw and less than 2 miles.

Bear Paw offers many activities that make it a great vacation spot. In addition to the lake activities, there is also an Olympic size swimming pool, basketball courts at the Pavilion/Club House, tennis courts, exercise room, children’s playground and a small catch and release fishing pond. All are within walking distance. No need to load up in the car….it’s all just a stone’s throw away.

This comfortable vacation chalet offers…. hardwood floors throughout the house as well as central heat and a/c. For your enjoyment there are books, games, movies, DVD player, satellite TV and Wi-Fi. The main level has an open kitchen, dining & living room that opens up to a spacious deck. The 2 bedrooms (queen beds in each) and 2 full baths are on the main level. The open loft (2 twin beds) opens up to the main level. Down stairs in the lower-level there is a bedroom with bunk beds (queen on bottom, twin on top) & 1/2 bath with full size washer & dryer.

There is a living room area with a 60" flat panel T.V., pool tale, ping-pong table and opens up to a another deck.

The kitchen is fully equipped with stove, refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, dishes, pots, pans and utensils. Everything you need to prepare a delicious country breakfast, romantic dinner, or holiday feast.

There is an outdoor fire pit to warm you up on those chilly evenings or gather the kids for a marshmallow or wiener roast.

Breathe in the clean mountain air and watch the hummingbirds feed as you relax and enjoy your morning coffee out on the spacious deck. Gather the family for a challenging game of “Corn Hole”, or fire up the grill for some mouthwatering barbeque.

More Details

Owner
Debbi Hammond
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 26, 2017

About Debbi Hammond

My husband and I live in Southwest Florida. We just recently purchased this home. We first visited Bear Paw about 11 years ago when my husbands parents bought their home here. We immediately fell in love with Bear Paw and knew we also wanted to own a vacation/retirement home here. We love spending our vacations here with our children and grandchildren. We have made so many memories here and look forward to many more. And we are glad to be able to give our guest the opportunity to do the same.

Debbi Hammond purchased this cabin in 2013

Why Debbi Hammond chose Murphy / Andrews Area

Bear Paw is a very family oriented community with plenty of activities around. We love boating and water sports and the close and easy access to Lake Hiwassee. It is peaceful and quiet and everyone you meet is friendly. It is just a great community to be part of. We hope you enjoy it as much as we have and make tons of memories with your family and friends. We are new at this and certainly welcome any comments good or bad. We want to make it a place that you will want to return to year after year and recommend to your family and friends.

Amenities

Murphy Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1850 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
  • Master bedroom with full bath
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • marina
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

72% Complete
9% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
Hideaway Chalet at Lake Hiwassee Bear Paw
average rating of 4.3636365 based on 11 reviews
5

Loved the area

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful area in a cute gated community. We loved the cabin! Only

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Secluded and quiet

  • 3 of 5

I have stayed in VRBO'S pretty often. I found this place to be lack luster compared VRBO'S in the same area. There was not enough toilet paper for the guests for the amount of days the cabin had been reserved for. Upon arrival there were two lights burnt out in both bathrooms. There was no bath soap, no dishwasher soap,no trash bags for the trash. The mattresses were rigid and cheap. The driveway was very steap, only room for one vechicle at the top.

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2
5

A place for the whole family!

  • 5 of 5

Our stay in the Hideaway Chalet was very pleasant. Everything was very clean and adequately supplied with all the necessities. The decks had just been replaced because of damage from a storm and were very nice. The weather was perfect and we enjoyed sitting out on the deck and listening to the forest creatures. It was such a very peaceful location. But yet just within walking distance was the pool and playground which we were able to enjoy. We also enjoyed walking out to the dam and an unexpected bonus was a jazz concert which we were able to enjoy while hanging out at the pool. Debbie was always helpful and always available to answer any questions. The facilities were beautiful and the staff at the gate very friendly. We loved our stay and hope to return again sometime. Thank you for sharing your home with us!

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Ridgeland, South Carolina
1

Trip Cancelled by Owner at Last Minute - Never Arrived

  • 1 of 5

Our trip was scheduled 11 days from now. Yesterday I suddenly received refund of all money paid for the trip, well within contracted terms, but no message to explain why. According to VRBO, the owner cancelled and refunded our money. We are having to try to obtain an emergency re-booking with only 11 days until vacation and no ability to schedule different dates through our employers with the late, no-explanation cancellation. Our vacation has been, in essence, ruined.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I apologize for your inconvenience. The reason for the cancellation is due to mother nature and no fault of mine, on Friday July 8, 2016 @ approximately 8:30 P.M. while we were actually on vacation at the home, a severe storm came through and blew down 6 trees on our property. 3 of those trees fell on the house and totally did major damage both upper and lower outside decks of my home. On Saturday morning of July 9th I had to walk (since I couldn't get my car out of the driveway due to huge trees that had fallen) to the nearest place I could get WiFi and phone service to call the power company, the phone company and the insurance company as well as all of my scheduled reservation guests to inform them ASAP that I would have to cancel their reservations and give them adequate time to find another rental. I tried to call you, but only got through to your voicemail. I did not leave a message due to the length that it would take to explain. Therefore, I immediately sent you an email explaining what happened. I also contacted all the guests that were booked to stay with us to inform them and let them know I would have to cancel their reservations also. I totally understand your frustration, but I feel that you jumped the gun by not waiting until you got an answer as to why your reservation was cancelled before you posted such a harsh review. As I stated before....this was totally out of our hands and an act of God! And again.....I am sorry for you inconvenience and know you are frustrated. BTW.....I also took time out from my busy schedule of trying to clean up fallen trees and debris, contacting insurance company and trying to find contractors that could do repairs to my home to try and find you another rental in the same area and send that information to you just to help you out!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Yanceyville
4

Family Vacation

  • 4 of 5

Thank you Debbie for sharing you mountain vacation home with us. We had a great time being able to meet up with family who live near by. The location was great for us and being able to walk to the pool was nice. The basement was a hit! This was a nice place for our teens to retreat to. We will be back!!

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Property is even better than pictures

  • 5 of 5

We just completed our stay at Hideaway Chalet. The home is even nicer than pictures and description. So many extras and the kitchen is so well stocked, you really only need your food.

The pool is seriously only steps from the cabin. You can sit on deck and feel like you are in the top of the trees. Traffic and other noise is minimal and you cannot be seen from road.

My only suggestion to owner is to add her phone number to the reservation information. It was in the Welcome Book at the cabin but we needed it before we got inside the cabin.

Good time had by all. Hope to come again soon.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
140 Miles
Atlanta
Nearest Golf
25 Miles
Cherokee Golf Club
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Pet Fee $50
Damage Deposit $200

Please contact owner for Rental Agreement and Check-in details
Last minute reservations will be considered. Please contact the owner directly
PETS.....Only dogs 50 lbs or less.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties