Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Quiet apartment at San Telmo, surrounded by plants, beautifully decorated

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,150 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 nights


About the property

2 bedrooms, with air cond, 2 bathrooms in suite, sleeps 4 max 5 1150 sq ft

This is a very beautiful apt at San Telmo, the old part of the city. However, it is very close to Puerto Madero that´s the newest part of BA. As. so you can enjoy the contrast of both areas. ''The enclave of the moment is San Telmo, a young, hip urban scene with a thriving arts community and a strong ex-pat community... The neighborhood is dotted with fine restaurants, bars, boutiques and colonial houses.'' - NY Times

The apt is located at Pasaje Santamarina, a historic building very well maintained and full of plants. It is very quiet zone. At the main floor there is the living room, with an integrated kitchen, with a washing machine for clothes. There is one room, either with a double bed or with twins beds. The blue bathroom is in suite with this room. Upstairs you will find the yellow room with one big bed and it´s bath and wardrobe.

The maid service once a week is included.There is Wi Fi, Cable tv at the living, coffee machine, air conditioners in each room, heating and a phone. You can see my other property at Tigre, Homeaway # 3671958

More Details

Property Manager
Ana Olcese
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, french, spanish, italian
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 23, 2017

About Ana Olcese

I like to travel!! Know places, people, different customs or not, discover other flavors and pleasures. Enjoy a meal and a good wine with friends, with Ivo my husband and my beautiful children.


Palermo Viejo
"beautiful area, for lunch, shopping and just walking around"
La Boca
Buenos Aires Japanese Gardens
"A nice walk, specially in spring where you will find many beautiful flowers, beside some hug..."
Puente de la Mujer
Floralis Genérica
Cementerio de la Recoleta
Puerto Madero
Palermo Soho
"A very nice place for dinner! Many restaurants in there"
Plaza Dorrego
"Antiques market on Sunday, it is beautiful but crowded. But it worth."
Plaza Serrano
"Nice place to drink something and also to eat lunch, in an old house surrounded by a garden. "
Nearest Airport
35 Kilometres
Nearest Barpub
300 Metres
La Poesia
Nearest Ferry
4 Kilometres
Nearest Golf
5 Kilometres
Costanera Norte
Nearest Train
4 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
2 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
Parrilla del Plata
Nearest Beach
400 Kilometres
Car: not necessary

The apartment is situated in San Telmo, the antique neighborhood of the city. Here you can find many bars, restaurants and pubs. This area is known for its colonial houses and its bohemian environment. It is located close to Plaza Dorrego square, where every Sunday afternoon it takes place a famous antique market and visitors can enjoy tango shows performed by local dancers. Not only there is a great environment but it is also very close to the newest neighborhood of the city known as Puerto Madero a very modern and beautiful place to visit just a few blocks away.


Montserrat Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1150 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Town
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Safe
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , bidet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower , bidet
  • It is very beautiful
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • The white room - 2 twin/ single , or double
    The yellow room - 1 double
  • We can prepare the white room with 2 twin beds or with a double bed at your request. Bathroom in suite. The bedrooms are quite separate one for each other, so this is special for those who prefer more intimacy (if traveling with a couple of friends or family) The yellow room is located upstairs with its bathroom
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
Quiet apartment at San Telmo, surrounded by plants, beautifully decorated
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 12 reviews

An Amazing Property, a true gem!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this apartment for 2 weeks in the month of March. We both (Sandy and I) feel blessed and fortunate to have had the opportunity to call this home during our stay in Buenos Aires. Upon our very first arrival, Ana and Ivo treated us so well......they are true gracious hosts! They even had suggestions of restaurants and places to see in the neighborhood and throughout the city, and everything that they suggested were great finds.

We cannot say enough good things about the apartment itself, we felt "at home" the minute we first walked in the door. The apartment is gorgeous, very clean, quite large and beautifully decorated. The architecture and floor plan was very interesting and a beautiful blend of both old and new, and a little quirky in only the best of ways!

Even walking to and from the apartment within the building is a special treat. The combination of beautiful architecture and forest of plants was an uplifting experience each and every time. We also feel very lucky to have been able to stay in the oldest neighborhood of San Telmo, with it's romantic cobblestone streets and many restaurants and shops. We even hosted a dinner party one night in the apartment and some of our guests decided to move into the apartment the very day we departed.........THIS APARTMENT IS THAT SPECIAL!!!!!!!

(Thank you Ana and Ivo for the opportunity and opening your lovely home to us) Fondly, Michael

  • Submitted: May 5, 2015
  • Stayed: March 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Michael! Thanks very much for your review! We are happy you and Sandy enjoyed and you loved our San Telmo apartment. We truly appreciate your nice words, Regards, Ana & Ivo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Andover, MA, USA (near Boston)

A very pleasant apartment in Buenos Aires

  • 4 of 5

We spent four nights in this apartment in late January and we enjoyed it very much. It is very safe and secure, as noted by others. The location in San Telmo is great, with access to endless restaurants and cafes within a few minutes walk. The Sunday street fair (not to be missed!) is a five minute walk.

A negative review was posted in early January, shortly before we started our rental, and it made us hesitate. The review turns out to be peculiarly grumpy and at least partially inaccurate. The response from the owner was detailed and addressed each point appropriately. Additionally, I am pleased to see that another favorable review has been posted since then. A few points in the negative review are worth commenting on. First, I can't say for sure how clean the apartment was for that rental, but for ours it was as clean as one could possibly wish. Ana and Ivo were very helpful and it was nice to know that they were available for anything we might need (we didn't). I agree that the kitchen could be better stocked, and Ana seems aware of that. The negative reviewer wrote "It was difficult to be totally comfortable there." Well, we had no trouble being comfortable. Temperatures got up to 92 F during our stay, but with the two bedroom air conditioners running the apartment was comfortable (would have been more comfortable with more air conditioning, but not bad at all). You should be aware that there are stairs to deal with within the apartment: to the kitchen, within the downstairs bathroom, and to the upstairs bedroom and bath. If you have mobility or balance problems, this apartment is not for you. But those are not major points otherwise.

All in all, we found this to be a pleasant and comfortable apartment at a reasonable price, and we would stay there again if we return to Buenos Aires.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2015
  • Stayed: January 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Arthur, we really appreciate your review, thanks a lot for taking the time of writing it. Regards, Ana & Ivo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5

For years we've heard about the street fair in the San Telmo neighborhood in Buenos Aires. When we saw an apartment available in this area we decided to give it a try.

We are so happy we stayed here! This place is gorgeous! It is even better in person than what you see in the pictures. The hosts Ana and Ivo made sure our stay was memorable. They gave us tons of recommendations on what to do in the area, and made us feel at home. They definitely went above and beyond for us. The location is perfect. Everything is within walking distance, and if you want to venture further, cabs are everywhere to be found and very affordable.

This apartment is part of a grand old building with a locked and private entrance, which leads to a beautiful and well maintained courtyard. We were travelling with another couple and were pleased to find the apartment was very spacious. The two bedrooms were well separated with their own bathrooms. Privacy was not an issue at all.

The beds were super comfortable, and the area very quiet so we slept really well.

The apartment is very well decorated. It has beautiful plants hanging along the corridor, and interesting art on the walls. Everything works and is well maintained and clean. No doubt surpassed our expectations. Internet connection is great. Much better than I had expected. Water pressure is very strong.

The kitchen is well stocked, and it even has a clothes washer that came in handy during our stay. We only cooked a few times since there are so many great places to eat nearby, but everything we needed to prepare the meals was there.

Our favorite restaurants were Gran Parrilla del Plata, and La Brigada for great steaks, and La Poesia for breakfast. We also had some great pizza nearby but the name escapes me right now. There is also a great market right across the street.

Finally, the San Telmo street fair did not disappoint. It was much larger than we had anticipated. Lots of artisans selling handmade jewelry, clothing, and decorations for the home. The prices were excellent so we ended up finding great gifts for our friends back home.

We are hoping to return soon. We really felt at home and had a fantastic experience.

Thank you Ana & Ivo!

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2015
  • Stayed: February 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Nelson! Thanks a lot for your great review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope you return soon! Regards, ana and ivo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

Faded Charm

  • 2 of 5

We booked this two bed/two bath first floor walk-up apartment with another couple for one month based on the location, the attractive photos and the glowing reviews by previous guests. The location, although not the best in the Montserrat/San Telmo area, is not bad. It's an easy walk to many of the places of interest and to several good restaurants. There are shops within one block where most necessities can be found, including a fresh pasta shop, a green grocer and a bakery. The downstairs apartment is home to a family with exuberant, noisy (sometimes screaming) young children who make it difficult to relax. The apartment rules call for occupants to avoid making loud noises so we assumed that everyone else in the pasaje was expected to abide by the same rules.

The apartment is functional and looks pretty much like the photos but it was a disappointment. It can be compared to a once stylish woman who has let herself go. The first impression was unfortunate as the stairway off of the pretty pasaje is shabby and dark. Inside the apartment, the design is funky, e.g. potentially dangerous steps up to the commode and tub/shower in the blue bathroom and the low doorway into the bath off the yellow bedroom where the occupants of that room kept hitting their heads. The kitchen is furnished with over-used basics. It is possible but challenging (dull knives, worn out pots and pans) to put a meal together. The washing machine kept breaking so we gave up and took our clothes across the street to the laundry. In any case, there is no dryer so clothes have to be hung up to dry on racks. There is some interesting art but the worn linens, the neglected plants hanging above our heads in the hallway, the dust and grime everywhere told us that this is an apartment that, in its current state, might appeal more to someone who likes camping. It was difficult to be totally comfortable there. With only the bedrooms air conditioned, this would be an impossible place to stay in the heat of summer. A woman who came to clean one day a week did an acceptable job but what the apartment needs is beyond one person's resources. As time has passed, the charm of this apartment seems to have faded considerably. Getting it in shape again will take a team of professionals. I wish this could have been a more positive review.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2015
  • Stayed: November 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Karen, We agree that there are many plants hanging in the corridor, that the characteristically architecture of the apartment does not fully comply with modern exigencies that some people might have, that there are only 2 air conditioners, one at each room, and 2 ventilators at the living room, and there is no clothes dyer (as declared on the description of the apartment). We also agree that the washing machine was broken. You wrote us that, after making several washes this happened, so Ivo went to fix it -the day after- (but, as it stopped working some days later, maybe his work was not so good). We didn't’ fixed it again in a more professional way because you said you preferred to go to the laundry across the street. We also agree that, as the building is mostly inhabit by families, there can be some exuberant noises, caused not by continuous night parties or traffic jam but by the 2 downstairs brothers, or other neighbor’s chats. We admit that in the kitchen there might be more things, although we know that dishes, cups, glasses and that kind of basics are of good quality and in good conditions. Usually people that stays does not cook much, but we will check dull knives, pots, peel potatoes, and get more funny staff for the kitchen. We don’t agree –at all- that there was dust and grime everywhere. We agree that the apartment might appeal to somebody who likes camping, and so to somebody who likes reading at the park, milonga nights, bike riding, shooting stars, graffiti paintings and malbec wine. We are sorry that you didn't’ tell us a single word about these impressions when you were here, as we had being available and in touch right from the beginning by mail and later - when you arrive - picking you at your previous hotel-, introducing you somebody to explore your editing book possibilities, suggesting you nearby restaurants, etc. We always try to assure the well being of our guests and feel really sorry that you couldn’t enjoy your stay while being in Buenos Aires in one of the most beautiful seasons of the year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely refuge in a fine location.

  • 5 of 5

This fine and spacious apartment is nestled in a lovely little gated passageway between two streets in a very convenient location. Comfortable bed, air conditioning in the bedrooms, and a large, artistically-decorated living and dining space gave us a feeling of being at home after a long day exploring the nearby neighborhoods. Our hosts were very helpful with orienting us to the city, and even helped coordinate the return of a delayed bag from the airline. This is a place to which we'd love to return.

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2013
  • Stayed: February 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Ron, thanks for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay in Bs As. Regards, Ana
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Gorgeous apartment, wonderful hosts... thanks!!

  • 5 of 5

What a lovely place to stay! This apartment is even more wonderful in real life than in the beautiful pictures here on the site. A great combination of historic atmosphere and all the modern comforts (modern appliances, nice heat during a cold snap, great water pressure in the shower, good internet connection).

Ana and Ivo were such helpful hosts. Ana provided excellent advice on preparing for my trip, and getting to the apartment, and Ivo sat with me for a whole hour the morning I arrived, listing all the best bars, restaurants and shops in the neighborhood, and elsewhere in the city - even drawing little circles on my map, to show me where the best sites and shopping were. During our stay, Ana & Ivo were available via phone & e-mail to advise us on the best spots to see Tango, how to re-boot the router, & to provide other bits of help and advice -- clearly above and beyond, in terms of great hospitality! Thanks to you both.... hope I'll be able to return to again someday soon to your wonderful little bit of San Telmo! Sandra

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2012
  • Stayed: July 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sandra, thank you very much for your words. It was a pleasure meeting you and we are very pleased that you have enjoyed Buenos Aires and the department. We hope you will return soon. Best wishes. Ana&Ivo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional
This calendar has not been updated in over 2 months and the availability shown may not be accurate.

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $100
Cleaning $80

Travelers pay at check in

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties