check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Joe & Casey Kigin

Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Gorgeous Home w/ Great Views & Reviews! Over 400 happy customers since 2004!!

74 Reviews
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Grand Lake House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-7)

Enjoy the beautiful views from our gorgeous recently-built (2002) cabin home, 'in town' and just a short walk to either Grand Lake or Shadow Mountain Lake. Secluded enough to ensure plenty of peace and quiet, you won't find it unusual to see moose, elk, foxes, and other wildlife feeding on our wildflowers during the morning/evening.

Grand Lake is a quaint historic town that serves as the western 'less-crowded' entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park -- access to the park is a short 100-yard walk from our cabin! -- and provides an abundance of both summer & winter activities. Golfing, boating, swimming, fishing, water-skiing, jet-skiing, downhill skiing, cross-country skiing, snowmobiling, kayaking, hiking, horseback riding, along with the many restaurants, gifts shops, live theater, and social events in town make this an ideal summer vacation.

Our 2BR/2BA home can accommodate up to 5 adults, has been equipped with designer bedding & hand-selected furnishings to convey a 'contemporary rustic' feel. The master bedroom offers a queen bed w/ private bath, the 'kids' room offers a twin/full bunkbed with trundle, and there is a queen sleeper in the family room.

Keywords: Grand Lake colorado best value Cabin House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Joe & Casey Kigin (Owner)
Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

5
based on 74 traveler reviews

Gorgeous Home w/ Great Views & Reviews! Over 400 happy customers since 2004!!
average rating of 4.9594593 based on 74 reviews
5

Great stay in comfortable cabin

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our vacation to Grand Lake and the cabin. The location was great, very close to town, RMNP and many close trail heads. We loved the view and the deck was wonderful. The hummingbird feeder is a neat detail and we all enjoyed the little visitor we saw often. We saw a elk calf right on the property, she was learning to walk! We went horseback riding, drove Trail Ridge Road which we highly recommend, and loved the Dream Lake Trail. We loved Adams Falls as well. Saw a lot of wildlife including a moose and deer on Adams Falls trail. We rented a boat and went out on the lake which was another fun way to spend a few hours. It was a fabulous family vacation and if we ever return to Grand Lake I would book this cabin again. It was very comfortable and the kitchen was stocked with staples and actually at the time of our stay, much more than staples. I'm really glad we choose this cabin for our stay.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful cool getaway from Texas heat!

  • 5 of 5

This was a great cabin for our family to stay in for a week. Had planned to be 5 of us but my daughter had surgery so she and her son couldn't make it, but my husband and I and my grown son had a blast here. Elevated porch/deck to sit on and watch the hummingbirds and see out over the lake. Plenty of room inside for cooking, visiting, etc. Well stocked with staples (spices, flour, cans of stuff, etc.). Lots of towels, pillows, blankets. Washer and dryer, so you can reuse your clothes instead of packing so many. Reasonably priced, much better than a hotel. Close to town, beautiful views. Love the VRBO concept. Will definitely do VRBO again for the next place we visit.

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location and beautiful surroundings

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at this property. The rooms were perfect and the kitchen was well equipped. The owner was prompt to respond if we had questions and very easy to communicate with. The location and amenities were as described and the property was clean and welcoming. We would recommend it to anyone because of its location and easy access to so many activities. You are minutes away from the Rocky Mountain National Park and several create hiking locations (for all levels). Grand Pizza and Sage Brush BBQ were great family spots. Although casual, I recommend making reservations in the summer to avoid long waits.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location, great views, met all our needs

  • 5 of 5

The Kigin cabin was a great home base for our vacation to RMNP. The cabin is nice and was well equipped to cover all our needs. Joe is extremely responsive. The location is fantastic and you can be in RMNP in a matter of minutes. We took advantage of this for several morning or evening hikes with much smaller crowds and more active animals. Walking along the Onahu trail one evening on a ranger guided hike the woods literally came alive with elk as we stumbled upon them. We also saw over 20 moose during our excursions - again, morning and evening are the best times.

There are so many activities to do in the area - we fished, mountain biked, rafted, and hiked. All great times!

Thanks to the Kigin's for sharing your cabin.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great Location, but not what you might expect

  • 3 of 5

The cabin is a nice location close to Rocky Mountain NP. However, we were surprised that were no chairs for the deck ( both broken and stored below the cabin ) to enjoy the views. There were 4 adults ( college friends ) staying in our party. This cabin is small and does not sleep 4 adults comfortably. The bunk beds made lots of noise every time you moved in them. Also, the house did not have some of the basic things ( like kleenex and soap ). Finally, it does not tell you that you need to do all the laundry and take out the garbage before you leave or there will be an extra cleaning charge. Again, nice location but just know what you are getting into before booking this cabin.

  • Submitted: May 9, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: After 13 years & 69 5-star reviews this review is a little puzzling & concerning. I spoke to the gentleman who was the primary customer, who both during/after the stay indicated what a great stay they had. It was another member of their party who wrote the review. To clarify, it is/was clearly stated in the Rental Agreement that the reason/way we are able to keep our cleaning fee down ($55 vs. $100 for most other cabins) is by asking customers to run washer & put towels/sheets in the dryer on their way out the door on their day of departure, and also is specifically stated that an extra charge would apply if maid needed to spend extra time...the same maid who collects the garbage, we just ask customers as they accumulate garbage to centralize in lawn/leaf bags in cabin basement & not leave outside due to very hungry bears this time of year. All toiletries, with exception of shampoo (as it is personal preference) are and have always been provided. There are deck chairs in the closet of the 2nd bedroom, which the maid also verified. Regarding sleeping/beds, it was clearly stated in description that Master BR had a Queen (sleeps 2), bunkbed in 2nd (sleeps 2, intended for kids/teens for accessibility reasons :) ), and Queen sleeper (sleeps 2), plus there is a pull-out trundle. I'd be happy to answer ANY questions any one has...
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Very nice cozy place with great views and accommodating owners!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay and would come back in a heartbeat. Thanks Joe!

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
17 Miles
Granby / Grand County Regional Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
~5-10 of them in-town
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Grand Lake Golf Curse
Nearest Train
17 Miles
Amtrak - Granby
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
US 34
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
~10-20 in-town
Nearest Ski
2 Miles
Grand Lake Nordic Center (X-Country/Snowshoe)
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Grand Lake
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Grand Lake House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer (late)
Aug 29 2016 - Oct 2 2016
3 night minimum stay
$178
$1,179
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $7 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall
Oct 3 2016 - Nov 21 2016
3 night minimum stay
$155
$1,030
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2016 - Nov 27 2016
4 night minimum stay
$169
$1,122
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
Pre-Holiday
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 20 2016
3 night minimum stay
$155
$1,129
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
Xmas/NewYears
Dec 21 2016 - Jan 3 2017
4 night minimum stay
$180
$1,198
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter
Jan 4 2017 - Mar 5 2017
2 night minimum stay
$154
$1,025
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring Break
Mar 6 2017 - Apr 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$159
$1,060
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
Late Spring
Apr 3 2017 - Apr 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$143
$950
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
Pre-Summer
May 1 2017 - May 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$160
$969
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
Early Summer
May 26 2017 - Jun 25 2017
4 night minimum stay
$180
$1,197
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $8 per night, per additional guest
 
4th of July Holiday
Jun 26 2017 - Jul 9 2017
5 night minimum stay
$270
$1,796
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer (Peak)
Jul 10 2017 - Aug 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
$235
$1,563
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$140
$941
 

Additional information about rental rates

One-time cleaning fee $60 + Tax
Tax Rate 8.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. $55 cleaning charge is for up to 6 guests for stay not to exceed 7 days. Additional charge may apply for larger parties & for stay longer than 7 days.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Grand Lake House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain View ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Queen size Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1) Pack 'n Play, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen-size sleeper in Family Room, Bunk Beds (1) Twin/full bunkbed w/ trundle underneath as well
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Fireplace (electric), CD/DVD Player, Full Kitchen w/ Radiant Cooktop, Humidifier, Horseshoe Pit, and puzzles/games for those rare days when you want to stay indoors. No Smoking and no pets.

Partner Offers