Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Folly Beach Oceanfront Cottage 4 Bdrm Sleeps 12

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bdrm/2 bath Sleeps 12 Directly on beach

Gorgeous Ocean Front Home featuring an open floor plan, and beautiful rustic atmosphere. There are 4 Bedrooms and 2 Baths. The ocean side of the house has a large deck with plenty of shade from the sun, and offers direct access to the beach. There is no walking to the beach with this house, for you walk right off of the deck onto the sand. Plenty of parking.The children in your party will enjoy the large yard and all will enjoy the outside shower. For inside entertainment there is Cable TV and WiFi. For your convenience the house has a washer and dryer and the kitchen is fully stocked. If you like rustic charm, you will love this house.

The house is having many upgrades taking place. By March 1st the hardwood floors will be refurbished, most of the mattress are brand new, the bathrooms will be refurbished, and a new kitchen will be installed.

As of 4/27/15 all rentals have linens and cleaning included in rental rate.

Keywords: House Oceanfront Beachfront Sleeps 10 Folly Beach

More Details

Property Manager
Linda Scheer
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 12, 2017

Amenities

Folly Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • There are two full baths on the first floor. The master bedroom has access to one, however both have access from the main living area.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , This room is street side and has a TV.
    Bedroom 4 - 2 double , 2 twin/ single , 2nd foor is bright and has wonderful views of the ocean.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Oceanside
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Oceanside, has access to bathroom, and has a TV
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

45% Complete
43% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Folly Beach Oceanfront Cottage 4 Bdrm Sleeps 12
average rating of 4.2972975 based on 37 reviews
4

Great house!

  • 4 of 5

We stayed in this house over Thanksgiving and really enjoyed it. We had 9 Adults and 2 small kids, and we never felt over crowded. The beach access is fantastic, since it is literally right out of the door. The kitchen worked fine for our cooking needs. We also enjoyed the location.

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Walk right out the backdoor and hit the sand

  • 4 of 5

Nothing too fancy but just what we needed for a bachelor party weekend in Folly. House was in good shape but this place is really all about the huge beachside patio and beach access. Very good value.

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Location and beautiful beach!

  • 4 of 5

Location was perfect! The house was the perfect size! View amazing! Right on the ocean! Will definitely be returning to Folly and wouldn't mind staying at this property again!! The only negative thing was the wear and tear to the back deck, however it's looks like the owners are in process of updating that! The owner was readily available with questions we had!

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house!! Everything was as advertised. Linda was great at responding to all inquiries and very

  • 5 of 5

Great house!! Everything was as advertised. Linda was great at responding to all inquiries and very accommodating!!

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Fabulous for surf/beach. I would give 3.5 stars if possible. Just needs some TLC.

  • 4 of 5

1017 E Arctic is a work in progress. Many improvements are visible, and the photos should be updated. There are wonderful advantages to this house. Like most things, there are pros and cons.

Pros:

-Affordable

-Great location relative to "downtown" Folly Beach

-Clean, sandy beach literally steps off the deck

-Great waves for surfing!

-Quiet, not crowded beach location

-AC works great

-Great big dining table

-High capacity washer and dryer

-TVs in every bedroom

Cons/suggestions:

-We rented at the end of the season, and consequently the interior needs a very deep clean.

-While I'd rather have traps than rodents or insects, the many traps were disconcerting.

-Fridge size is limited especially by the need to buy bagged ice. A larger, double fridge with an ice machine would be a huge improvement.

-We may be unique, but our family loves to cook together. The kitchen is minimally equipped (no pie plate, no rolling pin, no blender), so we donated several items to the house. Definitely needed more kitchen linens. Two tea towels meant we had to launder every day.

-Plenty of bath towels but we had to wash them immediately b/c they smelled like raw shrimp.

-Small charcoal grill is functional but limited, especially if you're cooking for a family.

-Parts of the beach-side porch railing and deck are extremely weathered. We pounded in multiple nails--a hazard for barefoot beachgoers and children.

Bottom line--this property is value priced and you get what you pay for. We will talk it over as a family but we will probably rent here again simply because of the location and the quality of the beach. In the meantime, we will hope for a little TLC.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate all of the pros and cons. I just spend the day out at the house replacing the living room furniture and some area rugs, and really got a feel for what needs needs to be replaced and or added. It looks like we do have the mice issue resolved, but since the house is open this week we are going to be proactive to ensure that is the case, and to spend time upgrading the furnishings. We replaced half of the desk this past winter, and hope to continue the improvements this winter. We look foward to booking your stay again next year. Linda
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

left a lot to be desired

  • 1 of 5

We were very disappointed in this rental house. Besides the fact that it was only adequate, it is rat and roach infested. We discovered to our dismay the day after we arrived, that "creatures" had eaten some bread that was in an unopened plastic wrapper and multiple droppings on the kitchen counter from what I assumed were mice. Only to discover after calling the rental manager, did we find out that we were dealing with rats! At this point with several out-of-town family members, we were not able to find other lodging, so we relied on our rental mgr to address this problem. She showed up with traps for us to place on the counters etc. Next day none of the traps were sprung but there was plenty of "evidence" that we still had a problem. This is 2.5 days into our vacation. A handy man in her employ arrived to patch up any holes that he could find under the house that may have been allowing egress. He also placed traps under and around the foundation of the house and thankfully these measures worked. But on our last morning, I came out to find more droppings on the kitchen counter. I am completely disgusted. In hindsight, we should have asked for a full refund and left on Monday morning.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was very unfortunate. We did learn about the house having a mouse from the prior guest, and tackled it head on. Where we thought we had it under control we did not. I contacted this guest prior to arrival to disclose the issue, and I asked the guest if they were ok with setting traps at night, or I could have the exterminator come out daily to do so. We set numerous traps outside and was able to locate what we believe was the place of entry. By far the house was not infested but it did have a mouse inside, and several rats outside. We believe it is under control and have been in communication with the current guests on a regular basis, who have reported that they see no signs of an active mouse. Unfortunately these things can happen to any house. We continue to monitor traps outside, and will continue to watch inside to ensure we have it under control. If ever a guest is unhappy, or feel the house is not fit to be lived in I encourage them to let me know so that we can refund them and to help find them a new location to stay. With that said this is a very clean house, and we strive to ensure all of our guests leave with nothing but good memories of the beach.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Insurance $59

All rates include linens and cleaning fees.
All reservations have a 3% reservation fee added which is included in the tax. (13.5% Tax and 3% reservation fee)
Mandatory Evacuation: Please read our policy on Mandatory Evacuations. We suggest all guests to purchase Travel Insurance.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.