Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

#130 Escape Hatch. Oceanfront, WiFi, Furnished Dune Deck, Sheets Provided!

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 9

Turn off the cell phones (if you can), take a deep breath of salt air and step back in time when you enter this classic Outer Banks home.

There's a 'Dune Deck' with furnishings so you can soak up the sun without being totally covered in sand. Clothes washer/dryer is located down front stairs in utility room. This home has a picnic table for those outdoor meals in the fresh air.

You have two nearby options for accessing the beach: (1) climb down a steep sandy path leading from the home's dune deck to ocean or (2) take a 30-yard stroll from house to community boardwalk at end of cul-de-sac. Community boardwalk at end of cul-de-sac is a wooden walk over the dunes with stairs so all can enjoy easy access to the ocean.

Outside: Walkway and Ramp to Dune Top Deck.

Ground Level: Laundry Room, BBQ Grill, Enclosed Outside Shower w/dressing area.

Main Level: West and East Decks, Great Room, Dining Area w/Entertainment Center/TV/VCR/DVD, Kitchen w/2 Tables and 10 Chairs, NE Queen Bedroom, NW Bedroom w/1 Bunk Set and 1 Twin Bed, SE Queen Bedroom w/TV/VCR Combo, SW Bedroom w/2 Twins, 2 Hall Bathrooms.

More Details

Property Manager
Beach Realty of North Carolina, Inc.
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
December 9, 2017

Amenities

Ocean Hill House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Min. age of primary renter: 24
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • 2 Queen beds, 5 Twin beds
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill

Reviews

3.4/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

25% Complete
37% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
12% Complete
#130 Escape Hatch. Oceanfront, WiFi, Furnished Dune Deck, Sheets Provided!
average rating of 3.375 based on 8 reviews
Frostburg, MD
4

Review for 130 Escape Hatch

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

A cute beach house from the 60's. Desperately needs updates for the walls and flooring instead of the period paneling and VCT floor tiles (floor tiles were very industrial looking). I had to elbow the door to get in each time due to it scraping against the floor. Bathrooms were small and dated also. Open concept living area worked well. New kitchen cabinets were nice to see. Owners should clear encroaching vegetation along the dune access to the beach. It's just about a tripping hazard now. However, we loved the quick access to the beach. I guess it all comes down to: you get what you pay for.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: Beach Realty & Construction / Kitty Hawk Rentals
Owner's Response: This is a a great house reminiscent of the Old Nags Head homes further down in the Town of Nags Head. We will certainly make sure your comments of things to look at for future projects is sent to them immediately. Please do join us again for future vacations here on the Outer Banks.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cheektowaga, NY
5

Escape Hatch

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Fantastic! House was even better than pictured, great location close to restaurants and shopping, and we loved having direct access to the beach!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Beach Realty & Construction / Kitty Hawk Rentals
Owner's Response: "Escape Hatch" truly shows and represents the original beach cottages that came first on the Outer Banks by being comfortable, cozy and well appointed and having that beach access makes it perfect. Please join us again at Escape Hatch" for many more vacations in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Annandale, VA
2

Could Have Been Better

  • 2 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

A one-floor, 4 bedroom rental right on the beach.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: Beach Realty & Construction / Kitty Hawk Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Alliance, OH
1

Disappointing stay

  • 1 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was adequately helpful.

The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This house has a great location, but the cost is not worth it for the condition of the home. We were terribly disappointed and felt like we were staying at a summer camp cabin instead of a quaint beach house. There were so many issues, such as the whole house would move when someone walked across the floor, or the very poor air conditioning and circulation. The room my kids were in had to have a box fan to circulate the cool air so they didn't sweat at night. There is also no dead bolt on the (improperly fitting) front door. It wouldn't take much to force your way in. Plus the floor was warped at the door, so it was difficult to open it all the way. All of the lighting in the house (except bathrooms) is done with lamps, which is inadequate. This home does not meet the standard for renting. We should have taken our money somewhere else and walked a little farther to the beach.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: Beach Realty & Construction / Kitty Hawk Rentals
Owner's Response: Kitty Hawk Rentals appreciates your feedback regarding "Escape Hatch." We are so sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your rental. Please rest assured that all of this information will be past on the the appropriate sources and the owner will be made aware of the feedback you have provided. The Outer Banks is a wonderful place to vacation with your family and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Dysart, PA
5

Super location

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Although the beach house was dated, it had everything you needed for a relaxing week away.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: Beach Realty & Construction / Kitty Hawk Rentals
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Escape Hatch is a "classic" Outer Banks beach cottage. Absolutely perfect for those looking for an escape from the daily hustle and bustle. I'm glad you were able to enjoy your time there and we certainly hope to welcome you back to the OBX!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Our Escape Hatch experience

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Escape Hatch is not elegant or modern but it is a very comfortable house with easy beach access. Adding the towel package really helps since we didn't have to worry about bringing anything but beach towels. It is oceanfront but the dunes have built up and block ocean views, but the deck is comfortable and the beach is only steps away. We plan to rent again next year.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: Beach Realty & Construction / Kitty Hawk Rentals
Owner's Response: We are so pleased to hear that "Escape Hatch" was the right home for your vacation here on the Outer Banks. The dune has built up along that area of beach, but that is so great considering some areas are not so lucky. Having the dune deck does give the house an added area perhaps to just sit down and look at the ocean and just take a few steps and you are at the ocean's edge. Thank you for again returning with Kitty Hawk Rentals and "Escape Hatch" for your vacations in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • ***2018 Rates/Availability are subject to change. Non refundable pre-reservation deposit of $100/week plus tax is due to tentatively hold dates and will be applied to your balance upon confirmation & signed lease in the Fall***

    Duplicate Property Damage Protection: You are automatically covered for property damages through Beach Realty/Kitty Hawk Rentals. Please do not purchase the protection offered through CSA Travel through Homeaway.

    Optional Fees:
    Pet Fee: Properties permitting dogs will have a fee ($100.00 plus tax unless otherwise noted) for the privilege.
    Heated Pool Option: (if applicable) Fees vary, please contact Kitty Hawk Rentals for a quote.