check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Bolinas Family Beach House

26 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights


Bolinas House Rental Photos and Description

2 + bedrooms, 2 bathrooms sleeps 4-6

This comfortable home is located across the street from the beautiful Bolinas Lagoon as it empties from Mt Tamalpais into the Pacific Ocean just a short block away. Nestled below a wooded and private hillside this Mediterranean style house is set behind a large hedge hidden from the street. Parking for 2 cars [tandem style] - a great bonus in an area with limited parking for the beach goers who often show up on weekends. A great base for bird watching, mountain biking, hiking, surfing, kayaking (walk across the street to put in at the small dock), or mosey down the block to the beach to look for seashells, watch the seals play in the surf or make a sandcastle. Known for locally grown/ raised organic food and freshly caught fish, and with a cafe, museum and Wildlife Gallery with our local bird expert down the street, you have sophisticated city amenities in a small beach town. One of only a handful of homes located in this historic part of downtown where the fishing boats still come in on the tides, it is a great spot for fun, family gatherings, or quiet reflective moments.

more: The house is one of two structures on the property. There is also a small cottage at the rear of the property occupied by a part-time tenant/caretaker. However, the yard, parking area, etc. is for the exclusive use of guests. The backyard has a picnic table + several outdoor tables and a park like feeling facing the wooded hillside. Sheltered from the wind with great afternoon sun and with lots of hummingbird visitors, it is a great spot for sharing meals or just hanging out.

More Details
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

S.B. Hirsch
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 20, 2016
Call Owner

About S.B. Hirsch

We have owned the property since 1986, live part time in the house since our retirement in 2008 and also offer it as a vacation rental. Because we spend a great deal of time in the house it has many personal touches. The small cottage at the rear offers housing to a long time Bolinas resident who also looks after the property when we are not there.

S.B. Hirsch purchased this house in 1986

What makes this house unique

We love being downtown. Once at the house we can walk to the beach, shop, enjoy music, see the museum shows without having to drive and park. On most weekdays the streets are empty of people and cars but beach parking on weekends can be very difficult nowadays. We really appreciate having off-street and tandem parking available for us and our guests.


based on 26 traveler reviews

Bolinas Family Beach House
average rating of 4.8846154 based on 26 reviews

Great Location!

  • 5 of 5

This rental couldn't be located in a better spot. You can see the water from the front gate. The beach, store and restaurant are just a few minutes away walking. The town is quaint and the people friendly. When you walk in the door you will realize that this is a home and not a plain rental. It is filled with all of the amenities one could need. The beds are very comfortable and the two bathrooms are really nice. I would use the car cover provided by the owner who is very informative and easy to contact. The surrounding areas are beautiful. I would recommend following your directions very carefully; the locals take down street signs. It's a great place to stay.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice house, lovely surrounding

  • 4 of 5

The house is very nice and bigger than we expected as we saw the pictures. It's a real home with a lot of personal stuff from the owners. They are very friendly you can use everything there is. We were there with teenagers. Internet is not always reliable for big users like teenagers, but the libriary (2 minute-walk) with 24 h-fast-free wifi was their rescue. The beach is only a block away. A real nice beach with children is Stinton beach only 5 miles from Bolinas. We also visited San Francisco and driving downtown is about 45 minutes (without trafficjams). The garden is very nice with different spots to sit, in the sun or the shade what you prefer, end has a lot of privacy. Bolinas is a very nice village with a small supermarket and a nice restaurant. The owner was very nice and responded to our questions very fast.

Selma and her family from Holland with 3 children.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you found the house comfortable. Sorry that the wifi couldn't keep up w. your 3 teens. With the bandwidth we have we can email, surf the net and stream music. Streaming movies and gaming though is pretty difficult. And several users at once downloading is a problem. Due to ATT our provider's well documented infrastructure problems in Bolinas we cannot upgrade to a larger bandwidth and in fact ATT is not offering service to new customers. They are maxed out. Our options are limited. There is no cable service here and while we have sattelite tv, internet via sattelite is very costly. What we have works for most folks, including us. Fortunately the public library was set up with a larger bandwidth, is nearby and is available. From what I hear from neighbors I think that ATT also had some problems with erratic service during the time you were here although when we arrived shortly after you left it was fine. I am glad that you brought up the internet speed and although it has not been a problem before it is good that folks know its limitations, especially the heavy users. And very glad that you had a good visit to our beautiful area.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Everything that you need is on the home, Bolinas is beautiful.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Roomy, comfortable with a wonderful kitchen and dining room

  • 5 of 5

Everything about the Bolinas family beach house was organized and well planned. We thoroughly enjoy staying at this home away from home. It's comfortable with a beautiful view of the inlet. When the tide was up my son and grandson paddled a kayak over to where the seals are and to Stinson Beach. The home is in a perfect location just a few doors from the restaurant and maybe a block from the beach. This is the second time we've stayed at the beach house. It's beautifully decorated and cozy. We're looking forward to returning next May. Mary from Kentucky

  • Submitted: May 14, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect Weekend House

  • 5 of 5

Sherry has created a lovely, well equipped, comfortable environment for a holiday stay. I went there with my Womens group of 6 and we felt very comfortable. Everything worked and everything we needed to cook big dinners with was right there. She even thought to leave chargers for iphones! Each morning we could take our coffee out to the dock just in front of the house and sit and drink it while watching the tide go in and out of the lagoon. It's a beautiful and peaceful setting and one I would recommend without any hesitation.

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A very nice house across the street from the Marina, and easy access to the town and beach.

  • 5 of 5

Great living room, fireplace a big dining table and a well stocked easy to use kitchen. The backyard is a good hangout spot and the sun room is a great place to read. Overall the house is great and I was very happy with my stay. My only complaint is the bunk bed room. The beds might be fine for kids but our party was all adults and the bunk beds just are not made for adults. However even with that caveat I would totally recommend this property if you want to stay in Bolinas/Marin county coast.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you liked the house! The bunk bed room is really a bonus room to maximize sleeping options for guests. It does work better for kids, however we do have adults who sleep there - including friends who seem to do ok on the 4 inches of foam. But they are bunk beds! We also have a pull out sofabed in the living room in addition to the 3 other options [queen and trundle] to the bunk. We always tell guests at inquiry if they are a party of 2 or more to check the floor plan since in addition to bunks that room although private, shares access to the rest of the house [except for bathroom] via the other sleeping areas. Seems to work ok w. families, especially with kids. The bunk bed room, also known as the "Bathysphere" as you may have noticed pays homage to William Beebe who invented the diving bell. Because of the room's small size and our location next to the sea we think of it this way. Coincidentally this month, in March, the New York Times Magazine had a beautiful color spread on Beebe, I think about the time you stayed in our house. Thanks again and glad you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
42 Miles
San Francisco International
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
Nearest Ferry
25 Miles
Nearest Golf
27 Miles
San Geronimo
Nearest Train
22 Miles
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Highway 1
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
Nearest Ski
201 Miles
Sugar Bowl Ski Area
Nearest Beach
500 Metres
Bolinas Beach
Car: recommended

One short block from Bolinas Beach and steps away from the Bolinas Lagoon as it empties from the flanks of Mt Tamalpais into the Pacific Ocean, you are approximately 25 miles north of San Francisco. Although there is much to do and see in our small west Marin village, you are well situated for visits to the City and to the Sonoma and Napa wine country. Located at the southern tip of the Pt. Reyes National Seashore, north of Muir Woods, west of the Golden Gate National Recreation Area and Mt Tam, with the ebb and flow of the tides nearby, you are surrounded by the natural wonders of this region. Once you arrive, you can park your car and walk to shop or enjoy the beach and hills of the area. There is a regular although infrequent bus service via West MarinTransit on the 'Stagecoach' to the town with routes to connections with transit centers 'over the hill' as well as to Stinson Beach.


Rates & Availability

Bolinas House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Nov 24 2016 - Nov 28 2016
2 night minimum stay
Christmas & New Years
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
Jun 24 2017 - Sep 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 10.0%

Check when you inquire for current rates, fees and deposit amounts as they vary. Holiday periods and extended stays may require higher deposits. Weekly rate is for 7 nights. Reduced rates for stays longer than 2 nights and some discounted rates/fees are also available. Rates are also based upon size of party. Cancellation policy - Payments are non-refundable with the exception of insurance or damage deposit and cleaning fees. We ask for a modest deposit to hold booking with balance due 15 days prior to visit - a portion of the deposit may be refundable in the event of cancellation before the balance is due. No occupancy tax on stays of 30+days. Accidental damage insurance in lieu of damage deposit is preferred for all stays. Rates have been adjusted downwards to cover this cost. In this rural area repairs can be pricey and in excess of the cost of the insurance. Cleaning fees vary depending upon size of rental party length of stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Bolinas House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Rural
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Newly remodeled
    Outdoor - outdoor shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , handheld shower head
  • Bathroom #1 has tub. Hand held shower only. Bathroom # 2 off the living room has new tiled shower, no tub. Plastic seat available, if needed.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , bunkbed shares hallway w. other br
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Sunroom trundle beds
  • Bedroom #1 [Master] is largest w. a small wood paneled study and doors into living room and/or hall leading to the other sleeping areas and bathroom #1. Bedroom #2 [Bunkbeds], the 'Diving Bell' is perfect for kids, although fine for adults. Access to the main part of the house from this room, is through the Sunroom [or through Master bedroom #1]. It is across the hall from bathroom. Bedroom #3, [Sunroom] has a trundle bed with sliding glass doors to fenclosed porch and can be used as a lounge area, or the doors and curtains can be closed for a private sleeping area for 2, depending upon use of Bedroom #2. Both trundle beds open can fill the whole room- but one can be tucked underneath in the a.m. New mattresses on all beds w. exception of bunks which have thick foam. The house can accommodate four to six depending upon how friendly everyone is. The living room also has a full sized sofa bed which can be used.
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Piano
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 10 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
The house has an efficient wood burning stove, electric heaters and gas wall heater in winter. Wood floors + several area rugs, few dust collecting fabrics and no animals, help keep it a low allergen environment. Dish TV. House is 'downtown' near the beach and stores with a parking area inside the gate. Once inside the gate, behind the big front hedge, the house has a very private feel with a wooded hillside at the rear and surrounded by garden greenery. The house is one story, with 3 & 4 steps into the structure. A concrete sidewalk is at the entry and side going to the rear with some flagstone patio areas and enclosed sunporch. An outdoor shower and clothesline available for post beach clean up. Picnic table w. benches plus other tables and chairs for outdoor use. There is a small cottage at the rear of the property occupied by a part-time tenant/caretaker, however the yard, parking, etc is for the exclusive use of guests. Sorry, no pets, please.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties