check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

AlohaAKU Honu Suite - Beachfront 1 Bedroom/Bath - LR - Full Kitchen - Priv Lanai

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
estate
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

Description

Kihei Estate Rental Photos and Description

Tranquil Beach Front Luxury With Gated Entrance, 5 Private Suites & Fruit Grove

Blessed by kaunas, 'aloha aku' means the place that ‘gives love and kindness’. Formally known as Aikane Hale.

AlohaAKU Inn & Suites is a tucked away, one-of-a-kind vacation gem. Our luxury oceanside estate has 4 beachfront one-bedroom suites and a garden view two-bedroom ohana. Each suite has a private entrance, seperate living room, full kitchen and is like having your own condo at the beach in Maui. This special place is hidden behind a private, double gated entrance, lined with 700 ft of lighted coconut palms that lure you into the feeling of leaving the world behind. But is still centrally placed in Kihei nearly all of the amenities you might desire.

Guests have described AlohaAKU as ‘the most tranquil and ultimate place for relaxation’! You can’t help but feel the peacefulness of Maui's beauty wash over you here. The beach in front of AlohaAKU is only lightly traveled. Sometimes it's like having your own private beach. Hidden beside the tallest mangrove forest in the state, you will be pleasantly greeted with an extravaganza of natural hawaiian beauty.

AlohaAKU lulls you into a wondrous state of being, yet is located in the ultimate location for access to the many conveniences in mid-kihei. And it’s well placed to be your base of operations to explore the rest of the maui island.

Just twenty minutes from the airport, we are within easy walking distance of nearby groceries, shopping, restaurants, bar-pubs, car rental, dive shops, and much, much more. When guests return to the property they say it ‘feels like home’. Some never leave the property during their visit, happy to just lounge around and suntan from their private lanai or on the beach out front!

Your hosts, Charlene (maui-girl) and Gary (g-kane), have upgraded all the suites to include air conditioning, ceiling fans, free high speed wi-fi, free designated on property parking, key codes for everything (no keys or key cards to worry about), flat screen hdtvs with DirecTv in the living room and in the separate bedrooms. Warm up a snack or make yourself a full meal in your suite's nicely outfitted full kitchen. In addition there is a gas barbeque on site nestled between some acacia palm trees overlooking the protected wetland pond.

We can’t wait to host you and see your happy faces. We hope that you will find that AlohaAKU has the intimacy, amenities, and ohana to be your favorite luxury getaway. Maui is considered one of top vacation destinations in the world and after staying at AlohaAKU we are confident that you will have your own special reasons why!

Charlene & Gary

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed

Property Manager
Charlene and Gary
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 6, 2016
Call Manager

About Charlene and Gary

Aloha from Charlene and Gary.

A little about us.

Char was raised on Maui just a few miles up the beach from Aloha AKU and went to grade school and to St. Anthony’s High School on Maui. Her family also lives here on the island so she and they have seen a lot of changes on Maui over the years. After high school Char left for College at Santa Clara University and majored in TV Production and French. After College she moved the LA and began a carrier in the Entertainment Industry doing everything from modeling to acting and from Producing, Directing and Writing to finally running Production and Entertainment companies.

Ok, so she played Hollywood. Gary has also had a good life having lived in many parts of the country having followed a very successful career in High Tech. He has been a key contributor to Ethernet, Computer analyzed EKG systems, founded a start up Telecommunications product company in Silicon Valley, and ran a $70M per year high tech company in LA. He has always seen himself living on an island and meeting Char 20 years ago was just the ticket to get him to Maui.

So a few years ago this LA couple decided that the time had come to leave the Merry-go-round of their respective businesses and buy a place on Maui and “come home”. So here they are, living the “maui life” as active members of the local community and on many non-profit boards and are supporting many worthy causes. And they decided to create Aloha AKU Inn & Suites and offer a fun, laid back Maui beach experience to fun, laid back and interesting people.

Please join us and enjoy MAUI !

Char and Gary

Charlene and Gary purchased this estate in 2010

Why Charlene and Gary chose Maui

We were coming home and we just found this magical location and opportunity. We are happy to be able to get it and to be able to open it up to others.

What makes this estate unique

Great views, great beach, great location, and oh yes, just great.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

AlohaAKU Honu Suite - Beachfront 1 Bedroom/Bath - LR - Full Kitchen - Priv Lanai
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
Seattle, WA
5

Easy and Has Everything for an Enjoyable Stay

  • 5 of 5

I can't say enough how lovely and EASY it was to stay at Aloha Aku. From stocking each fridge w/drinks, fruit, and homemade baked goods, to having on hand EVERYTHING (bicycles, surf/paddle boards, boogie boards, snorkel equipment, beach chairs & umbrellas, tennis rackets, movies, books, games...) you could want for a fun trip, this rental is spot on. The apartment itself was immaculate and well-stocked. The towels and linens were great, the bed was comfy, the Keurig was appreciated... I could go on and on. If you are like me and spend HOURS angsting over which vacation rental will be "just right", I can tell you that if you think this one looks good--go with your gut. It is better than it even looks in pictures and sounds in the description! Protip: The Maitais at Nalu's (just up the street in the shopping center) with their macadamia nut/rum foam are the bomb! :-)

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was so easy having you here! So happy you noticed all the goodies and details. Mahalo for such a wonderful review. Hope to host you again soon! Mahalo, C&G
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great hidden spot in Kihei

  • 5 of 5

This was my first time staying here and it won't be the last. Unit was spacious and super clean, bed was comfortable and the kitchen was very well stocked. Air conditioning (a rarity in Maui rentals other than big condo complexes) was appreciated for a comfortable night's sleep. The location at the end of a long private driveway, right on a public but usually empty beach, can't be beat. The loudest noise (other than the occasional boisterous kids in the pool) was from the birds residing in the protected wetlands next door.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Looking forward to having you back. We took a chance on having tweens for a change - oh the 'happy' pool noises. Mahalo for understanding :). Hope to see you soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Richmond, CA, USA
5

The perfect anniversary

  • 5 of 5

I love the sun and beach and water; my husband loves the comforts of home and privacy and being close enough to the beach to enjoy the sights and sounds of the ocean. This place has it all and more. We stayed in one of the inside units so our door accessed the common area which made it so convenient. We could step off our patio and step into the pool and hot tub. Charlene and Gary have thought of everything. If you want to surf, wave board, snorkel, kayak, bicycle, sit on the beach...it's all there at your fingertips along with books and games and movies and music and everyone makes you feel right at home. This was our 5th trip to Maui and I can't imagine that we will stay anywhere else. With the location being in the middle of Kihei, you are close to shopping, eating, post office and shops. We visited the Lavender Farm just 45 minutes away which was wonderful and Lahaina is only about 30 minutes and the airport is about 15 minutes away so it's the perfect location. And for our anniversary we drove to Kapalua and had dinner at the Plantation House which also exceeded our expectations. The common area has a refrigerator stocked daily with yogurt, milk, fresh baked goods and fresh fruit, a dishwasher and a variety of coffees and creamers and many items to share between the guess. There is also a washer and dryer on the property. We cooked and BBQ'd and enjoyed every meal out on the patio watching sunrises and sunsets and ducks and frogs and shared lots of smiles and made lots of memories. The whale watching here is great too and we saw a Sea Turtle on the beach just napping for a bit before he decided to go back in the water. This is a piece of paradise in itself. You can't go wrong with the accommodations and we would recommend these slice of Maui heaven to anyone who is looking for a private, peaceful place to truly feel like you were on a vacation. We are already planning to go back again next year. We didn't even need to request anything from the owners because they have thought of every detail along with their staff that seems more like neighbors, always friendly and willing to help.

Thank you Charlene and Gary.

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You guys are the best! Mahalo for the stunning review. We can't wait to host you again. Mahalo, Char & Gary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect family holiday

  • 5 of 5

Charlene and Gary's apartment hugely exceeded our expectations and was perfect for our holiday with two teenagers. The photos didn't really prepare us for the situation accessed through a discreet gate, hidden away on an almost private beach in the middle of Kihei. The standard of accommodation was excellent and clean with full kitchen and the back-up of a communal kitchen and living area with storecupboard staples and endless coffee and doughnuts plus fresh fruit from the garden. Great modern TV with wifi etc. The children (15 &17) slept in the living room and had to go through the bedroom to reach the bathroom but we had expected this and it was not a problem.

Charlene and Gary were delightful hosts with the right amount of contact to check we were ok. We could not have done better. We used the paddleboards and canoes and bikes most days and it was incredibly convenient to just pick up a board at 7 am and head to the beach in 30 secs. So much better than a hotel. I could also windsurf straight off the beach on a couple of days but had to avoid turtles! Most evenings we sat in the spa with a drink to watch the sun set and knew we were in the best place in Maui!

The situation is perfect, only a block from a store and two or three blocks from a mall but felt like our own private island.

Big mahalo from us to Charlene and Gary.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We had no idea you were having to negotiate past all the turtles! We so enjoyed having you and the kids. You have a lovely family and as we said please come and visit us again - Mahalo for saying we're the 'Best place in Maui!'
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect place for a wedding

  • 5 of 5

I don't even know where to begin! This is the PERFECT place for a small wedding! My family and I rented out the whole place for several days. The rooms are so comfortable that everyone RAVED about the mattresses and overall accommodations (and I have some picky family members!). The view is among the best I saw on the island and, if you can believe it, even better than the photos. The entire place is just beautiful! Char and Gary are so sweet without being too involved. They have included so many extras I could not name them if I tried. It's obvious they have done lots of traveling and have thought of all the things they had wished they had on their travels and have provided them for us. In short, if you are looking for paradise, this is it. If you are waiting for a catch (I was), there is none I found. Also, a note about Kihei, it is wonderful. I so preferred to the more touristy areas and won't stay anywhere else. Can't wait to come by. Thanks Char and Gary for all you did for my wedding and for having opening up your gorgeous property at such an affordable rate!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We so loved having you and Mahalo for such a nice review. We can't wait to host you again. Char & Gary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect place for a wedding!

  • 5 of 5

I don't even know where to begin! This is the PERFECT place for a small wedding! My family and I rented out the whole place for several days. The rooms are so comfortable that everyone RAVED about the mattresses and overall accommodations (and I have some picky family members!). The view is among the best I saw on the island and, if you can believe it, even better than the photos. The entire place is just beautiful! Char and Gary are so sweet without being too involved. They have included so many extras I could not name them if I tried. It's obvious they have done lots of traveling and have thought of all the things they had wished they had on their travels and have provided them for us. In short, if you are looking for paradise, this is it. If you are waiting for a catch (I was), there is none I found. Also, a note about Kihei, it is wonderful. I so preferred to the more touristy areas and won't stay anywhere else. Can't wait to come by. Thanks Char and Gary for all you did for my wedding and for having opening up your gorgeous property at such an affordable rate!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
16 Miles
Kahalui
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Diamonds Bar & Grill
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Pi'ilani
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Many!
Nearest Beach
Out front!

Centrally located in Kihei and within easy walking distance to most every amenity that you can think of BUT tucked away on a private estate that gives you the serenity to enjoy the 'non' hotel personal experience of Maui.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kihei Estate Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Holiday
Nov 17 2016 - Dec 14 2016
3 night minimum stay
$299
From
$325
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas/NY
Dec 15 2016 - Jan 11 2017
7 night minimum stay
$399
From
$425
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
High
Jan 12 2017 - Feb 8 2017
3 night minimum stay
$285
From
$299
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Val17
Feb 9 2017 - Feb 22 2017
3 night minimum stay
$299
From
$325
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
High17B
Feb 23 2017 - Apr 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$285
From
$299
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Mid17
Apr 27 2017 - Jun 14 2017
3 night minimum stay
$229
From
$249
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Low17
Jun 15 2017 - Jun 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$195
From
$225
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
IndpHoliday17
Jun 29 2017 - Jul 12 2017
3 night minimum stay
$299
From
$325
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Low17B
Jul 13 2017 - Oct 11 2017
3 night minimum stay
$195
From
$225
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$195
From
$215
Fri,Sat
$1,300
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Ckeckout Cleaning (1x) $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.46%

Continental breakfast in your room is optional and may be deleted. Contact owner for details.

Please see
http://www.alohaaku.spinsunlimited.com/booking-terms-conditions/
for detailed payment terms and conditions.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kihei Estate Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • estate
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 680 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Resort
  • Village
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Seperate sink and toilet/shower area
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , King w/ 400 count sheets
    Bedroom 2 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Futon Couch in Living Room
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Just ask. We are here to help make your experience the most that it can be.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties