Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

1902 Downtown House 5 Bdrms 2Kitchens Slps12 TVRoom Pvt.HotTub +Outdoor Kitchen

Bedrooms 5
Space 2,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights


About the property

5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed, 2 Baths (Sleeps 10-12) 2 kitchens


**USAFA graduation BOOKED for 2017, 2018 **

We have another rental just 100 feet away that accommodates 14 people and if you want to book these 2 houses together, we will offer you a 10% discount on both. It can be seen at Great plan for larger groups!

The 1902 Downtown House is 115 years old and was built by an early Cripple Creek mining engineer. In 1926 it was converted into 2 living spaces. We have just renovated and turned this back into a single family residence. We have rented out the top half since 2007 (see reviews).

It will remind you of early Colorado Springs at the turn of the 20th century. The neighborhood boasts 100-year old trees, good walking areas and 3 parks. We are within walking distance to the middle of the city and 2 blocks to Memorial Hospital.

You will feel as if you are on grandmother's large front porch with wicker furniture for relaxing! Have lunch here or enjoy wine at the end of the day.

You will have the entire house (2800 sq. ft.) with 2 kitchens inside, 5 bedrooms, 2 dining rooms, a TV/Media room, an outside kitchen and a large private 6-person hot tub. There is a large covered patio (17'x20') with a built-in outdoor kitchen (grill, refrigerator, sink) and a private garden in the back yard for your use. Also, there is a secluded patio off the dining room downstairs.

We offer 5 bedrooms, 1 with a king bed, 3 with queen beds and one with a trundle bed (2 twin beds). In the upstairs living room is a leather queen sleeper sofa if needed.

Downstairs: 1 bedroom with Cal King bed

1 Bedroom with queen bed

Upstairs: 2 bedrooms with queen beds

1 bedroom with 2 twin beds (trundle underneath slides out

and pops up to the same level as the top bed

Additionally, you will have free Wi-Fi in all areas on the premises (most people can connect but not all), hardwood floors with Persian style carpets, 2 fully equipped kitchens, washer and dryer, formal dining rooms, a comfortable living room with work desk and telephone.

There is a small deck with patio table and chairs just out the back door on the upper story, 4 digital cable TVs, VCR, DVD, and lighted off-street parking for 3-4 cars (other cars can park on the street in front of the house).

Also available is a high chair, 2 pack n plays, an umbrella stroller, safety gate and booster seat. This is a great house for families with kids!

We have smoke and carbon monoxide detectors installed for your safety.

You will be downtown in Colorado Springs where you will find restaurants to fit any budget along with museums, bars, libraries, the Fine Art Center, the Pikes Peak Center, Colorado College, a lake, a swimming pool, ice skating, several parks, bike paths,shopping, the National Firefighters Memorial, the United States Olympic Center and art galleries. You will be within 1 hour of a private hot springs.

The house is 10 minutes away from the famous 5 Star Broadmoor Hotel, 12 minutes away from Manitou Springs, 8 minutes from Old Colorado City, 5 minutes from Colorado College, 12 minutes from Garden of the Gods, 15 minutes away from the Air Force Academy, One hour away from Cripple Creek, 1 hour away from Denver and 15 minutes from the Colorado Springs Airport. Stay with us for a few days, a week, a month or more. Please make yourself at home!

50% due at the time of reservations with the other half due 30 days before arrival. Other options available...please ask owner.


Cancellation Policy: 100% refund minus a $100.00 processing fee if cancellation is made 90 days or more prior to reservation date. 50% refund if cancellation is made 30-89 days prior to reservation date. No refund with cancellation 29 days or less prior to reservation date unless we are able to re-book the days. Please consider purchasing Travel Insurance as we are not able to make exceptions to this policy. We are not responsible for acts of nature unless access to the property is impossible. Days cannot be switched within the last 60 days prior to arrival without owner approval.

Keywords: Families, reunions, hot tub, king bed, women's trips, Olympic Training center, athletes.

More Details

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 5, 2017

About The Owner

We are Patrick and Jackie and the photo is from 2000 when we visited Turkey. We've traveled much and have lived in several other countries and we love providing a comfortable place to stay for fellow travelers. This vacation rental was first opened in June 2007.

The Owner purchased this house in 1998

Why The Owner chose Colorado Springs

We really enjoy living downtown in Colorado Springs...the old houses, large trees, great neighborhoods and the proximity to museums, restaurants, theater, symphony, parks, movies, etc. Walking the old neighborhoods is wonderful and the large front porch is one of the things that first attracted me to the house.

What makes this house unique

We hope you'll enjoy staying here with the covered patio with outdoor kitchen. In the spring and summer there are fresh herbs that are available for the guests who like to cook. The private hot tub holds 6 people...children love it after a long day of sightseeing. It helps them sleep. Our kitchens are well equipped and receive many compliments as does the comfort of our beds. The back garden is an oasis in the city and is filled with fruit trees, flowers and some vegetables. Each week in spring, summer and fall something new is blooming!


East Colorado Springs House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 16 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
  • 1 x King sized bed, 3 x Queen size Beds with pillow top mattresses + queen sofa sleeper, Twin or Single Beds (2) adult size trundle beds 1 with pillowtop mattress, Baby Cribs (1) 2 porta-cribs if needed, high chair, booster seat, safety gate, umbrella srtoller, Sleep Sofa (1) We have a Tempur-Pedic pad added for your comfort
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Private hot tub, portable crib, high chair, booster seat


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

1902 Downtown House 5 Bdrms 2Kitchens Slps12 TVRoom Pvt.HotTub +Outdoor Kitchen
average rating of 4.848485 based on 33 reviews

As good as advertised.

  • 4 of 5

The property was a very nice turn of the century home. House was well outfitted to meet all our needs. This house would be a five star if not for a few minor details.

The master bedroom's window A/C unit was not blowing cold air in the 90+ days. This only affected us because our baby slept in there during the day. Due to the angle of the driveway, our party sustained minor damage to two vehicles trying to avoid the busy street side parking. We had to run and exchange a propane tank while bbq'ing because the main & spare tanks were empty. Lastly, although Mr. Patrick (owner) is very friendly, it was a bit offsetting to have him there (using garage as wood shop) from time to time while using the outdoor kitchen.

Oh, and as a firefighter (with bachelors in Occupational Safety & Health) I must say the hindrance of paddle locked doors that left only one means of egress on main level, was a bit unnerving.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much Ron! I am so glad you like the house but am dismayed at some small problems you encountered. We have 2 very strong evaporative coolers for the house and the 3rd smaller one in a back bedroom meant as a fan to keep the nights cooled. When you told me that the room was being used during the day, I offered to have it hooked up to the water immediately for you. You declined our offer and now I wish we had insisted. The driveway angle is due to the recapping of the street. I discussed this with you before arrival and suggested that any cars that were low to the ground should park in front of the house. As you saw, most people on the street park in front of their houses and there is ample room. I am very sorry about you needing to refill the propane for the grill and we have talked to our cleaning team about it. I offered to pay for it but,, again, you declined our offer. You had agreed to Patrick's use of the back garage before your stay....we are in the process of moving his workshop to our new house so that won't be happening in the future. As to your egress statement, there are 2 separate exits on the 1st floor and 1 on the second floor out of the kitchen (plus coming down the stairs to the front door). On the 1st floor there is a main front door and the French doors leading outside from the dining room. We do try so hard to please everyone and I'm sorry that this wasn't perfect for you.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
New Castle

Awsome Vacation Rental!

  • 5 of 5

I highly recommend this property. The owner went overboard to insure our families great stay. My wife was celebrating her birthday and we had planned a large family reunion. Everything went well as the house accommodated everyone comfortably. The owner provided delicious fresh muffins for everyone and even provided fresh flowers for my wife.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great value with lots of extras

  • 4 of 5

This is a cute, historic rental and was priced well compared to many others we looked at. The hot tub and garden/patio areas were great, and the breakfast food Jackie left for us was more than enough (we had breakfast for several days actually). The garden is so charming, and it was relaxing to sit and read on the shaded front porch, also. There are some things that come along with an older home (creaky floors, old plaster on the bathroom ceiling looked like it could crumble anytime), but these were very minor things that are just part of being in an older home. The kitchen has a nice set of dishes, shower had a nice waterfall style showerhead, and as I mentioned, the breakfast was very generous. We would stay there again if we went back to Colorado Springs.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Cherie! Thank you for the nice review. We really do like a couple of creaky floors of an old house and I'm glad you did too. The texture on the bathroom ceiling has been a problem (NOT the ceiling but the texture) but it has never crumbled. We are replacing it with a tin ceiling in August when we have a day or 2 without guests. We hope you come back, you were great guests! Jackie
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Overland Park

Had a good stay

  • 5 of 5

Owners were very friendly and easily reachable at all times. Helped provide a high chair and 2 pack'n'plays which made traveling with children so much easier. Property was clean and comfortable. Good location in Colorado Springs and it was easy to get to any place in the area. Would recommend

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so very much, Voytek! I'm glad it worked out for you and your family. Jackie
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Wonderful Time in Colorado!

  • 5 of 5

I cannot say enough about how wonderful our stay was at this house. The owners did a wonderful job setting up this rental so that visitors would feel comfortable and at home. The food for my first morning’s breakfast was a bigger deal than I had figured it would be. I had just driven 800 miles, arrived and went to sleep. Waking up to a full breakfast and coffee was a nice treat. The house is comfortable and easily slept the 6 of us. The house was very clean and well situated to be close to downtown Co. Springs. The hot tub, garden and outdoor kitchen were all really great additions to the experience. We gathered as a family for my nephew’s graduation from college, the owners made us feel so welcomed from the time when arrived until the time we left they were always available if we needed. The property was exactly as described in fact even better and the owners well helpful and a delight to talk to. My family will never forget this wonderful experience, I would absolutely recommend this property to friends/relatives, and I would absolutely stay here again. Thank you very much Jackie and Patrick!

  • Submitted: May 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Julius! We are so happy this worked out for you and your gracious family.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

lovely and welcoming home

  • 5 of 5

My two children, my mother and I stayed here for a couple of nights for a short spring break getaway. The house is lovely! It was very nicely furnished, but also extremely comfortable! The owners were so welcoming and made us all feel that we could relax during our stay. (My son who has autism can get a bit noisy dancing to self-regulate, but the owners assured me that he was free to make himself at home. For this reason,I would recommend it to persons who have sensory differences, although it is on the upper floor, so it might not be the best option for people with mobility issues/physical disabilities) We all enjoyed using the hot tub under the moon and stars. And having food available to make our own breakfast was a nice extra touch.

My younger son said he wished he could live there! We'll definitely look forward top staying there again in the future!

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Colorado Springs
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
I-25 and Bijou Street exit
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Fifty Fifty Coffee Shop

Downtown Colorado Springs...Pikes Peak, Rocky Mountains

Other Activities: shopping, kayaking, boating, cross country skiing, snowboarding, snowmobiling, wildlife viewing, rock climbing, health/beauty spa, miniature golf


Rates & Availability

East Colorado Springs House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
winter 2016-2017
Nov 1 2016 - Apr 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
Summer 2017
May 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
Winter 217-2018
Nov 1 2017 - Apr 30 2018
3 night minimum stay
Summer 2018
May 1 2018 - Oct 31 2018
5 night minimum stay
Winter 2018-2019
Nov 1 2018 - Apr 30 2019
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $150
Tax Rate 10.25%

SEE DESCRIPTION FOR CANCELLATION POLICY/3 night minimum under most circumstances
There is not a tax paid if stay is 30 days or more

5 day minimum reservation for USAFA Graduation, Parents Weekend, Thanksgiving,Christmas NO discounts for these dates
50% due at time of reservation 50% due 30 days before arrival usually

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send Email Send Email

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties