check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

ROSEMARIE NATHEWITCH

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english

RURAL KAPOHO AT IT'S BEST

21 Reviews
Sleeps3
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kapoho Cottage Rental Photos and Description

5 ACRE GATED TOTAL PRIVATE COTTAGE IN AN OHI'A FOREST

TOTALLY PRIVATE 1,000 SQARE FT. COTTAGE SURROUNDED BY OHI'A TREES, PLAMS AND ORCHIDS. IF SERENITY IS WHAT YOUR LOOKING FOR IN A GETAWAY THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU. THE COTTAGE OPENS COMPLETELY TO THE OUTSIDE FLORA AND THE TRADE BREEZE JUST CARESSES YOUR SKIN. THE AIR IN KAPOHO IS SOME OF THE BEST AIR IN THE WORLD.

THE COTTAGE HAS A COMPLETE KITCHEN AND EVERYTHING YOU'D NEED TO ENJOY SOME OF THE BEST SNORKELING ON THE ISLAND, WHICH IS ONLY MINUTES AWAY. OH, I MUST NOT FORGET TO MENTION THE WARM POND, MY FAVORITE PLACE IN THE WHOLE WORLD, A MILE AWAY.

THE COTTAGE HAS A KING BED, A FUTON COUCH THAT OPENS TO A DOUBLE BED AND I ADD ANOTHER DOUBLE BED IF NEEDED FOR CHILDREN, THE COTTAGE IS CHILDREN FRIENDLY. THERE IS AN INSIDE SHOWER AND AN OUTSIDE SHOWER WHICH IS MY PERSONAL FAVORITE. (I LIVED IN THE COTTAGE WHILE I WAS BUILDING THE MAIN HOUSE). THE COTTAGE HAS A LIBRARY OF BOOKS, MAPS AND MOVIES TO WATCH ON DVD, SORRY THE COTTAGE DOESN'T HAVE TV. IT HAS WI-FI AND FREE LONG DISTANCE PHONE SERVICE ANY WHERE IN THE US AND CANADA.

MASSAGE CAN ALSO BE ARRANGED UPON REQUEST.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
ROSEMARIE NATHEWITCH (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english

About ROSEMARIE NATHEWITCH

RETIRED HAIRSTYLIST AFTER 40 YEARS, BUT STILL CUT A BIT AT HOME.

I LIVE ON THE PROPERTY AS WELL ( ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THE PROPERTY) WITH MY 94 YEAR OLD MOM WHO I BROUGHT TO LIVE WITH ME 2 1/2 YEARS AGO. WHO BY THE WAY IS STILL HOLDING HER OWN. AND I MUST NOT FORGET BELLA, MY 11 YEAR OLD JACK RUSSELL.

ROSEMARIE NATHEWITCH purchased this cottage in 2002

Why ROSEMARIE NATHEWITCH chose Puna District

THE BEAUTY AND SERENITY YOU'LL FEEL ONCE YOU PASS THROUGH MY GATE IS LIKE NOTHING ELSE IN KAPOHO. YOU'LL FEEL LIKE YOU HAVE THE WHOLE PROPERTY TO YOURSELF. THE FOREST IS STILL PRETTY MUCH UNTOUCHED. I KEPT THE ORIGINAL FOREST. I WAS THE FIRST PERSON TO OPEN THE PROPERTY IN 2002, I WANTED TO KEEP THE BOTANICAL BEAUTY AND 450 YEARS OLD LAVA FORMATIONS THAT REMIND ME OF PELE'S SCULPTURES.

THIS PROPERTY IS A MUST SEE AND ENJOY.

What makes this cottage unique

THE PRIVACY AND THE FEEL OF SERENITY ONCE YOU ENTER THIS UNIQUE BOTANICAL PARADISE.

SO PRIVATE AND SO CLOSE TO THE OCEAN WITHOUT HAVING NEIGHBORS.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Rose,

Thank you for the wonderful stay in your lovely cottage. We treasure the time we are having as we discuss new places and new faces during our visit. It's hard to believe our stay is coming to an end this week. We'll miss the peaceful setting, the frog song and the fresh air.

Thank you for making this place available! We are feeling oh so good,

Pam and John
Apr 2010
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

5
based on 21 traveler reviews

RURAL KAPOHO AT IT'S BEST
average rating of 4.952381 based on 25 reviews
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
5

Perfect Hawaian experience

  • 5 of 5

We spent 4 memorable days on Rosemary's property.We loved the privacy and the beauty of the garden, the large, clean and very well equipped loft.And of course the outdoor shower! Rosemary was so nice and she gave us a lot of informations. She find time to welcome us even if that was a very difficult and sad period of her life.

We did a lot of activities : Volcano park, Mauna Kea, Waipio valley and we did snorkelling for the first time in our lives at the Tide ponds. It was really very impressive and a few days later, when we compared the Tide ponds experience with the more publicized Molokini Crater in Maui, the three of us found the first one better.The water was more clear, the variety of corals and fishes bigger and in the morning we were almost alone in this beautiful place.

After 6 month we keep a very pleasant souvenir and we hope to have the chance to rent this house for a longer period. Thank you Rosemary for everything!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely, peaceful, exceptional owner ...

  • 5 of 5

Can't say enough ... beautiful flowers, super private, Rose is so pleasant, lovely space and breeze ... and the outdoor shower is heavenly ... loved the area and had some excellent meals in Pahoa ... go to the local farmers market if you are there on Sundays ...we did a few tours ... one to Volcano park and one up to Mauna Kea. A day of exploring then a day of rest ... had stocked up in Kona at the Costco...worked very well ... miss it already.

  • Submitted: May 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wow what a week!!!!

  • 5 of 5

Aloha!!

First let me start by saying how great Ms. Rosie was and how wonderful the out door shower was!!! I surprised my wife with a trip to the Big Island for our 30th wedding anniversary celebration and this was the place! My wife's statement to me on the second day into the trip was that if we went home today the cottage would been worth the whole trip!! She said that I did GOOD and this was the perfect place. We loved the open floor plan and to sleep with the all the doors wide open while listening to the rain was so relaxing. Rosie provided everything and it was nice to have a grill, snorkel gear, chairs, mats, and a cooler, just what was need for our road trips and beach trips. We loved the isolation and the outside shower was a big hit!! 1 mile from the thermal tide pool at sunrise is a must and don't miss Uncle Robert's on Wednesday nights. We had everything we needed and Rosie made it very special. I high recommend this cottage for your stay on the Big Island and if I forgot to tell you the out door shower was awesome!!

Mahalo Rosie!!!

Must do things: Mauna Kea Observatories 13,000 ft at sunset; Ken's Pancake House; Uncle Robert's: Visit Gary the Lava guy's house;The Botanical Gardens; Kappa Beach Park for sun sets and whale watching; Pahoa Sunday market

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Vancouver/Whistler, Canada
5

The best in Pahoa!!

  • 5 of 5

If you travel to the Hawaiian 'Big Island', you would be missing most of what this 'island is all about' if you missed staying on the windward/east side. Think of: active volcanoes, recent lava flows, geothermal swimming holes, jungle, wild orchids and roadside fruit vendors. Our stay at this lovely cottage made for the perfect home base to explore the amazing surroundings. It's located in a rural setting about an hour drive south from Hilo, and completely worth the effort. Set on a lovely property with beautiful gardens, the cottage is comfortably furnished with all the conveniences required for a memorable 'island getaway' and the best 'outdoor shower' ever!! Dealing with the owner, Rose, was a pleasure and we look forward to planning another visit... Mahalo

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Secluded, relaxing hideaway

  • 5 of 5

We spent four wonderful nights at Rosemarie's bungalow and they were the high point of our recent trip to the Big Island. The secluded, jungle setting was perfect; seeing orchids and bromeliads sprinkled throughout the landscape was amazing.

We never closed the doors and let the breeze provide all the ventilation we needed. The geckos provided us with company while the coqui frogs did make sleeping a little problematic. Earplugs helped, but I would consider bringing a white noise machine next time.

Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

What a Find This Is!

  • 5 of 5

We're so happy we decided to take a break from timeshares and do this. We loved every minute. Being from Seattle, we didn't mind the occasional rain, especially since it was warm rain. This was our third week on the island, and the most enjoyable. We loved exploring the local area, starting with the beautiful, well kept grounds, the nearby beach park with warm ponds, the beautiful drive down the coast, the scenic lava tree park, the interesting Old Pohoa Town with some cool restaurants, and, of course, the Kilauea Volcano that is just an hour drive away. Rosie is a delight and very helpful. The very well-stocked home is the largest one bedroom we have ever been in. We loved how we could open up the large doors on two walls and have the air flow right through. We definitely plan to return.

  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
28 Miles
Hilo International
Nearest Barpub
8 Miles
Pahoa town
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
137
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Pahoa town
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Tidal ponds and warm pond
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kapoho Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$140
$850
$3,000
 

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kapoho Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • inside - toilet , shower , outdoor shower
  • One inside and one outside
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 3
  • studio - 1 king , 1 double
  • King bed, and a double bed provided for children. The futon couch also opens to a double bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair accessible
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The ocean is just minutes away for some of the best snorkeling on the island. Volcano National Park is just 45 minutes away. Lava Tree State Park you pass on the way here, just 4 miles out of Pahoa and 4 miles from here. The 'Red Road' (Route 137) is a drive I still love after enjoying it for 35 years. It is a beautiful drive along the ocean (10 miles) to Kalapana.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties