check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

#130 Escape Hatch. Oceanfront, WiFi, Furnished Dune Deck, Sheets Provided!

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
9
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

Description

Ocean Hill House Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 9

Turn off the cell phones (if you can), take a deep breath of salt air and step back in time when you enter this classic Outer Banks home.

There's a 'Dune Deck' with furnishings so you can soak up the sun without being totally covered in sand. Clothes washer/dryer is located down front stairs in utility room. This home has a picnic table for those outdoor meals in the fresh air.

You have two nearby options for accessing the beach: (1) climb down a steep sandy path leading from the home's dune deck to ocean or (2) take a 30-yard stroll from house to community boardwalk at end of cul-de-sac. Community boardwalk at end of cul-de-sac is a wooden walk over the dunes with stairs so all can enjoy easy access to the ocean.

Outside: Walkway Ramp and Dune Top Deck.

Ground Level: Laundry Room, BBQ Grill, Enclosed Outside Shower.

Main Level: West and East Decks, Great Room, Dining Area w/Entertainment Center/TV/VCR/DVD, Kitchen w/2 Tables and 10 Chairs, NE Queen Bedroom, NW Bedroom w/1 Bunk Set and 1 Twin Bed, SE Queen Bedroom w/TV/VCR Combo, SW Bedroom w/2 Twins, 2 Hall Bathrooms.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Property Manager
Beach Realty of North Carolina, Inc.
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
December 1, 2016
Call Manager

Reviews

3/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

#130 Escape Hatch. Oceanfront, WiFi, Furnished Dune Deck, Sheets Provided!
average rating of 3.0 based on 6 reviews
2

Could Have Been Better

  • 2 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

A one-floor, 4 bedroom rental right on the beach.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: Beach Realty & Construction / Kitty Hawk Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Alliance, OH
1

Disappointing stay

  • 1 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was adequately helpful.

The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This house has a great location, but the cost is not worth it for the condition of the home. We were terribly disappointed and felt like we were staying at a summer camp cabin instead of a quaint beach house. There were so many issues, such as the whole house would move when someone walked across the floor, or the very poor air conditioning and circulation. The room my kids were in had to have a box fan to circulate the cool air so they didn't sweat at night. There is also no dead bolt on the (improperly fitting) front door. It wouldn't take much to force your way in. Plus the floor was warped at the door, so it was difficult to open it all the way. All of the lighting in the house (except bathrooms) is done with lamps, which is inadequate. This home does not meet the standard for renting. We should have taken our money somewhere else and walked a little farther to the beach.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Beach Realty & Construction / Kitty Hawk Rentals
Owner's Response: Kitty Hawk Rentals appreciates your feedback regarding "Escape Hatch." We are so sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your rental. Please rest assured that all of this information will be past on the the appropriate sources and the owner will be made aware of the feedback you have provided. The Outer Banks is a wonderful place to vacation with your family and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Super location

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Although the beach house was dated, it had everything you needed for a relaxing week away.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: Beach Realty & Construction / Kitty Hawk Rentals
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Escape Hatch is a "classic" Outer Banks beach cottage. Absolutely perfect for those looking for an escape from the daily hustle and bustle. I'm glad you were able to enjoy your time there and we certainly hope to welcome you back to the OBX!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Our Escape Hatch experience

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Escape Hatch is not elegant or modern but it is a very comfortable house with easy beach access. Adding the towel package really helps since we didn't have to worry about bringing anything but beach towels. It is oceanfront but the dunes have built up and block ocean views, but the deck is comfortable and the beach is only steps away. We plan to rent again next year.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Beach Realty & Construction / Kitty Hawk Rentals
Owner's Response: We are so pleased to hear that "Escape Hatch" was the right home for your vacation here on the Outer Banks. The dune has built up along that area of beach, but that is so great considering some areas are not so lucky. Having the dune deck does give the house an added area perhaps to just sit down and look at the ocean and just take a few steps and you are at the ocean's edge. Thank you for again returning with Kitty Hawk Rentals and "Escape Hatch" for your vacations in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Dover, DE
2

Escape Hatch Needs Some Loving Care.

  • 2 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Loved the location. Unfortunately rain and wind kept us off the beach for 5 of the 7 days. Escape Hatch is old and shows it. Floors, carpet and furniture need attention. Kitchen and bathrooms were ok. Need new grill. For our out-of-season stay, to me it was a little over-priced.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: Beach Realty & Construction / Kitty Hawk Rentals
Owner's Response: Thank you Mr. Shepherd for taking the time to share your thoughts about Escape Hatch. Your comments will certainly be forwarded to the owner. This owner is looking already to doing updates for future rental seasons. Thank you for booking with Kitty Hawk Rentals and we certainly look forward to having you return in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

Escape Hatch

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Escape Hatch is an older home that has not been fully updated however it is comfortable, affordable and had what we needed for a good week at the beach. The mattresses on the Queen beds could be a bit firmer based on our preferences.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: Beach Realty & Construction / Kitty Hawk Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • Avoid VRBO/Homeaway fees by booking directly through Beachrealtync.com or call 1-800-635-1559. We offer secure online booking and 24/7 customer service.

    Partial Rentals Disclaimer: If a home accepts partial week rentals the following policy will apply: During Off Season Weeks the earliest a home can be booked is 3 weeks prior to your arrival date. During In Season Weeks the earliest a home can be booked is the Monday that falls within the week of the rental, unless otherwise stated. Partials cannot be booked online. Please call 800-635-1559 for assistance.

    Optional Fees:
    Pet Fee: Properties permitting dogs will have a fee ($100.00 plus tax unless otherwise noted) for the privilege.
    Heated Pool Option: (if applicable) Fees vary, please contact Kitty Hawk Rentals for a quote.
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Ocean Hill House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • 2 w/Queen, 1 w/Bunk Set and Twin, 1 w/2 Twins. Sheets Provided, Beds Made.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties