Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

2 Bedroom Vacation Home - Walking Distance To Lake Michigan Beach

Bedrooms 2
Space 900 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

2 Bedroom, 1 Bath vacation home has been fully remodeled and furnished for most of the comforts of home. Within walking distance (.3 miles) to Lake Michigan Beach. Located on a dead end road in a quiet neighborhood surrounded by woods. There are public beaches, golf courses, restaurants, wineries and so much more to keep all members of the family active.

I have added a Keurig coffee Brewer. Bring your favorite flavor.

Within 5 miles: DiMaggios Pizza and Burgers, Hagar Park Beach, Road side Park Beach

Within 9 miles: Restaurants, Harbor Shores Golf Course (Jack Nicklaus signature golf course) and PGA Golf Tour in May, Silver Beach with the Carousel House, Curious Kids Museum, Sarett Nature Center, Arts district and so much more

North 12 miles to South Haven: Boat docks, restaurants and bars on the water, fun filled days, summer events such as the blueberry festival, you pick farms, public beaches, and much more to choose from.

East to Coloma 6 miles: Hardings Market, Pizza Hut, Antiques stores, Paw Paw Lake and boating, parks

More Details

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 28, 2017

About Scott

I grew up on Lake Michigan and can't imagine living anywhere else! I graduated from Coloma High School and have a degree from ITT Tech.

Scott purchased this house in 2012

Why Scott chose Southwest Michigan

If you want a quiet get-a-way in a wooded area but very close to local public beaches, this is the perfect place for you. My property is the most economically priced property

that close to Lake Michigan.


Coloma House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: 11:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Remodeled bathroom has tub/shower combo. Sink and toilet. We have well water and a whole house filter! We do not use soft water materials.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 3 sleep sofa /futon , The small bedroom has a futon/bunk that sleeps 3
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • swimming
we are taking reservations for power plant shut down employees. Double up and save money. We are under the government per diem reimbursement rate!!! That means, no money out of your pocket!


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

64% Complete
19% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
2 Bedroom Vacation Home - Walking Distance To Lake Michigan Beach
average rating of 4.354839 based on 31 reviews

Not coming back!

  • 1 of 5

The house was subpar at best. We didn't have the access code to get in. And the phone number provided was wrong. It took a couple hours to get the code from Scott. The outside was very dirty and run down. Looks nothing like the picture. The inside was musty smelling and OLD!! The tub and washing machine were rusty. The towels were old and worn. The a/c is a wall unit in the living room. We weren't able to close the bedroom doors at night because we couldn't get any air in them. No ceiling fans. The kitchen was awful. The refrigerator was not a full size refrigerator. The freezer had ice forming all over inside. No ice trays. The bedroom windows were old and in bad shape. Not sure if they even opened. I'm pretty sure the dresser was cardboard. It was like a college fraternity. We will not rent this house again

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I had to call Homeaway to get a hold of you since you didn't leave a number. They called you and also sent an email 2 times. Now the house. It's been completely remodeled. Kitchen and roof were replaced by my father. I bought the house in 2013 and replaced the bathroom, siding some new windows. The one in bedroom does open. It is old and does need to be replaced. That used to be a one bedroom house before I bought it. The AC unit was put in by my father. I will look into the towels. I am going to replace the dressers for next season. I put vinyl on the outside. New plumbing and electrical. My house is one of the cheaper ones on the site. It's that way for a reason. I am newer to this and am testing the waters to see what fits and doesn't fit. I'm sorry you didn't like your stay. You can go into St Joseph and stay and also South Haven.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Privacy, near beach

  • 5 of 5

Great privacy in the woods with fireplace, 5-10 minute walk to beach (lots of stairs to beach FYI). 10-20 minute drive north or south to cute downtown areas, restaurants, shops. House was clean (which isn't easy to do with all of the sand) and provided all necessary household items (linens, kitchen stuff, etc).

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good value

  • 3 of 5

We had a few hiccups trying to contact Scott for access to the home. He did not send us the info in advance, and the phone listed with HomeAway was incorrect. He was extremely responsive once we tracked down his contact info , but it was very stressful to not have this info when we were only 1 hour away, and after traveling all day with 2 kids from Colorado! Coffee drinkers should be aware there is only a Keurig for pod coffee. This was a disappointment given we travel with ground coffee to support our caffeine addiction! We were just grateful the last tenant left a few pods to get us through the morning until we could buy k-cups. My other issue was the linen situation - only 2 very worn bath towels, which was not adequate for a family of 4. But overall, we did enjoy our stay as the location was great and the accommodations met our needs. Hagar Beach was beautiful and practically private, and it was an added bonus to have cable and wifi.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Its listed in my ad that I have a Keurig machine. I have plenty of towels and linens. Thankyou for staying!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

We love it! Everything was perfect.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Responsive owner, comfy place, great beach access

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our long weekend at Scott's place. I'd say it was a 4.5 star accommodation.

We had two minor things come up, and Scott was very responsive both times. Great customer service!

I'm the kind of person who travels with a (kitchen) knife because I'm particular about how kitchens are outfitted. That said, the kitchen here was wonderfully equipped. We also really appreciated not only having a washer and dryer available, but that detergent was there too.

What took away from our comfort was that there was only living room seating for three of us (there were five people in our party), and that there was only air conditioning in the main living quarters, not in the bedrooms. We prefer to close bedroom doors for privacy, but the bedrooms were uncomfortably warm and stuffy as a result. It wouldn't be enough to prevent us from staying here again though.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Perfect location for us, local beach and playground were fun.

  • 5 of 5

Great fire pit, nice quite location. Lots of kid friendly things to do in the area.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
DIMaggios Pizza and Burgers
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Harbor Shores
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
I-!96 and I-94
Nearest Beach
0.3 Miles
Lake Michigan is within walking distance.
Car: necessary

Hagar Beach is a public beach just .3 of a mile away. Roadside park is another public beach just 2 miles away from the cottage.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75
Damage Deposit $500

We offer discounted rates for power plant shutdown employees. This is from October 1 to April 30. Weekly rates are 400.00 per week but can be negotiated. You can enjoy the kitchen and laundry facility's. Much less expensive than staying in a motel/hotel and paying for fast food and a laundry mat.

9 miles south of Pallisades Nuclear Power Plant and 35 miles from Cook Nuclear Plant!!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties