Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Beachfront 2 Bdr / 2 Bath Home On The Exquisite West Coast Of Barbados

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom, Fully Furnished House On The Beach.

Ocean Hollow is a charming 2 bedroom house situated on the beautiful Fitts Village Beach on the highly sought after Platinum West Coast of Barbados. Each bedroom boasts an ensuite bathroom, one with a king bed and one with a queen. The main livinig room has a huge sliding glass door which opens up to the sparkly, clear, blue water of the Caribbean Sea. The house is also perfectly located 10 meters from a bus stop which can take you to almost any part of the island. Also, being located on the West Coast of the island you will have access to some of the top cuisine and shopping destinations including the world-renound Cliff Restaraunt, just 0.5 km drive from the house. We are also just a 4 km drive from the elite Lime Grove Lifestyle Center featuring some of the best shopping on the island and a beautiful new cinema.

This house is perfect for the travellers who just want to sit back and enjoy watching the sun set over the Caribbean Sea and spend their days walking on our white sand beaches. It is also perfect for the more fast-paced traveller who wants to stay in a rich, vibrant area with access to some of the best bars in the busy 1st and 2nd Streets of Holetown, just a 15 minute bus ride away.

We are also situated just 3km from the University of the West Indies Cave Hill campus which makes us a perfect place for visiting students or parents.

Please do not hesitate to contact us with any further questions. As locals to the island, we can help you plan the most perfect vacation on our beautiful island Barbados!

More Details

Owner
Chloe
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 22, 2017

About Chloe

This house is owned by my Grandmother Christine, but managed by me, her granddaughter. Granny was born and bred in Barbados and has a special love for collecting unique and special property throughout the isalnd. This property is one of her favorites and we are so happy to share it with you.

Why Chloe chose Barbados

The house has been owned and operated by our family for over 50 years. My grandmother has overseen countless renovations and updates and it is a property very close to our heart. It is a beautiful family home on an exquisite, private beach with the most beautiful blue water and white sand. Stay with us and I can guarantee you will not be disappointed.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We loved our stay in your house. We liked the fact that it was a whole

house with privacy and that it was very clean and comfortable. We loved

the fact that the kitchen was fully functional and that you had BBQ grill.

We liked the location and having the beach behind it. It was perfect for

snorkeling. The washing machine and dryer worked fine and so did the internet connection.





Thank you for all of the above.
Nov 2015
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Saint James House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

Beautiful Beachfront 2 Bdr / 2 Bath Home On The Exquisite West Coast Of Barbados
average rating of 4.470588 based on 19 reviews
Regina, Sk. Canada
4

Wonderful place to stay.

  • 4 of 5

This is a great place to stay at.

Everything is close by. Located on the major bus route you can get on of off right outside the cottage on the street and most anywhere.

The cottage is very nice with everything needed for your stay. The owners stopped by to check on us to see how everything was and have the yard cleaned regularly. This is a great place for a couple or two, even a small family to stay.

The ocean comes right up to the gate access to the beach. Wonderful. We highly recommend this place for a winter getaway.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Raynham, MA
4

The property was very clean, modern and comfortable. The pictures didn't do a justice.

  • 4 of 5

If you are a beach person you do not need to leave this property. We walked the beach multiple times a day. There was a nice size beach for most of the day but when the tide was coming in it would go away. We swam right next store in the public swimming area, which was never crowded. The house had all you needed. Could have used a few more kitchen pans but we made it work with what we had. They don't supply dishwashing detergent so bring some from home as prices are expensive at the grocery store for the few washes you do while you are there. We used the washer and dryer as they do not supply many towels so you need to wash them. Our party of 4 had a fabulous time at this house and would highly recommend it to anyone. It's a quiet area with a lot of privacy. We grilled out on the patio most nights and ate outside 3 times a day, why wouldn't you with that view. The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable. Bring mosquito repellent for sure. We brought a few citronella candles from home and those really helped out. Mike and Chloe were amazing to work with and were very helpful with any questions we had. We would totally go back!

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

What we were looking for

  • 4 of 5

We have rented flats and houses on this site and others throughout Europe and North America and consider ourselves savvy renters. The holiday rental experience is a cocktail consisting of 1 part diligent research, 1 part good two way communication and 1 part pure leap of faith. When you get what you expect based on photos, reviews and owner feedback, that's success. Our 7 night stay at Ocean Hollow turned out to be what we were seeking and what we expected. Our key requirement was to be beachfront and Ocean Hollow's location on the west side of the island met that requirement - in spades. We spent many relaxing hours eating meals, reading our books and watching the surf on the comfortable deck metres from the ocean. Others have noted that getting in for a swim is a "rocky" experience. My partner is a capable swimmer and diver and had no difficulty (bring water shoes); but if you are seeking endless beach days swimming off a sandy beach and baking in the sun, stick to an all-inclusive. If instead you are looking for a private, quiet, well-furnished self-catered experience, with the ability to visit lovely restaurants (you will need a car, be willing to take taxis, or take local buses as we often did) this house if for you. We enjoyed our week immensely. Bonus points given for: helpful and lovely interactions with Chloé, outdoor hot shower, washer/dryer/, lightning fast wifi, big screen TV to watch the Academy Awards, the incredibly gracious and helpful locals, and more. Constructive feedback to owners: It may be time for a small cash outlay for some additional kitchen basics (tools and staples), new linens, firmer and newer mattresses, better kitchen and bathroom lighting, and yes, please think about doing something about those treacherous master bathroom stairs, as one reviewer pointed out. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Ocean Hollow. The house is in a beautiful shady spot, right on the water that is perfect for relaxing and watching the sunset over the Caribbean Sea in the afternoons. Thank you for your feedback as we will be completing updates to the property during the slower summer months and hope that you return to stay with us soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Spacious home in a great location

  • 4 of 5

Chloe's Ocean Hollow Villa has a prime beach location between Holetown and Bridgetown. Holetown is the poshest part of he island and features lots of restaurants and shopping. The villa is exactly as pictured on the site. It's quite large and well furnished. The beds are very comfortable and the AC in he bedrooms works well. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because the master bathroom is sunken and could present a falling hazard for older folks or children. The patio is comfortably furnished and we spent most of our time at home out their enjoying the view and listening to the surf. Use bug spray after dark though. We all commented on the fast wifi. Two of us had to work and Skype while there and it was efficient. I would definitely return to Ocean Hollow if I visit Barbados again. The neighborhood is safe and friendly.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us! Fitts Village really is a perfect place to stay on the West Coast, our house is nestled between the trees right on the water with very easy access to the main West Coast Highway. It allows for quiet relaxation right on the beach but also the ability to easily travel up and down the West Coast (by bus or car) to experience some of the top restaurants, nightlife and shopping on the island. Hope that you visit us again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Well kept home with beautiful beach view but no swimming availability

  • 3 of 5

Beautiful clean and all amenities posted worked. Relaxing sound of waves and beach view. On bus line. No screens! Paid 250/night for 6 nights ($1500) to be on a beach where I could swim. Was told that 200 feet away was good swimming beach but not so. You cannot swim at this beach or even at the nearby hotel's beach because of all the rocks. Listing misrepresents the facts and I feel taken advantage of due to exorbitant price for a non-swimmable beach. Very disappointed that I had to take the bus to beach which was exactly what I did not want to do and why I rented this property.

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that you were disappointed with your beach experience however, we do let all of our guests know that right in front of our property is mostly reef (great for snorkelling or reef walking in shoes) and therefore not ideal for swimming. Also, depending on the tide and the sea levels, that can also have an impact on the amount of rocks, which unfortunately we cannot control. The upside to this is that the house has a very private feel, as very rarely do you have to share this beach frontage with any other beachgoers. To the right of our property there is a beautiful sandy beach which is situated in front of the Crystal Cove hotel (google photos of their property as needed) that is accessible to all of our guests. In addition, to the right of our property about a 2-minute walk is also a beautiful sandy spot.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
La Grange, KY
4

Great Stay at Ocean Hollow

  • 4 of 5

We had a great stay at Ocean Hollow. The beach house has all the necessities for a comfortable vacation. It was great eating breakfast on the back porch and listening to the ocean waves. Although only the bedrooms are air conditioned there was always an ocean breeze flowing through the house. There is really no beach to speak of on the property especially during high tide when the waves wash right up to the gate shown in the picture. You could pay US$ 110 per person to get a day pass at the resort next door to use their beach (includes lunch & all drinks). Instead we found a beautiful, secluded beach only 2 km from OH. OH is located in the main tourist section of the island so it is close to all the best restaurants, The food was great but dining out is more expensive than in the States because of the 17.5% VAT. If you rent a car be advised that the road/town name signage is nonexistent; make sure you have an international cell phone with GPS. If you use Google Maps for directions from the airport (BGI) to the property it will direct you via the Adams/Barrow/Cummings Highways. This combination of highways is abbreviated ABC Highway on all roundabout signs. It took us a few days to figure that out. We visited the Andromeda Botanical Gardens, Bathsheba, the Flower Forest, Hunte's Garden (a must see), Welchman Hall Gully and the Mt Gay Rum Distillery. Considering that the temperature in Barbados was 70 degrees warmer than back home we will definitely consider coming back to Ocean Hollow again.

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
23 Kilometres
Grantley Adams International Airport
Nearest Barpub
50 Metres
Drifters
Nearest Golf
4 Kilometres
Sandy Lane - Country Club Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
15 Metres
Highway 1
Nearest Restaurant
500 Metres
The Cliff Restaurant
Nearest Beach
5 Metres
Crystal Cove Beach
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Saint James House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2017 Rate
Apr 18 2017 - Nov 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$150
 
 
Winter 2017-18 Rate
Nov 16 2017 - Apr 15 2018
3 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
Summer 2018 Rate
Apr 16 2018 - Nov 15 2018
3 night minimum stay
$150
 

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Ask a Question Ask a Question
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties