check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

As seen on HGTV! Casa Dharma Villa.. just steps to beach and dining , Ocean View

Bedrooms 5
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 4 nights


Minimum Stay
4 nights

About the property

5 Bedroom 3 bath guest villa/ retreat inn. Perfect for groups of 3-20

Large villa sitting on one full acre of land. 5 Bedrooms 3 baths 2 full kitchens,gated Fence and completely private. Perfect views as close to the beach. It is truly a hidden gem. Walk to beach, Tamboo whale spotting from you balcony and no noise at night except the waves!!


Rincon, a small town on Puerto Rico's unspoiled West Coast, is known for its several miles of sandy Caribbean beaches, the best big wave surfing anywhere in the Atlantic, terrific fishing, boating, swimming, snorkeling, off-shore scuba diving, whale watching and much more.

The area hosts many fine restaurants. El Faro, Rincon's lighthouse offers stunning views of the ocean and is one of two passive whale watching parks in the world. The surrounding area offers interesting side trips like coffee plantations, spectacular mountain driving, mini rain forests, the Rio Camuy Cave Park, Cabo Rojo's salt flats, Arecibo Observatory's massive radio telescope and the biologically wondrous Phosphorescent Bay. Golfing is available 25 minutes north in Aguadilla and casino gambling is 25 minutes south in Mayaguez.

More Details

Steven Mucciolo or Grisselle Rivera Mucciolo
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 31, 2016

About Steven Mucciolo or Grisselle Rivera Mucciolo

I met my wife Grisselle in San Juan in 1996. We got to explore much of the island during my visits to see her over the next several years.

After we married (at the Carib Hilton!) we moved to New York and continued our stressful careers. My wife would go visit her mother who still lived in San Juan about twice year. Each time she came home to New York, she would share pictures and stories of the quaint towns on the west coast of Puerto Rico. When we finally were able to coordinate a trip together and chose Rincon.... Well that was a life changer!!! We kept going back. Rincon has all the elements of paradise that we look for in the Caribbean. Surfing Beaches, swimming beaches, lush mountains, and NO UGLY COMMERCIAL fast food signs all over the place. The Rincon community is ecofriendly, kind, and has many of the outdoor activities we love to do so much. I am an avid yoga practitioner and my wife is a personal trainer. I took my first surfing lesson at age 45 and I am hooked. After several visits to different areas within Rincon we decided to find our dream property.

Steven Mucciolo or Grisselle Rivera Mucciolo purchased this villa in 2013

Why Steven Mucciolo or Grisselle Rivera Mucciolo chose Puerto Rico

My wife and I searched literally high and low in the city of Rincon.

each sector or 'Barrio' had attractive elements but Bo. Puntas for us had it all. This property was ironically the first one we were interested in but we could not find the owner. We liked its privacy and spectacular views of the Atlantic and Caribbean waters.

We also like being able to walk to the beach yet sit high enough to enjoy the cool trade winds while lounging on the balcony. After several trips to Rincon and endless hunting we got a call from a local broker letting us know that the house was available. My wife and I were in New York when we received the news and jumped on it. The broker asked us 'don't you want to see it first again?' my wife and I both responded 'no need'. so we did it!!

The neighbors are quiet and friendly. We have been asked to use the scenery for wedding pictures already!! If you do a little homework on Rincon you will see that the Casa Prana is within walking distance of many of the popular attractions in Puntas and yet quiet at night. You are less than 10 minutes by car to the plaza and shopping as well as several other swimming beaches.

What makes this villa unique

Located on one of the best spots for whale watching. Full acre of land. Ample parking. Private locked gate property borders a large estate villa 'Caracol Che' 3 minute walk to beach, eateries, and shops .

Guestbook comments from the owner

Steve was very helpful. The house was very clean. We got to the house at 4am and they had coffee and goodies waiting for us. Great view and very convenient locations to 413 and the local restaurants
Oct 2012
  • 1 of 1


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

As seen on HGTV! Casa Dharma Villa.. just steps to beach and dining , Ocean View
average rating of 4.571429 based on 15 reviews

WOW Rincon and Casa Prana!

  • 5 of 5

Family of 5 (20,18,14 YO boys) spent a week over Christmas here and we loved it. Rincon is a beautiful location if you want to get away and enjoy some of the best beaches, surf, relaxation, snorkeling and just time away from the rat race. The property is just up the hill from Sandy Beach, by far one of our favorite beaches now. The house was very clean with everything we needed to enjoy our vacation. We would without a doubt rent here again. Steve was very easy to work with. Mark met us at the house when we arrived and made sure everything was in working order. Both provided advice on who to contact based on our interests. We were looking for a place where we could just relax and spend a lot of time on the beach and Casa Prana did not disappoint. Domes, Marina, Steps, and Sandy Beach were all extremely close, the longest drive was 5 minutes. With older the boys the downstairs sleeping space was perfect as they had their own space and could sleep-in while my wife and I occupied the main floor. Our favorite spot was the back deck that has a wonderful view of the ocean, foliage and a great place to unwind after a day at the beach and play cribbage. We honestly cannot wait to go back. All you need to bring is your bathing suite and suntan lotion everything else is there for your use including beach towels, chairs, beach cooler and umbrellas.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


  • 5 of 5

Casa Prana was an amazing place. The inside was beautifully decorated. There was a huge porch overlooking a wooded area with the sea peeking out above the trees. It was very private in a gated enclosure. We loved it. We had everything we would have wanted or needed. I would certainly return. We had a great time.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Fantastic view

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Casa Prana for 2 weeks and enjoyed our time. Everything was fantastic, especially the view from the back porch!!! Our lives are so busy for most of the year it was great to slow down and relax. Island life is great! We had everything we needed. The grill was a very appreciated part of the rental. I would highly recommend you considering this rental. Everyone was so nice to us, Steve made sure we had everything that we needed and Yaddy was very helpful.

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So Glad you enjoyed Casa Prana as much as we do!! We are always looking to improve and now have an addtitional 5 bed room retreat and renewal house right next to Casa Prana. Yuo will be on our founders preferred pricing list and hope you and more of your family and friends will come for a stay!! soon
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Annapolis,. MD

Awesome Property!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of four including two teenage children stayed at Casa Prana from 12/26/15 through 1/2/16. The property was exactly as advertised and matched our expectations completely. Steve was great to work with and answered any questions we had. The two level layout worked great for us, having older kids, and the house was clean and well appointed and included all the essential items we expected. The location is great and just up the hill from Sandy Beach. It is walkable but no secret - it is hilly, but that is Rincon. The views are absolutely magnificent, we spent our downtime on the deck just relaxing and enjoying the views and nice breeze. We were part of a large group that rented several properties in the immediate area and we were able to see many different ones, Casa Prana is a great property and we would definitely rent it again.

I would highly recommend Steve's friend Nico ( and Anthony at Rincon Surf Academy for lessons, they worked with allot of our group during the week and both were great. They also both helped me enormously, you will not meet two finer, more helpful people anywhere.

Do not be concerned with the single recent negative review of this property. It appears there are some other issues at play there. It is true that a new house is being constructed on the property but it is largely complete and there was no inconvenience to us. The home was clean and there was no insect issues during our stay either.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you and your extended family enjoyed our Casita. As you mentioned we have just completed a larger Guesthouse brand new from scratch. All our return guests to Casa Prana will recieve a special offer for either the new guest house Casa Dharma (available starting March 1st2016) or to revisit at Casa Prana. Thank you again for taking the time to review Casa Prana and help us relay to other visitors to Rincon that we are proud of our retreat and renewal center that will be in full swing in a matter of weeks!! Steve
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Bright, spacious property in Rincon

  • 4 of 5

4 friends stayed here in December for a nice weekend away. Clean, well equipped 2-story property on the hill overlooking the northern coast of Rincon. The main floor (2nd floor) is large and bright, with floor to ceiling windows with storm covers and a comfortable, private balcony affording jungle and some ocean views. Kitchen is simple but effective, as are the bathrooms. There are 3 real beds and 2 futon/couches; but no real bedrooms per se - just the two floors; so be prepared to share your space. The surrounding acre or so is grassy with palm trees, but in back there was construction going on next door. Property manager was courteous, communicative and proactive - he called prior to the trip to provide recommendations and tips and ensure that all of our questions were answered. Our only complaints would be the physical separation of the first and second floor, which requires walking outside and down a set of stairs with no inside stairs (elder or physically challenged guests take note); the strength of the air conditioning on the first floor (which the owner said is being replaced), the early morning construction and the distance from the beach and restaurants - <10 minutes isn't bad but it is a pretty steep hill. However, seeing some of the other properties nearby you can tell this is one of the newer, nicer ones and you are still in striking distance to awesome beaches in both north and south rincon as well as bars/restaurants on Sandy Beach like Tamboo and Saltaire. Overall, I'd definitely recommend this property as long as you are okay with either driving to and from or walking a bit.

  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review. We are consistantly getting great ideas from guests on how to make Casa Prana even better. I am glad you found our private little gem and hope you will return. The brand new units are now completed and the property is being written up as best value and location in Sandy beach by Rincon vacation rentals!! We hope you guys can come back to stay at Casa Prana or the brand new Casa Dharma located on the same property next year. peace
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Miami, Florida

Do not stay at this property!!

  • 1 of 5

Let me start by saying that I have traveled much in my life and rented many places along the way (both private and hotels) and this is by far the worst place I have ever stayed at. I can not say enough bad things about this place and how misrepresented it was. I don't understand where all the good reviews come from. It will be easier for me to just list some of the problems: 1) this is not a two bedroom place as there is no connection between the two bedrooms - totally separate. If you are a family staying together you can not access each other. This is more like two separate studios independent from one another. Perhaps this works for some families but for some of us wanting to stay together it defeats the purpose 2) dirty and I mean disgusting linens with yellow stains on them 3) we arrived and the house smelled like mold and was full of dust 4) moldy refrigerator 4) no hot water and when we complained they said that the house was on a solar system and to let the water run and it would eventually get hot - we did this - it never happened the entire 5 night stay. We had to take cold showers! - Manager unresponsive and rude. 5) No cable in downstairs unit as advertised 6) Plates and utensils dirty 7) roaches 8) we woke up to construction noises at 7:00 am every morning being that the owner of this place is having a house built on the property near this house; construction debris everywhere; mud on our shoes - tracked into the house utterly inappropriate for a rental 9) no lighting outside to get to the downstairs unit where it has a very steep staircase to access, had to face car with bright lights shining onto the stairs so that my sisters could get down there. At night pitch black and no lights outside were working - very dangerous 10) all the pretty lanterns that you see in the pictures did not work because they all had old batteries that were corroded inside the units 11) last day there - no electricity at all! The owner told me on the phone that this place had a generator for such purposes and that it would turn on automatically if electricity went out. Of course this was not the case. The owner was very responsive before I paid for the unit but after that did not respond to emails and was totally unresponsive. That should have been a flag to cancel my reservation. Lastly - beach access? Perhaps if you are Bear Grills!! Disgusting! VRBO should take down this rental!!!

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Grace, I am very upset that you had a bad experience. Maybe there was some miscommunication to the second floor access. I assure you this was not meant to be deceitful . We have not rented the house much during our construction phase and on the occasional rentals we lowered the price. I will say that when we arrived we were not pleased with the condition and recent upkeep. We have NEVER has this many issues in 3 years of renting. Despite that If find this review to be the extreme opposite of every other review. I also find it odd that your party only stayed one night and the next morning all of our sheets,blankets and cookware had disapeard. I was away for most of your stay so I apologize for not responding. I did speak to yaddy and she mentioned you were not impressed. My suggestion is that we talk about this , . I would never want someone to not feel they paid for accomadations that were unsatisfactory. We are fair and the construction when we arrived was in fact very muddy. I think your method of resolving this with this less than stellar review and the fact that we were missing several items withing 15 hours smells fishy to me. I will learn from this experience and ask for referrences especially from people who requested a discount in rate and wrote a fake security deposit check. I hope you will reflect on your desicion to use verbal extortion.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 3


Tamboo Beside the Point
"cool hang out . great stop for lunch during your beach day!"
Red Flamboyan Restaurant
"All food is excellent! 15 minute walk or 2 minute by car"
Puntas Bakery
"Good starting point . coffee and a pastery"
Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Nearest Beach
300 Metres
Car: recommended

Casa Dharma is located just steps from Sandy beach. Less than ten minute walk to 'Tamboo' bar and grill , 'Ode to elephant' Thai food. We also recommend The ' Red Flamboyant' restaurant which is a 20 min walk or 2 miles. You are also less than 5 minutes by car to 'Steps Beach' and 'Tres palmas' two of the best swimming/surfing beaches in the Caribbean,

Rincon, a small town on Puerto Rico's unspoiled West Coast, is known for its several miles of sandy Caribbean beaches, the best big wave surfing anywhere in the Atlantic, terrific fishing, boating, swimming, snorkeling, off-shore scuba diving, whale watching and much more.

The area hosts many fine restaurants. El Faro, Rincon's lighthouse offers stunning views of the ocean and is one of two passive whale watching parks in the world. The surrounding area offers interesting side trips like coffee plantations, spectacular mountain driving, mini rain forests, the Rio Camuy Cave Park, Cabo Rojo's salt flats, Arecibo Observatory's massive radio telescope and the biologically wondrous Phosphorescent Bay. Golfing is available 25 minutes north in Aguadilla and casino gambling is 25 minutes south in Mayaguez.


Rates & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $99
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 7.0%

Rates from $145/nt - $4500/mo
Each guest must be 21 or accompanied by someone over 21.

Fees for visit must be received in full 10 days prior to arrival.
Additional guests other than agreed at booking may incur a 'guest' fee.
Cleaning fee is either $50 or $100 dollars depending if 1 or 2 levels are utilized.

*Guest can purchase renters insurance for $49 or send a REFUNDABLE security deposit

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Rincón Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Mountain View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 21
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 4 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • churches
  • marina
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties