Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Paradise - Pool, beach, private jungle bungalow @ Caribe Town Hotel

Bedrooms 1
Space 180 sq. ft.
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights


About the property

1 King Bedroom, full bath with hot water shower, private patio with hammock

Caribe Town is a tranquil place in the heart of the South Caribbean of Costa Rica. Come to Caribe Town Hotel and enjoy the wonders of nature in a magical oasis that feels newly discovered every day. Nestled in protected jungle lands of the Refugio Nacional Gandoca-Manzanillo, located at the end of Playa Cocles only 3km from Puerto Viejo & steps from a million amazing things to do, see and eat!

We love the local laid back culture and thrive on all that nature provides in this gorgeous corner of paradise. We believe in taking care of what we found and trying to make it better. We respect the plant and animal life, local knowledge and support our community.

You are looking at our Honeymoon Bungalow for rent. Sleeps up to 2 people in one king bed, with orthopedic pillow top mattresses.

Our honeymoon bungalows include; ceiling fan, WIFI, private bathroom with hot water shower, smartphone clock radio, private porch with hammock, hammock chair and Adirondack chair.

Includes full hot daily breakfast cooked to order, use of the shared kitchen in the main house, WIFI and gated parking.

We offer breakfast with variety! You can choose any combination of what you like from the classic options and the special of the day.

The Classic: Homemade toast, eggs cooked your way, chorizo, homemade jam and fruits. The Specials: pancakes, coconut French toast, omelets, Gallo Pinto, homemade muffins, bread pudding…and we’re always trying new options!

Included, no extra fees: Outdoor refreshing salt water Pool with waterfall, lights, seats and jets, jungle gardens, Sun Terrace, “Give a book, take a book” Library, safety deposit box, non-smoking rooms, family rooms, daily housekeeping, baggage storage, exchange of USD/Colones at daily rates.

Internet: Free! WiFi is available in all areas and is free of charge.

Parking: Free! Free private parking is available on site (reservation is not needed).

Services Available for a fee: Spa Services, Bicycle Rental, Tours, Surf, Car Rental, Shuttle Service, Airport Shuttle, personal Laundry services.

Food & Drink: Full hot daily breakfast is included, drinks are available from our “On Demand” bar for a fee (who can resist a frozen Pina Colada at the swim up bar!?)

Languages spoken: Spanish, English, Catalan.

More Details

Jessica and Marc
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, spanish, Catalan
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 8, 2017

About Jessica and Marc

As the new owners in March of 2010, we have done many renovations and updates! Our passion for the area and the beauty around us is hard to contain and we want to share that excitement. After 12 years in offices, we LOVE being outdoors, helping you experience just WHY we would move to this incredible place. We wanted to be as remote as possible, but still have all the conveniences of home, like high speed internet, easy healthcare and a relaxed PURA VIDA life :)

Jessica and Marc purchased this bungalow in 2010

Why Jessica and Marc chose Limon Province

A one hour walk through the gorgeous beaches and down through the coral pools where you can experience little 'finding nemo' fish starting just 150 meters from your front door will convince a non-believer of the magic of this place. From the actual 5 can see an amazing variety of plants, butterflies, birds and animals...a nature lovers paradise from your front porch. The Costa Rican people are some of the happiest worldwide. Come visit to experience the warmth of this country both temperature and the treatment you receive to know why we had to move our lives here!

What makes this bungalow unique

We are highly connected to all the best tour operators in the area and can book anything your heart desires. If you like to surf, you are just minutes from an internationally recognize in front of the property is generally calm waves to play and swim snorkel!


Cocles Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 180 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • smoking allowed ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Mountain View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Safe
  • Security System
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • fax
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Shared Kitchen ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Hot water shower.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • All mattresses are orthopedic pillow top and we include fresh linens - always. Includes bedside tables, lamps, smartphone clock radio/speaker.
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • 20 bicycles
  • 8 garden chairs
  • alternative lifestyle
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Outdoor Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Concierge
  • Daily Maid Service
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
This is a private single residence bungalow, with all the amenities of the hotel available to you, or stick to yourself and enjoy the peace and quiet!


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

Paradise - Pool, beach, private jungle bungalow @ Caribe Town Hotel
average rating of 4.6875 based on 16 reviews


  • 5 of 5

My husband and I had an incredible stay at Caribe Town! The property is beautiful and well cared for. Our bungalow felt private and was perfect for the two of us. Jessica and Mark took exceptional care of us- helping to organize dolphin watching, feeding us breakfast and recommending restaurants. We would return in a heartbeat and would recommend Caribe Town to our nearest and dearest. It doesn't hurt that the beach is RIGHT ACROSS THE STREET.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Family getaway to the Caribbean Coast? This is the perfect destination!

  • 5 of 5

There aren't enough superlatives to do justice to our stay at Caribe Town. We were in such good hands when we landed in the care of Jessica and Marc. They do everything you expect => very clean and well appointed accommodations, delicious and ample breakfasts, amenities that make a stay easier (laundry service available, kitchen access which makes traveling with kids so much easier, beach towels... we wanted for nothing.) And then... they go above and beyond what you require. They found a location for my husband to play tennis - no small accomplishment! They made special food to meet the dietary restrictions of our family. They are available and so happy to help with whatever you need. Jessica was super communicative before we arrived, answering questions and helping with directions. She made a massage appointment for me. (And this, people, is not to be missed. A massage by the magical Helena, surrounded by the jungle! If you are lucky as I was, it will rain. I listened to the rain while my troubles were massaged away. It was bliss.) They offered great restaurant recommendations and more... We were treated to Pipa, cut fresh out of the trees right there at Caribe Town. My son watched them chop a bunch of bananas from the tree before we'd even taken the suitcases from the car. We were vistied by sloth and toucans, iguanas and frogs. The birds and frogs and rain sang us to sleep at night. We explored the reef and tide pools and jumped monster waves in the sunshine during the day. The beautiful and minimally populated beach of Playa Cocles is just across the road. Perfect location. Perfect hosts. Costa Rica at its finest. Can I give them 6 stars?

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

The property was clean and the owner/ host was very nice

  • 3 of 5

the bungalow was adequate, mattress comfortable but it had only screens for windows and was VERY loud with roosters, dogs barking, birds chirping and miscellaneous jungle animals doing their jungle noises. The host was nice, but the pool was not swims or at the time of our stay, and very small, kind of disappointing. Safe and clean.

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

We LOVE Caribe Town

  • 5 of 5

My sisters and I stayed at Caribe town in one of the bungalows for 12 nights, and to say the least it was worth every penny. Jessica and Marc are the most gracious and wonderful hosts I have ever had when travelling. We were greeted the minute we arrived with warmth and smiles. Everyday spent they both had great suggestions for adventures for us to do. I have never stayed anywhere where the hosts go so much out of their way to make sure your comfortable and happy. I am allergic to gluten and Jessica and Marc went out of their way (literally drove onto a different town to find the right flour) to make me homemade gluten free bread, pancakes and even banana walnut muffins! Our bungalow was great for the three of us, and we always had exactly what we needed. This vacation was the best I have had, and I owe so much of it to Jessica and Marc for providing us with such a beautiful, safe, relaxing and VERY well kept place to stay. I highly recommend staying here, and already miss Caribe Town so much!

Thank you Jessica, Marc and the hard working staff of Caribe Town, the three sisters will definitely be back to see you again!

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
12 0
Kansas, USA

just ok

  • 3 of 5

A friend and I stayed at this resort back in May and luckily we weren't planning on spending a whole lot of time at the resort anyway because the amenities were not up to par. The "swim up bar" would have been fun if there was a bartender. The "snack" menu would have been nice if we got hungry later but there was no one there at night. We also noticed, there was no one else staying there the 3 and a half days we were there, which was weird and made us a little uneasy. It felt pretty safe though, as the gates were shut and locked every night. The nice young gentlemen did make us breakfast in the mornings and it was very good. He was also very helpful with setting up tours and adventures for us each day. The only thing that really upset us was being lied to and taken advantage of when it came to setting up a shuttle to pick us up and take us to our next resort. He told us the only way there was with the shuttle that was over $200!! Because we thought this was our only option and we trusted him, we just went with what he told us. Come to find out, we very well could have taken buses which would have cost us around $20 per person. Granted, it would have taken longer, but we would have loved to save the money even if it took a little more time. It was a cute place to stay, but would I choose to stay here again? Probably not.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so sorry to hear your stay with us was not everything you wanted it to be. It's true that in our area of paradise, May is the lowest season with most hotels closing down for the month. For this reason, you happened to find us when we (the owners) were on our first vacation in over two years and our staff member Carlos was here to take care of you. Perhaps you didn't happen to see the other guests, but we were lucky enough during this lowest season to also have two of the full house rentals occupied and 2 of your three nights another of the bungalows. We are a small tranquil resort and our bar and snack services are on demand, we are not an open bar. However, you should have been attended to, our apologies these services were not made available or clear to you! I'm less than clear about you being lied to about transit options as both the first email we sent to you and your email confirmation 3 days before you stay detail the transit options of bus, shuttle or private van, but again our apologies if this was not spelled out for you for the 3rd time when you specifically requested information. We make $0 on commission of private shutte, so please be reassured Carlos was only trying to get you the best service possible and not trying to take advantage of you, as it is work for him to take care of the reservation and set up the private van service, but there is no benefit for us on this over sending you to the bus, on the contrary, sending you to the public bus would have required no work on his part. We apologize that everything was not to your needs and hope your next vacation in paradise you find exactly what you are looking for, perhaps Rocking J's which offers open bar services full time might serve you better. Pura vida!
Did you find this review helpful?
16 0

Excellent resort with wonderful hosts!!

  • 5 of 5

My now fiancé and I had the privilege of staying at Caribe Town for 10 days in late April and I can honestly say it was everything we had hoped for and more! The owners, Jessica and Marc, along with Carlos went above and beyond what was expected to ensure that our stay was perfect from beginning to the end. Here’s our story:

Unbeknownst to my girlfriend at the time, I was secretly planning our engagement to take place during our trip to Costa Rica. After exhausting some resources on my own, I reached out to Jessica and team to see if they would be interested or could help in the planning of our special day. Not only did Jessica agree to help she seemed genuinely excited to be part of our big day. After exchanging emails for almost two months prior to our trip, Jessica and Marc had outlined the most amazing day completely catered to my ideas on how I wanted to pop the question!

The day started out like any other day at Caribe Town, with an awesome breakfast and excellent coffee. We then set off for horse back riding with Bruce at Playa Chiquita Riding Adventures. Once back at Caribe Town we got ready for what I told my girlfriend was a special dinner at the resort. She thought it was “special” because dinner is not something Caribe Town offers. After a quick drink at the bar, we were lead to the beach directly across the street. Once we got to the beach, she saw the bamboo cabana that Marc had constructed and setup earlier that day. There was a candle lit path on the beach and the cabana was beautifully decorated with candles and fresh flowers. What followed was an amazing meal prepared by Marc and Jessica. If you ever get a chance to enjoy a meal prepared by Marc, do NOT turn it down! Dinner was followed with chocolate desserts from Bread and Chocolate in Puerto Viejo and at this point my girlfriend was a nervous wreck waiting for me to ask the question. With Jessica’s help, I had one more surprise setup, FIREWORKS!! Yes, Jessica actually found and arranged a pyrotechnic company to put on a fireworks show on the beach as a backdrop for me to ask the big question. She said yes and it’s a day that neither of use will ever forget!

Its in no way a stretch to say that non of this would have been possible without Jessica, Marc and Carlos’s help! We both felt extremely lucky that not only did we find an amazing gem of a resort in the jungle of Costa Rica but we had the most amazing hosts and left with what we consider friends for life!!

  • Submitted: May 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
13 0


Nearest Airport
220 Kilometres
San Jose (SJO), Costa Rica
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
La Sula Beach Club
Nearest Restaurant
400 Metres
Pecora Negra
Nearest Beach
150 Metres
Playa Cocles
Car: not necessary

3km south of Puerto Viejo. 150 meters in front is soft waves for body surfing and great swimming and calm waters for coral pool exploring. Head to the north and we are withing walking distance of great surfing as well. 10 km north of Manzanillo. Easy access to everything!


Rates & Availability

Cocles Bungalow Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Navidad 2017
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 1 2018
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 13.0%

Full hot daily breakfast is included with bungalow rental! We offer breakfast with variety! You can choose any combination of what you like from the classic options and the special of the day.

The Classic: Homemade toast, eggs cooked your way, chorizo, homemade jam and fruits.

The Specials: pancakes, coconut French toast, omelets, Gallo Pinto, homemade muffins, bread pudding…and we’re always trying new options!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message

You might like these similar properties