check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Catskill Mountain Get-A-Way

10 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 90 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 - 90 nights


East Jewett House Rental Photos and Description

Rest And Relaxation In Private Mountain Setting

4 bedroom home with fireplace, mountain view decks, two full baths, two living rooms, kitchen, include house rental, The maximum number of guests is 8. Any additional guests would be $25 per guest per night. On private ranch setting with horses available for hire,, and massage/acupuncture available by appointment. The house is available for winter rental, ski season, Hunter Mtn. is only 3 and a half miles away, from Nov.15th through April 15th.

  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Abigail Podrecca
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 15, 2016
Call Owner

About Abigail Podrecca

I am from the Boston area, studied for a time at Berkley School of Music, studied Acupuncture at the New England School of Acupuncture. I came to N.Y.C. to study acupuncture with a Chinese teacher. and spent nearly twenty-five years practicing Acupuncture . The Ranch was created for peace and relaxation and to be close to nature as possible. We have a swimming pond and a lovely stream near the many riding trails in the woods. The horses are big pets and have free access to most of the property. The Feng shui of this land is so healing that the horses and I are walking around in a meditation state most of the time! And in the winter the Skiing is close by and great!. For fifteen years I taught to Hunter Mountain and bought my house in 2005, convinced that I needed to be as close to the mountains as possible, after living here for the past ten years I am sure that I made the right choice.

Abigail Podrecca purchased this house in 2005

Why Abigail Podrecca chose Hunter Mountain

Uniquely private with mountain views surrounding the home on a park like setting with horses and mountains just about everywhere you look! The contemporary home a large deck surounding it with chairs for just watching the clouds go by, or go skiing to nearby Hunter Mountain or Windham Mountain. There are two lakes nearby, Nor and South lake for swimming or kayacking and trails for hiking. Breathe in fresh mountain air, as the trees outnumber the people here.

What makes this house unique

Health treatments available of massage, acupuncture, horse back riding available, minutes to Hunter Mountain Village, or Windham, where there are cinemas, shops, restaurants available. Swimming lake and fishing streams within minutes of our ranch. The uniqueness of our ranch is its privacy and mountain vistas. We are off the beaten path yet close to everything necessary for a great mountain vacation, and in the winter season the house is available from Dec 15th or Dec 30th till April 15th or 30th for the ski season. As soon as I sat in the living room and looked out at the notch in the mountains facing the front door, I was convinced this was the healthiest, most healing spot in the Catskills, yet within minutes of civilization! New York city is only two and a half hours away, so pack your skis and bags and come to stay at our ranch. Say hi to my white stallion, Sundance, uncle Scottie, the quarter horse, and Sundance's son Simon Says. They are available for trail rides on the property.


based on 10 traveler reviews

Catskill Mountain Get-A-Way
average rating of 4.4 based on 10 reviews

not even worth one star

  • 1 of 5

This was by far the worst house we have ever rented. The dishes were dirty and had to be rewashed, the downstairs stunk like rotten garbage which had been left by the previous renters, the owner entered the house without notifying us and showed it to potential buyers, and the list goes on. Truly not worth the money.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, I admit that there were some problems because I was in between house cleaners, I usually do the cleaning my self. The dishes were cleaned in the dishwasher, and there were none in the sink, so I dont know what the fuss was about there. The downstairs has a dehumidifyer that had not been turned on because the new cleaner did not know to do this, is the reason for the ode downstairs. There was no garbage left by a previous renter. I was asked that day by a real estate agent who wanted to show the house that day as her clients were from London and were there only for the day. They were interested in a winter rental. I did call beforehand to view the house, and no one answered. We walked through my house and on the way out the renters approached us I explained the situation and they seemed ok with it. So I am surprised to get this kind of feedback. Especially if you look at my track record.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic place to explore the Catskills

  • 5 of 5

Really spacious, well equipped and helpful owner made this stay a special time for me and my family. Close to a wondrous swimming lake, we climbed rocks, rode horses and visited Woodstock. We were all happy here. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Nice place to stay.

  • 5 of 5

It was a good time. Aby was great. The house is lovely. 5 stars 100%.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey thanks for the good review....and I am very glad that you enjoyed your time here at East Winds Ranch...happy trails!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New York NY

Escape the heat enjoy the view, peace and quiet

  • 5 of 5

Nice to be up in the "mountains" and have a "view" otherwise whats the point. Home is spacious, clean with a nice kitchen that has enough plates etc. for a family. There were plenty of towels and consumables. Water pressure in the shower is a bit light but its adequate and the bathroom was clean and big enough to move around in. The living room is very large, light and airy w large sliding glass doors on two walls and a large stone fireplace in the corner which made quite a visual point seen when entering the house and also from the other side of the house. The dining table is large enough for six and the chairs are sturdy. The L/R furniture was quite comfortable which was great because the seating and lounging furniture is oft times a feature that some owners dont consider and can be a real pain, literally, for guests. One of our favorite things aside from enjoying the huge expansive decks which wrap around the house on two sides was to sit and relax in the L/R enjoying the quiet and views through the large glass doors.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Isn't it amazing coming from New York City to the Catskill Mountains! From my sixty foot deck the panorama mountain views never ceases to excite me! Watching the full moon and stars from the deck or from inside looking out the glass windows, we have passive solar windows with twenty foot ceilings, on a clear night is heaven. Who needs T.V. I am very happy that you enjoyed my home and thank you for the favorable review. Best wishes and happy traveling.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

had a family reuion weekend close by

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had a great time the house was beauitful and very clean.Simon the horse was a joy made the vacation even better. Aby was very welcoming would definitely rent this home again next year and recommend it

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey thanks for the great review. Honestly it was a pleasure to have you! And its always interesting to see how the horses have made an affect on people. Best of luck hope to see you next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great Weekend

  • 5 of 5

I had the pleasure of renting the place over a summer weekend. Aby greeted us at the property and was responsive in her communications. The property itself is beautiful and the porch offers a really fantastic view of the surrounding mountains. The house itself is perfectly adequate for a weekend stay. Having the horses around adds a special magic to the whole stay. The place is totally secluded and there's enough acreage to walk around a bit. Thanks Aby for a very memorable weekend.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Albany,New York
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Trailways Bus
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Hudson, New York
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
New York Thruway
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Nearest Ski
3 Miles
Hunter Moutain
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Colgate Lake

We are in a very secluded area surrounded by mountains. Horse pasture around the house with my three horses just look out the windows! the We have a small pond and woods, with a swimming pond up the street a mile away. The horses back riding center is a mile away and skiing three miles away. Blue skies and fresh air with hiking trails everywhere! Massage and acupuncture available on the propertyby appointment.


Rates & Availability

East Jewett House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Nov 24 2016 - Nov 27 2016
3 night minimum stay
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 26 2016
4 night minimum stay
New Year's
Dec 30 2016 - Jan 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
Jan 2 2017 - Apr 20 2017
90 night minimum stay
Jun 1 2017 - Jun 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
July 4th
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $75
Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Tax Rate 5.88%

Check-In at 4pm

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


East Jewett House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Village ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Upstairs Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
    Downstairs Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Washer and dryer in downstairs bathroom. This is a full bathroom downstairs.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Downstairs Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Downstairs Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Upstairs Bedrooms 2 - 2 double
    Upstairs Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single
  • There is a pull out double couch in the downstairs living room area. .
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Sauna ...
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Unique ranch for outdoors experiences and adventure, skiing,and snowboarding, hiking, kayacking and theaters at Hunter and Windham make this area a great area to come to have have many choices of vacation time.

Partner Offers