check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Kim MacQuarrie

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english, spanish

Luxurious Sleeps 6 With Bedouin Tent (entertainment), Fireplaces And Terraces

11 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


San Miguel de Allende House Rental Photos and Description

3 unique Bedrooms, each with private bathroom and fireplace.

From the Bedouin tent to the grand piano, this amazing house features things you won't find anywhere else in San Miguel. Every room has it's own full bath and fireplace. Each room looks out onto the flower laden courtyard in the middle of the house where you can awaken each morning to the bubbling water feature and delightful birdsongs. There are several areas to relax from your days' adventures. No matter which beautiful room you rent, you have access to the 2 rooftop gazebos , or covered outdoor den, each boasting its' own view of lovely San Miguel de Allende. The home is in a very safe neighborhood, close to everything you might like to do from shopping to restaurants, theaters, dancing, films, art galleries and entertainment of every kind. All this is a 10 to 15 minute walk away. Taxis are available as well for a nominal fee.

The home is our personal residence. Our private quarters are in one corner of the property and are locked when we are away. You will have all the privacy you need or desire even if we are in residence, because the home is spacious and spread out and has many private spaces. We have enjoyed hosting many people and have made some great friends. (We interact with guests only if both desire it.) We never rent our part of the home and none of the photographs depict the owners quarters. Please be respectful of our personal belongings.( A small refrigerator will be supplied in each room.)

More Details
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Kim MacQuarrie (Property Manager)
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english, spanish

About Kim MacQuarrie

We are a couple who have owned property here in San Miguel since 2005. We know the town well and are excited to share it with our friends!

Kim MacQuarrie purchased this house in 2012

Why Kim MacQuarrie chose San Miguel de Allende

This property blew us away when we first saw it! It had everything we wanted and things we couldn't imagine we would get. There were many surprises as we walked through the house for the first time. Once we had seen it we looked at each other and both knew that this was the place for us!

What makes this house unique

Yes, it's an amazing location. Yes, it has more than enough room. Yes, we feel completely safe staying in this beautiful home. But what we never cease to notice are the details put into the property. For starters, what other house in town has a Bedouin tent inside that you can stay in?!? We've never seen one before but we thought it was so great that we kept it. Other little things like the beveled windows and the mature garden. This hacienda/home has obviously been taken care of by someone very passionate about their surroundings. We then added our personal touches such as our own original artwork and a grand piano which gets use by many of our guests.

Those are just a few things we love about this home. Then there are the fireplaces in every room, and the fountain in the middle of the garden. Everyone seems to find their own favorite piece of this house, and we know you will too!


based on 11 traveler reviews

Luxurious Sleeps 6 With Bedouin Tent (entertainment), Fireplaces And Terraces
average rating of 4.5454545 based on 11 reviews

Wonderful hosts, wonderful home!

  • 5 of 5

The host and hostess of this grand hacienda were by far the most accommodating and enjoyable couple I have yet experienced in my many visits to San Miguel. I have to dispel any question of their integrity that was brought up by another review. The owners graciously accepted a last minute booking as the house I had been staying in had no water due to water line work on the street ... So I was fortunate to stay in one of the many beautiful bedrooms, and baths, and experience the convenient and unique neighborhood near the center of San Miguel. I certainly look forward to future stays in this home! I have found my spot in San Miguel!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: You are always welcome in our home. We would like every guest to have the experience you had and are so glad you enjoyed our hacienda as much as we do. San Miguel is a wonderful, exciting city and Casa del Silbador is a magical place to experience it from! Best regards, Annika and Michael
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Stunning Home - Owner Double Booked Rental

  • 2 of 5

This home was absolutely amazing, however the property could not out-weigh the terrible customer service. The home owner double-booked the rental on the last day. He booked us a single room in a hotel for the last night. We advised him that we were willing to work with him and he assured us that we could have the home the last day as long as we needed it and he also advised us he would refund us one night stay for the inconvenience. We have yet to receive this refund. Additionally, we were not able to use the house for the full day and were advised on the last day we had 45 minutes to clear out. The home owner was not available during our stay. San Miguel is stunning. This home is beautiful. The owner experience was unprofessional.

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry you experienced the last day as so difficult. Remember that long before you arrived in San Miguel, we were on the phone together, looking at the various San Miguel hotels on line that we could book for you because of the unfortunate double booking at our home, which you were aware of before you even traveled to Mexico. You selected the hotel you wanted and the booking was made and paid for by us. in addition, we refunded your entire last night which we sent to the address you provided. I hope you have received it. We felt it was only right to not only refund your last nights stay with us, but also to provide the hotel room of your choice at our expence, which we did. We have learned that we need to only book through the website and not do what we did with you and the other guests sending us checks. The problem that created was that the calender does not get properly marked and the unfortunate double booking occured. We tried our best to help make your stay as pleasant as possible in San Miguel.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1
Lansing, MI

A Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5

The home and hosts were fabulous. We sat by the fireplace on a beautiful terrace overlooking a fountain and flower filled patio sipping coffee in the morning. The spacious home with various living and dining areas is filled with art and comfortable furnishings that are all topped off with a gourmet kitchen.. San Miguel is a hub of music, lectures, conferences, restaurants and shopping so there is much to do both in this sumptuous home and in the surrounding city! Wonderful experience.

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Central, Stunning, Clean, Safe

  • 5 of 5

I was blown away when I first walked into to this conveniently located house. It is a work of art both in the architecture as well as the interior design and decorating. The accommodations are clean and well done. The courtyard is open to the sky and one of the most memorable things for me was waking up to the sound of sweet little birds flying down to drink for the beautiful courtyard fountain. The housekeeper comes every other day or so and keeps things in order but she is discreet and quiet. There is internet access that worked really well considering this is Mexico. I actually had a much better connection than I was expecting. The rooftop decks give an excellent view of the city and some of the quirkiness of a Mexican neighborhood. There is a cool theater room that is unlike any room I've ever seen! Its tented and cozy and an experience just to be in. The owners were very helpful and accommodating. I felt very welcome, comfortable and safe. I will definitely return and highly recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Wonderful Vacation in San Miguel

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this property the first week in November 2013.We loved it!

The house is built in classical Mexican hacienda style.It´s beautifully designed,comfortable, clean and well maintained. The location is perfect, just a few minutes walk from the Old City Center,with wonderful restaurants serving great food and drinks. We will come back again in November 2014, because the house was so great, safe and close to everything.We gladly recommend a stay in this property for a nice and memorable vacation in San Miguel.

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New York City

Beautiful space, wonderful hosts

  • 5 of 5

We arrived on the doorstep of this beautiful home without a place to stay in SMA, as the other location we had booked online was not satisfactory. Michael could not have been more welcoming or accommodating and we were blown away by how beautiful their property is. While the common areas are shared in this setting, we felt there was abundant privacy and various seating outdoor seating areas to relax and unwind. The location was perfect for us - a very easy walk to all of the key sites, yet set just far enough from the Jardin and all of the action to be nice and quiet. Don't hesitate to book your vacation stay here!

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
110 Kilometres
Leon, Guanajuato (BJX)
Nearest Barpub
500 Metres
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
Car: not necessary

Make sure you book enough time in San Miguel, it's a town that comes more alive the more time you are here. Conde Naste readers had many reasons for voting San Miguel de Allende the best city in the world to visit in 2013.


Rates & Availability

San Miguel de Allende House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79
Tax Rate 8.0%

Rooms are also rented individually. You still have access to the rest of the house and rooftop areas. Prices are as follows:regular/winter rates Garden room $98.00/110.00, Artist studio and Casita $115.00/125.00.
No large groups allowed. No events in the home.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


San Miguel de Allende House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathrooms 3 - toilet , shower , Each bedroom has its own private bathroom.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • The Artists' Studio - 1 king , Full bath, seating area and fireplace.
    The Casita - 1 queen , Private bathroom,seating area, fireplace and kitchenette
    The Garden Room - 1 queen , This cute room has a full bath and a fireplace
  • Each bedroom has it's own vibe and personality. The Artist Studio is on the second floor, is large with plenty of desk space and a walk in closet. The king bed is a work of art itself . All of the rooms have their own full bath and fireplace.
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Tennis ...
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Staff
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • swimming
Casa del Silbador is our personal residence. Our Quarters, which are tucked in the corner of the property, are locked up when we are away. They are NEVER rented out. Although we make every effort to provide internet/WIFI and telephone service, this IS Mexico and these services at times do not work perfectly, which is out of our control.

Partner Offers