check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Sarah Rosenthal-Almirall

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, portuguese, russian, italian, dutch

Take a deep breath - the Treehouse is a different world!

15 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Castries Quarter Studio Rental Photos and Description

Unique position, guest studio in private house next to wild dry forest

Off the beaten track accommodation with spectacular ocean views. We have a comfortable studio with private sun deck and sea views as well as a smaller "eco" cabin called the Hummingbird Hangout which you can see in another listing. Both apartments sleep two (one double bed in each apartment) so please contact us if you would like to come with friends/family and take both at one time. The Treehouse (with its studio) and the Hummingbird Hangout are perched at the top of a cliff which is covered with coastal dry forest where we are slowly creating a beautiful garden together with a conservation area. Many birds and animals live in the conservation area around the Treehouse and we are committed to protecting this environment which is very threatened today by development and the use of chemicals such as pesticides. We are one of the few hotels or guesthouses on the island not to use pesticides or insecticides and as a result we have far fewer mosquitoes than elsewhere due to our wealth of frogs, lizards and birds. We are not only creating a protected area but also listing all the species of flora and fauna here - we have more species than other "official" nature reserves on the island and people always see more birds here than anywhere else! We are committed environmentalists and provide advice to local hotels and businesses wishing to reduce their environmental footprints by reducing energy or water use or by recycling their waste. As you will see if you come to stay with us, the natural world is our passion! Check out our Facebook page The Treehouse Marigot Bay for more photos and latest news.

The studio is very comfortable with table and chairs on a balcony overlooking the sea and its own private walkway to a private sundeck with loungers, umbrella, table and chairs. You can also use our outdoor bamboo shower which is down garden steps below the sundeck and great for washing off sand or simply cooling down on a hot day.

If you like fresh fish then we can call the local fisherman who will tell us when "your" fish is in his be fresher! And we also make delicious home made ice creams from local fruits as well as local chocolate and coffee which we put in a freezer for guests to help themselves - just leave some money in the honesty box to cover our costs!

Car parking is available and there is a separate access through a small garden gate. We also have a spare car which is a small 4x4 jeep which we keep available for guests to hire on much nicer than dealing with rental agencies and more flexible! Simply pay for each day you use it...

Fifteen minute walk from the Treehouse is a secluded cove where you can snorkel among the coral reefs. Or you can stroll down the hill to Marigot Bay, the most beautiful bay in the Caribbean with high quality restaurants and bars as well as a beautiful marina. There is also a dive school and power and sailing boats available for charter.

Other attractions on the island are within easy reach of Marigot Bay and we will be happy to advise and help you have the holiday of a lifetime in this tropical paradise!

We are also rent our 41' classic yacht as a houseboat. Airborne sleeps 2 people and is permanently moored to the dock next to the luxury hotel in Marigot Bay. Guests of Airborne can use the hotel's facilities including the lower swimming pool, gym (including classes) and spa steam room. Ask us for details.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
Sarah Rosenthal-Almirall (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, portuguese, russian, italian, dutch

About Sarah Rosenthal-Almirall

As you can see from the photo, we were married in the marina in beautiful Marigot Bay next to our yacht, Airborne.. We work together internationally on environmental projects as we are both passionate about nature. At our home we try to live in as eco-friendly a manner as possible such as by harvesting our own rainwater and recycling materials as well as avoiding the use of any pesticides or insecticides. We have set up a network of natural pools with fish which ensures the mosquito population stays low while avoiding putting any poisons into the environment.

Sarah Rosenthal-Almirall purchased this studio in 2011

Why Sarah Rosenthal-Almirall chose St Lucia

We love our home because it is so close to nature - it really is paradise! We have wild rainforest and cliff face down one side of the property and amazing ocean views in front. We have built our house at the level of the tops of the trees because we love watching the birds, the lizards, the frogs and other inhabitants of the forest. We like to see the moon sparkling across the sea, we like to have our drink with the sunset on the deck every day and to smell the scented plants in the garden at night-time. We love to live 'off the beaten track' where it is peaceful and away from the noises of other houses - away from street lamps and under the light of the stars!

What makes this studio unique

We built our home ourselves so it really reflects our characters and our love of nature. We have adopted a non consumer-led, minimalist lifestyle where we do all the cleaning and repair work ourselves and upcycle many materials through our house and garden. We are creating a conservation area and a haven for wildlife of all kinds. What we love most is the permanent views of the ocean where we can sometimes see dolphins or turtles swimming. And we love being able to walk to the secluded cove where we can snorkel around the reefs and rocks which are just below our house.

Reviews

4.9
based on 15 traveler reviews

Take a deep breath - the Treehouse is a different world!
average rating of 4.9333334 based on 15 reviews
5

Outstanding setting for relaxation and getting away from the fast pace of life fueled by cruiseships

  • 5 of 5

Pablo and Sarah have found their slice of paradise located at the end of a road leading to a secluded hillside home overlooking the caribbean and the entrance to Marigot Bay. They offer the lower half of the home to guests who seek being a little closer to nature and enjoy the relaxing atmosphere and comfort of this environment. The views from the upper and lower deck are fantastic as are the gardens and surrounding tropical plants. The rental comes with the basic amenities and a small kitchen for preparing meals. The refrigerator and cabinets are stocked with adequate necessities for your first couple of days so you won't be forced to do a lot of shopping, and they will take you by a grocery store when they pick you up and advise you on what else you may want for your first few days. The hosts are very accommodating and we enjoyed sharing our experiences with them and their knowledge of the area. Therea are a variety of nice restaurants in Marigot harbour, but you will probably want to have a rented car to get to them.

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Ready to come back already!!

  • 5 of 5

We spent a week in this wonderful place and if we return we would book it again without looking at other places. Pablo and Sarah were wonderful hosts and gave us many great suggestions on activities as it was our first trip to St. Lucia. The view was incredible. We loved the connection with nature that this place and it's hosts embrace. We enjoyed sitting outside and just watching the various species of birds flitting around. I miss it all ready. Thanks again Sarah and Pablo for allowing us to stay at your beautiful location. Pet the pups for us!!

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Kim and Ray for your great review. We loved having you here and your enthusiasm for nature and the simplicity of our lifestyle here was wonderful! You are welcome back of course any time and we hope one day to come and see your covered bridges and amazing nature in Indiana. Ray's yellow warbler is missing him... Sarah, Pablo, Tizzy, Lucky and Shadow
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Heaven om earth

  • 5 of 5

Back home in Holland after a five-week holiday on St.Lucia and Grenada celebrating our 65th birthday it is time to write a review about the fantastic time we had in The Treehouse. We stayed two great weeks in the appartement of Pablo and Sarah Rosenthal-Almirall.

What could we possibly add to the honest and informative reviews so far. All is true. It was a wonderful experience. A little Paradise on the edge of of the Hills round Marigot Bay, overlooking the caribbean Sea.

If you are looking for a place to relax, a nice hideway in a beautiful tropical setting surrounded by birds with a spectacular sunsets and 180 degrees views over the Carribean Sea, and dark nights with bright stars righy from your bedside, then the Treehouse is the place to be.

Not being a native speaker English it is difficult to find the right words to express our feelings about the marvellous time we had.

Pablo and Sarah Rosenthal-Almirral are the most friendly and perfect hosts you ever can expect. They respected our privacy, but anticipated very good on our needs and questions. Their suggestions and advise were welcomed by us. I will always remember mine 65th birthday becase of the delicious diner Pablo prepared for us all, and the discussions about our own history. Their interest in sustainability and durability and the way they enjoy living on St.Lucia is contagiously.

Just as all other guests we were surprised to find not only a well equipped kitchen, but also some cool beer, a bottle of wine and food and fruit for the first day.We are grateful that we could join Pablo in visiting the Saturday market In Castries and Super J the supermarket in Cul de Sac to do our own shopping.

For those who do not bring their own books or e-reader, their is also a small library in the studio. We highly recomment The Glass Palace a 2000 historical novel by the Indian Amitav Ghosh.

As mentioned in other reviews Sarah and Pablo are multilingual. Not mentioned is that Pablo also speaks Dutch. Therefore our last words are in Dutch.

Sarah en Pablo heel erg bedankt voor de gastvrije ontvangst, maar ook voor alles wat jullie voor ons hebben gedaan. Wij hebben dat erg op prijs gesteld. Wij wensen jullie erg veel succes met de innovatieve en inspirerende "Our Planet"projecten. Het gaat jullie goed.

Carla en Meindert Krijnsen Gasteren The Netherlands

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks Carla and Meindert and thank YOU for being such great guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ayer's Cliff, Quebec
5

Surrounding by rainforest and the sea

  • 5 of 5

Ironically, the very first accommodation that popped up on this site that matched our needs was the perfect choice... we didn't need to search further. Although our airport taxi driver was somewhat confused finding our final destination, Sarah was there on cell and on foot walking to meet us on their winding road. Her beaming smile and gentle soul confirmed that we were in for a grand week of new experiences.

The apartment was just as described with everything you would need to cook your meals while overlooking the Caribbean Sea as the boats (yachts actually) sailing slowly into Marigot Bay for their supplies. Sarah and Pablo, with their 3 Black Labs, are superb hosts that were available when needed yet discrete to allow us privacy to soak up the environment that was lush with the sounds of tropical birds, tree frogs, and the unique sounds of the rainforest.

I could go on and on.. as am now back to Southern Quebec where we woke to -25 degrees (F)... but wish you assure readers that this is a wonderful location to be if you want to enjoy a slower pace, take walks to the nearby beach for snorkeling and collecting pieces of coral washed ashore, elect day trips to other parts of the island, or just be content with the moment.

We didn't rent a car and found that our feet got us where we wanted to go with the occasional day tour that could pick us up at the Bay or doorstep. Our memories are now being shared with our friends back home but extend our sincere thanks to both Sarah and Pablo - they are unique people who are very much in love with one another as they are to their unique home in Marigot Bay.

Make sure you see the Pitons and Soufriere regions. We elected to bike (fat tire) with Jungle Biking for a day that also included water taxi, lunch, more snorkeling, and short hikes for some of the best views on the island. Cappela Hotel is at the Bay and offers a nice lunch overlooking the mega boats moored, good food selection at the local grocery store, town bank requires picture ID to exchange money but ATM is open daily. Taxi stands are also at the bay to take you were you want to go. Castries is only important is you want to shop the marketplace - otherwise, head to Rodney Bay for restaurants and day of shopping (if you prefer).

Ok.. that's it in a nutshell...make your plans, now!

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Suzie and Francois, Thank you so much for this great review. We really enjoyed having you! Hopefully this message will bring you some warmth from the Caribbean to tempt you back to see us again sometime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relax with the best ocean views!

  • 5 of 5

The treehouse was the first place we stayed in St. Lucia, and its perfect for just relaxing and enjoying the days in a quiet beautiful setting away from the crowds, but its also nice if you want to venture around to different areas of the island on the north side. Sarah and Pablo are the nicest people, and it was super easy to get there from the airport with the directions they provided. The beach next door its just perfect for relaxing on the dock, snorkeling or even BBQing.

The kitchen its fully equipped with anything you may need, blender, bbq, coffee maker. And the outdoor shower is perfect for sunsets. It doesn't get much better than this place, what a gem!! with nice helpful hosts that could point you on the right direction to anything you may need, Thank you Sarah and Pablo, we hope to come back one day!

Marilu

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Marilu! We really enjoyed your stay and we hope you will come back and see us one day! Thank you for being such great guests... Sarah and Pablo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Spitze!

  • 5 of 5

Die komplett eingerichtete Wohnung lässt keine Wünsche offen, ebenso wenig wie die herzliche Gastfreundschaft der lieben Besitzer! Man hat eine traumhafte Aussicht aufs Meer inkl. Sonnenuntergang, ist richtig schön in Ruhe abseits vom Trubel und kann es dort wirklich richtig schön aushalten. Der schöne Garten rundherum und die nahegelegende Marigotbay runden noch alles ab. In der Nähe gibt es einen Supermarkt und auch Castries ist nun 15 Fahrminuten entfernt. So ist die Wohnung mittendrin und doch weit genug von allem weg, um ein richtig schönes Dschungelidyll geniessen zu können.

  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Botanical Gardens
"Great for garden lovers, we can always spend hours in the botanical gardens. The gardens her..."
Rainforest Hideaway
"This is one of the nicest restaurants around. Fantastic location, good food and great ambian..."
Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
"This is one of our favourite places to go to swim or have lunch on the beach. There is great..."
Castries Central Market
"This is a great market full of local colour and action. Saint Lucian ladies "man" the fruit ..."
Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Hewanorra International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Marigot Bay
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Sandals Regency
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Road to Castries or Vieux Fort
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Four excellent restaurants in Marigot Bay
Nearest Beach
0.25 Miles
Fisherman's cove
Car: recommended

The property is located right next to beautiful Marigot Bay, the most beautiful bay in the Caribbean with its marina, marina shops, dive school, sail boats for charter, bars and restaurants. Also nearby are a secluded cove with barbecue facilities and the weekly 'Fish Friday' street party at Anse la Raye

Photos

Rates & Availability

Castries Quarter Studio Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Low 2016
Apr 1 2016 - Nov 30 2016
4 night minimum stay
$110
 
 
High 2016/17
Dec 1 2016 - Apr 17 2017
4 night minimum stay
$160
 
 
Low 2017
Apr 18 2017 - Nov 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
$110
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$110
 

Additional information about rental rates

You may find us cheaper on other websites. This agency charges such a high commission that we have been forced to raise our own rates to compensate.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Castries Quarter Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 0
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 72 m²
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - shower , outdoor shower , The outdoor bamboo shower in the garden
  • The bathroom comprises a large shower area, WC and washbasin with associated cabinet. The bathroom is painted in yellow and grey like the rest of the studio which gives a bright, clean feeling. Water comes filtered directly from the rainwater tanks and is then heated by an electric heater. Unlike solar water heating this will give you a hot shower even on cloudy days! There is also a great outdoor bamboo shower located in the garden which is great for cooling off on hot days or after the beach.
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • The bedroom is open plan with the living and kitchen area which creates a lovely airy feeling. The bed is hand built by local carpenters and has a frame for the large mosquito net - this means you can sleep without tangling in the net during the night! The bed looks directly at the spectacular ocean view through triple wooden doors which can be fully opened day or night. The bedroom curtain is made from a 100 year old linen sheet and all linen is Egyptian cotton which is wonderfully cool and light.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • duty free shops
  • forests
  • marina
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers