check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Enjoy Big Sebago Lake from Private Sandy Beach

8 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights


Minimum Stay
4 - 7 nights


Windham House Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathrooms, Convertible bed(s), Sleeps 8

Nice home in friendly neighborhood, close to everything but removed enough you can enjoy the quiet. The front yard is Sebago Lake the second largest lake in Maine and is so clean and clear that it is the water source for Portland's drinking water. Sebago Lake is a boater's paradise. Boaters have multiple destinations from the Frye Island Cafe to one of the many beaches you can boat to and enjoy or maybe a trip up the Songo River to Naples is more to your taste. Our beach is also a great place to relax and just enjoy the quiet broken by an occasional loon call.

40' of private sandy beach with a fire pit beckon each evening as the sun sets over the White Mountains and Raymond Cape. The home is located among gardens with a lush green lawn. Flowers are in bloom all summer. If water skiing is your passion the Basin offers calm water when Sebago is rough. The Basin is a few hundred feet from our dock.

The home is child proofed with locks on the lower cabinets and outlet covers.

  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only

Sandra Donnelly
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 28, 2016
Call Owner

About Sandra Donnelly

My husband and I enjoy boating, fishing and everything that is summer in Maine. Enjoying Sebago Lake and trips up the Songo River to Brandy Pond and Long Lake are family outings enjoyed by all. Weekend afternoons at one of the many boat accessable beaches is good family fun. We enjoy Sebago Lake so much we now own two homes here and would like to share the experience with others. Sandra & David

Sandra Donnelly purchased this house in 1999

Why Sandra Donnelly chose Sebago Lakes Region

We love Sebago Lake, not just as a vacation but as a year round residence. We are hooked from sandy beaches and amazing sunsets to listening to the loons as you fall asleep. Almost every night an amazing sun set can be seen from our beach.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dear David & Sandra,

Thank you for your hospitality. We had a great vacation. The kids especially enjoyed swimming in the lake and playing on the beach. Laurie and I enjoyed relaxing in this beautiful area.

Many Thanks,
Jul 2011
  • 1 of 6


based on 8 traveler reviews

Enjoy Big Sebago Lake from Private Sandy Beach
average rating of 4.5 based on 14 reviews

Disappointed Week in Windham, Maine

  • 1 of 5

I am writing to give my honest opinion of the property.

The property is set on a very quite road. A small road separates the property from the beach. The Beach area was clean with and was an adequate size for a family of four. The lake portion of the beach was very rocky (we needed beach shoes to navigate the water comfortably). The water was clear but the lake bottom was covered for the most part with lake plant life,

The house was clean (except the kitchen floor was sticky) and large enough for a family of four to live comfortable for a weeks stay.

We were disappointed to find that the hot tub shown in the pictures and mentioned in the listing description was not functioning (and from the looks of it had not been working for some time).

The rental house is the families winter home (they move into the house next store for the summer (so they can rent it out) so they will be living next to you for the week. The view from the rental house to the lake is usually blocked by trucks and boat trailers during the day due to the husbands heating cooling business.

The television was the size of a small computer monitor (not that watching TV is a primary concern for a summer rental).

The wifi coverage was poor. We barley obtained coverage in one small corner of the house. I am assuming because the router is moved into the house the family is living in next door. Regardless it was in adequate for our general use.

I am an honest person and I felt I kept the property very clean throughout the week. The renter did not see things the same way refusing to refund the deposit stating we left the house in a dirty state and accused our family of breaking items we did not use. I made it a point to leave the house in a clean state washing all of the towels except for the few that were used that morning.

This was our first and last time renting someones house while on vacation.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Please read the our other reviews, I have never kept a security deposit in all the years of renting this cottage, until this renter. I understand "normal" wear. In this case I felt I had to keep the deposit because of all the excess cleaning and damage. From the other reviews you can tell that the property is very clean, it is always professionally cleaned between guests. Yes the hot tub was not working, I had removed it from the amenity list on the rental website the day it was decided it could not be repaired. This cottage is our winter home, in the summer we do live next door, most guests have found that fact a plus not a minus. (Handy if you want to know a good restaurant, rainy day activity, etc.) Unfortunately, Sebago Lake was very low the summer of 2013, it is a dam controlled lake and the water level is out of our control. Most summers we have a sandy beach with no plant life as you can see from the pictures. When the powers that be lower the water level by many feet that changes the appearance of the beach. The level was lowered for a cyclical low to maintain dams and walls and will not happen again for many years. As for the view being blocked, the cottage sits on a hill overlooking the lake, no one else has ever said their view was blocked by a truck, boat or any other item. It would have to be very high to block the view from the cottage. After 5:00pm my husband does have 2 box trucks parked in the driveway of our house it is not in the direct line of site of the cottage, it is to the left as you look at the lake. We use Fairpoint as an internet provider, in this area we do not have many choices, we did not have reliable internet this summer and they seem to have corrected many of their problems and service is back to normal. This guest seems to feel I moved the router when in fact I did not have internet either. I honestly believe this review comes down to the fact that I kept the security deposit for the first time since I started renting the cottage to guests. I have never had it left in such a filthy state. The cleaning crew had to call in extra people and it was not ready for the new guests on time! Every other renter we have had has treated the cottage with respect and I have promptly returned the security deposit. With as many good reviews as we have, I think you can see we have a nice cottage in a great area. Please do not let one "bad apple" spoil your chance at a great location!
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Awesome family vacation

  • 5 of 5

Amazing views from master bedroom and open concept great room. Plenty of privacy and room for our family of 5 plus. Beautiful sandy beach and our own fire pit. The owners were very helpful even providing us with as much wood as we needed to keep the fire going. Gentle entry into the water with no steep drop off. Very close to town but it doesn't feel like you are in town. We've stayed at more expensive places on the lake in the past. This was an excellent value! If you want to spend your time on the lake and on the beach this is a great family spot. This is our new house for at least one week a year as long as it is available!

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Relaxed at Sandy Toes

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful week at an adorable camp! We didn't need a thing. The camp provided all the essentials and more! Loved having a fire pit and wood available and our kids loved snorkeling for treasures from the pedal boat!

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Summer 2012 awesome vacation

  • 5 of 5

Spent a week with adult kids,us, and our handicapped daughter. Sandy and Dave were excellent hosts. Just the right amount of hosting, helpful and allowing us our privacy. Very gracious hosts. We enjoyed their company, the beach was great, water was crystal clear! House was adorable and so clean. Rented because it had air cond and it was delightful. Tv ,videos all family friendly. If you want water, great house, beautiful beach, this is the place. Lillies smelled great too! Visited the Desert of Maine, wildlife park, enjoyed lobster from less than 2 min. Away. Wonderful trip, wonderful hosts.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portland, ME

Great lakefront property!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I had a wonderful stay in July 2012! The small house is amazingly roomy and comfortable with direct access to a wide beach area in front of the property. Besides the master bedroom, there is a back bedroom for two and also pullout couch beds. The kitchen is large and has everything you need. We kayaked all around the bay and also under the bridge to the Sebago Basin. Saw loons right up to the kayak, herons, and families of ducks. We were fortunate to stay during an annual evening music concert that the owner's have right on the beach. There even were fireworks! This house is about 2 minutes from the retail area for restaurants, shopping, movies, etc. We highly recommend this peaceful, warm water, easy to use lake property.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Delightful Windham Cottage

  • 5 of 5

This Windham cottage is the perfect retreat for people looking to spend time lakeside in a sleepy Maine town. The house is charming with its combination of modern and beach decour, and the pictures are an accurate depiction of the house and the surrounding property. The beachfront and dock area are the perfect spot to enjoy the sunset at the end of a long day of shopping in Freeport, which is about 40 minutes away. The town of Windham has all of your basic needs, stores, activities and, of course, good lobster. The owner lives close to the cottage. She was clear and effective in communicating the details of the rental before we booked and was wonderfully helpful dring our stay. I hope to return again next year!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Portland Jet Port (PWM)
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Point Sebago
Nearest Train
24 Miles
Portland - Amtrack
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Route 302
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Thatcher's & Bob's Seafood
Nearest Beach
Front yard
Car: recommended

Boat, kayak, canoe, paddle board and Jet Ski Rentals Nearby.


Rates & Availability

Windham House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
May & June
May 15 - Jun 30
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $150
Tax Rate 8.0%
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.


Windham House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 880 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront
  • Family
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Full 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , Can be set up as king or 2 twins
  • Convertible bed(s), King Bed: King Bed or Two Twins. Queen Bed. Convertible Bed: Queen Sleep Sofa and Possibility of Queen Air Mattress.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Beach Chairs
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Pedal Boat
  • 6 beach chairs
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Beachfront: 40' of Sandy Private Beach. Mountain View: Views of the White Mountains in the Distance Over Sebago Lake. Lakefront. Full Kitchen: Granite Counter Tops, Refrigerator, Stove/Oven, Microwave, Ss Double Sink, and Dishwasher. Parking for Boat Trailer Available Upon Request. Private Hot Tub. Enjoy Camp Fires on 40' of Private Sandy Beach, Boat Rentals Nearby, Dock for Boat is Available for an Extra charge. Mooring for Boat is Available for an Extra charge, see rates for details. Several golf courses nearby including Point Sebago Resort. Sea Coast Fun Park one and a half miles away.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties