Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Whimsical Cottage On River

Sleeps0
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 29 nights

Overview

About the property

Bitterroot River Is A World Class Fly Fishing Destination.

Cottage on the River. About half mile of our own riverfront to fly fish. My family's own private boat launch. This unique property is next to a five star lodge. There are several lakes which you may hike , bicycle or ride horses. Custom kitchen for gourmet cooking. Fabulous down bedding for a comfortable night sleep that only Goldilocks could relate to. You will experience a romantic and adventurous stay here on the West Fork River in Montana. Our home is a jewel on the river in the forest. Always contact me for a special price .


Owner
Medicine Woman Inc
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
January 15, 2017

Why Medicine Woman Inc chose Bitterroot Valley

Location, Location, Location!!!

What makes this house unique

Want one of the best fly fishing spots in the Rockies ? Then stay here at Whimsical Cottage on the River. Want a place that's happy, romantic, private , and different from all the rest ? Then stay here at the Whimsical Cottage on the River.

This is a rustic cottage on the river in the forest in a very rural area with abundant wildlife and a variety of all God's creatures great and small.

My children loved growing up in nature at our whimsical cottage on the river. This is a fly fisherman's dream to walk outside from your home and cast with your rod.

Amenities

Darby House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 0
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Rural ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , Shower and antique claw tub
  • separate shower away from antique tub.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • Bedroom 1 Huckleberry Mermaid Bedroom - 1 king , Very Romantic with Breathtaking views of both the river and
    Bedroom 2 Forest Bedroom - 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom Sunroom Lewis & Clark and Sacajawea - 1 king , 1 double
  • There is a Sleigh Bed in another Room as Well that Santa Claus stayed for years at Christmas.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • forests
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • skiing
Notes:
This cottage is on a river in the forest.Great fly fishing, many guides are available. Wonderful bicycle areas, majestic hiking in the mountains to lakes. Lots of wildlife including moose, elk, deer, baby fawns,geese, butterflies, chip monks, fox, ermine. . This is a rustic cottage on the river in the forest in a very rural area with abundant wildlife and a variety of all God's creatures great and small.

Reviews

4/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

Whimsical Cottage On River
average rating of 4.0 based on 5 reviews
Colorado Springs, Colorado
5

Excellent Home and Hospitality

  • 5 of 5

Excellent home with awesome setting on the river! We stayed for a week with two teenage daughter-everyone had a great time. Hospitality was great and the home is very well equipped. We wanted a place away from crowds with great fishing and we found both! Great rainbows in the river and many fish were caught during the week. Darby is a neat town and has everything you need. Painted Rocks Lake is just down the road and many hiking trails nearby. First time to Montana and we will be back! I recommend this to families looking for a great house, great views, and awesome fishing!

  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Chandler, AZ
1

Terrible experience

  • 1 of 5

While on first impressions, the location looked beautiful and the cottage was unique, it turned out to be a horrible experience. There was mice feces all around the house, as well as in the beds. Even after having to clean it up ourselves, we still found fresh feces. When addressed with the owner, we were told that that's part of being in the country setting, and they showed up without any warning, and went into the house without our knowledge, to simply place traps. Which was not ideal with having a 3 year old with us. The addition room downstairs, seems to be a DIY home project, as it's not insulated, doesn't have proper windows, and gets extremely hot during the day, and cold at night. There was a portable a/c unit, but it wasnt even hooked up. Another thing in which they stopped by with no notice, to "fix". We had a bat get into the house twice because of the space that was not correctly sealed off, between the original house and the DIY room addition. In the evening, an over abundance of knats and mosquitos could get into the house, since the house was not properly sealed. As it was advertised, there was supposed to be a working TV with satellite. (Something that was appealing, to keep our toddler occupied during down times) After the first day or so, we informed the owners it wasn't working. We tried troubleshooting ourselves, but nothing would work, and the only response we got was that we needed to call the satellite company . ( Aside from the satellite company refusing to deal with us since we weren't on account, we have advised the owner SEVERAL times that it was the TV and not the cable). Needless to say, none of these issues were sufficiently addressed.

We felt very uneasy that they would just come and go with little to no notice, especially with all of our belongings there. They also allowed their friends to park in front of the cabin, without any notice to us. We had to ask why there was a truck parked in front, when we returned from fishing. On top of all of the issues with sanitation, and the property not being as expected, we had to leave for a family emergency. While it was not required, the owner was unwilling to work with us on even a partial refund. We left the house much cleaner than we found it, and would think they would be understanding. We understand that's not required, but it really was the Icing on the disappointing vacation. We have lived in the country, for over 8 years, and never had issues with mice.Terrible experience!

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was taken by surprise by this review because I had received numerous complimentary texts by T.H and her husband all week including " The cottage is very cozy and this is absolutely beautiful. We appreciate all your help and guidance." 1. I initially gave them a deep discount on their reservation due to their personal circumstances even though this was Labor Day week and county fair week, which is during our peak season. Additionally, I gave them a partial refund for their inconvenience and family emergency within 24 hours after their departure. 2. I received both verbal and written permission for the two times I went to install more curtains in the sun-room and add an extension to the portable air cooler. There were written instructions . I also, brought roasted local coffee, a large Montana rib-eye steak, and fresh produce from the farmer’s market. 3.The sun-room is now actively undergoing repairs for the small gaps. This is a rustic cottage on the river in the forest in a very rural area with abundant wildlife and a variety of all God's creatures great and small. 4. There are other rooms in which to sleep, this couple chose the sun-room.The cottage gets professionally cleaned before the arrival of each guest. 5. This riparian property is about a half mile long on the West Fork of the Bitterroot River. There are few river access points from which to launch a raft. As good neighbors, we allow some of the community to launch a raft from our property. We have both supplies for our animals and personal supplies in our out buildings; we, or our maintenance staff must have occasional access. 6. On the day before their departure, and after seven days of use, T.H’s husband informed me that the television had stopped working. I asked him to call the satellite company, as I was involved in a community event and could not be physically there . He again contacted me and explained the television still was not working. The next day, after a 200 mile journey, I installed a new television. 7.I had near daily requests from these guests relating to where to go and what to do., and I detailed the easily accessible hot springs, lakes, fishing, and fly fishing guide raft contacts. I texted them photos and directions throughout the week. They responded daily with compliments about how much they enjoyed each of them. This is a premier fly fishing property, and many people, including famous world class fly fishermen, have enjoyed our Whimsical Cottage on the River.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
5

Quiet and relaxing...

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was welcoming and comfortable, and the setting was absolutely beautiful. We saw elk, moose, deer and other wildlife right off the sun-porch. The owner was quick to remedy any minor issues we might have had, and the cottage had all amenities we needed. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Very impressed and pleased. Thank you for the week retreat.

  • 5 of 5

Loved it. Had lots of family join us and was able to accommodate. Would recommend to everybody. Thank you for the stress free week on the river.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Charlotte, NC USA
4

Great cottage on the river

  • 4 of 5

We spent a week here during July 2016, and had a great time. Our purpose was fly fishing, and it was very good that week. The cottage has many positives - and also some negatives. The kitchen was amazing - the best we have ever encountered. Great appliances and cookware. Many provisions were also provided, such as coffee, toothpaste, charcoal for the grill, etc, which were a nice touch. There was more than enough room, and the location was quiet and right on the river. The beds, TV, Internet, tables were great. However, the sun room, which sleeps 3, was basically unusable due to the heat inside - it was 94* when I measured it even with the ceiling fan. It also had no curtains on some windows - not good for keeping it dark in the morning. As a result we had to sleep in the loft, which of course was also pretty hot. Overall, this is a good place if the temperature isn't super hot.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: There was a portable air conditioner in the sun-room . I wish I knew that our special two fly fishing guests at that time did not know that the white unit in the sun room was a portable air conditioner . It needed to be turned on and have the vent out the sliding window during the day. It is better at night just to have the sliding glass door open and have the cool Montana evening air. Now I will leave a note for future guests and speak to them so they understand. I feel better that I spoke and communicated with my guest after reading their review and will make additional comforts for their stay next year. Thank you for all the strong positive compliments including assets of the kitchen, quality of the bedding and the special private location on the river . Even though I do not like curtains blocking the view of the river or curtains obstructing the wildlife experience that comes with the sunrise. Just this year I put up curtains. I will get the extra curtain for the window that also views the morning sunrise . It would be nice to sleep in after a long hard hike up the Rockies to a breathtaking lake, it would be nice to sleep in after rowing a raft for miles and fly-fishing along the way. It will now be a choice to wake up to a stunning sun rise and view the geese flying , the eagle soaring into the blue sky and the elk crossing the river a few feet away. However, I will not be able to prevent the rise of the trout splashing the water on the river, or hush the hooting of the owl , or quiet the woodpecker , or stop the graceful doe for calling her fawn. I want all my guests to experience the magic of staying on the river in the Whimsical Cottage of Montana.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Rates & Availability

Darby House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring Bloom
May 1 2017 - Jun 7 2017
5 night minimum stay
$100
 
 
Flyfishing Excitement
Jun 8 2017 - Jun 30 2017
5 night minimum stay
$175
$1,000
 
 
Mid Summer Dream
Jul 1 2017 - Sep 6 2017
5 night minimum stay
$175
$1,000
$3,000
 
 
Fall Love
Sep 7 2017 - Oct 15 2017
5 night minimum stay
$100
$2,500
 
 
Winter Wonderland
Oct 16 2017 - Apr 29 2018
29 night minimum stay
$1,200
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$100
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Pet Fee $150
Refundable damage deposit $250

$150 credit towards utilities per month. Any other addition for the month will be paid by tenant.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Map

Nearest Golf
35 Miles
Hamilton Golf , Stock Farm
Car: necessary

There are numerous lakes, hot springs, other fly fishing areas, river rafting, fly fishing, majestic views on hikes.

Photos

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties