check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

John Grant

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, russian, italian, czech, polish

Prague 1 Center-Dvorak's Church Across the Street-National Theater Area FreeWiFi

41 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

New Town Apartment Rental Photos and Description

2 Separate Bedrooms , 2 FULL Bathrooms, Sleeps 4 Adults

Beautifully reconstructed 2 bedroom/2 full bath apartment with lift/elevator, directly in the center of Prague, close to National Theatre. Located on a quiet street directly across from St. Vojtech Church where Antonin Dvorak played the organ. Easy walk to all sites and multiple pubs, bars, cafes and restaurants in area.

Free WiFi and 43" Flat Screen TV with US/English and International Channels.

Master Bathroom has large soaking tub with heated floors and towel bar.

Quiet Apartment House allows restful retreat from days and nights spent in Prague. Short walk to Trams or Metro and food market just steps away.

Other Activities: Playground located close by along with easy access to many cafes, restaurants, pubs, and concert opportunities.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
John Grant (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, russian, italian, czech, polish

Guestbook comments from the owner

I have been a guest of iTravex membership for years. In Paris France, Poipu Hawaii, Rome Italy, Beijing China, the West Coast and British Columbia, I have never stayed at a more agreeable, pleasant or perfect unit as John’s spacious apartment in Prague. My wife, son, his cousin and I were guests for 7 days to our great pleasure and enjoyment. We enjoyed the winter mornings running 4 miles to the old castle and to the Old Town Square on the frosty mornings, when few are awake and the trams trundle on by with yawning people going to work near the Christmas holiday Castles and clock towers. The apartment is so close to the sights that we could walk to the Castle Hill beyond Charles Bridge and spend the day walking back through Wenceslaus Square and Old Town Square enjoying the romantic 2am walk along the glimmering banks of the Dneiper River. There is excitement along with thoughtful cobblestone paths winding through Prague. The apartment is a part of it all. The full kitchen is large and gourmet equipped. The rooms and ceilings are spacious and grand, and the view of the Church and pedestrian cobblestone streets from the enormous windows is fascinating, we would sit with coffee and gaze out to the waking-town each morning.

This is the very best one can expect in apartment accommodations. Do not think twice - Prague awaits.
Dec 2012
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.9
based on 41 traveler reviews

Prague 1 Center-Dvorak's Church Across the Street-National Theater Area FreeWiFi
average rating of 4.8536587 based on 42 reviews
Huntington Beach
5

Wonderful! Comfortable.

  • 5 of 5

The host, Mr. John Grant, was very responsive to all correspondence. Key pick up and drop off occurred without any problems.

The place was excellent! Great location. We pretty much walked to all the restaurants and landmarks (with toddler in tow). We had a tram ticket for a day, however, did not end up using it much since the location was so central. Very comfortable place to stay, plenty of space. Note that there are stairs to take before the elevator. Well stocked kitchen. Very comfortable beds. Nicely appointed bathrooms. Very clean. Safe and secure. I will recommend this place to any family or friend who will going to Prague next.

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the kind comments. I'm glad you enjoyed the apartment and Prague. The location is great for walking to all the major sights in the center and my family loves to try all the great restaurants, cafes and pubs in the area. Best regards, John
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Los Altos, California
5

Great location, nice views, modern conveniences

  • 5 of 5

This recently-renovated flat is in great condition, and is in a very central location. The full kitchen with supplies and washer & dryer were key, and I loved the big windows throughout that opened to create a nice cross-breeze. The high ceilings and classical details were really nice. This location is walkable to all of the top sights, great restaurants, multiple tram stops, and especially the river. The Vltava is literally around the corner, and makes for great walks in the golden hour and early evening when the lights and views are stunning. John Grant was a wonderful host and so thoughtful in all his organization and information for guests (with instructions for everything), and he was so responsive and kind during the stay. Recommended!

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

June 21-26-2016 was a very unexpected pleasant experience of our accommodation in Prague.

  • 5 of 5

This was the first time for us to have stayed in an accomodation such as yours, as we have always stayed in hotels. Let me assure you that we were very happy we stayed at your apartment and we have no reservations whatsoever, to recommend your apartment to our friends, in the same way as it was recommended to us by them. And as we often say :"By word of mouth is the best and cheapest advertisement one can have”. When discussions arise about "where - shall/can - we stay in Prague" your apartment will be on the top of the list.

Thank you for letting us stay at your very, safe, comfortable, quiet, in a great location and beautiful apartment.

Jeff & Jarka Wellink

Sydney Australia

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Prague Perfect

  • 5 of 5

Lovely spotless apartment perfectly placed in Prague - within in easy walking distance of both the Charles Bridge and the Dancing Building. Close to all the sights. Boat docks and Prague Castle so close. Apartment equipped with everything you might need and owner readily responsive and helpful. We feel as if we have made a new friend. Recommend highly. We loved the public art sculptures, classical concerts in almost every church and public square and of course the beer gardens.

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Roberta! Glad you enjoyed the apartment and Prague. I always enjoy taking different routes back to the apartment to see what is newly opened in the area. Being so close to the river embankment is also great especially now with all the events including the Farmer's Market.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
3

Terrible reception

  • 3 of 5

The apartment was lovely. The neighborhood was good, close walking distance to sites, good restaurants. I would strongly advise avoiding this site due to reception. We arrived on the afternoon of our scheduled visit and followed directions to the location of key pick up. I had our voucher and a receipt with emails from John Grant. The woman with the key spoke no English (not a problem). I attempted to show her the voucher and receipt. She pushed me (and friend) away. She refused to look at the materials. A young English speaking Czech woman came down the stairs and offered to help. She said the woman stated "she has no key", "she wants us to go outside and talk". This evolved into "maybe l have a key but why should I give it to you". I rang the bell and we went inside again the woman was yelling at us to go back outside, according to the translator. I said we are not going without the key, we have paid for the apartment. After about 15 minutes the woman made a phone call then gave us the keys. In spite of fact that we had all materials, she refused to help us. I suspect she was looking for a little extra money.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Other than contacting me about having trouble with the reception nothing about the incident related in review was told to me. The guest did not have the voucher to show the reception since it is stated that the HomeAway receipt was shown. I confirmed with the guest a few days before arrival that the voucher was received and printed and if there were any questions about arrival etc. As is clear in the other reviews, a guest who follows the extremely simple instructions of showing the arrival voucher has no issue with our 24 Hour Reception. The guest also has not responded to repeated requests to confirm details of this story.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Royal Palm Beach, FL
5

No better value to be found

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic apartment. We have stayed many apartments thru HomeAway and VRBO from Spain to Israel. This was the nicest. The apt. was spotless on arrival, a first. The furniture was not all Ikea, but period furniture for the location. There was art on the walls. The kitchen and baths were well supplied. The apartment exceeded our expectations in every way. The #17 tram stop was basically 2 buildings away. The neighborhood was quiet and felt very safe at all times. Working with John was a pleasure. He never left a question unanswered and his responses were accurate and quick. I wish he owned apartments in other cities than Prague. When we return to Prague in a few years, we will look for this apartment again before any others. If you are going to Prague, there is can be no better landlord or apartment offered at this great of a value. Just so you know this review is real, if there is a negative, it is storage space is tight. A wardrobe or 2 from Ikea in each bedroom would be perfect.

Prague is like walking through a fairy tale and modern city at the same time. The people of Prague are so proud of the English they've learned since communism. Friendly, outgoing are the top adjectives that come to us. Food is tastier than after the Velvet Revolution. Prices are very reasonable for the EU. They are as proud of Davidov as St. Vitas Church which is so rare in Europe.

Prague is full of tourists, but few from the US. You have no idea what you are missing until you visit Prague. It has been called Paris of the East, and in many ways now exceeds the City of Light in our opinion. Our most enjoyable time was the Gray Line lunch cruise. Every boat will have the same sights from the River, but our driver was friendly and so knowledgeable of Prague and the food on the boat was very good.

Enjoy this apartment and Prague. You will not be disappointed.

Paul, Tom, and Meghan

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Map

National Theatre
Manes Gallery
Zofin Palace
Tesco MY Národní
The Globe Bookstore and Cafe
Charles Bridge
Dancing House
Petrin Hill Observation Tower
Vysehrad Fortress
Vltava
Car: not necessary

Center of Prague One Street from River near National Theatre

Other Activities: shopping, boating, playground

Photos

Rates & Availability

New Town Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring/Summer
May 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
4 night minimum stay
$160
$990
 
 
Autumn
Oct 1 2016 - Dec 31 2016
4 night minimum stay
$130
$790
 
 
Winter
Jan 1 2017 - Apr 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
$110
$690
 
 
Spring/Summer 2017
May 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
$160
$990
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$160
$990
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59

No Smoking
No Pets

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

New Town Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 80 m²
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Monument View
  • River
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator ...
  • Garage
  • Gas Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Hydronic Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Security System
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Main Bedroom Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , Large Tub, Heated Floors & Towel Bar
    Second Bedroom Bath - toilet , shower
  • 2 Full Bathrooms Master Bath has Soaking tub/shower Heated Floors and Towel Bar Second Bath has shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Can be combined
  • * King Bed: Extremely Comfortable HypoAllergenic Foam Mattresses * Twin/Single Bed (2) : Extremely Comfortable HypoAllergenic Foam Mattresses. Can be put together for couples. * Crib * Air Mattress Available for children
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • ice skating
Notes:
Garage&Secure Garage Parking Nearby; Elevator: New Modern Elevator/Lift; Cable/Satellite TV: International Satellite Including ; Monument View: Directly Across from St. Vojtech Church where Dvorak played the organ; WiFi (Wireless Internet): Provided Free of Charge.

Partner Offers