check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jacqui

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Gorgeous Ocean Views! Parrots, Toucans and Tropical Breezes!

29 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Uvita House Rental Photos and Description

House, 1 Bedroom + Detached Unit, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-3)

Casa Bambu is situated on 1.5 acres of tropical landscape featuring beautiful trees, palms and flowers. Featuring a recently added infinity pool with breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean, beaches and Ballena Marine Park.

The house is also a tropical design, featuring structural bamboo vaulted ceilings and local exotic hardwoods. This home was built with airflow in mind. Unique and charming – the property sits at an elevation of 1100 ft (300 meters) – keeping the house cool and fresh during the day, with mountain downdrafts to cool at night.

A full kitchen has all you need, along with a gas BBQ, bathroom, living area, laundry and covered patio – all on the main floor. (The covered patio just might become your favorite place while songbirds and tropical birds visit in the trees as you sit mesmerized by the incredible ocean and mountain views.)

On the lower level - a spacious master bedroom with King size bed and incredible ocean views. Offering quality linens, privacy, and large en-suite, along with a walk-in closet with a safe to assure you peace of mind. Patio doors lead you to a private terrace where your infinity pool awaits.

The house was designed for couples - offering the perfect amount of detail to create an escape from the everyday life of the northern hemisphere. Ideal for honeymooners, personal life celebrations, birders, those who just want to get away from the busy-ness of daily life. This property is serene, but full of plant, bird and tropical life!

If you have some friends that may meet up with you during your stay - we can offer a second bedroom in our casita - which has a queen size bed, kitchenette and bathroom.

Access to this property is along an incredible jungle road. (It does have a couple of steep sections to it and requires a 4WD SUV.

Occasional sightings of sloths, Capuchan monkeys, Howler monkeys, jagarundi's, toucans, aricari's and parrots can be taken in along the drive to the house - bound to enhance your Costa Rican adventure!

Our property manager, Trina – will meet you in town and escort you to the property. We offer cell phone for local calls and 4MB WiFi Internet.

There is much to do in and around Uvita; Visit Ballena Marine Park and take a walk out to the Whale's Tail during low tide. Plan a horseback ride on the beach and to local waterfalls with La Merced. Charter a fishing boat for some of the most amazing off shore fishing you will ever experience! Rent an ATV and tour waterfalls and though the jungle. Take a boat trip to the Corcovado National Park in the Osa. Zipline, canopy walks and birdwatching tours. Oh and don't forget the surfing! Take in the skills of the locals at Playa Hermosa or Playa Dominical at sunset, then head out for a delicious dinner at one of many of the fabulous restaurants in our area.

Casa Bambu is not just a house rental... It is an experience!

If you are looking for a vacation rental in Uvita - you have found it!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Jacqui (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

About Jacqui

Living in Vancouver, BC - every winter we escaped the rain and cold. In 1993 (our first trip to Costa Rica) we knew that someday - Costa Rica would become our future.... After many returning vacations, we discovered Uvita...and fell in love! ... with the local Tico community and their passion and determination to retain the lush and protected coastline. The beauty, the untouched coastline, the waterfalls and the animals. Pura vida!

Jacqui purchased this house in 2008

What makes this house unique

We know that there are many other rentals to choose from. The beachside rentals are luring and are great if you want the beach holiday of heading out on the surf board 8 hours a day! The area is crowded and much of the wildlife is scared away, plenty of bugs, humidity and heat.

The benefits of Bambu are that it is located on the hillside, where the air circulates with cooling tropical breezes, very few insects, rarely a mosquito and you are away from the noise of the coastal the highway.

The property is 1.5 acres, with many fruit trees and tropical plants. Mandarinas, bananas, plantains, pineapples, avocados, plus many palms, heliconias, hibiscus, and tropicals.

There are many areas to walk around the neighbourhood - to enjoy the howler monkeys and capuchan monkeys. There are so many birds to take note of and observe from our property and as you walk around the hillside.

Guestbook comments from the owner

After returning to our property in December 2012, we were delighted to read the following comments left in our guestbook from recent visitors to Bambu:



Wayne and Lisa from Alberta wrote: Thank you so much for letting us stay in your wonderful casita! The views were breathtaking and the memories priceless! Can’t wait to come back! March, 2012



Meghan and Erik from the USA wrote: We love! la pura vida! Our highlights: Morning coffee on the porch with breathtaking views. Playa Hermosa at sunset. Hiking to Nauyaca Falls. Our fishing tour from Rio Sierpe and casting into sardine schools. Riding ATV’s. Jerk Chicken burritos at The Dome. Watching storms roll over Uvita…and much, much more! April, 2012



Judah and Erika from Georgia, USA wrote: This was our second trip to Costa Rica – the first being in the Arenal region. We couldn’t be happier that we picked Uvita and Bambu for our second stay. Jacqui was very informative and easy to contact. Trina (our contact person in Costa Rica) was super nice, helpful and responsive to our needs. We would definitely suggest a stay at this place to our family and friends. A cup of coffee on the veranda in the morning or a glass of wine at night, the views, sights and sounds were spectacular. Hearing the birds and howlers each morning and night was magical. My husband and I were very impressed also with the spices on hand for cooking and with all the little amenities that were considered and included; yoga mats, beach chairs, coolers, boogie boards, internet and cell phone. Thank you Jacqui and Trina for your hospitality. September, 2012
Dec 2012
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.9
based on 29 traveler reviews

Gorgeous Ocean Views! Parrots, Toucans and Tropical Breezes!
average rating of 4.862069 based on 30 reviews
4

Heaven on earth

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I stayed in this beautiful cozy house for 10 days. House is very comfortable

and private ( perfect for couple). Weather was so nice and comfortable, mostly rained in the afternoon or through the night. My husband fell in love with the view. Just like the pictures but much more beautiful because is real. Definitely need 4 wheel drive. Make sure the car has good tiers and good shucks, makes a big difference. First couple of days took us 30 min to get to town but after we get familiar with road, it only took us 10 min. It's a fun adventure by itself. You really don't need any ATV tour. We watched lots of beautiful birds while relaxing upstairs. Iguana, geico, frogs ( don't touch them, they are poisonous), snake and black squirrel were other creatures we saw around the house. I was hoping to see monkeys on the trees around the house but I guess they hang out else where. Jacqui is such a wonderful person. She was so kind and patient and worked in so many ways to make sure we are going to have a great vacation. Trina is very nice, friendly and helpful as well. We thank both of them to make this a wonderful memorable vacation for us. We really enjoyed our time there and we recommend this place.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful home with a beautiful view!

  • 5 of 5

We loved this wonderful secluded home! The outdoor spaces were amazing with breathtaking views. It's a bit of a trek getting from the place to town (20 mins) only because of the rock road up the mountain but it was a fun adventure each time. Would definitely recommend staying here if you venture to Uvita!!

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutely perfect!

  • 5 of 5

This was our fifth trip to Costa Rica. Each accommodation has been very enjoyable but we must say this was one of our favorites! We awoke each morning to the sounds of toucan, parrots, aracaris and howler monkeys. We enjoyed having coffee while lounging in the pool. The kitchen was fully equipped and you could enjoy each meal while viewing the whale tail. The property managers, Don and Trina were very helpful and made sure we had everything we needed. The drive up the mountain wasn't that bad after you got used to it. It took us about 20 minutes each way. We do suggest having errands and daily activities completed before making the trek up the hill. It was a very private and quiet location which made our stay all the more relaxing. One thing that was meaningful to us since we have travelled in Costa Rica, keeping clothes fresh and clean has been a bit of a hassle. The washer and dryer was a real convenience. Plenty of towels and washcloths too! Jacqui regularly checked on us making sure all was ok. We highly recommend this rental in Uvita!

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Casa Heaven!

  • 5 of 5

We had such a great time staying in this beautiful home nestled on top of a mountain with breath taking views of Costa Ballena, the jungle and the expansive ocean. Our favorite parts of the home had to be the deck upstairs with sensational views, smells and serenity, and ofcourse, the infinity pool was just perfect. We couldn't wait to jump in there after a trip down to sea level! The house is so fully stocked with everything that we felt like we were in a home away from home. YES you need a 4X4! The roads are quite the adventure to get up to the property but its so worth the ride for what is waiting at the top of the mountain! The howler monkeys woke us up every morning and we actually saw one crossing the road on our way to the airport on the last day. Washing the dishes with the flowers, toucans and jungle air surrounding us was actually beyond enjoyable. Trina was awesome and made us feel very well taken care of. The people, the lifestyle, the weather and the ocean breeze...PURA VIDA. Thanks for a wonderful, memorable and much needed stay in a perfectly modern, comfortable, private and picturesque home.

Caroline

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful house with a beautiful view

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights and we absolutely loved it. The house was beautiful with an amazing view of the ocean and the Whales Tail in Playa Uvita. We probably spent our entire time at the house on the balcony. The view from the house was unobstructed and breathtaking. It never got old. We didn't get to see as many animals as we'd like but we could hear them early in the morning and throughout the day and night. The house had everything that we could possibly need in a vacation rental; we wanted for nothing. The road up to the house was a bit intimidating at first but by the last day, I was breathing easier and no longer white knuckling the trips up and down. There is a reason why they strongly recommend getting a 4x4 tho. Don't disregard this advice!! Trina, the property manager was amazing and responded timely to our questions via text. The owners were fabulous. We received our deposit back almost immediately and Jacqui was very helpful with any questions I had. We would totally return and recommend this rental to anyone.

  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

An Intimate and Memorable Experience with the Real Costa Rica

  • 5 of 5

We were looking forward to returning to the Uvita area again this year after visiting just south of there for a shorter time last year. So we booked 2 weeks at this wonderful home. If you want to get close to what Costa Rica is really like, the nature, the ocean views and sunsets, then this is a perfect spot to spend your time. The owners have left the property so very well equipped and there was nothing we could not find when needed over the 2 week period. The view from the patio is as good as anything we have ever seen and the daily visit by Toucans, Hummingbirds and many other colorful birds we can't name was thoroughly enjoyed.

The house opens up into an indoor/outdoor structure that really makes you feel like you are in touch with your surroundings and the property itself is planted and maintained like a garden with a beautiful variety of local plants. You can tell the owners put so much into their design concepts when building this home and it is modern, comfortable and everything works perfectly.

The area offers so much to do. Our highlights were the local beaches, waterfalls, walking the Whale Tail, multiple area farmer's markets and the trip to Cano Island Preserve for Snorkeling and lunch. The trip down the Sierpe River was hard to beat but the snorkeling was surprisingly good and topped off with a visit by a sea turtle as we wound up the day.

Yes the road is a challenge that takes a couple of trips to get used to but with a 4x4 SUV you will soon find it to be nothing difficult to manage if you are at all comfortable off blacktop. Highly recommended and promises to be a very unique and memorable Costa Rican experience.

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Quepos - 45 minutes
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Playa Hermosa, Playa Ballena, Playa Colonia
Car: necessary

Boating, Hiking, Sport Fishing, Birding, Swimming, Surfing, Boogie Boarding, Shelling, Kayaking, ATV Tours, Wildlife Viewing, Horseback Riding (beach or jungle), Waterfall swimming, Snorkling/Diving, Sea Life Tours, Zip Line and Canopy Tours.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Uvita House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Green Season
Sep 1 2016 - Nov 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$150
$1,000
 
 
Regular Rate
Dec 1 2016 - Jul 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$195
$1,100
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$195
 

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Deposit $250

We offer several different payment methods. Directly through VRBO, Paypal, or payment upon arrival. A $250 US damage deposit is required at the time of booking. It is refunded via your method of payment - once you have checked out with Trina (our property manager).

Let us know what works best for you!


If the Cabina is rented in addition to main house - the weekly rental for the Cabina is $300.00. We do not rent the Cabina out to other renters while the main house is occupied.

The Cabina rents individually for $500.00 per week. One week minimum.

Please note: An SUV (4WD) vehicle is required. PLEASE ASK US ABOUT THE 20% DISCOUNT FOR VEHICLE RENTALS!!! (for booked guests only)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Uvita House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 850 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Full bathroom in the master suite. Large half bath in the living area.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size bed (1) King size bed with a memory foam in the Master Bedroom. In the Cabina we have a queen size bed., (offered separately from the house rental)
Entertainment:
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
For entertainment = Hammock, Bose Sound System (bring your iPod), Cards and Games, Books and DVD's (bring your laptop). For the kitchen = Stocked with your basics - sugar, spices, oils

Partner Offers