check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Rhianna

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

The Peach On Plum Street

6 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Coloma House Rental Photos and Description

House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12-16)

Comforts of the country meets tranquility of the water... Great for FAMILY REUNIONS and/ or FRIEND GATHERINGS.

Quiet , warm and inviting rustic country Hagar Shore home on an acre at the end of a cul-di-sac. Stay connected with all you came to see with our beautiful open floorplan.

Main floor sun room/ entrance large livingroom w/ fireplace galy style kitchen, large table seating for 12-14. Back porch with small deck out to back of property. Main level 1/2 bath laundry.

The main living space is comfortable with plenty of furnishings for that home away from home feeling. stay connected with all you came to see with our open floor plan. Everyone is sure to have a seat at our custom made table and 3 more at the bar/ pass through. Need just one more bed, well we have it! Comfortable sofa sleeper in the living room for just a little extra sleeping

Main master 1 queen bed 1 twin bed bedroom with a garden tub bath. Bird watching room.

Upper main room, large room with 1 Queen bed and a deck to view beautiful wooded property. Nautical room.

Upper room 2, 2 twin beds. Fall room.

Upper room 3, 2 twin. Bistro room.

Upper room 4, 2 twin. Overboard room.

Upper bath shower with vanity.

Outdoor large wooded acre with a small stone edged frog pond. Large park style grill, 8 person round table with 4 / 2 person each bench. loveseat, chair, and two side tables.

On the 1,600 sq. ft patio. Large fire pit with bench seating. 1 large table seating 12.

You are just a short 4 block walk to Hagar Park, Lake Michigan beach. Plenty of parking outdoor seating and grills. A very large playground with climbing wall, 3 large slides, and many swings. A natural path/ walkway to beach with a large sandy beach access. Enjoy fun in the sun sunset views and walks at your leisure.

You have 3 eateries less than 1 mile and a nice deli/ store for your convenience. Centrally located between the shorline towns of St. Joe, South Haven and Coloma. BEACH, WINERIES, GOLF, ARTS... and much... much... more....

I would be happy to book your travel with us. Thanks for looking at my lovely property.

Keywords: HOUSE RETREAT LAKE MICHGAN SECLUDED MULTIPLE FAMILY SOUTHWEST MICHIGAN RENTAL SHORELINE TOWNS

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Rhianna (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english

About Rhianna

I am a mother of 4 beautiful children and 1 loyal dog. I have lived in the area for about 15 years and have managed our family owned properties for about 5 years.

Rhianna purchased this house in 2001

Why Rhianna chose Southwest Michigan

This wonderful home is owned by my Uncle and is within walking distance from my home, and the area I met my husband in.. You are in a remote country setting, but still with the convenience of being 7 miles in either direction of 3 shoreline towns.

What makes this house unique

ONE OF VERY FEW PET FRIENDLY BEACHES AVAILABLE... for our other child *) OVER 30 MILES OF BEACH, GOLF, WINERIES, SKIING, and much much more!!

Guestbook comments from the owner

A very short walking distance to the beach. Nice large house with plenty of room. Large back lot with plenty of room for the kids with no traffic. We had a wonderful time! Will return again for 2012. Thanks, Carmen
May 2011
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

3
based on 6 traveler reviews

The Peach On Plum Street
average rating of 3.0 based on 8 reviews
Chicago
2

Disappointing Stay

  • 2 of 5

The concerning reviews from 2012 were very accurate. There is something to be expected when the cleaning fee is much higher than average. What we found when we arrived, was nothing like we’ve ever seen. We later learned that the owner does not employ a cleaning service and cleans the house herself. The owner was nice and did allow us to check-in early, which may explain some linens still being in the dryer and towels still in the washing machine. However, the rest of the house is so dirty and filled with bugs, likely from the swamp out front. The owner did warn us that we are in the woods and there will be bugs, but we did not think that meant bugs on all windows and in all corners.

There is a swamp 20ft from the front door, and as soon as we saw it, we knew the house would be filled with bugs. However, we were in utter shock when we made our way into the house:

- There were dead spiders and bugs smeared on each window, on the walls, and floor.

- The smell that came from the shower was awful, and then we realized the water smells of metallic sulfur (read: rotten eggs). As embarrassing as it is to admit, only 2 people from our group of 8 adults were able to actually shower.

- As we started going up the stairs, the railing literally fell out of the wall. We were outranged by this point as the owner knew we had toddlers and grandparents in the house for the weekend. We sent a message to the owner immediately, letting her know about this, and a problem with the refrigerator. The owner must not have received our message, because she then withheld our security deposit for a couple weeks accusing us of breaking the railing, until I sent her a screen-shot with the message and then we received our deposit back in full.

The house has so much potential, but it is just not well-maintained. The location is wonderful, walking distance to the beach, with a really nice park for kids. If people do stay there, just stay on the first floor in the first floor bedroom, that room was the best in the whole house.

The owner is very nice and truly means well, but her communication was very stressful. After we sent in the payment, it took many calls, voicemails, and emails to get a response, which eventually came a month later. This is just not a very organized operation, which adds unnecessary stress to renting a house for a weekend.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
Ypsilanti, MI
5

Great property and conscientious, responsive owners

  • 5 of 5

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Peach on Plum, and we definitely intend a return trip next summer, at this or one of the other nearby properties belonging to these owners. It was a short walk/bike ride to Lake Michigan (and we drove if bringing a lot of beach stuff, because there was always easy parking), and the house was roomy enough for our large group. We loved the outdoor patio, and the wide open layout of the first floor. We also found the area very peaceful and relaxing. Glad to hear that they will be turning the garden tub (one of the two full baths) into a shower next season, but only one shower was not a problem for our group. Definitely recommend the property, and commend the owners for fully outfitting the house with plenty of everything we woudl need, and for being very responsive.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Lincoln,Ne
4

Barb Schlegel

  • 4 of 5

We had such a great week with our family,the house was perfect for us,the rooms were good sized and the main level was good as well.If we go back to Coloma that house would be the one we would want.

The sand pile was a great hit with our grandkids,thanks alot.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Wheaton, IL
4

Good trip!

  • 4 of 5

Great location, near the beach! Plenty of seating for meals and family activities. The house could use more electrical outlets as it was hat to fin places to plug things in especially upstairs! The bedrooms were pretty small but it was fine. Also bring your own pillows because their aren't enough there and the ones they do have are quite small and thin! Urge slide out back seemed nice in pictures but was so dirty and covered in spiderwebs! It would have been nice to be able to use the hose outside to clean it off or even to wash sand off after coming back from the beach but water access for the hose came from te basement and the basement was locked. The shower broke while we were there and someone came to fix it within a few hours so that was good! Overall, it was a good, big enoug house for all 13 of us to stay for a price you cannot beat in this area!

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
1

Disappointed

  • 1 of 5

The renters are not prepared for rent, the place is dirty, not take care of. Simple things as toilet paper, paper towels are not provided. In the pictures everything looks nice, but not for real.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 5
Schererville, IN
2

Not what we expected

  • 2 of 5

Nice wooded location, close to beach, BUT, our check-in time was delayed two hours because the owner was still cleaning. When we got in we found we needed to clean cobwebs, bugs and the floors. There was no toilet paper or paper towels, no trash cans, only four towels for our entire party. The patio is not connected to the house and the doorknob leading there is broken and unuseable. The furniture on the patio was either broken or filthy. Only one shower in entire house and the shower curtain kept falling down. The curtains on the extremely dirty windows were stained and the mini-blinds also filthy. Cannot recommend this property in this condition.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Vickie, Thank you for your review on my property. I thought that it was necessary to address a few concerns that you stated in your review. Sorry for the delay with your arrival to the property, I had a late departure and thought I had enough time to fix a few things that needed some attention. I hope that the 75.00 refund was acceptable. I do tell all of my guests that I provide 3 rolls of toilet paper and 1 roll of paper towels. The only linen I provide are bed linen and this had been discussed several times by email and phone as a reminder. I have reconsidered my towel policy and now have 14 bath towels for extra use and several dish and washcloths for convenience. Thank you for bringing to my attention the 3 plastic chairs that were broken, but I did have 6 bench seats, 8 plastic chairs, 6 wood chairs w/ ottoman,1 double wood chair and 3 metal rocker chairs. I did state to your daughter that the handle on the back french door was broken and said my husband would be back to fix it and she stated the that would be unnecessary. Had I been given the opportunity to fix any concerns that you had while traveling with us I would have been able to fix them with complete satisfaction. When I spoke with your husband upon departure he said all was great and thanks. Although this property did not seem to be a match, I do have several homes and would be happy to accommodate your travel with us in the future. Sorry you had to cut your travel short, I hope your niece did well in her tournament! Take care. Thanks, Rhianna
Did you find this review helpful?
3 2

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Nearest Train
8 Miles
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Nearest Beach
0.4 Miles

JACK NICHOLAS GOLF HARBOR SHORE, DEER FOREST, PAW PAW LAKE CENTRALLY LOCATED BETWEEN THE SHORELINE TOWNS OF ST. JOE SOUTH HAVEN COLOMA.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Coloma House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Sunday
2 night minimum stay
$350
From
$550
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 11 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $175
Property Damage Protection $79
Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Pet Fee $100

12 PERSON OCCUPANCY 20.00 PER PERSON PER NIGHT NO MORE THAN 16 PERSON. ARRANGEMENTS MADE WITH MANAGER.

NO MORE THAN 2 PETS. NO PETS ON FURNITURE/ BEDS. HAIR ON BEDS / SOFA AN ADDITIONAL CLEANING FEE OF 100.00.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Coloma House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Master bathroom large tub/ hand shower Main floor bathroom/ laundry Upper bathroom bath/ shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single
    Convertible bed(s) - 4 child bed , 2 sleep sofa /futon , We have 4 54' kiddie cots at the home
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
SHORT 4 BLOCK WALK TO HAGAR PARK LAKE MICHIGAN BEACH, BALCONY VIEW OF SECLUDED LARGE 1 ACRE PROPERTY, 1,800 SQ. ST. ENTERTAINING PLATFORM, SMALL FROG POND, PARK STYLE GRILL, OUTDOOR FURNITURE OUTDOOR TABLES.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties