check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Matthew

Member since: 2013
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Amazing sandy bottom beach, fishing, ORV trails, all sports lake

5 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Northern Michigan Cottage Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Large Fireplace

Very cozy cottage, with three bedrooms and 1 full bath. Enjoy large stone fireplace on cold fall/winter nights or the sandy beach in the summer and the beautiful colors in the fall.

1 bedroom with double bed and dresser

2nd bedroom with doubel bed and dresser

3rd bedroom has 2 twin beds and dresser

There is an additional futon if needed.

The cottage is equiped with basic needs. Cable TV, Coffee pot, dishes, cooking ware, grill, all your bedding needs.

No laundry facility in cottage. Closest laundry is in Mancelona 8 miles away.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Matthew (Property Manager)
Member since: 2013
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Why Matthew chose Northern Michigan

We have a cottage on the lake and have made so many fond memories. We know that you and your family and friends will do the same.

What makes this cottage unique

Starvation Lake is an amazing place to vacation. You are so close to other neighboring Michigan attractions. There is something for everyone. Swimming, ORV trails, hiking, kayaking, boating, great fishing. Restraunt and Little country store within walking distance.

Reviews

4.4
based on 5 traveler reviews

Amazing sandy bottom beach, fishing, ORV trails, all sports lake
average rating of 4.4 based on 5 reviews
5

Cute & cozy cottage

  • 5 of 5

Rented this cottage with a few adults for New Years, cute little place and clean upon arrival. Owners were extremely helpful with any questions and answered our calls right away. Will definitely stay again in the summer to enjoy the lake right in the backyard!

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review. We look forward to having you as future guest. The lake is beautiful in the summer!!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Family Vacation!

  • 4 of 5

July means time for our annual family vacation, and like before we turned to VRBO for a good a time! As usual, we weren't disappointed.

Now, my wife & I have never heard of Starvation Lake, and to be honest the name gave us some doubts. Turns out the lake was actually a really nice all sports lake. Although small, it didn't seem overcrowded and the water was clean. Unfortunately there is no marina to rent a boat without trailering it in, and we didn’t get anything but a few nibbles while fishing.

The cottage sits on the same piece of property as a larger cottage for rent. You share a driveway and some parking, but the beach side is large and sandy. On the other side is the public boat launch that saw steady action and a few swimmers that ignored the no swimming sign. Again, the beach was large enough that it didn't interfere with our fun. There is a small dock between the cabins, that fell just short of the beach, so you do have to get your feet a little wet to walk out on to it. There was also a paddle boat that we shared with the neighbors in the larger cabin, and some supplied beach toys. I think my favorite times were when my sons, (8 & 4) my wife, & I would just sit outside and swim all day.

The cabin itself was clean, small, and served its purpose well. It could use a little TLC since there were some ripped screens and a few small broken finishing touches. (i.e. a missing drawer front, burns in the carpet from the fireplace, etc...) The bedrooms were nice and came equipped with fans, bedding, and fairly comfortable mattresses. The bathroom could use a remodel, but was perfectly functional for what was needed. Watch out for the reversed hot/cold on the sink and shower though! lol The kitchen was stocked with cookware, includes a small refrigerator, stove, microwave, and toaster oven. There is Direct T.V. which was useful during the rain or late evenings.

Plan any day trips ahead of time or bring a map, because there is little to no cell phone reception, no land line, and no WiFi in the cabin. The lake is about and hour from Traverse City, and 20 mins from Mancelona. We visited Traverse City a couple times to play mini-golf, get ice-cream, go to dinner, and swim in Lake Michigan. We also went to Sleeping Bear Dunes, The beach in Empire, and Short’s Brewery in Bellaire.

The owners were great to work with. They reply quickly to emails and were quick to refund our security deposit.

Thanks again for a great family vacation!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review! I apologize you weren't aware we had wifi. The password for the wifi is in the white binder with all the cottage information. I will double check to make sure it is still there... We continue to update the cottages in the off season, we hope to update the few items mentioned. We hope you choose us for future stays!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

AMAZING

  • 5 of 5

The house was exactly as pictured, fully equiped. Property was very clean and well maintained. The owern's were great following thru with the reservation. Our family had a great Memorial weekend and look forward to another trip.

  • Submitted: May 28, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Davison
4

Great Cabin for a couple or small family. Awesome!

  • 4 of 5

Wew used this for a winter honeymoon hide-a-way.(Plus I got to bring my golden retriever) We enjoed 5 days for the price of 2 up at Shanty Creek, where I skiied.The ice was 20 inches thick even that late in the year and I caught an 18 inch rainbow the 1st morning I fished, 50 feet out front!. We enjoyed the firerplace but also brougt a EdenPure radiant heater which came in handy upstairs. Very Clean and Cozy. We'd love to go again in the summer!

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you both for the nice review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Since we have owned the properties you may be the first to icefish? Glad to hear it was successful. We have had many guest catch a variety of pan fish, large and small mouth bass and guest always seem to catch trout. We are booking up for the summer season so look us up soon, we would love to have you as our guest! Your story is a memorable one that hits home to us! Best regards, Matt and Joli
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Cleared the lake of fish

  • 4 of 5

We rented both cottages this summer and found this one to be perfect for the single siblings. The rooms were small, but perfect for just 1 person w/o kids. We did all our cooking in the larger cottage, but we know the that kitchen was stocked for basic cooking and there was a great bonfire pit outside. The sandy beach was great for the kids and the boat launch was pretty quiet all week (that was a little concern at first). Thanks again for a great stay!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
37 Miles
Traverse City
Nearest Barpub
Hide Away Bar and Grill walking distance
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Many to choose from
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
75
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Shirleys downtown Mancelona
Nearest Ski
28 Miles
Boyne City

ORV and snowmobile trails located right across the street. Horseback riding with in 15 minutes. Starvation Lake has beautiful sandy bottom beach. Public launch so bring your water toys kayaks, canoes, boat, jetski etc.

One of the best fishing holes is right out in front of the cottage.

Nearest town is Mancelona and only a 10 min drive. You will find a full grocery store, bank, coin laundry, restraunts.

Hideaway Bar and Grill and the Little Corner store are within walking distance.

Travese City 37 miles

Boyne City 28

Petosky 38 miles

Alden 12 miles

Torch Lake 13 miles

Mackinaw 82 miles

Sleeping Bear Dunes 60 miles

Photos

Rates & Availability

Mancelona Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 1 2016 - Sep 10 2016
7 night minimum stay
$799
 
 
Fall/winter
Sep 11 2016 - May 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
$139
$899
 
 
Summer
May 28 2017 - Sep 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$899
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$125
$799
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning $75
Tax Rate 6.0%

You mail in $250.00 deposit that is refundable within two weeks after reservation. Once check is received the deposit holds and books your reservation.
Matthew Jones
1243 Lincoln
Wyandotte Mi 48192

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Northern Michigan Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Shower head is lower than regular bath size
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties