Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Waterfront Duck Key Condo With Open Water Views

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
condo
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Come relax on the tropical island of Duck Key. Our Florida Keys Vacation condo is uniquely designed and decorated to capture that island paradise feel. This one bedroom one bath condo is clean, spacious, and relaxing. Our condo is completely updated, fully furnished, and has all kitchen accessories and linens provided. This ground floor, end unit offers a spectacular view of the Hawks Cay Marina and the turquoise waters of the American Caribbean.

Our unit is located in the heart of the Florida Keys at the entrance to the World Famous Hawks Cay Resort, which is ideally located near the center of the Florida Keys at mile marker 61. Key West is 55 miles South, Key Largo is 40 miles North, perfect for day trips to see everything that the Florida Keys has to offer.

Although this is not a Hawk's Cay rental, there are many resort activities offered to the public, including: dolphin encounters, fishing charters, scuba, snorkeling, water sports, sunset cruises, a grocery/bait/store, and many other activities/amenities. Come stay for a few days, a week, or several months and see why the Florida Keys has been our family's favorite vacation destination for over 15yrs.

Three night minimum stay is required.

More Details

Property Manager
Teresa and John
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
February 23, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

It was WONDERFUL. Your place is a little jewel, perfect for family time :-) We especially loved the firework show the night before labor day :-)
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Marathon Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 520 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Nicely Updated Bathroom with granite countertop and tropical décor.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • coin laundry
  • marina
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

Waterfront Duck Key Condo With Open Water Views
average rating of 4.2105265 based on 21 reviews
1

A low grade terribly maintained property !!!

  • 1 of 5

We rented this condo between 1/8/17 and 1/22/17 and were very disappointed. Previously, we rented other condos in the same building and were very pleased.

It seems like the owner of this condo wants to maintain it in the cheapest possible way without having even a minimum amenity of a coffee table in the living room. We ended up placing our snacks and the drinks on the floor while watching the TV. The owner didn't care to provide a table even when it was pointed out to her.

To add to the poor amenities/conditions in the condo, the following needs to be mentioned:

1. Very minimum pots and pans (only 2 pots) available for cooking

2. No under cabinet lighting in the sink and stove area - u must cook/wash in the dark!

3. No exhaust fan in the kitchen - the whole unit smells whatever u cook!

4. Some of the bath towels are worn out and discolored/tainted - we won't let our guests use them!

5. No lid of the carafe in the coffee pot - u might spill the whole pot of hot coffee if u are not careful!

6. Steak knives are blunt - hard to cut a meat with them!

7. No peeler - u are out of luck if u want to peel anything!

To top everything off, on the second nite of our stay, sewer backed up through the toilet and the bathtub - the whole unit smelled like a sewer. We had to evacuate the unit in a hurry and stay at a hotel that nite under the advice of the owner since no plumber was available to fix the problem that nite. The plumbing problem was fixed in the following morning and the condo continued to smell foul upon our return. We had to use room air fresheners for a few days to get rid of the smell. In spite of all the troubles we went through, the owner did not care to compensate for the temporary stay and the inconveniences by refusing to pay for our one nite of hotel bill !!!!

Based on our terrible experience during our stay, we won't recommend this condo to anyone. Good luck if u still want to rent it!!!

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Fellow property owners beware of this renter. They are currently on the "do not rent to" list of two other owners in our complex. Unfortunately we did not know this prior to booking the rental. The renter contacted us 8 times within 24 hrs of checking in with a list of demands. We offered to allow them to check out and refund their rental fees. They declined our offer, said they liked the condo and wanted to stay for the remainder of the rental period. On the second day the renters clogged the plumbing with too much toilet paper. We contacted a plumbing company and they arrive as soon as possible. For the second time we offered to refund the remainder of the renter's stay. Again the renter said they liked the condo and wanted to stay. The following day the renter contacted us and insisted we pay $350 for their inconvenience. When we declined their demand and offered once more to allow them to leave and refund their stay, they declined. The renter became angry and hostile and filed two complaints with VRBO/Homeaway. Both complaints were ruled in our favor. We made a final offer to refund a nights stay for the inconvenience but the renter refused and posted this untruthful review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pasadena, CA
5

Ideal Location

  • 5 of 5

This condo on Duck Key was perfect for our weekend getaway. Description and pictures were accurate, condo was clean and the owners are very helpful and easy to work with. Stocked with all of the kitchen supplies you need, extra towels, pillows and comfort items. Situated next to Hawk's Cay, so there is a great dive shop, restaurant and store with helpful, friendly staff. Also minutes from Marathon with larger grocery stores and other conveniences. Definitely would stay here again, especially during lobster season. Think we will be back!

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

VERY NICE

  • 3 of 5

VERY NICE BUT THE TV IN THE BEDROOM THE COMCAST CABLE DID NOT WORK AND ALSO THE VERTICLE BLINDS WHERE FALL OFF FORM THE LIVING ROOM OVERALL IT WAS OK

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
3

Very good location between key largo and key West. Lots of great restaurants close by.

  • 3 of 5

Nice place with comfortable bed and furniture. Enjoyed walking around the island. Nice store and coffee shop close by. Would love to stay again.

  • Submitted: May 17, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Convenient and affordable place from which to explore the lower keys.

  • 4 of 5

Apt is well maintained and a great location. Only issue for us was the noise of construction on the restaurant next door that began at 6am and went til 10:30 pm. We would have appreciated more than 2 towels, a couple of which we could have used at the beach.

  • Submitted: May 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so sorry to hear that the construction next door was loud. Unfortunately, we were unaware that they were putting the finishing touches on the newly opened restaurant that week. The cleaning crew is instructed to leave each renter 8 bath towels and 2 beach towels. I apologize that you were not provided those for your stay. We would have been happy to arrange for them to be brought to you so that your stay would have been more comfortable. Teresa
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Awe inspiring beauty

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I stayed on Duck Key the week before Thanksgiving and the amazing beauty of the area was sheer delight. The condo was perfect for the two of us. It was very comfortable, clean and had everything that we needed to have a wonderful stay. We saw a manatee near the docks the day before we left-the highlight of the trip.

  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

The Wreck & Galley Grill
"Casual Dining with daily "all you can eat" specials. This restaurant is a sports bar with h..."
Cracked Conch Cafe
"Casual Dining with friendly staff. This restaurant's menu provides a good mix of seafood as..."
The Turtle Hospital
"The Turtle Hospital offers daily tours that are both educational and interesting. Guests ar..."
Old Seven Mile Bridge
"The old seven mile bridge has a 2.2 mile section which is open to walkers ,runners, and bicy..."
Pigeon Key Visitors Center
"Good Stop for information on history of the area. "
Robbie's of Islamorada
"You can rent kayak's here to paddle through the area mangroves or to one of the two nearby i..."
Indian Key Historic State Park
"A small island that is accessible only by boat. There are daily boat tours leaving from Rob..."
Lignumvitae Key Botanical State Park
"The island is accessible only by boat and is about a 30 minute kayak ride from Robbie's mari..."
Windley Key Fossil Reef Geological State Park
"The park offers both ranger and self guided tours daily. We enjoyed the walkways and vari..."
Long Key State Park
"Long Key offers self guided tours of various walkways, beach camping, and canoe rentals. We..."
Sombrero Beach
"A beautiful public beach with offers restroom facilities, walkways, picnic tables, and a pla..."
Big Pine Restaurant -- CLOSED
"A casual restaurant offering sandwiches and such. This is the place where the locals eat."
Conch Tour Train
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Shipwreck
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Marathon Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$140
$1,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning $115

Property is non-smoking
Public Washer/Dryer located within walking distance of unit

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties