check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jennifer and Jean

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, french

Bright, Modern 1 Bedroom Suite with Cozy Gas Fireplace on Beautiful Park

75 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Grandview-Woodland House Rental Photos and Description

Conveniently located bright, lovely & quiet one-bedroom on beautiful park

The Trout Lake Suite

This bright, spacious and newly renovated 1-bedroom garden suite is located across the street from the beautiful 68-acre John Hendry Park - known by locals as Trout Lake Park - and just blocks from the trendy restaurants, cafes and shops of Commercial Drive, making it the perfect oasis for vacationers, business travelers, renovators, and visiting family and friends.

Quick access to downtown and all other areas of the region by car, bus or Skytrain, with major transit hubs and highway access very close by. Parking on street or in private lane is free.

The suite features comfortable and stylishly modern furnishings and comes fully equipped with a gas fireplace with lovely stone surround, HDTV, cable package, DVD, iMac computer, high-speed wireless internet, stereo, all appliances, all linens and dishes, etc.

Trout Lake Park is a favourite spot for recreation and relaxation, and offers free tennis courts (raquets provided on request), lovely running/walking/cycling paths around the lake, a wonderful new children's playground, soccer fields, baseball diamonds, a large off-leash dog area and beach, beautiful tall trees, lovely North Shore mountain views and more. Perfect for walks, picnics, play or quiet down time.

There's also the brand new Trout Lake Community Centre, which has a full gym, ice rink, drop-in fitness and arts classes and much more; on the other side of the park is the fantastic Trout Lake Market every May-September.

Very friendly hosts are always happy to give you tips on the best sights to see, the best restaurants to try out, and the best upcoming events - as well as how to get there. French and English spoken.

Trout Lake Suite features include:

- Cozy gas fireplace with stone surround

- Flat screen HDTV, Cable, DVD

- Free, unlimited Wifi

- Stylishly modern furnishings

- Fully-equipped kitchen with refrigerator, stove, oven, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, electric kettle, and all dishes/glassware

- Office area

- iMac computer with internet, Skype, iTunes, etc.

- Stereo with iPod/iPhone dock

- Luxury pillowtop queen size bed

- Full height ceilings

- Large bright windows

- All towels, linens, etc.

- Security alarm system

- Free parking in front and at rear

- Located a short distance from Skytrain to downtown and major bus routes

- Easy access to highways

- Near all amenities including grocery stores, pharmacies, etc.

- Near all the restaurants, shops and cafes of Commercial Drive

Bedroom sleeps two; also have high-quality folding cot and double inflatable mattress for guests/kids and the sofa is very long and comfortable.

Bonus for pet owners! Well-behaved pets welcome with deposit, and Trout Lake Park is one of the largest and most picturesque off-leash dog areas in the city - the perfect pet-friendly getaway!

Monthly rates available on request.

** Important health note: a resident upstairs has very serious allergies, so no cooking with nuts, shellfish or soy, or using heavily scented products such as perfume and cologne during your stay **

For more information, please contact Jennifer using the email form on this site.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Jennifer and Jean (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, french

Reviews

5
based on 75 traveler reviews

Bright, Modern 1 Bedroom Suite with Cozy Gas Fireplace on Beautiful Park
average rating of 4.9733334 based on 75 reviews
Cochrane, Alberta, Canada
5

Perfect for a Vancouver getaway

  • 5 of 5

My family stayed at this rental in early August for 5 days. The owners were extremely helpful and pleasant. The unit was exactly as stated, very clean and well appointed. The park directly across the street was a wonderful bonus - my children swam in the lake, played tennis in the courts, played at the large park and we went for walks on the path around the lake in the evenings. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this unit and plan to visit again. Thanks :)

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Albuquerque, New Mexico
5

Loved our stay in Vancouver!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I loved this rental. We were able to bring our three dogs. So nice for us to be able to have the dogs and not get charged an arm and a leg to do it. Loved the park directly across the street. It's close to good food and restaurants on Commercial. Jen and Jean are the owners. They were helpful to us with recommendations while we were in Vancouver. They are also really great people too!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location and very clean.

  • 4 of 5

Owners are very nice.

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Manila, the Philippines
5

Loved our stay!

  • 5 of 5

My kids absolutely loved our stay! It was cozy and stylish at the same time. The location was accessible to all our destinations in Vancouver and having Trout Lake park in front the house gave us oodles of room to explore. Everything is clean and well kept, plus the view of the mountains from the front of the house was simple but sublime. Our host Jen was more than helpful with any questions we had. Will definitely stay there again if we plan another trip in the future!

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We'll be back!!

  • 5 of 5

We recently spent 3 nights at the Trout Lake Suite and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Jennifer was extremely helpful and very easy to communicate with before, during and after our stay. We came during a particularly rainy weekend, and so enjoyed lounging on the comfy sectional sofa in front of the cosy gas fireplace. In the past we have stayed with friends when we come to Vancouver, but it was a special treat for us to feel like we had our own little home away from home. We will definitely be back!!

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Mandie rates this a 5 star tail wag

  • 5 of 5

This is a perfect place to be situated for those who want to explore Vancouver and its outlying areas. The suite is private, quiet, and very comfortable. The owners are very eager and willing to answer any questions you have and there are a lot of books about Vancouver to reference as well as a computer for your use. The suite was exceptionally clean and well organized with how the space is used. We would definitely stay here again. It is a great vacation spot for anyone with a dog.

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

Nearest Airport
9 Miles
Vancouver International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Toby's Pub and Grill
Nearest Ferry
18 Miles
Horseshoe Bay or Tsawwassen Ferry Terminals
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Fraserview or Langara Golf Courses
Nearest Train
0.5 Miles
Skytrain
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Grandview Highway to #1
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
Commercial Street Cafe
Nearest Ski
12 Miles
Grouse or Seymour Mountains
Nearest Beach
John Hendry Park (Trout Lake)
Car: not necessary

The suite is located across the street from John Hendry Park ('Trout Lake'), a beautiful 80-hectare park with a walking path around the lake, a cycling path around lake, an off-leash dog park, picnic and barbecue areas, a brand new high-end kids playground, baseball diamonds, soccer fields, tennis courts, a beach area, and beautiful mountain and wildlife views.

The park also features a community centre with a full commercial-grade gym that is open to the public, as well as fitness classes, dance classes, art classes and more. (And for many classes, drop-ins are welcome.)

The suite is located very close to shops and cafes of Commercial Drive, named one of the hippest neighbourhoods in North America, and offers easy access to all other areas of the city, from North Shore mountains (Grouse Mountain, Capilano Suspension Bridge, etc.) to Granville Island to downtown galleries, museums, theatres and more.

Our guests always comment on how much they love the location!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Grandview-Woodland House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
Apr 15 2016 - Oct 14 2016
4 night minimum stay
$103
$638
$2,279
 
 
Fall 2016
Oct 15 2016 - Dec 14 2016
3 night minimum stay
$91
$585
$2,127
 
 
Holiday 2016
Dec 15 2016 - Jan 1 2017
5 night minimum stay
$106
$691
 
 
Winter 2017
Jan 2 2017 - Apr 14 2017
3 night minimum stay
$91
$585
$2,127
 
 
Summer 2017
Apr 15 2017 - Oct 14 2017
4 night minimum stay
$106
$691
$2,431
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$72
$505
$1,899
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $38
Refundable damage deposit $380

- No additional fees for cleaning, parking, extra guests, etc.!
- If you're bringing pets, one-time pet fee is $50. No daily fees. (We're pet lovers too!)
- Damage deposit is 50% of rental amount, or $500, whichever is less
- Deposit is due at time of booking, rental amount due on arrival. Deposit is refunded within 48 hours of departure.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Grandview-Woodland House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Computer Available ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Three-piece bath with bathtub, shower, sink, toilet and all towels, facecloths, hair dryer, etc.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom has queen size luxury pillowtop mattress. For additional guests, we offer a single Sealy folding cot, or a double air mattress. The sofa is also quite long and comfortable.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties