Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Daisy: Brand New!!! Walk to Lake Mi: Serene, Private, Minutes From Town!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bed, 2 Full Bath, Sleeps 6, Hot Tub, Screened Porch, One block from Beach

We are NOT accepting bookings through HomeAway/VRBO.

Booking requests made through HomeAway/VRBO will be declined.

Please contact us for rates and other information. Thank you!

The Daisy is a newly remodeled cottage only 1 block from Lake Michigan!

Walk to lake Michigan! Minutes from downtown Douglas & Saugatuck towns and award winning restaurants & galleries. A serene setting for reading or sunbathing. Walk to the beach, enjoy gorgeous sunsets. A great place to relax and walking distance to a beautiful Lake Michigan beach.

Enjoy a cottage feel with luxury amenities. HDTV with over 150 channels including HBO and OnDemand. 50MBps super high speed internet with Wi-Fi. Hot tub, screened-in porch, back yard, large open floor plan kitchen/living room. Create memories for a lifetime!

Check out our adjacent properties at The Gardens:

'Lily' at The Gardens (2 bedroom, 2 bath, sleeps 4, property ID 3630017) -- HomeAway 3630017

'Azalea' at The Gardens (3 bedroom, 2 bath, sleeps 6, property ID 3634043) -- HomeAway 3634043

We do NOT accept booking through HomeAway/VRBO. Please contact us to make a booking.

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 28, 2017

About The Owner

After lovingly remodeling Daisy from top to bottom, we have decided to entrust Mill Pond Realty to manage our beautiful Daisy cottage. You will be working with them during the reservation process and during your stay. You can book online on their rentals website and their staff is available 24 hours a day should you need anything during your visit.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 2013

Amenities

Douglas Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Large sliding doors to back yard and hottub
  • Two bedrooms sleep four. Pull out couch in living room sleeps two.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Extra services can be arranged: private wine tastings, massages, flower delivery & setup, and more. Please contact us to find out how we can make your visit memorable!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

Daisy: Brand New!!! Walk to Lake Mi: Serene, Private, Minutes From Town!
average rating of 4.9259257 based on 27 reviews
5

Terrific location!

  • 5 of 5

We spent three nights at the Daisy, and it was lovely! Extremely clean, well equipped kitchen, very quiet and private. Loved the screened porch, a great place to spend a rainy afternoon! One of the best features is its location - a block away from Lake Michigan and minutes away from shopping areas and restaurants in Douglas and Saugatuck. Leslie has done a beautiful job decorating and maintaining this home and provided a bottle of wine to help celebrate our anniversary. Thanks for a beautiful getaway!

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You are welcome. I am glad you enjoyed your anniversary in beautiful Southwest Michigan.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The Daisy is beautiful and close to the lake.

  • 5 of 5

The Daisy has been completely remodeled with beautiful kitchen, rooms, furniture and screened porch. The floor plan is perfect for gathering at the large dining table or sitting by the fireplace. The private back yard has a patio, eating area, hot tub and porch swing. Lake Michigan is just a block away, with the boardwalk steps down to Douglas Beach another short walk away. Our time there was relaxing and carefree. I highly recommend The Daisy.

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much. We like to think we have a great location for all the treats of the Saugatuck/Douglas area.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice!

  • 5 of 5

This is our second year staying a weekend in September at this cottage. We plan to go back again next year and have recommended to friends. Good location and beautifully updated cottage with lovely back yard.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We really appreciate our repeat guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

What a Find!

  • 5 of 5

Came up from a sizzling summer in Florida. Expected cooler weather and a nice retreat, but got so much more. The house was perfect! Very clean and well maintained. I would highly recommend it. Spent a great deal of time in the screened room relaxing after checking out the area and beaches in Douglas and Saugatuk. Had my Sister and brother in law down from Houghton Lake for a couple of nights and my brother and sister in law from Saint Clair Shores for sometime. The house was very comfortable with everything you would need. We ate out lunch while visiting shops on main street, took a cruise on the steamer in Saugatuk, watch the sunsets over Lake Michigan. It was perfect. Thanks for the list of restaurants Leslie. We tried a lot of them. Can't wait to come back with my husband. He'll love it as much as I did.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. So glad you enjoyed the screened in porch. That is one of my favorite places too!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay two years in a row!

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed here for a week the last two years and were were very happy with the property. The house is cute and has everything you need and the beach is just a short walk away. It was also wonderful that we were provided with a pack and play, high chair and changing table. We hope to make our stay here an annual vacation!

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. So great to have you back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very attractive homesn convenient location

  • 4 of 5

I had very little need to interact with Leslie regarding this rental, which is a testament to how well organized the property is. The home is very well located near the lake and Douglas public beach. The two bedrooms are relatively small but perfectly fine; the fact that there are two separate bathrooms more than makes up for the small size of the bedrooms. The home is nicely furnished and well equipped with modern appliances that are in nice condition. So, overall, our stay was very positive. We do have a few other minor observations that are intended to help Leslie make the home even nicer or to reflect our personal preferences and things that related to the area rather than the house:

1. The back porch furniture had not been vacuumed upon our arrival.

2. The TV had only the most basic commercial stations available; given the cost of the rental, I think full(er) cable access is appropriate

3. In this area of Douglas, beach access is almost all private only. The Douglas public beach is very close by (5 minute walk) but is small and not in particularly good condition. There are signs indicating where the the public beach ends and the private beach begins, so public beach goers are crammed in to a small area.

4. The washing machine was a little dirty; had to remove some mold

5. There are only a very limited number of good restaurants in the Saugatuck / Douglas area, especially for vegetarians. The Saugatuck Brewery should be avoided at all costs; White Dog very good for pizza.

6. This is a great location for biking as there are many perfect country roads practically outside the front door.

Again, overall this is a very nice home and it was a real pleasure to stay in it. Our issues above are primarily with the area. But Leslie's home is really very nice.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your detailed review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the Daisy. Although it is not mold in the washing machine, sometimes there is some gooey stuff left on the seal of the door if it has been left closed between washings. The porch furniture and rug should be vacuumed between rentals. I will review these issues with the cleaning staff. We offer very many cable stations although, it's true, we do not offer the premium stations. We will look at this issue for the future. Again, thank you for your review and I hope you will return for an even better experience on your next visit to Douglas/Saugatuck. Leslie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Grand Rapids Ford International GRR
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Downtown Douglas
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Amtrak Holland HOM
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Downtown Douglas
Nearest Ski
35 Miles
Bittersweet Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
Douglas Beach
Car: necessary

The Gardens are located only 1 block away from Lake Michigan at the Douglas Beach. Downtown Douglas is 1 mile away and downtown Saugatuck 2 miles. From wineries and live theater to ice cream and fine dining, everything you'd want on a vacation is at your finger tips.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Douglas Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Off Season
Apr 9 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,500
 
 
Memorial Day
May 26 2017 - May 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
$2,400
 
 
Early Season
May 29 2017 - Jun 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$400
From
$490
Fri,Sat
$2,400
 
 
Summer
Jun 22 2017 - Jun 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
From
$490
Thu,Fri,Sat
$2,400
 
 
4th of July
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$540
$2,600
 
 
Summer
Jul 5 2017 - Jul 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
From
$490
Thu,Fri,Sat
$2,400
 
 
Venetian Festival
Jul 27 2017 - Jul 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$540
$2,600
 
 
Summer
Jul 30 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
From
$490
Thu,Fri,Sat
$2,400
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$490
$2,400
 
 
Autumn
Sep 5 2017 - Oct 9 2017
2 night minimum stay
$300
From
$350
Fri,Sat
$1,750
 
 
Off Season
Oct 10 2017 - Nov 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,500
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$350
$1,750
 
 
Off Season
Nov 26 2017 - Dec 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,500
 
 
Holiday Season
Dec 22 2017 - Dec 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
$350
$1,750
 
 
NYE
Dec 29 2017 - Jan 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
$390
$1,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning $125 + Tax
Tax Rate 6.0%

Rates are subject to change until booking is confirmed. Must book through Mill Pond Realty to form a valid booking. Booking requests through HomeAway/VRBO will not be confirmed. A holding deposit of half the base rental rate is due at the time of booking with final payment being due 30 days prior to arrival. All reservations are subject to 6% MI tax, 2% local lodging tax, 5% admin fee, and a $10/day damage waiver fee. Cancellations more than 30 days prior to arrival are subject to a 10% cancellation fee. Cancellations less than 30 days prior to arrival will not receive a refund. Payment is accepted by cash, check, certified funds, Visa, MasterCard, or Discover. You can view all our terms and conditions on our Mill Pond Realty Rentals website. We are happy to answer any questions you may have. If your arrival is less than 7 days away, please contact us for last minute deals.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable