Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocean front home with direct beach access!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Amazing oceanfront home with ocean views from just about every room and stairs that lead directly from the house to the beach!! A quiet getaway that is perfect for family and friends. 6 adult guests maximum preferred but families of up to 8 including children can be accommodated as we tend to attract residents that are looking for a beachfront home that will satisfy their every whim. We serve both the family vacationer and the longer term corporate resident. Our beautiful home has all the amenities one would need, from the kitchen, stocked with every type of appliance necessary to create that dream meal, to the wireless computer set-up and flat screen TV's in living and bedroom for a finer quality of entertainment . A local landline phone is provided as well. We are one of the few who welcomes your family pet. There is ample space to spread out with separate levels for both privacy and relaxation.

Enjoy sweeping views of The Arroyo Greenbelt and Sunset Beach. Spot seals, dolphins and whales from the homes private decks or relax in the private hot tub. When you're ready to explore the outlying areas for amusement, book a kayaking trip in Moss Landing or head north to a full day at The Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, or take a trip to Felton's Roaring Camp Railroad. Spend the afternoon browsing in the shops in the quaint Capitola Village. Heading South, explore Downtown Monterey and the Monterey Bay Marine Aquarium. A few miles further places you right in the center of Carmel By The Sea. Whether you choose north or south, a full day of fun, entertainment and relaxation awaits you. A weeks stay will allow you to take in our beautiful Central Coast and leave you with memories to last a lifetime.

Keywords: 2 Level Home With Amazing Views & Direct Beach Access

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
60%
Calendar last updated:
June 24, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

Hi Adi,



We had a wonderful time at your beach house and left you a note (not sure if you got it or not) at the house...

We will definitely return to your lovely home – it was perfect for our family (the spiral staircase was a little tricky though)!
Apr 2012
  • 1 of 7

Amenities

Watsonville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub , Downstairs Full Bathroom
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Main Level: Full Bathroom
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Downstairs with ocean view
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 2 bunk bed , Downstairs bedroom: full bed; 2 built in twin bunk beds
    Sunroom - 1 twin/ single , Located at main level with ocean views
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2), Bunk Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
There is one queen sized bed, one double, 2 singles, plus 2 futon sofa sleepers. Flat screen TV in both living room and downstairs master bedroom, bathrooms on both levels, viewdecks on both levels. Private stairs to the beach

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(54 traveler reviews)

Ocean front home with direct beach access!
average rating of 4.5740743 based on 61 reviews
5

Great time at Dolphin Cottage

  • 5 of 5

This is a great location on a wonderful street. We enjoyed our visit and took many walks. We met the owner who is very kind and welcoming. This is a great place to stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great. Beach Vacation

  • 4 of 5

Read the reviews, they are all true. If you like everything up to date, with loads of space, like a high end hotel, this is not the house for you. If you don't want to climb steps - there are 179 from the beach to the top, this is not the house for you. It's a beach house - rather old and dated but it was very clean and we had a marvelous week's vacation at the end of May. There was plenty of room for four adults and three preschool children. The spiral staircase was fine for the four year old and the almost two year old could go up. We brought a wooden baby gate to stop the one year old. The steps to the beach were not a problem for the 4-60 year olds and the almost two year old did half. They were part of the adventure! There are breaks about every forty steps and half way there is a break on a path, which you can follow to the top and come back on the road, avoiding the second set of steps. We were there over the Memorial Day weekend so there were other people on the beach over the weekend, but it wasn't at all crowded and the rest of the time we were the only people on the beach, even when the weather was nice. We made a grocery run to Watsonville on our first day - it's a fifteen minute drive, and stocked up on the days we went out. We went to the Monterrey Aquarium one cloudy day - a forty minute drive, strawberry picking in Watsonville another (the beach is backed by strawberry fields), and Capitola another to look at the shops - a 20 minute drive. We loved the view from the deck. We didn't see any dolphins or whales from there but we saw dolphins and a sea lion from the beach and loads of whale spouts, sea lions and sea otters at Moss Landing, where we ate at a wonderful seafood restaurant. The rest of the time we spent on the beach! I would definitely recommend this beach house for a family vacation. Being right on the beach you can go up for lunch and baby nap times. The only reason I gave it four stars not five was because we had issues with the hot tub. It was cold when we arrived and In spite of two visits from the hot tub maintenance man it never heated up, and so we were never able to use it. He said it was an old hot tub! If having a working hot tub is important to you this may not be the house for you either. One other issue was solved quickly by the maintenance man. Communication was mostly good apart from one inquiry shortly before our stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Beautiful view, needs some updating.

  • 3 of 5

We had a fun few day stay at Dolphin Cottage. The set up is as reported in several other reviews - a very small spiral staircase between floors. You do have to bring in luggage from the outside to the lower level but we had no problem with this as it was expected.

The view was as advertised and amazing, and this is why we chose this property. The only thing I would note is that the unit is a little dated and could use a good deep clean. The rooms were fairly musty and the towels that were hanging were wet. A lot of the dishes were dirty in the cupboards and there was old coffee in the coffee maker. And it was clear that the walls and under the beds hadn't been cleaned in a long time.

  • Submitted: May 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. We have already contacted the cleaning crew to remind them that this is unacceptable and to pay attention to all details (big and small). They know how important it is to us that they make sure the house is absolutely ready for each guest. I wish we had known during your stay that you encountered these issues, as we would have definitely sent them back out there to address it. Every few months we send deep cleaners in for a full 2 days to clean the house head to toe. They pull everything out of the cupboards to be sure items haven't been put back without being thoroughly cleaned. Sometimes things feel a bit sticky, even after cleaning, just because of the proximity to the ocean and the salty air. We also just painted the whole interior of the home within the last couple months. So I'm surprised to hear that you thought the walls were dirty, but to be safe we will have the cleaning crew look into this as well. We don't try to cover up the fact that this is an older home. As I've mentioned before, most guests love it's "cottage" charm, but that isn't always a great fit for everyone. Occasionally we get a guest who feels it should be updated or changed to better fit modern standards, but the majority of our guests love it just the way it is. We always strive to provide an enjoyable stay, and cleanliness is a huge part of that. So I definitely value that part of your feedback, and will continue to stay on top of our cleaning crew to provide that. Thank you!! And I'm glad you enjoyed the views!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We had a great family getaway!

  • 5 of 5

It was perfect for our family! We will be back for sure. Thank you :-)

  • Submitted: May 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It was fantastic!

  • 5 of 5

The property was all it was promised!

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Karen, Thank you for your review. Our guests' reviews keep our team motivated and challenged. As the 50th review writer I would offer a 10% discount for your next stay. Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Dolphin Cottage

  • 5 of 5

The Dolphin Cottage exceeded our expectations for a beach house. My criteria were ocean view and beach access. This view is spectacular. The highlight of our trip was seeing a whale jump and play from our deck. The house is relaxing, comfortable. The kitchen well stocked. We had plans to visit Napa and San Francisco but we opted to just spend our days relaxing on the deck. There is a spiral stairway connecting the 2 floors, but also easy access outside as well. Communication was great. We hope to be back one day and bring more family next time.

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Kayaking, Antiquing,Live Music.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Watsonville House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Holiday
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 9 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
 
 
Holiday
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
 
 
Holiday
Oct 6 2017 - Oct 9 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
 
 
Holiday
Nov 17 2017 - Nov 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
 
 
Holiday
Dec 20 2017 - Jan 3 2018
3 night minimum stay
$325
 
 
Holiday
Jan 12 2018 - Jan 15 2018
3 night minimum stay
$325
 
 
Holiday
Feb 16 2018 - Feb 19 2018
3 night minimum stay
$325
 
 
Holiday
Mar 23 2018 - Apr 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
$325
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$300
$1,850
$5,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning Fee (minimum) $150
Tax Rate 11.0%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties