Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lakeside, hot tub, fireplace, pets, wifi, less than15 Min to Sunday River ,

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Lakeside, firepit, kayaks, canoes, paddle board, pool table, hot tub,

Dock

Songo Pond Lakeside Property, This lovely, private, lakeside property is located in Albany/Bethel, Maine, about 4 miles from the town of Bethel. We are about 12 -

15 minutes from Sunday River or Mt. Abram Ski Areas depending on condition of the roads. The water is very clear and in summer we provide kayaks, canoes and a paddle board. This is a wonderful place for swimming, kayaking, canoeing, fishing, hiking, jet skiing, hunting, 3 wheeling, and boating in your own boat. In the winter enjoy snowshoeing, skiing, ice fishing, snowmobiling, or walking on the pond with your furry friends.

Enjoy the spacious kitchen with 2 sinks, a bar with 3 stools and all amenities. The house has 2 bathrooms, and 3 bedrooms and sleeps up to 10 people. See price list on web site for detailed pricing. Main floor has 2 bedrooms, one bedroom with 2 queen beds, the other bedroom has a queen bed and 1 bunk bed of twin beds. There is a full bath on this floor. On the second floor there is a loft with a king size bed and full size bathroom as well as a washer and dryer. There are also 3 futons in the living area for sleeping. We provide all linens including pillows and blankets.

The living area and dining area all in one large room. There are 3 futons by the gas fireplace and a large flat screen TV and a large overstuffed chair. There are many windows with amazing views of the pond. Extra per person for larger groups. See details below.

Atv, snowmachines rentals in nearby towns.

All pets are welcomed.

We do have a ceiling fan in living area, plus there is a ceiling fan in upstairs loft over the king bed.

There is also a screen door on both exterior doors.

There are lots of windows to open up in the house to catch a breeze.

Lots of hiking trails in the area plus you are only 15 minutes away from several hiking trails in New Hampshire.

All dogs are welcomed here, please keep them off the furniture especially the beds.

We have also just recently purchased a pool table and a ping pong table which has been set up and ready to use. The pool and ping pond table are not available from Oct 31st - April 30th.

We also have quite a bit of fire wood for the fire pit.

Motor boats are allowed on this lake, very famous for water skiing. There is plenty of room to park a truck and trailer in driveway besides other vehicles.

You can launch your boat at the end of the pond, and tie it to our docks in front of the house. Motorboats are allowed on the pond. Pond is at least a mile long.

Hot Tub, Wifi, Fireplace, Large screen TV, near the water.

For any more questions you may call anytime. 207-890-5357

More Details

Property Manager
Jacqui T. Morin
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 19, 2017

About Jacqui T. Morin

Hi, My name is Jacqui Morin and I have lived in this area all of my life. I have been a Rental Agent for 15 years. I do a lot of renting to skiers for Sunday River Ski Area slope side and also for summer fun. We have several ski in and ski out condos for rent at North Peak at Sunday River Ski Area. Our properties are clean and comfortable. We do our best to make sure all our guests are comfortable and having fun.

Jacqui T. Morin purchased this house in 2013

Why Jacqui T. Morin chose South Oxford

This property is lakeside, 12 feet from the water, mostly private and tucked away nicely on the back side of Songo Pond. It has 200 feet of waterfront, great water and mountain views. Great place to swim, kayak, canoe, fish, water ski, boating, jet skis are allowed. Plus it is less than minutes to Sunday River Ski Area and also less than 15 minutes to Mt Abram Ski Area. Hot Tub, WiFi, comforters, pillows, blankets, sheets, towels for the bath are provided. A comfortable place to stay, Enjoy our good sized kitchen to cook yourself a feast.

We have 10 kayaks, a paddle board and 2 canoes, and a floating raft, fir pit, Pet friendly, WIFi, gas fireplace.

We have 2 docks out by the house We also have a large floating dock. We have 10 kayaks, a paddle board and a 2 canoes to use for the whole week at this rental at no extra cost to you.

It is so relaxing here, the atmosphere of the area and the pond, the privacy, meeting with family and friends, it will be a vacation to remember, and come back to again and again. We have also purchased a pool table and a ping pong table. We bought this property because of it being so close to the water. The views of the lake and mountain are beautiful and relaxing. Sunsets are gorgeous. Fall season the foliage is especially pretty around the pond. We are also very close to two ski areas which makes it convenient for those of you who like to ski but like their privacy in the evenings.Quite private and relaxing. Large screen TV to watch your favorite shows.

What makes this house unique

It is a private home, and located on the water, very relaxing, and only 4 minutes to Bethel, Maine. Less than 15 minutes to Sunday River Ski Area. The house is situated very close to the water and it almost feels like you are on a peninsula, because almost every window you look out of you can see water. Semi private.

Only 4 miles from the Bethel Inn Golf Course.

Great swimming, kayaking, canoeing, fishing, ice fishing, skating, and snow shoeing, water skiing, jet skis are allowed here, or you can bring your own motor boat. Snowmobile trail is accessible from this property. The views are spectacular, the water calming, and the breeze wonderful and all the smells of summer. We bought this house because of the many windows it has to provide light and views from all rooms of the house. The loft and bathroom upstairs have spectacular views of the water and mountains also. We have a large fire pit by the water, outdoor dining. 2 picnic tables, 1 large one by the water. We also installed a large floating raft. Unbelievably relaxing. You won't want to leave. The water is very clear so great for swimming, playing, fishing, sunbathing, etc.

We have a new generator installed so if you lose power you will only lose it for a minute and then the generator will come on and it powers the whole house.

Small charcoal grill available.

Amenities

South Oxford House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Max. adults: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Please turn down heat to 50 degrees. Close and lock all windows and doors.
  • Remove all garbage from house and leave in shed in garbage cans. You do need to pick up behind your dogs and deposit in garbage bags in garbage cans.
  • Wash all dishes and put away, start dishwasher, leave all dirty towels in bathtub upstairs by washer.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Large sink and cabinet, & mirror.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower , large sink and mirror, upstairs by bedroom washer and dryer
  • Upstairs bathroom has a shower and separate bathtub. Large cabinet in front of mirror with drawers, hair dryer, iron, washer and dryer, and toilet. Main floor bathroom has a combination shower/ tub, toilet, large cabinet with drawers and large mirror. Shelf with all bath towels. We provide bath towels, hand towels, washcloths, and kitchen towels.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single , Plus there are 3 futons in the living area with all linens.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Our home is very clean and is situated on the back side of songo pond, very private. The house sits very close to the water and with all the windows you can see the pond from most any place in the house. It is private, very quiet and relaxing here. If you are looking for a place to unwind and get away from your busy life this is it. Water is very clear, sandy and rock bottom, great for swimming, fishing, kayaking, or just relaxing. New fire pit located right by the water, great place to just hang out in the evening. large picnic table near the water that will seat at least 10 guests. another smaller one that will seat at least 4 with beautiful view of the pond. Outdoor hot tub, and pool table and ping pong tables have been set up. fire pit is located at the waters edge with a breathtaking view of the pond. wifi, We have installed a full house generator that will run the whole house and hot tub in a power failure.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
9% Complete
Lakeside, hot tub, fireplace, pets, wifi, less than15 Min to Sunday River ,
average rating of 4.3809524 based on 21 reviews
1

GREATLY DISAPPOINTED

  • 1 of 5

Not going to go into much detail but the attitude from the owner did not contribute to a positive stay as well as accusations of a broken paddle. Definitely unsatisfied with my stay, the owner stated there were a lot of things broken or not fully functioning because of a previous group and took money out of our security deposit for something we did not break. I do not plan on ever renting there in the future.

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nikeala, The only reason you were charged for the broken paddle is because someone in your group found this and took it out and left it in front of the kayaks so yes I assumed someone in your group had broken it. You would of assumed the same thing had you been the owner. And as soon as I found out someone had seen that broken paddle in the shed hidden, I immediately called you, apologized and explained this to you and told you that you would not be charged for the paddle. I don't know how you consider this rude, I could of just not told you and charged you for it but that's not the kind of person I am. I know you were upset that I thought someone in your group had broken it but it's not an excuse to say that I was rude when I never am with my guests. I always go out of my way for my guests and try to make their stay as pleasant as I can. The only time I get a bad review is when there is damage to my property and guests say things about me that are not true to get back at me for charging them for damages. That's not a reason to write a bad review oh an owner.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location and amenities! Owner unprofessional

  • 4 of 5

Pros: House is private, nice view of lake, plenty of water toys such as kayaks, canoes, etc, hot tub nice, fully equipped kitchen and a wonderful large picnic table.

Cons: game room and trash stored in the same area, not a good recipe in the summer, if you like to have a fire not a good area for it is over grown and small, the trail down to the fire pit area had a cable running across which was a tripping hazard, owner called after we left and stated the trash was a mess after we called her for a trash pick up midweek she was very unprofessional on the phone. I had 2 other families interested in renting this property but after dealing with her apon are return home I would not recommend it since we even took trash into town during the week. Also the property is over grown with weeds and the web site needs to be updated since the table with a light up umbrella isn't on the property.

It was a nice vacation but I am a little salty after the rude phone call from the owner. My suggestion have a trash pick up mid week there was 10 people in the rental eating every meal at the property plus recycling.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: These guests checked in on July 22nd and 5 days later called me about picking up the trash and I asked them if all the cans were full and they said no, only one can was full out of 6 trash cans available for their use. They only had 2 more days left before their departure at this time. Two garbage cans were still empty on the day of their departure. They also mentioned that they took garbage in nearby town which is a total lie as you need to have a sticker to get into any transfer station. The only reason they wrote this bad review is because I asked them about the whoopie pies that had been thrown into the garbage cans on top of the garbage and melted all over the garbage bags. It made quite a mess to clean up. And I stated to her I was not going to charge her anything out of the security deposit, I just wanted to know why they left such a mess. She just got very confrontational and started hollering at me instead of just giving me an answer. I know most home owners don't like to deal with people like this who can't discuss anything with out getting mad. I would advise home owners to think twice about renting to this group. They also had 5 more guests in their group than what they had stated in the contract. And the place was left really dirty.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Private and relaxing!

  • 5 of 5

My wife, dog and I recently returned from a short trip where we stayed at this location on Songo Pond. The locations is extremely private and makes you feel like you have a spot all to yourselves. The owner was extremely responsive and the property is vey well maintained. We spent some time kayaking and the hot tub was fantastic after the work out. Overall, fantastic rental!

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Gregory and Tracey, It was a pleasure meeting you guys, so glad you enjoyed your stay and that the weather was nice for you. Thanks for leaving the place so decent. Looking forward to seeing you again. Jacqui
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Very private, comfortable place. Friends already asking for address:)

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Somerville
5

Beautiful home

  • 5 of 5

Myself and 9 friends stayed in the Sogo Pond House over the weekend for a skiing trip to Sunday River. The house was beautiful and cosy. The hot tub was lovely - really nice to get into after a cold day of skiing. The directions Jacqui provided to the house were helpful. And the location of the house beautiful. One of my friends brought her dog and Jacqui was very understanding about letting us have the dog in the house. Overall a great weekend - couldn't have asked for anything more.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful well appointed home on a peaceful lake

  • 5 of 5

My mom's group is so happy that we chose this rental for our fall trip this year. We have rented other places before and this was by far the nicest, most well appointed home we have rented.

The owner Jacqui is very kind, and very attentive to any needs you have. She responds quickly to any inquiries and when we called her with questions during our stay she was very helpful.

The house is beautiful and so well laid out. There was plenty of space and everything was so clean and well maintained. Everything in the house is very nice quality (bedding, towels, furniture etc.) It is very clear that a lot of thought, effort and care was put into this house. There are so many nice little touches like the welcome basket, candles near the bath tub and fun things to do.

One of the big highlights for us was the beautiful outdoor hot tub. It was easy to maintain as the owner asked and a perfect luxurious getaway!

We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2015
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, It's nice to know that some guests do notice the little things we do to try to make our home a memorable experience for all of our guests. It was such a pleasure meeting you guys and I look forward to seeing you all again next year. I know you guys really enjoyed the kayaks and we plan on having at least 2 more for next summer for a total of 6 or more kayaks plus the 2 canoes we have. I'm glad you enjoyed the hot tub, and thanks so much for taking care of it while you were here. It is very easy to maintain the chlorine level in the tub and glad you had no trouble with it.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Bethel, Maine
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Bethel, Maine
Nearest Ferry
75 Miles
Portland, Maine
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Bethel Inn, Bethel Maine/ 4 miles.
Nearest Motorway
25 Miles
.4 miles
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
In Bethel
Nearest Ski
11 Miles
Sunday River Ski Area & Mt Abram Ski Area.
Nearest Beach
65 Miles
Old Orchard Beach
Car: not necessary

This property is located on the backside of songo pond off from the baker road. It sits only 12 feet from the water and makes it so relaxing and the views are spectacular. Only 4 miles to the town of Bethel, Maine. Great place for swimming, kayaking, canoeing, fishing, jet skiing, water skiing, boating or just relaxing. Included in this rental are 10 kayaks, 2 canoes, 1 paddle board and a floating raft. Lots of hiking trails and less than 15 minutes to Sunday River Ski area or Mt. Abram.

A great place for relaxing, private, one acre of land to explore, 200 feet of waterfront. We do have a nice large fire pit with chairs.

Just a great place to have fun, visit with family and friends, and relax. Large parking area so you can bring a trailer to unload boats or snow machines.

Pets are welcomed.

Book a week in April , May or June and save money. You can also book just 2 nights in April, May. June, July and August are by the week only and are mostly booked by end of February, so if there is a week you really want book it early to make sure you get the dates you want.

Our fall season is one of the most beautiful times of the year in this area. The foliage alone is worth coming for. The area around the pond is especially pretty with all the fall colors mirrored in the pond. Pictures are breathtaking. Also cooler weather, great for hiking, kayaking, just sitting back and relaxing, less bugs, less humidity and less rain.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $250 + Tax
Pet Fee $75 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $600
Tax Rate 9.0%

You can call and ask about bringing extra guests.

You have to bring your own towels for swimming. All towels in the house stay in the house

You need to bring your own paper products such as toilet paper, paper towels, plates, cups, laundry detergent etc.
We provide dish soap, dishwasher soap, hand soap for bathrooms and kitchen. There will be some garbage bags but if you think your group will use a lot of garbage bags you should bring extra.

You do have to pick up after your pets.

We have also installed a full house generator, which runs the whole house.You will never be without power.

Small charcoal grill available.

Pool table and table tennis are available only from April 30th - October 30th

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties