Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Family-friendly Country Cottage In South Iceland - middle of the Golden Circle

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms1
Space 65 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedroom Cottage With Spectacular Views

Golden circle! Open year-round for travelers.

A fully modernized charming family owned cottage, located in a beautiful landscape only an hour´s drive from reykjavík.

The cottage is 65 sq. With four bedrooms, three are in the main house, each with a double bed (160) and extra bunk beds (80) in one of them. Sleeps 6-8 people. Also a small cottage on the veranda with a double bed (150). One bathroom with a shower is in the main house. Fully equipped kitchen. The kitchen, dining area and the living room are an open space. In the living room area is a beautiful fireplace on those cold winter nights. The cottage has a central heating all year round.

There is a terrace in front of the cottage where there is a charcoal grill and garden furnitures from where you can enjoy the spectacular views, the midnight sun or the northern lights. On a lower deck you will find a great hot tub that is automatically heated for 8-10 people to relax. Parking is in front of the cottage for several cars.

Fantastic view over south iceland, Hekla and Eyjafjallajökull.

All the major nature pearls in south iceland - Gullfoss and Geysir, Thingvellir national park, Langjökull glacier, Kerið crater, Friðheimar tomato farm, Laugarvatn village are all in the neighbourhood. Northern lights can often be seen during winter time.

Conveniently located for a day´s trip to Landmannalaugar, Thorsmork, Skógafoss waterfall, Háifoss waterfall, Thjórsárdalur valley, Vatnajökull glacier, Skaftafell national park and jökulsárlón glacier lagoon.

In Laugarvatn village you will find grocery shop, medical service, bank, liquor store, swimming pool, spa, restaurants etc. In Fludir village you can buy fresh vegetables from the green houses in the area as well as the Secret Lagoon, supermarket and liquor store.

Hiking: various paths for short or long walks

Golf: several possibilities. 5 - 30 minute drive

Several swimming pools in the neighbourhood.

Horse riding

Fishing

More Details

Owner
Oddný Arnarsdóttir
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, german, spanish, danish
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 20, 2017

Amenities

Southern Region Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 65 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 2 child bed , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • 4 bedrooms
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • caves
  • churches
  • festivals
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

63% Complete
27% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
Family-friendly Country Cottage In South Iceland - middle of the Golden Circle
average rating of 4.4545455 based on 11 reviews
5

Stunning location and landscape!! Loved it

  • 5 of 5

We had the most amazing time over Oddny's cabin.

Since the beginning, she was very helpful and friendly replying to all my emails. As we first spent couple of days around Vik, we wouldn't have a chance to collect the keys near Reykjavik, so Oddny arranged for her brother to meet us at the cabin and hand us the key. He then showed us all facilities, hot tube, barbeque, gate, etc... He was very lovely too and made us feel just as at home.

The location is amazing! Right on top of a hill surrounded by nature and a breathtaking view and landscape. We were so lucky to see the mountains all covered by snow.. what a winter dream! Not only about the landscape, but the cabin is in the heart of the Golden Circle, so once you are there, you are minutes away from the touristic points, such as waterfalls, Geyser, horse ride and also 15 minutes driving from Fludir, a small village where you can find supermarket, wine shop and other facilities.

Not to mention, the luxury of watching the Northen Lights by your door step! Yes, the location is superb! We stayed over three nights, and for two nights we had the pleasure of seeing the dancing aurora just by our doorstep drinking wine and appreciating the moment, so relax!

The cabin offers everything you need for a winter break, fireplace and hot tube really make it special. Also, you find everything you need for cooking, such as utensils. The bedrooms are comfortable and the rustic style gives the living room and balcony area a plus.

I would definitely would be back to this cabin and would spend more time. I recommend it as 100%. happy holidays, Thank you Oddny :)

Stunning location, amazing cabin and the luxury of Northen Lights by your doorstep!

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great lodge in fantastic setting.

  • 4 of 5

We have just returned from a week stay in a lovely well equipped family lodge. Oddny very helpful throughout the planning and also when we lost our way when almost there ( a 4WD is a must at this time of year, steep and snowy/icy track to get to the lodge). I paid by bank transfer, and collected the keys and gate phone from Oddny at a garage out of Reykjavik, neither of which was a problem. The only issue we found that as 2 families visiting, there was only 1 gate phone and quite often had to ring a lot to let each other in, we tried from our own phones but this didn't seem to work.

The lodge is perfectly situated to visit all the golden circle sites and some we done twice they were that beautiful. The lodge has stunning views and gave us fantastic views of the aurora most nights of our stay which we feel very lucky to have had. A visit to Laugarvatn spa is also highly recommended.

A fantastic base for making memories.

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New Jersey
2

Older Country cottage

  • 2 of 5

I had this property booked for my first three nights in Iceland. The debacle started when the host wanted me to meet her at a gas station near the airport instead of at the property, which was like 2 hours away. We had just arrived in Iceland at 430am, it was dark, and unfamiliar to us. We were lost for a while, until we called Oddny and she agreed to meet us at the art museum, where we parked to figure things out (luckily I bought a SIM card at the airport for our phone). This resulted in an extra hour or so to our journey. When we met, we paid her the rental amount in cash, and in hindsight, that should have been a red flag in itself. She gave us a cell phone to use to enter her gated community and a bag of towels.We arrived at the home, it smelled stale and triggered my mom's asthma and my son's (he had the flu right before leaving). I rented a room in a nearby hostel in Langurvatn for the night so no one got sick at the start of our trip. The cottage did not look as nice to me in person as it did in the photos. It looks like an old country cottage, not something luxurious. The hot water stunk awfully of sulphur, which again my mom is allergic to. The pillows were dirty and had stains on them. The house was stocked well with kitchen and cleaning equipment, toilet paper, and hand soap. Bring your own spices. The location is absolutely amazing, 10 minutes from geysir, 15 min from gulfoss, and 45 from Thingvellir. There was an awesome Tomato farm and ice cream/dairy farm near the cottage. We only stayed at this property the last night of our 3 booked nights. I proposed Oddny refund us half the money if we check out early and she agreed;however, I did not check out early or pursue the refund. We stayed in another HomeAway property during our trip, which 100% met our expectations, feel free to read my review of that property in Hellnar. If 4 and 5 star hotels are what you prefer, this property is not for you.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Nalini, Thank you for your feedback. I just want to go over a few things in your review. As we had agreed in previous communication you called me in the morning when your were leaving the airport. I had already sent you driving directions via e-mail on how and where to meet upon arrival and then gave you directions on the phone in the morning (gas station which is on the route to the cottage from the airport) so I could hand you over the keys and the phone for the gate. Once you called me and told me where you were I was more then happy to come to you as I did. I want to make clear that this did not add any time to your day since it takes 2,5 hrs to drive from the airport to the cottage in winter. Once I met you you paid me for the rental. I had offered either a bank transfer or payment upon arrival and you chose to pay upon arrival. I do not see why this should have been a red flag. I have had no complaints about a stale smell and am surprised as a day before you arrived people who were extremely happy with their stay, had just left. Since the cottage is out in the country we have to put an anti freezer in the toilets at nights we don‘t have guests in case it gets very cold as the plumbing would freeze and ruin the the pipes. Regarding sulfur in the water. In Iceland there is sulfur in all hot water in Iceland and if she is highly allergic to that she would have been also in other places in Iceland since almost all of Iceland uses geothermal water which contains sulfur dioxide. We advertise the house as family cottage and not luxurious which became clear to me you were looking for when you called me to complain about there not being any cable TV or high speed internet. It is well equipped with a fireplace and hot tub and enough space for everybody. This is a family cottage. I did agree to refund, of course, since that would have been the right thing to do. I tried to reach you the day after our conversation on several occasions and did not hear anything more from you. My brother came to the cottage and found all of you were staying there so you did stay the whole time although your mother and son stayed 2 nights in a hostel as I understood it. I have never had a bad review before since people are usually in love with the place. The persons staying before you and after you really loved their stay and everything about the cottage. I am sorry your stay did not fulfill your expectations but I hope you enjoyed Iceland. Sincerely, Oddný
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Tunbridge Wells, Kent, UK
4

Amazing lodge in a beautiful setting

  • 4 of 5

In the planning, (which was delayed by a year due to illness our side!) Oddny was very helpful and communicative and remained so throughout our stay.

When we arrived, we met with her father who gave us a show around with instructions plus recommendations for the fuel/logs etc plus directions for our trip to Geysir - just 10 minutes away by car.

Their lovely family home is perfectly situated in the Golden Circle and from here we saw all the main sites you come to Iceland for, except the northern lights as we were not lucky enough to get a glimpse from the geothermally heated outdoor hot tub!

It had snowed the day before and the temp was -14 when we arrived so a 4x4 is a good idea as it's access is via tracks once you leave the main road for c3-400 metres which are steep in places. We didn't have one, but did have metal studded tires and that was the minimum you could manage with.

We very much enjoyed our stay, and would/will return I am sure - in fact we have already recommended the place to some friends who might go at some point this year.

Can't rate the lodge & owners highly enough!

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fantastic place to stay

  • 5 of 5

This was a wonderful place for our family holiday. It was quiet and felt off the beaten track, but in reality it was close to the main golden circle sites (and a wonderful farm selling home made ice cream. Perfect for a 2 year old!). Huge views. Well equipped for family catering and a really homely feel inside. Great wifi. Lovely hot tub. Plenty of drying space for after any wet Icelandic days. Oddny and her family were wonderful hosts. They went out of their way to provide us with information and help whenever we needed it, both before and during the trip. When the hot tub thermostat went wrong, oddny had it fixed in less than 24 hours for us. Brilliant! Couldn't ask for more.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Cozy Cabin for Winter Adventures

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay in the cabin, although it was an adventure to get to with a foot of snow on the ground!

It was a lovely place to stay, with lots of beds even though we were only a family of four staying. Having a pack n play/crib available for our 6 month old was fantastic, and our three year old loved having a whole double bed and bedroom to herself, and playing upstairs in the loft. Everything was well maintained and clean, and it was a great location to Gullfoss and Geysir, and to the Golden Circle attractions.

If coming in the winter and there is snow on the ground a 4x4 vehicle is highly recommended/required. We arrived the day after a big snow and the winds whipped enough snow around that we had to wait for the plow to come around the next morning before we could get out (even with a 4x4 Suzuki).

The owners were very nice and helpful when we were driving around in the dark trying to decipher the road names and signs, and were nice enough to be waiting at the cabin for us to arrive, even though we wound up taking 2 hours longer than anticipated due to a road closure from the blowing snow.

All in all we had a lovely stay and enjoyed our time at the cabin! It would be an absolutely perfect place for the summertime, and it was great for winter with beautiful views of the mountains and the northern lights (just with the caveat of being a bit adventurous to get to if its snowy!)

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
140 Kilometres
Keflavík Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Kilometres
Réttin - Uthlid
Nearest Golf
1 Kilometres
Uthlid golf course
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
Réttin - Uthlid
Car: necessary

Our cottage is located in utlhlid, an area close to many of the main attractions in south of Iceland but also a quiet and grown area. In the closest are around the cottage are hiking trails, golf courses outdoor swimming pools, horse rentals and other activities. Only 10 kilometers away from the cottage you will find the famous geysir geothermal area and the golden waterfall. On the glacier langjökull there is a rental for skidoos. Daytours can be made to hekla volcano, thjorsardalur valley, the black sand beaches at vik, thingvellir national park, glacier hiking at solheimajökull glacier, spa in laugarvatn village and so much more. At the cottage you can relax on the very nice patio and enjoy the midnight sun during summer or the northern lights during winter time.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Additional Guest Fee $29.99 per person per night

Cleaning is not provided. We kindly ask guests to leave the cottage fully cleaned at departure. A charge of Euro 100 will be made if not complied.

Easter, Christmas and New Year are high season periods.

Confirmation fee is 1/3 of the amount and rest payed 1 month before arrival. Cancellation fee will apply if cancelled less then 30 days before arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties