check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

nancy lumb

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish, italian

Incredibly Beautiful, Perfect Loc. Historical Center A/C WiFi

20 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Centro Storico Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Apartment, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Vacation the Italian Dream!!! A Hollywood Production Designer and his wife have restored this gorgeous 16th century spacious apartment, ensconced within the medieval walls of Lucca. Perfect for families, friends and romantics all year round.

Situated on the second floor of a 16th century palazzo, in a small quiet piazza, next to the beautiful 11th century San Paolino Church. The apartment was recently restored by a Hollywood Production Designer and his wife and is on two floors, measuring 200 square meters (over 2,000 square feet).

On the first floor is the gorgeous entry hall, master bedroom with a king size bed with views of the church, an office, a bedroom with a queen and two twin beds, a large open plan living room and dining room that has a table for 10, two full bathrooms and a lovely sunny kitchen. Upstairs is another queen bedroom and full en suite bathroom.

The upstairs can be reached from the main floor, but also has it’s own entrance from the outside stairwell for privacy. The apartment can comfortably sleep 8.

Throughout the apartment the original Italian tile floors have been restored and the antique Murano chandeliers cast a beautiful light upon the subtle traditionally hand painted walls. Towering double doors, that have been restored, to show off their original grain and hardware, lead into each room.

The southern exposure and large windows allow for beautiful views of Lucca and the Tuscan sunshine to pour into every room.

Versilia beaches are easily reachable by train, bus or car - e.g. Viareggio is 20 km and Forte dei Marmi is 29 km.

Keywords: Luxury, Beautiful, Romantic, Central, Historic

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
nancy lumb (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish, italian

Why nancy lumb chose Piana di Lucca

It was our dream to live in Italy and this is our dream home - if you close your eyes and think of Italy most likely you'll be thinking of our apartment in the heart of Lucca

What makes this apartment unique

the apartment is within a quiet piazza, steps away from and 11th century church, a pizzeria, the movies, grocery stores, clothing shops, Puccini's's monument and all the landmarks which help make Lucca the quintessential Italian Tuscan town

Guestbook comments from the owner

After a very long flight from australia, we tried in vain to negotiate the one way system within the walls of Lucca. Nancy had very kindly provided us with a good map and directions, however it was too much for our weary brains so we resorted to calling Vera, who came and guided us to our apartment. We arrived at the door after a lot of puff climbing 3 flights of stairs, but the climb was well worth it once we saw our beautiful abode. The apartment was perfect in every way... comfortable, clean, spacious, bright and airy, gorgeous furniture, and an eclectic collection of magnificent chandeliers! We had everything we needed and more. Vera kindly left us some basic supplies for which we were very grateful after a 37hr journey.

Nancy quickly dealt with one small plumbing problem that arose, and Vera dealt with the plumber, thereby leaving us free to go out and explore Lucca.

The apartment is perfectly situated, and walking distance to everything. Lucca is a great base to explore Tuscany from, and we certainly made use of the numerous suggestions that Nancy gave us.

We had one major problem at the end of our stay... we didn't want to leave! We could have happily stayed for weeks and weeks, but unfortunately all good things come to an end. However, we can't wait to return, and hope to do so soon. Thankyou Nancy for allowing us to stay in your wonderful home, and for being such a pleasure to deal with.
Jul 2010
  • 1 of 6

Reviews

4.9
based on 20 traveler reviews

Incredibly Beautiful, Perfect Loc. Historical Center A/C WiFi
average rating of 4.95 based on 26 reviews
New York, NY
5

Fantastic!

  • 5 of 5

Casa Bella is a perfect home to explore Lucca and its' surrounding area. It is located on a quite piazza, right off San Paolino, one of the main street in Lucca, with easy access to the Wall, Bus and Train Station, great restaurants and the history (sightseeing) of Lucca. It is an extremely comfortable home with all the necessary modern amenities, but you will feel like you have taken a step back in time with its' 450 year old history-if only those walls could talk:) When you are ready, Case Bella/Lucca is a terrific place to explore the coast, Cinta Terra, Pisa, and of course Tuscany. Nancy is a terrific-she means it when she says she will get back to you in 24 hours and always helpful to answer any questions. This place is just Fantastic!

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Virginia, USA
5

Perfect sightseeing location

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 4 along with a couple of friends loved the apartment! Its location could not have been better, and we were all very comfortable with plenty of room. Lucca is so charming, and you can walk to everything easily from Casa Bella! The kids loved hanging their laundry out of the kitchen window, and since we were there during record high temperatures, we needed to do quite a bit of laundry! We would definitely recommend the apartment and Lucca to anyone wanting to visit this part of Italy. The train station is so convenient - we took several day trips to Florence, Pisa, and the coast.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing!!!!! Most fantastic place I have ever vacationed!!

  • 5 of 5

What an incredible place to stay. Absolute paradise for us. Lucca was incredible, but it was the Lumb house that we fell in love with. Walking in our socks on the 400 year old tile floors, so much space, and so nice to be inside that we often felt guilty that we didn't take more advantage of Lucca! Would love to return when we can afford to come to Italy again. We would skip Venice and Firenze and stay 100% here next time.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed it!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A true gem ideally located in beautiful Lucca!

  • 5 of 5

You should truly look no further for accommodations if you're searching for:

1. An authentic Italian experience

2. A++ location where you can walk, jog, bike, stroll to unforgettable bakeries, restaurants, churches, piazzas, gelaterias, shopping, anything you could ever need or want.

3. Fully equipped home away from home - while the many restaurants within walking distance are often too tempting to pass up, the ability to cook, whether it be the comforts of home or an in-house Italian cooking lesson, enables you to have options and not be forced to eat every meal out. A wonderful combination of old world Italian charm and new world appliances and furniture.

4. A full service grocery store is a short bike ride outside the Lucca wall and you can stock up on any imaginable staple.

5. The beautiful sounds of church bells outside your master bedroom window

6. At certain times of year (around Easter) you may awake to the amazing sounds of vespers being sung in the piazza chapel.

7. Truly the ideal location to explore, live, love and experience the ancient renaissance city of Lucca.

We lived in Case Bella for 5 weeks with our two young children. We had certain expectations of this 'trip of a lifetime' and those expectations were surpassed in large part because of the incredible location, the very hospitable neighbors (Leticia next door is a gem and epitomizes the remarkable life of a local Luccesse) and the very gracious and responsive hosts Nancy and Patrick.

We could go on and on, but the only fact you really need to know is that this is a tremendous apartment to call home while in Lucca. It's a three minute walk to the bus station (day trips to Florence, Pisa, the beach, etc), but we would recommend staying put in Lucca and exploring day after day, on foot and on bike.

After experiencing our 'trip of a lifetime' at Casa Bella in Lucca, we aim to return for an annual 'trip of a lifetime.' Thank you Nancy and Patrick for helping to set the stage for an unforgettable family adventure.

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed both Lucca and Casa Bella! We were honored to be a part of your trip of a lifetime. Thank you again for letting us be a part of it.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

As goo as it gets

  • 5 of 5

Casa Bella is exquisite. The apartment is beautiful and wonderfully situated to explore Lucca – right inside the old walled city near one of the entrances, so you can park and leave your car there, since you will only need a car for trips outside Lucca. A stay at Casa Bella will also lend you the fleeting feeling of living in Tuscany, because it's beautifully cared for and designed with all amenities. The tiled floors, comfortable beds, magnificent view and fully-stocked kitchen made us feel at home. Nancy left a guide with great and thoughtful recommendations for fancy and non-fancy eating – around town and in the region. She also provided us with bikes, which are the best way to get around, apart from walking. We will definitely return.

  • Submitted: May 13, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Toronto, Canada
5

Beautiful, stylish apartment!

  • 5 of 5

We spent the summer of 2014 travelling Europe with our three kids. We stayed in many apartments over the summer. This property in Lucca was the best of them all. It's roomy, stylish and most of all feels like a home. The location is perfect, in the heart of the old city, but not on a noisy street. We highly recommend and hope to come back again soon!

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Kilometres
pisa
Nearest Golf
10 Kilometres
lucca
Nearest Train
1 Kilometres
lucca
Nearest Motorway
2 Kilometres
1
Nearest Ski
50 Kilometres
abatone
Nearest Beach
20 Kilometres
versillia

Just walk out the front door and 2000 years of history will delight you as you discover Lucca’s beautiful piazza's and streets. It is home to splendid Romanesque churches, museums, monuments, and the birth place of Giacomo Puccini (1858) one of Italy's most famous composers.

During the summer Lucca welcomes some of the most famous singers of the world for the “Summer Festival”’s concerts, held in the major square of the town.

Going out of the city, the splendid hills and country side of Lucca are perfect for those who are seeking peace and rest. Wonderful old farm houses, historical villas and restaurants, lovingly restored and adapted for contemporary needs, will welcome you, your family and friends, during your vacation!

Amusements are endless; Trekking, bicycling, horse riding and every kind of entertainment are possible. The lovely sandy beaches of the Versilia coast line, are only 20 mins away, famous for the beautiful “Bagni” (beach clubs), and the sparkling night life

Other Activities: Shopping, Parasailing, Snowboarding, Hunting, Health/Beauty Spa, Hot air Ballooning

Photos

Rates & Availability

Centro Storico Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$325
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $200

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Centro Storico Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Monument View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Town
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
iron, hairdryer

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties