Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

MANZANITA: Pet Friendly Retreat W/ Hot Tub & Frplc, 2 Blks to Beach (MCA#1284)

Bedrooms 4
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

4 Bedroom, 3 Bath, 2 Kitchens, Close to Town & Beach, Family Friendly-MCA#1284

Beautiful, private home in a quiet neighborhood just a few minutes walk to the beach or quaint downtown Manzanita.

Comfortable, yet bright, original decor with overstuffed couches and chairs in an open living/dining space with vaulted ceilings and a wall of windows to let in the light or watch a winter storm. Two full kitchens with all the accoutrements you'll need for cooking/entertaining.

Separate apartment downstairs with 2 bedrooms and a futon, perfect for two families or a little extra privacy. There are two spacious bedrooms upstairs, one is a master suite with an attached bathroom.

Enjoy gathering outdoors and grilling on the private upper deck or soaking in the large spa on the downstairs patio. Other amenities include a big screen TV, wifi, surround sound powered by SONOS, small office space and washer & dryer. Plenty of toys for the kids, a foosball table and some beach equipment available in the garage.

Our home-away-from-home is perfect for your next family vacation, romantic get away or work retreat. Manzanita License #MCA1284

More Details

Brenda Gunderson
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 15, 2017

About Brenda Gunderson

My husband Dave and I are both native to the Northwest and currently live in Portland. I am a Artist, Realtor and a Portland native, and Dave is a semi-retired commercial fisherman and marine electrician from Alaska.. so of course he loves the coast. We like to buy and fix up properties and have some other rentals in Portland, so when times got tough, we knew it made sense to rent out our beach house to help cover the cost of owning a second home. In the 6 years we have been doing short-term rental in Manzanita, we have enjoyed the experience of sharing our little piece of Oregon paradise. We have been married 7 years, and between us we have three children, 4 grand children, and a siberian husky, McKinley. Whenever we think we might be too busy to head off to the coast, we just take one look at our dog and picture him running down the beach with his tongue hanging out and the decision is made.

Why Brenda Gunderson chose Coastal Oregon

One of our favorite things about our beach home is the location. My husband and I love Manzanita. It isn't as touristy as many beach towns, but there are enough shops and restaurants to entertain us and everyone is friendly. The little grocery store in the middle of town seems to have everything and the Sand Dune pub often has excellent food and live music (and they let dogs come through to sit on the back deck). The open stretch of beach is amazing and protected from the wind and weather somewhat by nearby Neakahnie Mountain, but we still get enough wind to attract Kiteboarders on some afternoons. Speaking of mountains, the trailhead is only 5 minutes away and we enjoy hiking to the top for exercise and taking in the amazing view. We love to crab/fish in Nehalem Bay, bike/walk at the nearby statepark or head 20 minutes North to watch the surfers at Oswald West State park and explore the caves at Another favorite past time is antique shopping in Wheeler just 10 minutes south, or collecting driftwood and mussels at Manahattan Beach wayside near Rockaway about 20 minutes south. We love the privacy and quiet our home offers too for the times we just want to hang out and relax. I don't think we've ever come to our home in Manzanita and not enjoyed our stay.

What makes this house unique

With the warmth inside and set back in the trees, a few blocks from the beach, the storm can be raging and you'll feel safe and warm. With the bright decor you are uplifted, even on the gloomiest days. On sunny days you can catch rays on the private back deck and hardly know the wind is blowing or that nearby neighbors even exist. It is a second home for us, not just a vacation rental and we think this feeling of 'home' will shine through, from the decor to the books, games, kids toys and well stocked kitchen, you'll have everything you need to snuggle in and feel comfortable.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a wonderful Happy Birthday Sarah Weekend. The weather was beautiful, we enjoyed kite flying on the beach, local crabs & oysters for dinner and all around everything about this cozy fun beach house! We hope to be back for more fun, more soaks n the hot tub, more foosball tournaments and fires on the deck.

Bethany, Matt, Sarah, Heathy, Brook, Cara, Rachel & Lindsey
Apr 2009
  • 1 of 8


Manzanita Grocery
"I love this local grocery store! You would be amazed by the huge variety packed into a tiny..."
Oswald West State Park
"Beautiful beach just a ways North on 101. It is fun to walk down to the beach and watch the ..."
Manzanita Golf Course
San Dune Pub
"Live music, sports on big screen TV's, outdoor patio and great food"
Nearest Airport
1 Miles
Nehalem Bay Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
San Dune Pub
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Manzanita Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Hwy 101
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Nearest Beach
0.15 Miles
Car: not necessary

A short walk to the beach and downtown. Hop in the car for a quick drive North to the Nehakanie Mountain trail head...haunted by the legend of lost Spanish treasure. Spectacular view of Manzanita and Nehalem Bay from the top of the 1.5 mile trek. Head south on Hwy 101 to rent kayaks in Nehalem or go crabbing for Dungeness crab at Wheeler Marina.


Manzanita House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • Never leave your pets unattended in the house, garage, or yard. $45.00 fee for second dog will be deducted from security deposit.
  • Quiet hours are before 8AM and after 11PM. If on the deck, just bring the party inside when it gets late. Thanks.
  • DO NOT MESS with TV or electronic equipment. Do not plug in games. If something isn't working contact us. There may be a $100.00 fine for tampering.
Location Type:
  • Village ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , In Master Bedroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , In downstairs bedroom
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master Bedroom with Bath
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
  • We have a futon as well for xtra sleeping, plus cushioned floor mats and a blow up air mattress.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • bay/sound
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

93% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
MANZANITA: Pet Friendly Retreat W/ Hot Tub & Frplc, 2 Blks to Beach (MCA#1284)
average rating of 4.870968 based on 39 reviews

Clean & Cozy - Great for a big group!

  • 5 of 5

This was a great house for our group of girls - lots of space and thoughtful amenities. Dog towels, beach mats, etc. We cooked most meals at the house and found the kitchen stocked with everything we needed. Bedrooms were super cozy and clean. The patio was very private with lots of outdoor seating. Walk to town was maybe 5 minutes with walk to the beach even shorter. Our host Brenda was helpful and responsive. GREAT spot! Thank you again Brenda! Hope to stay here again!

  • Submitted: May 25, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Already looking forward to next year

  • 5 of 5

This was our third time staying here, and it's perfect for us. We are two family with teen & tween kids - the location is perfect, and the foozball table and hot tub are very popular! There's plenty of space for everyone. The house is always spotless, and the kitchen has everything you need and more. Brenda is great to work with, and is super communicative and helpful.

It's an easy walk to the beach and to town, and we spend as little time in the car as possible.

Can't wait to come back next year!

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Salt Lake City

Great Stay at a Great Place

  • 5 of 5

My family and I really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this place to anyone. Hope to return again!

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Bright, cheery and family friendly!!

  • 5 of 5

It couldn't have been a better week at the Oregon coast. Beautiful home with everything we needed to enjoy a family vacation. The only suggestion would be to have more wine glasses, as the deck was so inviting and a great spot to enjoy an evening happy hour! The kids were well entertained with the foosball table and toys, and the beach was a close walk away. We would definitely book this home again!

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful home

  • 5 of 5

We found everything we needed at Worldwind, it was fully equipped in the kitchen, with games and beachtoys for everyone! We didn't utilize the kitchen downstairs, but nice for two families staying there. The beach wagon came in handy for our daily walks to the ocean. This is a beautiful home if you wave a large group and want to relax, walk to the ocean, enjoy the quiet village of Manzanilla. Not far from great day trips like Short Sands and Cannon Beach. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Adequate, but not worth the price

  • 2 of 5

The house was super spacious and had a very well stocked kitchen! Had lots of games to play and a great entertainment system although the TV was really high up on the wall (unusually so), when you watched it your neck hurt from bending your head back to see it! Smelled very musty, esp in the basement. We had a hard time breathing downstairs due to musty, mildew smell. There were no screens on the windows so we couldn't open up the house to cool it off without mosquitoes and flies. If there were fans or air conditioning of some sort that wouldn't have been so much of an issue, but we don't like flies in our food or bug bites.There were 7 in our party and no small tables to put drinks on outside on the deck- spills due to having drinks on the ground! The beds were comfortable and clean but the "extra" blankets in the closet were filthy, we had to wash them before we could use them for the futon downstairs. There was something smeared all over wall behind futon when pulled out to use.Also extra mattress pads in closet had white "drool" marks (or something else) on them, pretty gross! The bottom of the shower doors had mold build up on them. On our last day the owner (didn't know was owner at that time) drove up and saw two in our party smoking in driveway (the only place we allowed smoking was in street in front of driveway) and she got out of the car asking what we were doing and offered to take our picture but didn't say who they were. A hour after we left I received a text that they smelled smoke in their house which is a no smoking house. There had been absolutely NO smoking anywhere in or around the house . We happened to have forgotten a charger so we drove back to the house only to discover the "passerby" who took our picture was the owner (how strange not to introduce yourself to someone that just spent a small fortune for a few day's use! I told him I felt offended that he thought we smoked in his house and we left the house cleaner than when we arrived. He was rude, and mocked me repeating "Oh I'm so sorry you felt offended" and said "if you got your charger then goodbye!" Not a thank you for leaving his house so spic and span, not a "how was your stay" not a "so glad you chose us", nothing but rudeness! His wife later called me to apologize for his behavior and to tell me she appreciated how clean we left their house. I appreciated her phone call, but would not recommend anyone renting from this rude man!

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Everyone has a right to their opinions, but out of 36+ reviews and several years, this is the only negative review we've ever received. No one has ever complained about cleanliness; in fact, several reviews actually mention how clean the home is. The home is not new, but we pride ourselves on keeping it very clean. From the moment this guest arrived at our home there were complaints..from someone who I think could not be satisfied. We did check into the claims described to make corrections needed, and although we still don't have screens on all the windows..there are fans at the house and it is in on the list to have new windows (which will have screens) within the next year. I think the musty smell might have been from an old log we brought up from the beach and made into an end table (it had some creosote on it), we will remove it. Looking back maybe I should have introduced myself, but happened to drive by about 20 minutes prior to check-out time and didn't want them to feel rushed or awkward. I already explained this, but can see how it might have appeared rude. I feel bad about that. I didn't hear the conversation but if my husband seemed rude, maybe he was frustrated by all the complaining and the note that was left. I'm sorry someone was offended. Because I don't want anyone to be unhappy with their vacation at our home, I even offered a discount which was declined. I can't do much about the past, but I'm confident future guests, who want to come find out for themselves, will be more than satisfied.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $45 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Base Cleaning Fee Varies $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

When booking on home away, your payment implies acceptance of our vacation rental agreement, which outlines our house rules, cleaning fees, and cancellation policy. Please make sure you read this agreement before booking. Our home is strictly non-smoking. Cleaning for 2 people $120.00, 4 people $140.00, 5-8 people $160.00, 9-12 people $180.00 Thx

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties