Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Brand New!!! Walk to Lake Mi: Serene, Private, Minutes From Town!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
0
Minimum Stay
1 - 7 nights

About the property

2 Bed, 2 Full Bath, Sleeps 6,Hot Tub, Screened Porch, One block from Beac

The Daisy is a new cottage.

Walk to lake Michigan! Minutes from downtown Douglas & Saugatuck towns and award winning restaurants & galleries. A serene setting for reading or sunbathing. Walk to the beach, enjoy gorgeous sunsets. A great place to relax and walking distance to a beautiful Lake Michigan beach.

Enjoy a cottage feel with luxury amenities. HDTV with over 150 channels including HBO and OnDemand. 50MBps super high speed internet with Wi-Fi. Hot tub, screened-in porch, back yard, large open floor plan kitchen/living room. Create memories for a lifetime!

Check out our adjacent properties at The Gardens:

'Lily' at The Gardens (2 bedroom, 2 bath, sleeps 4, property ID 3630017) -- HomeAway 3630017

'Azalea' at The Gardens (3 bedroom, 2 bath, sleeps 6, property ID 3634043) -- HomeAway 3634043

More Details

Owner
Leslie
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, greek
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 16, 2017

Amenities

Douglas Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Large sliding doors to back yard and hottub
  • Two bedrooms sleep four. Pull out couch in living room sleeps two.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Extra services can be arranged: private wine tastings, massages, flower delivery & setup, and more. Please contact us to find out how we can make your visit memorable!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

Brand New!!! Walk to Lake Mi: Serene, Private, Minutes From Town!
average rating of 4.9259257 based on 27 reviews
5

Terrific location!

  • 5 of 5

We spent three nights at the Daisy, and it was lovely! Extremely clean, well equipped kitchen, very quiet and private. Loved the screened porch, a great place to spend a rainy afternoon! One of the best features is its location - a block away from Lake Michigan and minutes away from shopping areas and restaurants in Douglas and Saugatuck. Leslie has done a beautiful job decorating and maintaining this home and provided a bottle of wine to help celebrate our anniversary. Thanks for a beautiful getaway!

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You are welcome. I am glad you enjoyed your anniversary in beautiful Southwest Michigan.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The Daisy is beautiful and close to the lake.

  • 5 of 5

The Daisy has been completely remodeled with beautiful kitchen, rooms, furniture and screened porch. The floor plan is perfect for gathering at the large dining table or sitting by the fireplace. The private back yard has a patio, eating area, hot tub and porch swing. Lake Michigan is just a block away, with the boardwalk steps down to Douglas Beach another short walk away. Our time there was relaxing and carefree. I highly recommend The Daisy.

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much. We like to think we have a great location for all the treats of the Saugatuck/Douglas area.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice!

  • 5 of 5

This is our second year staying a weekend in September at this cottage. We plan to go back again next year and have recommended to friends. Good location and beautifully updated cottage with lovely back yard.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We really appreciate our repeat guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

What a Find!

  • 5 of 5

Came up from a sizzling summer in Florida. Expected cooler weather and a nice retreat, but got so much more. The house was perfect! Very clean and well maintained. I would highly recommend it. Spent a great deal of time in the screened room relaxing after checking out the area and beaches in Douglas and Saugatuk. Had my Sister and brother in law down from Houghton Lake for a couple of nights and my brother and sister in law from Saint Clair Shores for sometime. The house was very comfortable with everything you would need. We ate out lunch while visiting shops on main street, took a cruise on the steamer in Saugatuk, watch the sunsets over Lake Michigan. It was perfect. Thanks for the list of restaurants Leslie. We tried a lot of them. Can't wait to come back with my husband. He'll love it as much as I did.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. So glad you enjoyed the screened in porch. That is one of my favorite places too!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay two years in a row!

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed here for a week the last two years and were were very happy with the property. The house is cute and has everything you need and the beach is just a short walk away. It was also wonderful that we were provided with a pack and play, high chair and changing table. We hope to make our stay here an annual vacation!

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. So great to have you back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very attractive homesn convenient location

  • 4 of 5

I had very little need to interact with Leslie regarding this rental, which is a testament to how well organized the property is. The home is very well located near the lake and Douglas public beach. The two bedrooms are relatively small but perfectly fine; the fact that there are two separate bathrooms more than makes up for the small size of the bedrooms. The home is nicely furnished and well equipped with modern appliances that are in nice condition. So, overall, our stay was very positive. We do have a few other minor observations that are intended to help Leslie make the home even nicer or to reflect our personal preferences and things that related to the area rather than the house:

1. The back porch furniture had not been vacuumed upon our arrival.

2. The TV had only the most basic commercial stations available; given the cost of the rental, I think full(er) cable access is appropriate

3. In this area of Douglas, beach access is almost all private only. The Douglas public beach is very close by (5 minute walk) but is small and not in particularly good condition. There are signs indicating where the the public beach ends and the private beach begins, so public beach goers are crammed in to a small area.

4. The washing machine was a little dirty; had to remove some mold

5. There are only a very limited number of good restaurants in the Saugatuck / Douglas area, especially for vegetarians. The Saugatuck Brewery should be avoided at all costs; White Dog very good for pizza.

6. This is a great location for biking as there are many perfect country roads practically outside the front door.

Again, overall this is a very nice home and it was a real pleasure to stay in it. Our issues above are primarily with the area. But Leslie's home is really very nice.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your detailed review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the Daisy. Although it is not mold in the washing machine, sometimes there is some gooey stuff left on the seal of the door if it has been left closed between washings. The porch furniture and rug should be vacuumed between rentals. I will review these issues with the cleaning staff. We offer very many cable stations although, it's true, we do not offer the premium stations. We will look at this issue for the future. Again, thank you for your review and I hope you will return for an even better experience on your next visit to Douglas/Saugatuck. Leslie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Douglas Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Off Season 2017
Apr 28 2017 - Jun 17 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$295
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,695
$3,150
 
 
Summer 2017
Jun 18 2017 - Sep 2 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$2,250
 
 
Off Season
Sep 3 2017 - Nov 18 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,695
$3,150
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$450
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $125 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 6.0%

One week minimums apply for some Holidays, please inquire. Check out time is 11:00 am unless previous arrangements have been made.
There will be a $20 fee if the grill has not been cleaned. Absolutely no fireworks or burning outside.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers