Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Expansive 4BR Champlin House w/Fantastic Views!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Bedrooms 4, Bathrooms 3, Sleeps 8

**Free: Pontoon Rides. Please inquire with the home owner (subject to availability)**

Have a truly unique trip to Minnesota by staying directly on the Mississippi River! Big and beautiful and just right for a big family or group of friends, this well-appointed home offers all the comforts to spoil yourself and have a memorable vacation!

THE PROPERTY

This massive 4-bedroom, 2.5-bathroom duplex house was an original farmstead home, and the property originally included much of the surrounding area. The owners, who live in the lower level unit (separated), spent almost 2 years designing the major additions to the property that doubled the size of the house, including a soaring ceiling up to a large multi purpose open loft that overlooks the family room, dining area, and gourmet kitchen. The loft also has its own private outdoor deck, which sits high above the winding Mississippi River, offering spectacular river views. You and your travel companions will have plenty of room to spread out over the home's expansive open floor plan with plenty of space for gathering and entertaining. Both the living area and master bedroom have gas fireplaces, and you'll be able to enjoy views of the river from practically every room in the house. Soak your cares away in the master bathroom's Whirlpool bathtub, perfectly designed to have direct views of the fireplace, river, and built-in TV. The master bedroom closet features a walk-through design that provides private access to the large laundry room, complete with in-wall ironing board. Another distinctive feature is the master suite's separation from the other bedrooms by way of the kitchen, family, and dining rooms, allowing for ultimate privacy. Enjoy cooking delicious meals in the home's gorgeous kitchen, fully equipped with a 6-burner gas stove, double ovens, prep sink, stainless steel appliances, custom cherry cabinets, large center island bar, and granite countertops. You'll also find beautiful hardwood floors throughout the entire house, including all 4 bedrooms, with the exception of the loft and the formal living and dining areas.

THE LOCATION

Spend your afternoons lounging outside on the huge back deck, accessible from the family room area and master bedroom suite. You'll find that the cozy front porch is a great spot to enjoy the home's generously-sized front yard, or perhaps your favorite book and a cup of tea. When you're ready to enjoy the river, head down the stairway out back, which will lead you directly to the Mississippi. This house has everything you need to experience Minnesota's beautiful outdoors to the fullest!

THE EVOLVE DIFFERENCE

Evolve Vacation Rental Network is on a mission to make vacation rental easy for guests. Every property in our network has been vetted and verified so you can book with confidence. If you have questions prior to your trip, we are happy to assist you 7 days a week. During your stay, your designated Guest Contact will be available 24/7 to help with any issues that may arise.

ADDITIONAL DETAILS

Key Residence Features:

- Amenities include a full gourmet kitchen, multiple outdoor decks, private river dock with slide, and much more

- The home had major updates in 2007, adding several unique features such as a multi purpose open loft and a custom Whirlpool tub in the master bath

- Outstanding location right on the Mississippi River with fantastic river views!

- Free Pontoon Rides. Please inquire with the home owner for availability

- HBO and Showtime TV

- There are 8 steps with no railing from the driveway to the front door

Bedroom Configuration:

- Master Bedroom: King-sized Sleep Number Bed (Memory Foam) with dresser, walk-in closet, en-suite bathroom, and TV with DVD player and DirecTV recorder

- Bedroom 2: Queen-sized Bed with dresser

- Bedroom 3: Double Bed with 2 dressers

- Bedroom 4: 2 Twin-sized Beds

Policies:

- No smoking

- Quiet hours start at 11 PM

- Absolutely no parties or large gatherings (NO BACHELOR OR BACHELORETTE PARTIES)

- Copy of a valid photo ID required to be sent to local contact before arrival (must match name on reservation and credit card)

- Extra person fees apply for groups over 6 people.

- No Pets Allowed

- Please keep in mind - the owners occupy the lower level of the house with a separate entrance. They also own a couple of friendly cats who do occasionally roam into the rental.

- Must be at least 25 years old to book

Additional fees and taxes may apply

More Details

Property Manager
Evolve Vacation Rental Network
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
October 23, 2017

About Evolve Vacation Rental Network

Evolve Vacation Rental Network is on a mission to make vacation rental easy for travelers. Our dedicated Travel Advisor Team is available 7 days a week and our simple online reservation system allows you to book securely with a credit card! Please feel free to call us at 1.877.818.1013.

Evolve Vacation Rental Network purchased this house in 0

Guestbook comments from the manager

What a perfect place to hang out for a few days during Christmas break! We loved the view and spotted a bald eagle! Enjoyed the table tennis and piano, and all the space and light.
Jan 2014
  • 1 of 5

Map

Amenities

Champlin House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Microwave
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , Master Bedroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Bedroom 2
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , Bedroom 3
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , Bedroom 4
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Pool Table
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hunting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

61% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Expansive 4BR Champlin House w/Fantastic Views!
average rating of 4.5 based on 23 reviews
5

it was a very special stay.

  • 5 of 5

It was a very special stay as our third child was born then.

The owners prepared for our two other children two cribs, that was very sweet.

Although they live downstairs you dont feel it at all, the spaces are very separate.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great setting!

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed this home and the view of the river. Only drawback was that 3 bedrooms had to share a single bath.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Owners dictate your fun level!

  • 2 of 5

This was not what we have come to expect when we rent a home through VRBO.com. The advertising for this home was very misleading. “Owners live on the premises” should not mean the owners interact with you about everything. They basically dictated our entire stay. I only rented this property after getting PRIOR AUTHORIZATION to have family and friends over after a funeral. This event didn’t even start until after 2pm and they shut us down by 7pm! “Quiet Time” is 11pm! We had a couple of attendees who were being obnoxious but we would have asked them to leave on our own. When we rent a home, which this is the fifth time we have done so, we take responsibility for that home. We left this home immaculate. We followed every check-out procedure and yet when we called the owner about items we had accidentally left behind, he had to complain about everything. The owners do not realize that when a home that ‘sleeps 8’ is rented for people on VACATION, they are not always going to be quiet! Playing pool or ping pong is not exactly a disaster in a home that advertises these features! It also advertises a beautiful piano but you are not suppose to touch it! There is a Jacuzzi in the pictures but that is not part of the rental either. There are two stairwells that lead to the lower levels of the home, one of these seems to have been accessed from below into our rental area the day after our event, while we were off property visiting family. We noticed the light from inside the stairwell was left on upon our return. Our privacy was violated and this may even be considered illegal but we have no proof. Creepy! What it comes down to is...”This home invites Fun, but the owners tell Fun to sit in a corner!” I would recommend to the owners to either move elsewhere and continue to rent out or quit renting this space. We used this property to its full potential and nothing was out of place, broken or even that dirty when we left. The owner Brian started out very friendly but that seemed to change when his wife got involved. We were given warnings and ice-cold stares by the owners making us feel unwelcomed on a daily basis. However, we made the best of it because we paid good money to stay here. We all thoroughly enjoyed the game room. We do not recommend staying in this beautiful property unless you are extremely quiet and do not plan on using any of the features it advertises after 7pm.

  • Submitted: May 9, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Tyla, We have gained feedback from the homeowner pertaining to your review that you left for this property. The homeowner nor Evolve authorized a party to occur while you were in-residence. The listing dictates in the policies section that no events can take place at this vacation rental property. If guests ask for authorization of a party, we always call the homeowner to confirm, but neither party has information of this request being made. Please note that significant damage occurred to the premises during the party from the 60 guests that arrived. The guests of this party caused a raucous to the neighborhood with the live music playing and upset the community with the noise level that continued past 11 pm. Please note that extra cleaning costs also were incurred by the homeowner due to this unexpected party. The homeowner also notated that the light in the stairwell is operated by a switch in the living area. It can be easily turned on by mistake. There are doors at the top of this stairwell, which allows privacy for the renters as well as the homeowners. They do not enter the renter's space unannounced, unless there is some type of emergency. Overall, the homeowner loves renting out part of their home to guests, and encourages families to have fun and enjoy their trip. However, they were unaware of the party that occurred, and distraught over the repercussions the neighborhood could impose on their small business. Best, The Evolve Success Team
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2
4

it was a very special stay

  • 4 of 5

It was a very special stay as our third child was born then. The owners placed two cribs for our two other children.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great House for a Family Gathering

  • 5 of 5

We were in the Anoka area for a 95th birthday party. Eight of us (four couples) used the house as "home base." It was great space to relax and visit. It sits right on the banks of the Mississippi River. It was very relaxing to sit and watch the river with coffee before starting the day. Would highly recommend the property for families gathering in the area for a special occasion. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oxford, Michigan
5

Very nice accommodations.

  • 5 of 5

I stayed there with several other couples while we were in town for my daughter's wedding, therefore, we were mostly there as a place to stay together as a group, and it was less expensive than 4 seperate motel rooms. However, several in the group thought it would be nice to come back some time in the summer for a vacation, when we had time to enjoy the river and the amenities of this property, such as the loft recreation area (with pool table and ping pong table). That should sum up our opinion pretty well. We would all return again. Everything needed for a comfortable stay is there. There is plenty of room to relax, the kitchen is very well equipped, local maps and information is provided, etc.

My only caveat is that the 3 bathrooms are actually 2.5 baths, in that the tub and one of the showers are both in the same (master suite) bathroom, and the third bath is a toilet and sink only. Therefore, 3 people are not able to shower/bath at once, unless 2 of them are very close personally! That was one of our considerations, since we were all getting ready for the wedding on the same morning. But, we spaced out our timing, and we worked it out without a problem. Just keep that fact in mind, in case that is a consideration for your group.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • Additional fees and taxes may apply